Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 – $85 rental ?
$725 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

323 reviews

Fit
Small 46
True to Size 256
Large 13
Photos 163
Jenn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Everyone loved the dress.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered two sizes. The 0R and the 2R. The 0R fit but it was too short so I put the 2R on and it was long enough for me. It fit very nice and everyone loved the dress at the event I attended. My only issue was the dress was supposed to arrive on a Thursday and I didn't get it until Friday because the wrong address was put on it. Other than that my experience wit RTR was very good and I would rent again.
KRISTA
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very pretty but not long enough for me and was not able to wear it.
Tera
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Great dress! I'm 5'9" and it was a bit short

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
looked awesome on!
Kim
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Excellent fit,very comfortable!
kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

The consultants online were easy to work with and so nice!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented two dresses for a black tie event, this was my first choice but unfortunately it was way too short. I am 5'3, 105 lbs and got a 0R. I am petite, so a long never crossed my mind. I was disappointed that it was too short, but without shoes, the hem of the dress was at my ankles. The quality of the dress was nice and it had beautiful bead work.
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

It was fabulous! Dress fit! Perfect condition. Can't believe I haven't done this sooner!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The reviews were helpful. The dress runs true to size and I have not one complaint about it. I felt beautiful, tons of compliments. Highly recommend.
Camille
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Very nice, comfortable fit. Could be an inch or so longer.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was nice, but was my 7th choice. I ordered last minute. It didnt' have the "wow" factor that I was looking for, but I still received many compliments and it would be great for a formal black tie but not necessarily red carpet. It was great for dancing and breathed well. What truly made me feel like a superstar was RTR's comprehensive and fabulous service. From the 1st timer discount to the inexpensive backup dress. And then all of the goodies in the box with the dress - the great garment bag, amazing care kit w/tape and other items the pros probably use on their glam clients, AND a cute tote bag. INCREDIBLE! I am searching for reasons to rent again from RTR. I CANNOT WAIT!
Christine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

Nice feel but short in length

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal affair in 0R and also received the 2R. The 0R was the better fit for me and the dress felt really good. The quality was very nice and the dress in good condition. The downside for me was that being 5'4" the dress hit at my ankles and was too short. Also, since I literally have no hips there was a little bit of excess fabric in the hip area. My hips are about a size 34 and didnt quite fill it out. I would recommend wearing a Long in this size if you are a 0 and over 5 feet. Also, I tried on the size 2 and though it was bigger in the body the length was the same so I did not wear either dress. I wore my backup gown that worked out better. This is a nice weight dress and feels flowy at the same time.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Elegant Gown

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I found it very easy to walk and dance the night away in. I wore the 0L and found that the length for me (@ 5'6") was okay for a black tie affair with 3" heels.
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

This dress was my "plan A" but didn't end up working out.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Even though I ordered a long, this dress was too short for me - and I'm only 5'9". I also felt like the decorative shoulder part looked tarnished. I still had a great RTR experience though, my plan B dress was fabulous!
MPS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Feb 27, 2013

Beautiful dress, wrong length sent

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I was so excited about this dress. Unfortunately, it arrived in a 10R rather than the 10L I ordered, and so it barely touched the floor when I wore flats. Not a good look. Otherwise, it is a beautiful, classic silhouette, and the beadwork on the shoulder is stunning.
Taunya
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Fantabulous!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental with RTR. I was nervous that The gown I choose would not be available until the day before the event, but it early when RTR said it would. I immediately tried on my gown to make sure it would fit. Since I have an hour-glass figure I choose to wear Spanx because this dress will cling to any curve you may have. I'm happy to have the two dress option because it give you an option if you are not comfortable with a clingy dress. The larger size was to large in the bra area so I had to et the Spanx for a smoother look. I plan on using RTR in my future events because I have so many formal dresses that are only worn once & this company can provide a wide variety at a cheaper cost than buying a fabulous dress that will sit in your closest after one wear. I was so excited thar I couldn't hold my containment and let my date in on the secret because he kept complimenting how beautiful the dress was. If you are trying to decide whether or not to use RTR then I would advise you to just do it like I did and you will not regret it. They take care of everything including the return envelopes that only require to drive to the post office to drop it off. How easy is that? I hope this helps with your decision to rent & use RTR.
annette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 6, 2013

