Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Meshing Around Gown

$70 rental
$585 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

149 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 119
Large 19
Photos 78
missmimichi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

It was a good back-up dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually my backup dress that I didn't wear but had tried on just to see which option was better. The length of this dress is quite good for anyone 5'8" and taller. I think it does run large overall though and I would suggest sizing down. The slit is also less prominent when worn which was a con for me. You'd have to really stick your leg out to have the effect that you see on the model.
Amy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Good back up

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit and lovely but I felt the shoulders just didn't look "right". I am not sure if they were maybe stretched because of the fabric being on a hanger, the dress is a bit heavy. Otherwise the drape of the fabric is very nice because of the weight and is very flattering. I could have absolutely worn the dress and felt beautiful but this was my back-up so I went with my first choice.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Oct 26, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous, gorgeous. It fits perfectly, is comfortable, and has great movement. I'm 5'4 and had to wear very high heels with this to keep it from dragging. I wore this to a law school graduation and this was a perfect choice.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 9, 2012

Perfect for a night at the opera

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was sexy but subtle and completely perfect for the occasion. I do wish, though, that I had been able to rent the extra long version, because I am 6'0" and in short heels I almost felt it was a bit too short. Overall, though, this was a gerat dress.
GCF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Not as glamorous as it looks in picture

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the slit doesnt go as high as it looks like in the picture. the slit doesnt even go over the knee.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Nov 14, 2012

Great dress, conservative.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The slit is not that high, it is much more conservative then the dress appears to be here.
Kirsten
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

I really enjoyed renting the dress! The size was perfect. I typically wear a 4 and it fit perfect.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a very nice fit! I liked the draping and gathering at the waste, as it added a bit of camouflage if your figure is not perfect. I wore a strapless black bra and spanx slip and it felt great. The slit is much less than shown in the photo - it goes up only to the knee on me and I'm 5'5". The cap sleeve is more like sleeveless, also keep that in mind. This was a very pleasant experience and I received several compliments! I went to the event solo, so I don't have any great photos, sorry!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

This dress made me feel elegant without feeling overdressed.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size, but the dress on the model looks like the skit comes up to mid-thigh. It was much closer to my knee, which was a bit of a disappointment but I loved wearing this dress.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Classy dress, very comfortable

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a black tie wedding. I was concerned because the other reviewers mentioned it being very long, but it was the perfect length for me. I paired it with about 3in heels. The dress was super comfortable and I got compliments all night.
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

I didn't wear this dress, it was a back-up option.

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was still a bit long for me, even with 5" heels. The fit is very flattering and I chose to wear something else over this dress, but I would definitely wear it for the right event. I accesorized with Gerard Yosca drop earrings which had large green gems.
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

I didn't end up wearing this dress but it fit perfectly!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable! I also LOVED the slit up the side... very sexy!
priscilla
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Dec 10, 2012

Did not wear...

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear this dress. The slit is a tiny split on the side of the dress, the only reason I got it was because I wanted to show off my leg. It looked very matronly on and the zipper was stuck and I wasn't able to wear.
laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Dec 10, 2012

Stunning and super comfortable

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black tie gala and it was great. extremely comfortable and very flattering. the waist is cinched and very supported, so you feel really tucked in. No need really for spanx or anything like that. I rented a petite because I was nervous the regular would be way too long and I wanted to wear comfortable shoes. The petite worked great, but I would have liked another inch on the bottom. Great dress.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Pretty dress, but ran large in the wrong areas.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I couldn't wear this dress because it ran too large in the bust area...which is never a problem I have :-) The dress was pretty...but kind of plain. Looked elegant and was flattering. But the v neck in the bust was loose and gaping. Being a DD cup, this is the opposite problem I usually have. Length was spot on. If you rent this dress, make sure to get a flashy bracelet and earrings to spice it up a bit.
Kerry
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

The cost is amazing. I got many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'8" and very slender. I liked that I could wear a normal strapless bra with this dress. The dress fit perfectly with a 3 inch heel. It was VERY comfortable and flattering.
Cindy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Perfect dress for the occasion.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The reviews i read were helpful, and right -- I ordered my usual size 4, but because reviews said it ran a bit large, i also ordered the size 2. i could have worn the 4, but the 2 was a more perfect fit. The dress was super comfortable and very elegant. I felt formal, but not fussy. Chandelier earrings & a big bracelet are a must, since you can't wear a necklace with the neckline.
Karen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 9, 2013

elegant and interesting

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The neckline is unique and interesting, and the overall look is so elegant. I wore it to a black tie new year's event, and strangers were complementing me all night long. The fabric was light and easy to wear as well. The two layers of mesh skimmed without clinging. My only complaint is that I'd want it to be about an inch longer. I wore flats, and the dress (in the long size) didn't quite hit the floor. It wasn't particularly noticeable, but it kept the dress from being absolutely perfect.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 15, 2013

rented this for a gala!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great fit but the dress is REALLY long! I am 5 8 and several inches were dragging even with 4 in heels.
Eden
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Simple and elegant

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very simple and elegant, but could use a little more excitement. Very long, but otherwise was true to size. I definitely should have ordered the Regular instead of Long, so the slit didn't come up as high as it should of, which detracted for the overall effect it was supposed to have. The diamond was also smaller than I thought it would be. But otherwise it was great.
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 26, 2013

This dress was perfect for the dinner. I felt sophisticated and classy.

Size worn: 6XL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a bit large, I usually wear between an 8 and 10.
Kimber
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Perfect for a Chicago New Years Wedding

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was perfect for a New Years formal wedding. It was modest, comfortable, and the slit is not even close to being as high up as it seems on the model. I could not be happier with the dress.! It was really long, but that actually worked out well with the heels I wore.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

So comfortable and classic!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 6R and 8R, however the 6R was unavailable when it came time to be shipped. The 8R fit fine, but definitely could have used the size down as the 8 was a tad on the big size. The length was perfect and almost too long wi 4" heels; I kept getting the back caught on my shoes. Overall, amazing dress. I would buy this dress in a heartbeat as it is so versatile, comfortable, and has a classic look. RTR was also great and looking forward to my next event to try out another dress!
sam
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Feb 9, 2013

Great Dress! Fits beautifully!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was prefect for the event and the costumer service was excellent.
TallCaliGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

This was a solid choice for a formal work event.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was great for my height and the dress was very comfortable. The material was a jersey blend that seemed a little down market, but other than that it worked for the occasion.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Matronly

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought this dress was a bit too drab. It possibly could have wored if I had some statement jewelry, but I didn't. Dress was comfortable.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

Lovely.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I was so disappointed that RTR sent it in shambles with the lining hanging down below the hemline and a stitch repair in the meshing that was an eye sore. It was totally unwearable, but the fit and shape were so great. I was truly heartbroken. I'll definitely try to rent it again and cross my fingers that they send me something in decent shape.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Feb 12, 2013

This dress was way too short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
My biggest pet peeve is when long dresses are too short and you can see your shoes. This dress fit pretty well but it was way to short. The stylists said for 5'4" a 4R should work, but a 4L probably would've been much better.
EClements
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Stunning Dress

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Received many compliments....wished the slit was higher as it appeared on the model. Overall, great experience.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 23, 2013

Sexy and slimming

Size worn: 12XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Classic dress. Photographs well. Easy to wear.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×