Masquerade Mambo Sheath

$30 rental
$660 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This beaded Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress is a one-of-a-kind style that will catch everyone's eye at the party. Accessorize with Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted- fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Nude mesh with black beads (100% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS! So unique and different!
Was in love with this dress from the moment I put it on! I usually wear a medium but i wore the small, and even that stretched out a bit as the night went on. The slip did show out of the bottom the entire evening as many other reviews said, but I didnt mind. I received tons of compliments, and felt like the dress flattered me in all the pictures. I wish I could rent this again, but its such a unique dress, I think it can only be worn once, so wear it to an event you really want to be noticed at! overall: no cons!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 3, 2013
Unique style, Comfortable all night long!
I loved this dress and received a lot of compliments when I wore it to a recent wedding at Chelsea Piers in NYC. It was comfortable and really stood out without being too flashy. I kept accessories simple with a black wristlet and pumps and some simple teardrop earrings. I have had other RTR experiences where an XS was way too tight (to the point that I had to size up), but this dress was comfortable and I had plenty of breathing room even after stuffing myself at a very tasty cocktail hour!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2013
Unique design with classic details; great fit comfort- makes for a confident and gorgeous look!
This was very flattering but warning, the beaded overlay is still form fitting and shows off every curve. The black sequins making up the design are unique and surprisingly in great condition. The most common comment was that i looked "stunning" which I think really sums up the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
Classy and sophisticated
This dress was perfect for an outdoors wedding. The sequin pattern on the dress makes it very unique. The fit is very comfortable and hides any imperfections you may have on your waist area. I received many compliments on this dress. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the second style I ordered I just loved! But the dress was very pretty and I would definitely order it again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2013
Classy, eye catching dress!
I called RTR worrying that the Small would be too tight and they were so helpful in reassuring me that if it didn't fit they would overnight a different dress in time for my event the next day since they didn't have a Medium available. Luckily, the small fit perfectly! (I do recommend wearing Spanx to achieve the perfect hourglass waist however) I paired it with the Anton Heunis Crystal Leaf Earrings and achieved the old Hollywood glam look I was going for!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2013
Great fitting! Loved!
I ordered the small and medium. The small fit but was a little too tight for a fancier wedding. I got so many complements on this dress and it's a little different which is what drew me to it in the first place. I recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2013
The dress was well made, but ended up being a bit too formal for the outdoor wedding I went to.
This dress would be great for a fun evening occasion, like an nighttime wedding or New Years party. I would size down to keep it from being TOO shapeless-- both the small and medium fit, but the medium was more like a slouchy comfortable sweater feel, and the small was more slinky and put together.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2013
Glam dress for a Gatsby-inspired wedding.
Didn't want to go costume-y at a Gatsby-inspired wedding so picked this dress for some classic glam. This a really sophisticated dress that fits exactly like it appears on the model. It has a higher neckline than I usually prefer but it's also fairly short and very fitted, so it kind of balances out. The large was a bit loose in awkward places and didn’t do much for my shape, but the medium was perfect. There’s very little give in the outer layer of fabric, though, so definitely size up for your back-up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156lbs
October 18, 2013
I loved it!!!
Great dress, beautiful design!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 19, 2013
Everyone loved the dress. It was perfect for a late summer wedding.
The fit was great. Being so tall, i wasn't worried about it being short in any area. Really accentuated my curves. I felt beautiful in it and would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 1, 2013
Bummer
The nude part of the dress is a lot darker in person that in the picture. It also was VERY tight on my chest, although the rest of it fit perfectly. I would say go up a size if you have a full chest
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2013
I wore this dress for my engagement party - it was a hit
Very comfortable and looks awesome. Spanx will be your friend with this dress. I didn't wear them but I should have instead of sucking it in for all the pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2013
Got LOTS of compliments on this dress, very classy and sophisticated.
The biggest con is the nude under dress was a bit longer than the mesh sequined overlay and i had to pin it up. Was a bit of a hassle, but it was such a beautiful dress no one noticed the pins.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118lbs
November 24, 2013
Great dress - flattering but not too restricting for eating and dancing.
At weddings that are going to span afternoon into evening, it's important for me to be able to eat and dance, but still look glamorous. This dress is very distinctive, yet you can wear any bra underneath. The only con is that the lining underneath would crease in the torso area so unless you readjusted after standing up you'd have lines. It would be better if the lining had a tiny bit more structure. But great dress overall, and would highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 26, 2013
Great dress for a wedding
I was really happy with this dress. It was comfortable and I received a ton of compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 29, 2013
I was definitely uniquely dressed for this occasion.
I am more petite above the waist than below. This fit perfectly below the waist but bunched up in the upper back. I still wore it because the neck hole and cap sleeves made it look all right in front. I accessorized it with mixed animal print Manolo Blahnik kitten heels, an animal print Rebecca Minkoff clutch, smoky quartz and antique silver earrings, and black and ballet pink mirrorwork bangles.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2013
Loved the beading!
