Badgley Mischka

Meshing Around Gown

$158 to buy
$585 retail
Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(126)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 18, 2013
Great service!
Very comfotable and elegant dress. I wore a 4 L and it was a little long with 4 inch heels on. The dress was true to size, not too tight or big which was perfect! Definitely using Rent the Runway in the future!
JessicaSeptember 24, 2014
I am a 34A also....how was top top? Did you have to use any tape?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 1, 2014
Black tie awards gala
The dress fit like a glove which is a miracle since I just had a baby. I thought it was very flattering to the tummy and hips, not clingy at all. About an inch of my strapless bra was showing, so I just tacked the top of the dress closed. I wore 4" heels, and the length just skimmed the floor. I was a little nervous about renting a dress, so I definitely wanted to pick something "safe". I can't imagine this dress really looking bad on anyone. I really liked that it is a really basic style dress with just a small touch of trend with the keyhole and mesh neckline. I blended in, but still didn't look like anyone else. I was glad I picked it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
May 31, 2014
I had a very unique dress for senior prom.
The front of the dress is a little hard to control with larger bust sizes. Also, I am 5'4'' and ordered the long to wear with heels but ended up wearing flats because the length was barely skimming the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 21, 2014
Pretty fabric, classic style
The dress looks gorgeous on the hanger; I was desperate to wear it even though it was my backup. A few things kept me from wearing it- the op was very loose, definitely requiring a size down, while the waist was a little more unforgiving than I would have liked. So- gorgeous dress, but the top runs bigger than the waist (at least, from my experience). 5'9" with 4" heels, skimmed the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2014
I was told that my dress was the only "wow" dress worn.
I typically wear a 6, but it was not available. Since many of the reviews said the dress runs large, I figured I would be ok with the 4. It was a tight fit and the zipper was a challenge over the ruched waistband area, but the dress was great! It was the perfect length too. I got many compliments and was told that my dress was the only "wow" dress in the room. I was also told that my husband and I looked downright presidential in our attire. The keyhole is a little low, but I wore a black strapless bra that was indistinguishable from the actual dress. I will definitely RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 30, 2014
I
The fit was great. #prom
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2013
RTR was amazing and I received the dress right on time! It was a magical evening.
Dress was fantastic! I am 5'10" and usually wear 5 inch heels when I go out, so I LOVE that there was an XLong option. It is always a problem for me. But this dress was long and flowing and I looked amazing.
moniqueOctober 29, 2014
you are the spitting image of Cameron Diaz, and you look amazing in this gown.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2014
It was nice wearing a dress that cost way more than I was willing to spend on the event!
The dress was beautiful. It was exactly as described. I was impressed with the condition the dress came in and the way it was shipped. It was truly ready to wear. It showed a little more boob than I would normally wear, but for the most part, I felt comfortable and the I think it really looked good. Unfortunately I had to wear the bigger size which fit great, but they only had a long and it was too long, but a little fashion tape took care of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2015
Fantastic
Fit absolutely great. It is a little heavier fabric, so layed very well and was flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
Not for me
I ordered this as my back up dress. I really did not care for it in person. The dress isn't something I would normally wear but I wanted to try something different. SInce I am short and a little busty, the key hole was much lower on me and really unflattering. Luckily my first pick fit great :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2015
Super comfortable and classy!
This is such an effortless dress. It's stretchy fabric but you can tell it's well made. It doesn't look cheap at all. Perfect for an evening wedding where you want a little bit of drama with the sheer illusion neck part. It was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2015
Elegantly simple.
Comfortable fit, nice draping. The actual dress seems different from the one in the photo - the shoulders fit more like a sleeveless cut, no cap. I think I wore the right size (size 2) for my body type (5'8", 125 lbs, straight & narrow).
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2015
Friends
the dress was a bit long...I am 5'4" and wore 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Great Dress if you Wanna Show Off some Cleavage
The dress was great - except for one major detail - the key-whole was too exposing for what I needed this for. I was representing my firm at a formal affair and did not intend on showing my bra off all night - but that's what happened. It was either that or go bra-less, which would have been quite obvious. I tried using tape, but it kept pulling on the fabric and was obvious I had the tape there. Aside from that, the dress was the perfect length, fit great, felt great, and was classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
September 8, 2015
Great dress when you want to fit in, but not call too much attention to yourself -ie: at work events
Great fit.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
October 9, 2015
So many compliments :)
Classy, sexy, yet covered
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 13, 2016
The dress that got away
I was unfortunately not able to wear this.. However, I did happen to be able to allow another guest who had not brought a black tie affair outfit to wear this instead. And like Cinderella's godmother I was able to turn a humble young girl into a stylish goddess of epic proportions. She was able to impress her beau who then couldn't keep his eyes off her all night. Thanks RTR for helping me make a young girl's fashion dreams a reality!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 2, 2016
Great dress for a black tie event!
amazing... giving a little cleavage not overboard, sexy and classy -- and it cinched at the waist! LOVE it I will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2012
curvalicious friendly!
As you can see I am a curvy girl and the dress fit perfectly. I am 5"9" , a 36 DDD,and I wore 4" heels,so I was thankful I ordered the 10L. The drape of the fabric is elegant and flowing,but the top does not look as dramatic as I had hoped,I added my own big bling to add some glam. I will add that it is not a clingy fabric so no need for Spanx...yay! I received many compliments and felt confident that I was dressed in a beautiful dress for a beautiful evening! I highly recommend this choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 31, 2012
I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. Stunning without making me look overdressed.
