Meshing Around Gown

$176 to buy
$585 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large20
True to Size126
Small7
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2014
Beautiful second choice dress
I didn't wear this dress for my prom, but it was a backup and looked absolutely beautiful. The one thing I will say is that the hem looked really dirty and ratted, but that also may be an indication that the dress is super popular and beloved by many!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
May 6, 2014
This dress was simple, elegant, & comfortable. Got lots of compliments and bragged it was from RTR!
This was my second time renting from RTR and I was thrill once again! This beautiful Badgley Mischka gown was exactly what I was looking for - simple, elegant, and comfortable. I took a chance and only got 1 dress. The only one available was a 10 Long. I was worried about the length but wore higher shoes. It was the perfect length! The only negative thing was the keyhole neckline plunged a little too deep for me so I had to add a brooch. The extra sparkle was nice because I didn't wear a necklace. I also rented some Nicole Miller earrings from RTR and they completed my look perfectly. I'm looking forward to renting again....I'm addicted! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress.
I wore this dress for a formal military event. The dress fit perfectly...it's beautiful, very light & easy to wear. I received several compliments on this dress throughout the evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2014
I didn't wear it.
Pros: The fit is perfect. It was too thin in the chest area to not wear a bra, and a bra fit underneath nicely. Cons: The slit is not at all like in the model photo. It sits towards the side of my calf and is not visible unless I stick my leg out to the side/back, and you can see a bit below the knee. Not sexy, like the photo would lead you to believe.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2014
Flattering and Comfortable
I really liked this dress, it was so flattering and comfortable for a night of dancing. I had two problems with it though, one is that it was pretty short. I am 5'5 and I had to wear flats because it fell right to my feet. It also has shorter sleeves than the picture shows, it is more of a tank top. Despite these two issues, the dress worked out great and I will definitely be renting from Rent the Runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2014
What a beautiful dress
I wore 2 regular and it fit perfectly. I got so many compliments the entire night. I wore it to my husband's law school prom and It was perfect. I ordered both long and regular but long was really long and I had to hold it up to walk. Overall great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
Flattering, Great for Bigger Bust, Perfect Long Black Dress
I recently had a black tie wedding at 21 weeks pregnant and needless to say was freaking out about what to wear. I didn't want to spend money on a dress I would likely never wear again so a friend suggested I try RTR. I was a bit hesitant being pregnant but I found a lot of the reviews people had posted very helpful and needless to say landed on this one per the reviews and the material seemed a bit more stretchy so I figured it should work. I ordered an 8L and 10L (I am normally an 8) and while the 8 fit...due to my expanding tummy and larger bust (I am normally a 34DD, not sure what I am now that they have grown) ended up wearing the 10 as it was more comfortable in the chest. This dress was incredibly flattering, even at 21 weeks pregnant and the material was nice and comfortable. I will say the slit isn't as prominent as they show on the model and more on the side...but other than that it is exactly as described. Having a bigger bust I was worried that the keyhole might expose a bit too much but it was fine. A nice sexy touch without being to risque. I am 5'8" and went with the long and it was pretty long. With 3 inch heels it still skimmed the ground...with anything shorter would have been too long. If you are over 5'7" and plan to wear super tall heels I would definitely get the long. I got tons of compliments on the dress and overall was very pleased with my first RTR experience.
SabrinaSeptember 7, 2014
thank you for your post. i am also pregnant and struggling to find an option!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2014
Dress arrived in the wrong length
I didn't get to wear it because it was too short I ordered a 10XL and they sent a 10R the staff at RTR was very helpful in fixing the situation 5 stars for customer service
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
March 24, 2014
Its very Chic!
I really loved this dress and the fit even though I ended up wearing the other dress I got from this site. The only reason I decided to wear the other dress was bra issues. Finding a bra that would support me and for it not to be seen was tricking especially because I didn't have to find the right bra, that's why I wore the other one... But if you don't need a bra for support, have the right bra, or have time to get one I would defiantly wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2014
Not a fave. :-(
This dress is a bit different from the picture, which was a disappointment for sure. It fits a little strange if you have a bigger, natural bust. The slit in the skirt is not as high as shown in the picture. It's probably half that length and it is not in the front of the dress, it is off to the side. If you are 5'9" or taller, you CANNOT wear heels with this dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
February 23, 2014
Classy, elegant
The dress fitted very well at the waist. The top was loose and low cut. The length was a little long (I only wore 3" heels). The bottom touched the floor at times but it didn't bother me that much. It gave me a very lovely and classy look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
Fit so perfect and was VERY comfortable.
