Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(286)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2014
Zipped perfectly for a fun formal event!
Zipper worked, the size 0R fit like a glove, it is tight so no underwear could be worn, but it's black so was not revealing like that. Definite good dress for any black tie event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
January 19, 2015
Fancy enough!
Rented this dress for a Golden Globes party. I am 5'4" and like many posters found the dress to be a little on the short side in 3 inch heels, even though I ordered the Long. Wore mine with a strapless bra and Spanx - didn't find the dress to be particularly tight, just body skimming. The only picture I have alone doesn't show the shoulder detail, but it's fun and photographs well., though more full maybe than the photos indicate. I rented the bracelet I am wearing to match the rhinestones and pearl detail, but it was much much brighter than the dress. I mostly had my hair off to the side most of the night, but if I were to wear the dress again would have put my hair up or in a bun. It's definitely a little understated, but I blended in well at this very formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress was perfect
Fit great, looked wonderful and it was super comfortable. I usually wear a 10 in formals. The 12 was a little loose but nice to have a bit of extra room. The fabric is good quality & had some weight to it. Loved this dress so much that I didn't want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2015
Stunning! But just a bit short.
Wore this to a black tie wedding. The material was thick enough for a January wedding. Very classy! The fit was perfect all around, but the only downside of this dress was that it was a bit too short! I'm only 5'3" and without heels, the dress still didn't touch the ground. I wore this dress with 4" heels (I don't have anything lower!) and my feet showed. No one really noticed but it still bothered me. Besides that, beautiful dress. I would just recommend going with the longer size, especially if you plan on wearing heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 36C
February 26, 2015
Masquerade with a cape!
This is a nice dress and I got tons of compliments while wearing it! I loved the material and it was very comfortable to move around! The down side is that Even the long ran short on me (I'm 5'9") and ideally I would have had different shoes or the dress would be longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 1, 2015
SHORT!
I should have ordered the long! The dress is beautiful and fit true to size everywhere else - but it's extremely short. I saw all the other reviewers state this, but I figured it would work for me since I am only 5'3" - and I often have a problem with things being too long. I thought I could always wear kitten heels with it if it. No, even in bare feet, the tops of my ankles were showing. If you are above 5 feet tall, I recommend ordering the long. It's a beautiful dress, and I will try again with the long for another event. (It wasn't available for me to get it in time for this event, but RTR sent me other gorgeous option that fit perfectly. Nothing but wonderful things to say about RTR's impeccable costumer service!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
March 6, 2015
Hourglass girls....DON'T!
Ok how can I describe the fit of this dress. As you can see I'm curvy but I can usually pull off a 12 if the fabric is stretchy. Well this fabric was very stretchy (Thank God) and a wonderful weight and feel. But it fit like an 8 at the bottom and like a 14 at the top!!! The regular length showed my whole foot! I wore it anyway and my husband thought I looked stunning but this was not meant for me! Lol. The person who would be ideal is someone who is stick straight and very busty. Even if you have belly issues, no worries this will hide it well. The shoulder detail and extra fabric made it stand out. Also if you're taller than 5'3" go with the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
April 2, 2015
Very pretty, but wayyyy to short.
I'm very short but I ordered a 0 long just incase, and a regular as we'll. both dresses were extremely short, even when I was flat footed.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 90lbs
April 13, 2015
The dress put it all together got so many compliments.
It fit perfect! I recommend this very much. True to size. Not heavy for me being a small girl.
RebekahJanuary 15, 2016
What size heels did you wear?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2015
Beautiful
I had both the 6L and 8L rented. The 6 fit perfectly but was a little short (I am 5'7" and it hit right at my ankle when standing up). I tried the 8 and it wasn't any longer and too big at the bust so I wore the 6! I did wear heels and just didn't worry about the length. The beading is BEAUTIFUL and the flowy thing on the back was absolutely beautiful and it was my favorite part. Perfect.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
July 29, 2015
Good enough.
Get the long! Get the long! Get the long! At 5'2" this dress was still way too short! I wore flip flops to a gala! The seams along the sides are unflattering on the hips. What woman wants to add bulk to to her hips?! The bead work had flaws but only noticeable close up. Overall a nice dress but probably wouldn't order again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
December 10, 2015
I actually didn't end up wearing this. Too short, and flimsy fabric. Luckily rented 2 dresses.
Hit tea-length not floor length; flimsy fabric, beautiful design
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2015
The dress fit perfectly and was super comfy!