I said runs true to size but you could say runs a little large. I'm between I 6 and 8 right now and could have worn either. The 6 looked like it was in better shape, the 8 had a funny line on it that looked like the dry cleaner had maybe pressed on too high of a heat? Anyhow I was very comfortable in both dresses. My husband couldn't tell the difference. I wore my hair down, no necklace, some dangling earring and a stack of different silver bangles. $20 for a pile of accessories at forever 21. I was really pleased with this dress. The wedding we attended was semi formal but the groomsmen wore tuxes (my husband was one) so I wanted to dress it up a little bit and wear a long dress (hoping to get our Christmas Card photo). The fabric wasn't too fancy (jersey) and my choice of accessories kept me from looking overdressed. I'm 5'6'' and the length was prefect to show the peep toe on 3 inch heels. The slip was not as high was pictured, which I was just fine with. I didn't feel exposed at all in it. I wore a strapless bra and the silhouette was forgiving enough to wear any kind of underwear and no spanx! The dress is also fairly light and I danced all night without getting hot. Great dress, highly recommended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 10, 2013
I wore this dress for prom and it was wonderful! Everything fit great and was comfortable.
PROS: COMFY! The dress was light and the material was great, so I had no trouble dancing and running around. It always fit very well, I got many compliments. I felt like an old hollywood star when I paired it with the hair! I feel like you can make the dress look anyway you want by dressing it up in different ways. CONS: When I got the dress there were small tears in the mesh, but you could barely see them so I just wore it anyway...so I guess I can't complain about that! EXTRA: With my heels, the 8L was the best. I'm usually a 6, and the 6 fit nicely, but for some reason the 8 just fell better on my body. So I'd say order your usual size, and also one size up. THIS IS A GREAT DRESS! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 21, 2014
Loved the high slit! Fancy and fun!
I had to safety pin it so I wasn't SO boobalicious for the gala I was going to.. That would be my only complaint! Beautiful and comfy !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 1, 2014
Got TONS of compliments!!
Dress fit perfectly! I'm almost 5'5 and usually a size 6 in tops and bottoms. Was concerned about length as everything is usually way too long for me, but this was perfect with 3 inch heels. I have a small bust so I had to tape the front shut. Absolutely love this dress -- classy, stylish, and gave me the vintage look our bride wanted for her bridesmaids.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 154lbs
September 22, 2014
Great dress for those of us who are short & curvy
Because of my short height I don't typically wear floor length dresses but this was perfectly tailored for petite sizing and I felt very long and fluid in it. Dress gathered in all the right places and draped in all the right places, too. It felt vintage and modest while still being contemporary. Loved it and got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
December 24, 2014
Wasn't my first choice, but it did the job
This was my 5th time renting and the first time it wasn't a perfect experience. They didn't have my first choice in my size, and this one only arrived in the 2 (I'm usually a 4, but this is stretchy so it was OK). In their photo it looks like a cap-sleeve and a high leg slit, it wasn't cap and the slit only went to the knee. I still felt good and a strapless bra worked perfectly. Best yet? RTR sent me an apology box of Godiva chocolates (I have a PRO account, and I'm a top contributor, but I didn't even post a negative review! Talk about service!). I've just put in my order for a Valentine's Day date dress for a trip to SF. I'm an RTR customer for life!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
October 26, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable
Gorgeous, gorgeous. It fits perfectly, is comfortable, and has great movement. I'm 5'4 and had to wear very high heels with this to keep it from dragging. I wore this to a law school graduation and this was a perfect choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2012
Great dress, conservative.
The slit is not that high, it is much more conservative then the dress appears to be here.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2012
This dress made me feel elegant without feeling overdressed.
The fit was true to size, but the dress on the model looks like the skit comes up to mid-thigh. It was much closer to my knee, which was a bit of a disappointment but I loved wearing this dress.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
Perfect for a Chicago New Years Wedding
It was perfect for a New Years formal wedding. It was modest, comfortable, and the slit is not even close to being as high up as it seems on the model. I could not be happier with the dress.! It was really long, but that actually worked out well with the heels I wore.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 12, 2013
Lovely.
I loved this dress. I was so disappointed that RTR sent it in shambles with the lining hanging down below the hemline and a stitch repair in the meshing that was an eye sore. It was totally unwearable, but the fit and shape were so great. I was truly heartbroken. I'll definitely try to rent it again and cross my fingers that they send me something in decent shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 7, 2013
2nd choice dress, and almost wore it!
this dress felt fantastic on, and I almost wore it instead of my first choice, but the v-neck is super low, and my strapless bra wasn't low cut enough. Will definitely rent this dress again and wear it!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2013
Great black tie dress
The slit is non-existent compared to the photo, but really liked the dress, so comfortable. Not a statement dress by any means but a good last minute choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
November 13, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
This dress was fantastic-- comfortable, flattering and easy to wear. I'm 5'7" and it was just a tad long (around 1/2") but it wasn't a big deal at all. I'd rent it again.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 28, 2013
Stunning! Beautiful. Elegant long black dress! Loved it! Very comfortable!
I am 5'11 so anytime I can find a floor length dress, that is a good thing! This not only was long enough, but was such a great dress! It made me feel beautiful!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2014
I didn't wear it.
Pros: The fit is perfect. It was too thin in the chest area to not wear a bra, and a bra fit underneath nicely. Cons: The slit is not at all like in the model photo. It sits towards the side of my calf and is not visible unless I stick my leg out to the side/back, and you can see a bit below the knee. Not sexy, like the photo would lead you to believe.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2015
So comfortable, easy to dance in, and fit beautifully.
I'm 5'4 and 115lbs., and this dress, size 2R, fit like a glove (with heels on). The slit is not as high up the thigh as pictured. I loved the front keyhole. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone going to a formal wedding/cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 19, 2015
elegant, comfortable, sexy.
This is a perfect dress for many different body types.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 30, 2015
The dress is subtle but beautiful
Very comfortable, elegant
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×