I wore this for a black tie optional wedding. I rented the long and it was definitely long, although I only wore a two inch heel. Would absolutely recommend.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
flattering, elegant, and comfortable.
I loved this dress. I got tons of compliments and it was even more stunning in person than on the website. be prepared to show some cleavage, but it still looks classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
Not for me
I ordered this as my back up dress. I really did not care for it in person. The dress isn't something I would normally wear but I wanted to try something different. SInce I am short and a little busty, the key hole was much lower on me and really unflattering. Luckily my first pick fit great :)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 21, 2013
Very elegant when accessorized.
I was worried when someone called this dress matronly. However, I gave it a shot, and I loved it. The key hole neck is a super sexy feature. The slit is much lower than shown in the picture, but with the neck and the mesh detail, a dramatic slit like the one shown might have been a bit much. Dress felt comfortably loose at a size 10; however, I am a true hourglass figure and I have a thick build, so I'm easily a size or two below what would be the standard dress size at my weight. Continuing with the review... I also liked the length of the dress with my three inch heels. I was able to move free from dress drag, but was in a long enough dress to keep with the formal dress code. I would recommend accessorizing this dress to bring out its full impact.
moniqueOctober 29, 2014
you look gorgeous!!!!!!!!!! if this is matronly, I will gladly be matronly!! stunning my dear
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 17, 2013
The material was amazing and my friends were extremely impressed with the fit of the designer
Since I am short (5'2), the slip was not as appealing on my petite frame. Since I am busty (32D) the cutout at the top of the dress was not as complementary as I hoped.
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2013
RTR was amazing and I received the dress right on time! It was a magical evening.
Dress was fantastic! I am 5'10" and usually wear 5 inch heels when I go out, so I LOVE that there was an XLong option. It is always a problem for me. But this dress was long and flowing and I looked amazing.
moniqueOctober 29, 2014
you are the spitting image of Cameron Diaz, and you look amazing in this gown.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2013
Unforgettable Indeed!
The dress was beautiful online but on me, definitely not! I have quite a large bust and if you're on busty side, this dress is not for you. It had a slimming fit but the breast area ran to small. Amazing dress online but not on me....
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 28, 2013
Stunning! Beautiful. Elegant long black dress! Loved it! Very comfortable!
I am 5'11 so anytime I can find a floor length dress, that is a good thing! This not only was long enough, but was such a great dress! It made me feel beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 26, 2013
The dress was hot.
Loved the dress. One problem with it was that it was way too long! A 5'4" even with 4 inch heels on I was still stepping on the dress all night. The other reviewers made it sound too short but I found the opposite. The key-hole portion was also too large. I'm a 32DDD and one picture of the evening shows a good portion of my strapless bra and all my cleavage...not a good look. Other than that I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2013
Sexy & elegant!
I loved this dress the minute i put it on! The waist is cinching (no stretch here though) and the key hole neckline is subtly sexy (more sexy the bigger your chest is!) But once I put my 3 inch heals on it was just too short to wear. Called RTR that evening before 6 PM and had a new style the next afternoon. I'm 5'5.5" - would try to rent again in Long for a formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress
Good fit, very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
November 13, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
This dress was fantastic-- comfortable, flattering and easy to wear. I'm 5'7" and it was just a tad long (around 1/2") but it wasn't a big deal at all. I'd rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 10, 2013
This dress made me feel like a rockstar!
The fit is very figure-flattering. I wore it with a strapless bra, with ease. I recently lost about 65 pounds, and the dress really accentuated my new body. I got so many compliments. Loved, loved, loved it. Only thing, it was a little short for the heels I wore, but other than that, an overall great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for the Navy Ball on a yacht! So many compliments from everyone!