"meeh"

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress looks a bit cheap in person.
Nadine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

GREAT FIT! TOO SHORT!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had two formal functions to attend so I ordered two different dresses. This was my first time ordering and I messed up with getting my credit back for this dress. I did not call within the 24 hours because I was so caught up with getting something to wear to replace this dress since I was going to see some of the same people from the first function...kicking myself every since!!!! In any case, I loved this dress but the hem was short as compared to the picture. I ordered both the 0R and 2R and got the same deal with the length. I consider myself short at 5'3" and my heels were low but I think you have to do the math between your height and heel height that you plan to wear when ordering this dress. I think if I went with the 2L it may have worked out. The dress was a great fit and I cannot keep from saying that. My kids complimented me but were not feeling the fact that they could see my entire shoe. Unfortunately I did not take any pictures.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

Stunner!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was simple and comfortable, but the best of that is that is looked amazing and was stunning! The fit was perfect and super flattering; hit in all right right places. I'm only 5' 2" and I didn't have to worry about tripping over the bottom of the dress; wore 4' heels.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Mar 9, 2013

AMAZING!!!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the dress, fit great and had plenty of give for dancing, moving and eating. I wore a size 2L I am 5'6" and wore a 4 in heel. The dress hit just above the floor.
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

This was my second choice

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up wearing something else. I would have chosen to wear this dress but it was a bit too short even though I ordered a Long. I am 5'7 and with 5 inch heels it looked a bit short. It has a beautiful fit and if it was an inch longer it would have been the option I chose to wear.
Miran
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

beautiful dress and perfect fit!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
perfect dress for a petite person like me. received so many compliments. i didn't want to return it! :)
Nancy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

.A perfect dress for a formal dinner with the PRESIDENT!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly and looked elegant! I was so pleased..as was my date. I wore the 12R as it was not as tight fitting as the 10R...although the 10 was better in the bust. Regardless, because of the flowing lines of the design, a little room looked fine and was more comfortable!
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was beautiful and comfortable!
CDC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

I was not happy with this dress; I returned it immediately.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too short on me, and I'm only 5'3". I also thought the fit was off, at least for my body type. Overall, not happy with this dress.
Ivy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 23, 2013

Dress is as expected and in clean condition. Will try RTW again for special events.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is good for formal affairs. Conservative enough with a little design. Nothing super fancy but material is comfortable and stretch. Some of the beads on the shoulder faded a little but nothing very noticeable. Runs true to size but will recommend size up for a more conservative look. Overall good value for the price.
Lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Very comfortable! A little short but a great dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely order the Long. I am 5.7 and the 4L was still short for my liking. But the dress was very comfortable and looked great!
Jamie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

This dress was perfect for a black tie event. It fits really well & is flattering.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of compliments on this dress and it fits true to size. I was able to dance all night in it. Perfect dress for a black tie event.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

backup dress; too short

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This beading is pretty but the dress itself is short. I said "runs small" because the regular was short on me and I am barely 5'2.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 172 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

This dress was fantastic! I felt beautiful in it~

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought it fit well. I normally wear a 14 but the 12 fit great. I did think it was a little short, even with the 12 L I had to wear short heals.
katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

the ease!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
slightly short, but overall great dress!!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 22, 2013

