Midnight Kiss Dress

$103 to buy
$495 retail
Stylist Notes

Fall in love wearing this sequin stunner by Badgley Mischka at the stroke of midnight. The perfect party girl dress for you to dance all night long. Go with accessories like the Ben-Amun's Antiqued Crystal Bracelet and Elizabeth Cole's Bacall Earrings.

Also available in green.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L,XL & plus 1X-3X. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12; XL=14,16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L,XL & plus 1X-3X. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12; XL=14,16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy sequins (100% nylon). Long sleeves. Surplice neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Hidden side zipper. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
627 reviews
Fit
Large
(72)
True to Size
(406)
Small
(64)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2013
AWESOME!!!!!
I ordered a medium and a large the medium fit great, but I opted for the large because it's such a sexy dress I didn't want to be too sexy, the fit is fabulous, comfortable and easy to dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2013
Friends actually said "Wow!."
A great party dress! Wore it for a New Years Eve party we hosted at our home. Very comfortable, very flashy but elegant. I was worried about renting a sequined dress (wear & tear) but the dress was in excellent shape. The v- neck was very flattering. The length concerned me a bit-- so I added a pair of black tights for extra coverage. I would rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2013
Beautiful Birthday Party Dress
I wore this dress for my birthday party. The fit was excellent and it was the perfect dress to dance around in and pose for pictures! A lot of people asked me where I got my dress and gladly told them that I rented it from Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 25, 2013
Perfect party dress
I wore this for my birthday, and loved it. Tthe dress puts you in a good mood as soon as it's on. I'd recommend it for anything where you're the center of attention, or everyone else is also covered in sequins and/or glitter. I got tons of compliments on it, and was completely comfortable the entire night. It's fitted, but the ruching makes it a perfect dress to wear if you're going to be eating while all dressed up. There will probably be some loose strands when the dress arrives, but I cut them close to the sleeve, and didn't really catch on anything more than expected with this type of dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
March 25, 2013
My husband told me to take it off and send it back!
The dress had lots of potential. However, it had a weird fit across arms, and like others have mentioned, the rouching around the middle made me look big in the middle. The pull across the arms was the worst, though. I have meatier arms, and that's why I wanted long sleeves. I have broad shoulders, so the fabric stretched too tight across the arms, and then had too much give in the stomach. All in all just a weird fit.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2013
I wanted to wear something sparkly and amazing for my Bachelorette Party...this dress was perfect!
Very comfortable, true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 3, 2013
Pretty, but not perfect
The sequins, as they always are, were a lot of fun and definitely grab attention. The dress ran true to size, but the lining shifted throughout the evening and made the neckline look asymmetrical...not quite the look I was going for, but also not a huge issue. I liked wearing it out for our date, but I don't think I'd rent it again.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2013
The dress was perfect.
Beautiful dress. Very form fitting. The side ruching gave me a waist! Dress was just above the knee. Perfect. Received many compliments.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
April 13, 2013
Fabulous sparkly dress for my company holiday party. I felt like a celebrity!
I rented this dress for my company holiday party. I rented both the medium and large. I usually wear a size 8 or 10. I ended up wearing the medium and it fit perfectly. The dark blue sequins were a real attention getter, and I received compliments all night long, and even in the office after the party! I truly felt like a million bucks in this dress. The entire rental experience was excellent...so easy....I will definitely be renting again and again from RTR!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 15, 2013
This was a different style dress than I would ever have bought. Felt like a movie star!
It was form fitting in the stomach area, but my spanx basically fixed it. Material was comfortable. I'm a 36B, would fit a slightly bigger bust better. Overall, I loved wearing this and got a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 19, 2013
I had so many compliments in the dress, I felt gorgeous!
At first, I wasn't sure. It minimizes the "hourglass" in favor of a more straight cut. I thought the shirring on the sides would show off curves but the thicker fabric loses them. Still, it was a great fit, I ended up wearing the small. The medium had a bit too much give in the middle and wasn't that flattering. The sequins were very fun for a holiday party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
April 19, 2013
Beautiful but small
I love this dress. It was so gorgeous in person. But holy moly did it run tiny tiny. I am a size 14/16. I have rented other Badgley dresses and they fit me just fine (usually in a 14). The XL in this dress was SO tight on me I could barely get it on. Very disappointing. If it had fit, I would of worn it - I really loved it. Two stars because it's really beautiful but -3 stars because it ran so small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
April 24, 2013
Great New Years dress!