Perfect fit and length.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
Understated Elegance
I absolutely adore the Meshing Around Gown! I ordered this dress for a very formal wedding and it was a perfect choice - chic, elegant, and oh so comfortable to wear! The front neckline and side slit are balanced by a simple jersey material that flows as you move. I usually wear a size 6 or 8, and this dress actually seemed a little bit large in the hips in the 6. Also, at 5'10", I opted to order the extra length for the dress. I wore 3 inch heels (couldn't wear my higher shoes due to a recent ankle injury) and the dress was about an inch too long. Had I worn other shoes, it would have been perfect! My only complaint about the front neckline is you must be cautious with choosing undergarments. I wore a deep V strapless corset bra and had issues with keeping the bra out of view on one side. Otherwise this dress is just exquisite and is an ultra-flattering classy choice.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 24, 2013
Dress was perfect for a black tie party, got many compliments.
Very comfortable dress for a formal affair. My only issue was what kind of bra/pasties to wear. I'm fairly small chested so opted to just wear pasties as the cut of this dress does not allow a strapless. I wasn't too pleased with the look of the pasties under the dress, but that is more likely an issue with the product I bought than the dress. There was a small hole on one of the shoulders in the mesh, I was planning on having an updo, but then chose to wear my hair down to hide the hole. Customer service was very understanding and gave me a discount due to the hole. All in all, a great comfortable(can't say that much about gowns!) formal dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
Elegant and slightly sassy!
The dress was simple and gorgeous. It was great for the formal Bar Association Prom that I had to attend for work. The details like the slit, mesh and keyhole at the neckline made the dress feel classy but still a little flirty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 198lbs
October 16, 2013
LOVEd it!
Beautiful gown, very comfortable and adds just the right amount of seductiveness.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2013
awesome dress!
Great dress! Def. order petite if you are short, i am 5'1 and i wore 4 inch heels and it hit the floor a tiny bit. The slit is NOT in the front, in fact it's not noticeable at all! and not as high as you see it on the model. it hit me a little above my knee and it was towards the back very hidden by the fabric. Super comfortable, i wore it for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
This dress was super comfortable yet very flattering.
It was a little hard to find a bra that would work with this dress. Otherwise every part of the dress was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 18, 2013
It was a very nice dress, not dressy enough for what I needed it for.
No details. I didn't wear it. Wasn't formal enough for the event I rented it for...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
August 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress classic dress.
Beautiful Dress I wore it to be Audrey Hepburn for Halloween very tight in the breast area.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 26, 2013
Lovely, easy to wear dress that is elegant, easy to dance in, and a compliment grabber.
Slit isn't very high (hit knee at most). If you have square shoulders (versus slopping) it will be sleeveless, not capped. That said, I got a lot of compliments and it was very easy to wear, dance in, and I felt effortlessly dressed to-the-nines. Many people said it reminded them of a dress from the 30's but at the same time very modern. Depending on your accesories you can take this dress in many different look directions and it will look great. Whole process is a breeze. Will rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2013
amazing amazing amazing!!
I wore an 8 I am usually a 10 ... the dress was very slimming and did a great job of hiding the tummy...got so many compliments :) would rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2013
Perfect Prom Dress
I rented this for my daughter for Senior Prom and it was a huge hit! I paired it with the Vintage Chanel earrings and my own Christian Louboutin pumps and she looked beautiful and classy!
MargaritaJune 16, 2014
OMG amazing. the clutch, the shoes, the hair, the makeup. Perfection.
RachelleAugust 16, 2014
I am 5'7 and 3/4...alsmost 5'8"...should i order L or R?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 18, 2013
Great service!
Very comfotable and elegant dress. I wore a 4 L and it was a little long with 4 inch heels on. The dress was true to size, not too tight or big which was perfect! Definitely using Rent the Runway in the future!
JessicaSeptember 24, 2014
I am a 34A also....how was top top? Did you have to use any tape?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2013
Great black tie dress
The slit is non-existent compared to the photo, but really liked the dress, so comfortable. Not a statement dress by any means but a good last minute choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 18, 2013
This was a back up dress for a wedding.
The dress was a bit long for my 5'4" frame, even with heels.The slit also wasn't really noticeable. I would prefer a different dress.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
July 9, 2013
PERFECTLY CLASSY
Love this dress, it fit me perfectly. Love that it isn't overly revealing but still sexy. So sad that I didn't even get one picture of me in it!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×