Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Masquerade Mambo Sheath

$30 rental
$660 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beaded Mark & James by Badgley Mischka dress is a one-of-a-kind style that will catch everyone's eye at the party. Accessorize with the Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff and Erickson Beamon's Amethyst Collage Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted- fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted- fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Nude mesh with black beads (100% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

157 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 123
Large 15
Photos 107
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

tons of compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
After reading the other reviews, I ordered an XS and S thinking it ran small. The small was a little smaller than I wanted, but it still looked great. Would've worn a Medium if I had it to do over again. It was a little snug and wouldn't have worked without spanx. :) But I loved it and the quality was excellent. Great dress!
LaineyB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 11, 2013

Incredible detailing...incredible night!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress runs true to size and is a perfect unique party dress. The beading detail is fantastic and stands out nicely against the nude colored sheath, without making you look 'nude'. I wore this to a NYE party in Manhattan and several girls came up to me to compliment me (and that's saying something for Manhattan)! It is very comfortable and I highly recommend it.
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Absolutely loved this dress! Tons of compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size. I was a little worried it would be too tight in the legs or too short to dance, but that was not the case at all! Such a classy dress!
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

This was a great dress for a wedding! Everyone loved it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit was true to size. This is a very easy to wear style.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The small was doable...but overall felt more comfortable in the medium. Beautiful beading detail and great sturdy industrial zipper up the back. Would definitely recommend!
LINATdK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Chic & perfect for the occasion!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really great! I wasn't sold when I first tried it on, but it grew on me and worked out really well. It was very comfortable and the size was just right. It was just slightly clingy and had its unforgiving moments (but i did eat a LOT of the food b/c it was delish ....). I was worried about the skirt being too tight/restricting from previous posts but I didn't find that to be true and boogied all night. I received a ton of compliments and highly recommend this dress!
Keegan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well, was comfortable and I received many compliments on it!
carrie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

First time with RTR and I recommend it to anyone who needs a dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and very comfortable! I received a lot of compliments on the dress. I would consider buying it.
melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

Beautiful & Comfortable dress....Highly Recommend!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything about this RTR experience was great. I received the dresses on time, correct sizes and returning was stress free. I absolutely loved the dress. I had a little extra room in the XS so it was very comfortable and easy to dance in. I received so many compliments! Highly recommend the dress. ONLY con was that it was a bit longer then I would have liked, but I'm only 5'0'', so that is a pretty typical problem for me.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Great, comfortable beautiful dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6 or an 8 and the medium fit perfectly. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and I got so many compliments on it from complete strangers. It is a classic, stylish dress and the perfect length, not too short. I loved wearing it.
EBG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Perfect dress for a Speakeasy Party!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress because of its art deco beading for a 20's themed "Speakeasy" party. It was the perfect outfit for the evening and very comfortable. I am not a fan of capped sleeves, and although these are subtle I do think they leave something to be desired in the way they make arms look. Other than that, the dress was easy to dance in, and very flattering. Per the usual with RTR, I got a ton of compliments!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 29, 2013

SO many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved this style...it fit like a glove, wasn't too short and had just the right amount of sparkle and edginess that i love. this dress is very fun, sexy and pretty flattering. the only problems i had with it were it cut into my shoulder/armpit area when sitting down and the hem of the overlay didn't quite match up with the liner. it was nice to be able to wear regular underpinnings although if you're worried about ripples and ridges definitely opt for some spanx. overall i received a lot of compliments and i felt like a super star. at a black tie wedding where a lot of women were wearing gowns i still felt fancy enough without having the extra skirt length. i would definitely rent this style again but i think it's more fun to keep trying all the other fab dresses rtr has to offer. another successful rental!
Simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 6, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has a bit of stretch, so don't be afraid to size down a bit! Also, note that the black design detail that I thought was beading is actually sequined, so it wasn't quite what I was expecting, but it was gorgeous either way!
Regan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 7, 2013

Loved the dress, easy shipping/returns!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using RTR and I was not disappointed! The dress was gorgeous, I got so many complements. I am 5'3 and was little worried about the length but it was perfect for the wedding we went to. The underlining was a little clingy, but nothing noticable to anyone else. Would definitely recommend!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2013

Stunning in person

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a small and both the small and XS fit but the small bunched up in weird places. I think the tighter, the better for this dress. I couldn't get the bottom hem to match up quite right but otherwise I absolutely loved the fit and look of this dress. I received compliments all night and the dress felt conservative enough for work with just a bit of sexy.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 28, 2013

Perfect dress for a formal occasion! A definite head-turner and different from everything else!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm typically between a 4-6 but based on the dress reviews I chose a small & medium as my sizes. The size small was perfect with enough breathing room however by the end of the night (after eating and dancing) seemed to stretch out a bit. I probably could have been fine in an extra small as well. Would absolutely rent again!
Kristin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

This dress made my night!!! Very flattering & perfect length for a Charity Event!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect!! Gorgeous dress and received so many compliments. This was my backup and my friend ended up wearing my first pick. It all worked out! Def renting again!!!
Julia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 12, 2013

I got complements all night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a 10/12 in dresses, but a Medium fit me perfectly! I have a large bust, (36DDD) but the medium fit like a glove. If you have a smaller bust, you may have to pin it or get the smaller size to avoid gaping. I loved this dress and got complements on it all night!
Sheena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