Too short, not as impressed as I was hoping to be

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was really excited about this dress. I have hips, but nothing crazy. When I got it, it was not nearly as flattering on as I was expecting to be. The beads on the top were somewhat cheesy, and the dress was short. It flared out at the bottom which gave it a Mortia feel.
Delisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Beautiful dress that fit like a glove.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs short. I am 5'6" and the long was only about an inch too long with 2" heels. I used the temporary hem tape (included with my order!) to hem it and that worked just fine. The dress was lovely, and with a pair of spanx and a strapless bra underneath, it fit like a glove. I got a lot of compliments on it being very classic looking and beautiful.
Kameran
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Nothing at all because the dress didn't fit

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress read small because I'm usually a 6 to a 4 and i tried a 8 and it didn't fit..
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

I wore this to my job's annual fundraising gala, and I received many compliments.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit wonderfully! I wore a pair of Spanx to ensure a smooth fit because I knew that I would be running around all day to make sure the event went off without a hitch.
Kari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Beautiful, classic, elegant gown. Super flattering.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I was concerned it may be too fancy for a wedding, but it was not at all. Even though it is very elegant, it is subtle and not too over the top to take any attention away from bride :) I am 5'9 and around 125 lbs and this gown fit like a glove. Perfect for moderate sized heels.
Kecia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

RTR made it so easy and painless.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this gown! Fit like a glove, perfect length, and so comfortable. Received many compliments.
soontobemrsb
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013

A bit underwhelming.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like all the others said- it runs short. I'm 5'8" and wear tiny heels because my boyfriend is the same height as me. I wore tiny, 1/2" kitten heels and the R- regular length was still too short. But by the time I received the dress, there was nothing I could do. I really wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone over 5'5, even if you get the long. Also, to me, it didn't look like a designer dress. The beading was pretty but it looked like an average Macy's or Nordstrom dress, it didn't have the elegant, expensive look I was going for. Overall, I thought it was okay, but nothing special. I wish I had chosen a different dress.
K
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 9, 2013

Perfect for a simple, elegant look

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a military ball. Amazing gown, fitted and tapers in at knees to form a really flattering slight mermaid. Super stretchy and comfortable, fabric was heavier than expected but drapes and moves really well! Length is great for shorter girls who don't want to kill their feet in sky-high heels - I'm 5' 2" and wore 3-inch heels, gown just skimmed the floor.
MMeyer23
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 12, 2013

Very elegant, runs short

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very sleek and elegant gown. My favorite part was that with the shoulder detail I really didn't need any jewelry. I wore a cuff and some ear rings. However, the length was pretty short. I am 5'1'' and I really only needed a 2inch heel with this dress. I did not feel comfortable with my feet showing.
JLord
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
May 18, 2013

Ordered this as my first choice in two sizes...but went with 2nd choice.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a good dress. It fit well (could NOT tell a difference between the 0 and 2, honestly. In fact, I almost felt like the 2 was tighter?). I just happened to try another dress as my backup and liked it significantly better. For my event, I just felt this was a little too...something. Conservative? Older-fashioned? Anyway, flattering fit, just decided on something else instead.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

Love the classic silhouette of this dress with the added sexiness of the back!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress and received tons of compliments! The fabric is very comfortable and flattering. This was my first rental from RTR and couldn't have had a better experience! I was worried the dress would be wrinkled and need steaming. Once it arrived and I hung it up it looked perfect! The regular length was perfect for me with heels on.
Parker
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Wrong Size

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sadly this dress was way too small on me. I ordered a 2R and a 4R. The 2R was too short and the 4R was too large. I could have possibly read the reviews wrong and should have ordered a 2L. But one thing you do not notice in the picture is that the beading on the dress is not just silver but is also blue. Although my dress did not fit, Rent The Runway had a new dress for me the next day!
Y2
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

Comfortable, beautiful dress but runs short

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is extremely comfortable with nice stretch making it easy to move in. I ordered both the 8 and 10R and didn't notice a difference in fit except the length. I'm 5'3" and the 8 barely reached my ankles so I opted for the 10. I wore this to the Tony awards and completely felt like I fit in.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×