Beautiful dress, nice quality. Looks better in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 17, 2013
Comfortable and pretty but just okay for me
The large was a little loose but the medium was too tight for me to be comfortable. Currently my shape is more pear than hourglass so I might have been more comfortable in a different style or fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 21, 2013
Love this dress!!
If I could purchase this dress I would!!! It was GREAT!! I got tons of compliments!! Definitely would recommend this dress and I will probably rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2013
:)
I didn't end up wearing this - I'm 5'1" and it looked a little too long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
December 22, 2013
Loved this dress!
I loved the look of this dress and received a number of compliments! I paired it with gold sandals and I felt beautiful. While I technically could have worn the size XS, it was too tight for my comfort. The size S gave me a bit more room to dance and walk up/down stairs so I was grateful to have ordered both sizes. I am a 0-2, pear-shape with a muscular backside. Hope this helps others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 29, 2013
Beautiful details on this dress and received it by noon the day after it shipped.
This dress is very well made. The small was a little loose but I liked that because it was easy to move in. The sheer overlay with the lace embellishment was beautiful. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal in December. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful beading but strange fit
The fit around the arms was a bit strange. Almost wish the dress had a cap sleeve or thinner tank straps instead. If you want a tighter fit, better break out the Spanx!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2014
Perfect dress for a cocktail party
I was a bit surprised I needed a Large in this dress. But the large fit perfectly. I really needed it for my bust/chest area. Loved the dress, the material, the comfort of it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2014
Very unique and eye-catching
it was a tiny bit worn at the hem but worked out fine. great style.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 28, 2014
Tons of compliments!!!
Great choice for my Gatsby themed affair!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable!
I loved this dress! The detail is really nice and it was so comfortable. I got so many compliments. My only criticism is that after a while the sequins started to rub my arms and made them red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 5, 2014
Very flattering and even more beautiful in person.
great gift, would have liked it a little shorter, but i'm a short gal so it hit right above my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2014
Perfect!
I wore this to my law firm's holiday party, and it was fabulous! Fit perfectly, looked stunning. Such a beautiful dress. In a perfect world, it would've been just a tiny bit longer, but that's only because it was a work function - it's a great length for anything else (wedding, party, etc.). Wish I could buy this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2014
A very glamorous, Gatsby-style dress!
This dress is certainly a stand-out dress even with the neutral colors! It's a comfortable length, quite flattering and looks great in pictures. It does run large, so I'd order your normal size and then a size down, and the color is much more olive-y/darker than in the model's picture. My only issue with this dress is that the shoulders are very wide, it looked a little odd but I think that was mainly due to my body type/shape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 15, 2014
So many compliments! Loved every minute in this dress! Broke my heart to send it back :(
The hem comes up a little in the front but with some readjustments was fine. Worth every penny! Definitely form fitting and snug in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2014
I got this dress for a semiformal dance and it was perfect & I got a ton of compliments.
The underlay is longer than the beaded overlay but it looks good and you can easily pin it up. The dress is very high quality and comfortable.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2014
Lots of compliments on this dress and it was very comfortable!
I loved this dress, but I had two issues: there was a row of beading missing from the front and a tiny hole in the dress as well. I must say that RTR has amazing customer service and I was credited for the mishap. They were wonderful and very helpful! I got many compliments on this dress and it wasn't too short, which was a concern of mine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2014
Wore for New Year's Eve. Felt very pretty and super sexy.
Fit is snug, but I think that's how it's supposed to be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2014
So sad I didnt get to wear it!
This dress isn't for girls with hips! I usually wear a small. The dress fit, but was screaming at the hips. (way too tight) I was going to get the medium, but I know it would have been very loose at the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 24, 2014
Beautiful, unique dress!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding. The pattern is unique and the beading is beautiful. The dress is comfortable, too, which is always a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2014
This dress is beautiful - it hugs in all the right places.
Note that the dress is covered in sequins, not beads - and because there are so many, there were a few places on the dress I rented where they were ever so slightly imperfect. Overall, the dress is gorgeous. It was long enough on me that I felt comfortable. Fun, formal party dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2014
Amazing
Amazing dress! Very stretchy and figure-flattering. This photo does it no justice, it hugged curves well and hid "those spots." Keep accessories light, the dress speaks for itself!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
May 12, 2014
Classy sparkle detail.
This dress was elegant and easy to wear to see a play with my husband. The length is good for sitting and the fabric is light and comfortable. There was a little extra room in the large, but not too much - I don't know that the medium would have worked for me, so this was just fine. The black sequin detail is beautiful and I enjoyed wearing the dress. It wasn't a very formal affair, so I tried to make it a little more casual with a low wedge heel and I threw a black suit jacket over it. It'd be very easy to crank it up a few notches and really make it a stunner at a wedding or more formal cocktail evening.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×