Great fit and long enough to not be super mini with my long torso.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
April 27, 2013
Beautiful but...
I couldn't wear it. It's beautiful and flattering, however the sleeves were really tight and they are not lined, they were extremely itchy and made me feel really hot! I figured I would not be able to wear it to a crowded night club in Vegas in April. It would have been way too warm! But beautiful- I'd suggest sizing up for comfort.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 29, 2013
This dress was perfect for a nighttime boat cruise!
The dress fits true to size. It is form-fitting, but stretchy.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2013
Simply stunning. Great for a formal gathering, wedding or party! Would rent again in a heart beat!
*
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2013
Wearing a dress made entirely of sequins on your 25th birthday in NY!
The dress arrived promptly and it was just as vibrant in person as in the pictures. It runs true to size (I usually wear a size 10/12). Spanx super panty really drove it home and made the dress look absolutely perfect. I got complimented all night :)
RahkiyaNovember 22, 2013
pretty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013
Fun, Comfortable Party Dress!
I wore this to a party and it was comfortable and pretty. I could easily dance in it. The bust was a little tight but it wasnt very noticeable.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 31, 2013
Didn't wear it.
I think this would be a great dress for someone with a more womanly figure. I have a pretty boyish body and looked like Spongebob Squarepants in it. I didn't notice in the photo that it cinches at the sides, which should have been a red flag for me in the first place. Nice quality and great color, though. Just wish I could have worn it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
Awesome
Vegas!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
RTR is so easy and affordable. What a great way to make a night extra special!
I rented this dress for a black tie fundraiser. I am normally a 6 or 8 in dresses so based on the reviews I ordered a medium, with a small for the back up size. I'm glad I went down a size with my back up order because I ended up wearing the small. It fit so much better and it wasn't tight at all. This is a great dress for any girl who wants to camouflage her middle without hiding the rest of her curves. I received so many complements and felt like a movie star in it! I have recommended RTR to everyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
Long sleeve love.
Great dress. Form fitting, but the ruching made it really flattering. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 13, 2013
LOVE this dress! It was my backup, but WAY more smoking than the original. Endless compliments!
True to size. Great for winter events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 30, 2013
I got compliments on this dress all night long, and the comfortable fit was great for a winter party
The dress is a longer style-- definitely not a minidress-- but the ruching helps to bring up the hemline. The small was snug in the bust, but not uncomfortable. And because of the long sleeves, the sequins weren't scratchy at all! When I tried on the medium, the dress fit very similarly, but was longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2013
Scratchy!
I wasn't going to wear this dress at first, but ended up throwing it on at the last minute to a Christmas dinner and I have to say that this was my first disappointing experience that I've had with a dress that I've rented from here. I wasn't comfortable is this dress at all and I wished I had worn my hair up or at least brought a hair tie with me as my hair kept snagging on the sequins. I should've seen this coming but I was running late and didn't have time to think about my hair. The arms aren't lined like the rest of the dress and this was the source of most of my discomfort. The good thing about the dress though is that it's flattering across the tummy area if anyone's worried about a pooch. Other than that though, I wish I would've just sent this back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2013
Great Birthday Glam
I wore this to my birthday party, and loved it. It was comfortable, fun, sexy, and fit great. I don't think this could look bad on any body type. I'm curvy, and it looked amazing. I wore it with leather accent, and really pulled off a rock look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2013
so convenient and so pretty!
This dress is really great for any occasion. Very flattering and the navy sequins are a gorgeous color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 2, 2013
My favorite party dress on RTR
I love this dress- it was one I didn't want to return. It's a showstopper, but really flattering and comfortable. The thing about sequined dresses is although they are beautiful, the sequins tend to rub and make you feel scratchy (especially under the arms). Since this has long sleeves, I didn't have that problem at all. I wore it for a Christmas party, too, so I was glad to stay warm but still look hot
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 188lbs
October 13, 2013
Love Love Love
I wore this to an elegant evening wedding. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2013
This dress is stunning! I'm very self-conscious of my body, and this made me feel beautiful!