Glad I got the long-I am 5'8 and the extra length was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
I didn't wear this dress
This dress was too clingy
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 10, 2016
The quality of this dress was amazing. Will make you feel like a queen.
I am 5"5. The dress didn't hit the floor. I do have hips and a butt so maybe if you don't have that, it would hit the floor. I usually wear regular length dresses and wear 2 inch heels and the dresses hit the floor. Not the case here. But was a great dress! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2016
Pretty dress. Form fitting.
Very elegant classic dress. I read a lot of the reviews before I rented the dress. And I do agree that seems a little short in the front. I wore the four regular. I'm 5'3 ..but I had sparkly heels on and it looked like I was showcasing my shoes. I wish I had a picture to show you that was full length but I don't sorry! Is cut it little longer in the back. If I could've got the long I would have but they didn't have it in stock when I needed it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
April 5, 2016
.
I am not tall, and this dress was ankle length, so you could see my shoes. I didn't like the way that looked, it was tight, and maybe that was why? I think I would have liked it much better in size 8, but it wasn't available.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2016
Cute dress, but WAY too short
I ordered the 2 regular and a 4 petite and they both fit the same--comfortable fit everywhere except the length. I'm only 5'2" and I read the reviews thinking, "oh great! This dress runs short so it won't be crazy long on me"... Well I wasn't expecting it to be THAT short. I would ONLY order this dress if you are really little, like under 5 feet tall. Otherwise, if you're cool with your feet and ankles showing, it's a really pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
So easy!
The dress fit like a glove. No spanx needed because material is heavy enough that I only needed a full body slip. Very comfortable. Dress did not run short on me (I was scared it would due to previous posters) but I was able to wear a 5 in heel and shoes barely showed through the front of the dress and in the back the material was long enough that it nearly graced the floor. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
January 4, 2016
Comfortable and Classic!
The reviews were right, the dress runs short. I rented a long and it fit well (I'm 5"7). I thought it comfortable and a classic. It also was a slimming dress which I always appreciate!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 8, 2016
Classy beautiful dress
Very flattering. I was very bloated that evening but the fabric flowed great. It is not floor length. You can easily see shoes from standing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2016
Made Prom Perfect!
Dress hugs curves like a dream in all the right places. Looks sexy and classy. Only thing I didn't like was that it is had to tell in the pictures, but the beading is a little "grandmothery" also I am 5'0" and the regular size 0 still showed my whole shoe and I wore a shorter heel. Didn't bother me personally too much, but definitely noticeable in pictures. All together I felt elegant and received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2016
Caution! VERY Short but beautiful
This was my first RTR experience and I wanted to say that I appreciate the support and responsiveness of the company. I rented this dress after reading the reviews that it runs short. I'm about 5'5"-5'6" and thought I'd be able to get away with the regular even though they reviews suggested long. Well I should of listened. The overall fit was great, runs true to size BUT the regular came up to my ankles. I was in a panic as that the wedding was tomorrow and I had no back up. I called RTR and they were able to I might me a dress for the cost of shipping (12.99). The dress is thick so there was very little difference from the 2 to the 4 regular which I ordered. They did not have a two or a four long so I took a gamble and went with a six long. It was a tad big but was great. I'm normally a size four. However I had kitten heels on as if I would of worn anything taller, the dress would of been too short again. If you are above 5'3" and plan to wear three inch heels. Please please order a long and save yourself hassle. I really don't know how someone 5'5" and wearing 3 inch heels could make due with a long. I got a ton of compliments and felt great. Even with the mishap, I'd definitely order from RTR again !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 118lbs
June 15, 2016
Great dress but VERY short!
Great dress, but definitely order the long! I'm 5'2" and it didn't touch the ground without shoes on! I ended up wearing a very short heel but would have preferred a higher heel. It's a nice material and lays well (except the side zipper). I just had a baby and I felt very comfortable in the dress. The jewels are a silver/blue color, so gold accessories don't match well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2016
Fit perfectly
Fits well and has a little stretch to fit any curves. I am a 32 H and it fit perfectly
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 7, 2016
Nice formal dress
This dress worked perfectly for my event. I did wish it was a little longer but it's very cute and stylish.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2016
I received lots of compliments.
The dress fit like a glove but was also very comfortable. The length was shorter than I prefer but it still looked nice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2016
Too short
This would have been beautiful but it was too short. I'm 5'8"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
April 8, 2017
Short!
Luxurious drape, stretchy thick fabric. Bust seemed large, narrow hips. I am probably a true 14L (5'9", 180), this was only available in 12L--top was a little loose, through hips was tight but manageable with shape wear. The tag said 12, I don't think I received the 12L. It was very short (about 4 inches above the ankle). Dress flares like a mermaid so the length was a deal breaker. The sparkly detail at the shoulder is more teal which was very pretty.
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2017
Comfortable and Flattering
This dress is very flattering and comfortable to wear. The details are very elegant and you do not need a lot of jewelry to dress up this look. My only complaint is that I ordered a 2L and the hem still seemed to be a little bit short of ideal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 15, 2017
Safe black tie option
Beautiful, timeless dress. It's a safe choice but not boring. The fabric is stretchy but thin, plan on getting some spanx or control hose to smooth out the torso. You could literally see the outline of belly button with out it. The dress was the perfect length for me with 4 in heels but I'm very short, so consider a lower heel or flat shoe. The beeding on the shoulder is a mix of silver, black and blue/ green.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
July 18, 2017
Absolutely stunning!!
This dress fit great! It was comfortable and the fabric was heavy and quality. It was elegant and sexy! I was surprised that the length was so short. I usually struggle with things being too long. I was wearing 3 inch heels in this picture and the dress didn't touch the ground at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 23
September 10, 2017
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this for my friend's wedding, but the length is kind of short which I didn't expect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
September 10, 2017
Absolutely stunning!!!!
I wore this dress to a wedding and I received so many compliments!!! The length is short, but it didn't bother me at all. The top of the dress was a little big, especially on the side with the zipper, but no one noticed besides myself. I'd highly recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 19, 2017
Perfect for petites
I typically rent knee length/cocktail dresses because I am 4' 10 1/2" and worry long dresses will be too long. With 1 1/2 inch heals this dress just grazed the floor. I wore with 3" heels to be sure not to step on it. Received many compliments. Very comfortable. No spanks required. No bra needed. Would definitely recommend. I wore the 2R (2 petite wasn't available for my dates). 4P was my back-up. Length on that was good, but was too big/loose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 22, 2014
Slimming and lengthening dress that will make you look great.
This dress was my favorite of five long black dresses I tried on from RTR after a mix up with an order. It was simple, sleek, but elegant with the shoulder beading. It was very form fitting but also comfortable. I wore mine with 5.5 inch heels and thought it was just the right length. A 0L would have fit someone 5'7'' without heels and would be much too short with heels. Also great for someone with a small bust like me.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
January 17, 2012
My 17 year old daughter tried the dress on and loved it too. Now she wants an RTR dress for her spring prom!
I rented this for a work Black Tie affair. It was perfect in that it is really nice without being too revealing. I am 5'6" and 122lbs and absolutely needed the Long. I ordered a 2L and a 0L (as the backup). The 0L felt a little tight in the tummy/hip area.....the 2L was too big in the breast area (I'm only a 32B). I chose to wear the 2L but.....during the evening felt that I should have chose the 0L. The 2L was just a little too much dress for me....too much material, etc. That was my only complaint. For a reasonable price I got a dress that was a blast to wear AND won't hang in my closet never to be worn again! I will use this site again when the occassion arises!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2012
Love love love!!
I absolutely loved this dress! It was very classy and was absolutely perfect for my formal occasion. It made me feel like a million bucks. I said that it runs large, but I would say only slightly so. I'm 5' 6", 130lbs and usually wear a 4 or 6. I rented both the 4L and 6L and ended up wearing the 4L (with 3 inch heels- this dress definitely does run short). If I had enough events to wear it to, I would wear this dress again and again!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 28, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress was absolutely beautiful & the beadwork on the shoulder does not get any justice from these pictures! It was gorgeous! I normally wear a size 12 but the 12R was very loose around the bust area and a little loose around the waist but extremely form fitting around the hips on down. Spanx are a must! I did not wear this dress to my formal affair but did a dress change for the after party because it definitely runs very short. I wish I would have ordered a long as suggested because I am a curvy girl but didnt think I needed to because I had not planned on wearing 3" heels. I'm 5'5-1/2" and without any shoes on it did not cover my toes. Otherwise, it's a very beautiful & comfortable dress!
QianaNovember 24, 2012
looked perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
August 22, 2012
nice dress
This dress was very nice but it was a bit large.. I usually wear either a 6 or an 8 so I was surprised when the 6 fit loose on me. It arrived the day before my event and ready to be worn. I was very happy with it and got good reviews from friends at the event.
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×