Good fit, a little long for me, but otherwise fits well. A little stretch helps and makes it that much more comfortable. My only complaint was that I wore it to Homecoming, and everywhere I walked, my dress would get caught on someone's hair or dress.
AutyNovember 21, 2013
You have nothing to be self-conscious of...you are gorgeous darling!!! You are owning that dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 14, 2013
I felt like a beautiful princess and was told I was a "best dressed nominee"!!
This dress was absolutely perfect for me! I was so worried about the concept of renting a dress before trying it on, but I just went for it and I am so happy! Everyone, including the bride, said I was beautiful in the dress, and I FELT beautiful for the first time in a long time. I am a few pounds overweight and usually have body image issues, but this dress was so flattering with the ruching and the cut which accentuated my bust. It was awesome!! THANK YOU RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Apple
October 28, 2013
i did not fit into the large and the XL was never sent to me.
I never got to wear the dress; the XL was never sent to me and the L was too small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2013
Photographs beautifully!
I wore this to see the symphony and received a lot of compliments. It photographs beautifully and the long sleeves were perfect for an early November night. I rented the L and XL, and the XL gave me a little more room to move around, so that is the size I chose. It was comfortable and the length was perfect, but I wore this with nude pantyhose which was a mistake because the sequins shredded them right at the hem line. Because they were nude it wasn't that noticeable, but be warned if you plan to wear darker tights - you will definitely end up with runs in them (which would totally be worth it, because this dress is beautiful!).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2013
Very comfortable, and the fit was great
A little long and runs a little big, overall a good fit
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2013
I wore this dress for homecoming and I got so many compliments on it!
When I got it in the mail, I was bit disappointed. I ordered a medium and a large, but I should have probably ordered a small (I never wear a small). It fit well, but there was just a little extra room. Also it was way too long, so I had to hem it with fashion tape, but after I did that the dress was perfect! In the end, I loved the dress, and I love RTR! I will be renting all of my future dresses from now on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2013
Great dress, super sparkly, tons of compliments!
Very flattering for a sequins dress--the draping across the front was especially nice! The neckline is a little wider of a "v" than I anticipated but was still very cute. Its also a bit longer than I thought it was going to be, which is saying something considering most dresses are too short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
November 15, 2013
I wore this dress for my 8 year wedding anniversary in Chicago!
I absolutely loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I did wear some Victoria's secret shape-wear under it just to help smooth things out a bit, but overall I loved this dress. I wore a nice pair of black pumps. The color is a beautiful midnight blue and it sparkles in the lights! I would definitely rent this dress again! I have actually rented the showstopper earrings 4 times now. They are the perfect addition to any dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
November 23, 2013
Loved it!
I was crossing the street and two women shouted from a passing car, "I love your dress!" Fabulous moment. The dress fit like a glove. I could wear a normal bra and added some spanx to give me a waist.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2013
Easy to rent and easy to return this stunning dress.
I rented this dress for a late November fundraiser with a 'cocktail attire' dress code. I am a very 'jeans and t-shirt' kind of girl and I cringe when I need to get dressed up. Especially at this point in my life where I am carrying an additional 20 lbs of weight I am working on losing. Anyway, based on the reviews I went ahead and rented this in both a small and a medium. My rental arrived on time, and both dresses were in excellent shape. There was not even a slight chance that I could have worn the small. If you have bigger boobs and a full butt like me...chances are the small is not for you. The medium fit beautifully and I wore it with a regular bra and Spanx. The dress is comfortable, flattering and classy. If you rent this dress you will not be disappointed!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 25, 2013
Hugs in all the right places!
This dress is stunning. If you love to flaunt your curves, this is the dress for you! Just the right amount of sparkle and the length, I found, was perfect. I ordered it as my backup dress and I loved the way it fit, but I didn't use it because the XS that I received had a minor defect... on the bottom left side of the dress, the side looked like the ruching came loose and sort of stuck out at a weird angle. It just didn't look right and it was noticeable... so I went with the other dress instead. Had it not been for this minor detail, I would have totally worn this dress!
See more reviews:
3 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×