GREAT DRESS! LOOKS EVEN BETTER IN PICTURES!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6/8 so I ordered the medium and large. The large was entirely too big. I probably could have fit in the small, but I would have not been comfortable. The medium fit nicely. The black detailing on the dress are sequins not beads like I thought. This dress is very unique and classy. I wish it were mine to keep! I highly recommend RTR! They are very professional and you can tell they go above and beyond for their customers. Can't wait to rent from them again!
CEC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 183 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Sexy and gorgeous beading detail!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My sister wore this rather than me, she is anywhere from a 2-6 and wore the S. It fit PERFECT. It is super flattering, sophisticated looking. The beading and color of the underlay are stunning. She felt so confident and HOT in this dress. She is quite narrow on top though, for broader shoulder girls I'd get a second size up larger than you normally wear.
Brittani
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 30, 2013

This dress was perfect for a wedding.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The small fit a little big in the stomach area but it didn't bug me. I could move around in it all night and the length is very appropriate for a formal event. I got so many compliments all night and most importantly I felt very confident in it! Totally recommend.
Mary
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

This dress was a HUGE hit!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
What a great first RTR experience!! I had never received so many compliments on a dress before, ever. I got the XS and S but the XS fit perfectly. It was comfortable and I definitely didn't have any trouble dancing! I loved the detail of the dress, the sequins were beautiful. The only tiny con was I could see some wear and tear on the hem of the inner slip part of the dress at the bottom, but I used the hem tape RTR sent (complimentary!) and was able to fix the issue no problem. As another reviewer mentioned, the slip does not match up with the outer fabric but just use the tape and you will be good to go. I strangely did not notice this issue in the size S I tried on, might be because the XS fit a little more snug. Overall I highly recommend and plan on using RTR in the future!!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is one of my favorite dresses EVER. It is super comfortable and roomy and sexy and classy all at the same time. I would rent this dress 100x times over. It definitely runs a little large but given the SML sizing better safe than sorry.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Love this dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If I could purchase this dress I would!!! It was GREAT!! I got tons of compliments!! Definitely would recommend this dress and I will probably rent it again!!
Carli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

LOVED THIS DRESS! So unique and different!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Was in love with this dress from the moment I put it on! I usually wear a medium but i wore the small, and even that stretched out a bit as the night went on. The slip did show out of the bottom the entire evening as many other reviews said, but I didnt mind. I received tons of compliments, and felt like the dress flattered me in all the pictures. I wish I could rent this again, but its such a unique dress, I think it can only be worn once, so wear it to an event you really want to be noticed at! overall: no cons!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Unique style, Comfortable all night long!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and received a lot of compliments when I wore it to a recent wedding at Chelsea Piers in NYC. It was comfortable and really stood out without being too flashy. I kept accessories simple with a black wristlet and pumps and some simple teardrop earrings. I have had other RTR experiences where an XS was way too tight (to the point that I had to size up), but this dress was comfortable and I had plenty of breathing room even after stuffing myself at a very tasty cocktail hour!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

Unique design with classic details; great fit comfort- makes for a confident and gorgeous look!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was very flattering but warning, the beaded overlay is still form fitting and shows off every curve. The black sequins making up the design are unique and surprisingly in great condition. The most common comment was that i looked "stunning" which I think really sums up the dress!
Aileen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 14, 2013

I felt classy, beautiful, and expensive :)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything about the dress was perfect EXCEPT one thing. I ordered XS and S, and they weren't the same color. The XS had a gray tint to it, while the S was a bit browner. It didn't really make any difference to me, because the dress was gorgeous. I usually wear a size 2 and the XS fit me perfect. I have a really long torso so I was afraid it would be too short, but it was the perfect length It wasn't very constricting or itchy; quite comfortable. I wore it to my brother's rehearsal dinner and I received endless compliments. I am slim and not so curvy, so if you are similar to me, you will love the way it fits.
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

:)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this - I'm 5'1" and it looked a little too long.
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

Fit true to size and looked great!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I expected this dress to fit extremely tight, but it had a little but of room which was nice. Overall it fit well. I was surprised that the length hit right where I wanted it to because I had read a lot of comments saying that it was long and I have very short legs. I was also pleasantly surprised to find out that the detailing was sequins, not beading. Overall, very happy with the look and fit!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Great fitting! Loved!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the small and medium. The small fit but was a little too tight for a fancier wedding. I got so many complements on this dress and it's a little different which is what drew me to it in the first place. I recommend!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Glam dress for a Gatsby-inspired wedding.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't want to go costume-y at a Gatsby-inspired wedding so picked this dress for some classic glam. This a really sophisticated dress that fits exactly like it appears on the model. It has a higher neckline than I usually prefer but it's also fairly short and very fitted, so it kind of balances out. The large was a bit loose in awkward places and didn’t do much for my shape, but the medium was perfect. There’s very little give in the outer layer of fabric, though, so definitely size up for your back-up.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Oct 19, 2013

Everyone loved the dress. It was perfect for a late summer wedding.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great. Being so tall, i wasn't worried about it being short in any area. Really accentuated my curves. I felt beautiful in it and would wear it again!
R
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

This dress was perfect for a wedding and very beautiful in person. I received lots of compliments.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well but was very short when sitting.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 22, 2013

Stunning!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress for a rehersal dinner and it was perfect! Beautiful pattern and material and was so comfortable! lots of compliments all night! Length was appropiate. Would reccomend for wedding or formal occasion.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Easy to wear..and still look good!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I found this dress to be flattering, comfortable, and a great choice for a fall wedding. The bead work on the dress is beautiful and was in really good shape. I am conscious about my midsection so I opted to wear the small even though it was a tad loose in the bust area. This was a great dress that I would definitely rent again.
chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

I wore this dress for my engagement party - it was a hit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and looks awesome. Spanx will be your friend with this dress. I didn't wear them but I should have instead of sucking it in for all the pictures.
Marianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Nov 12, 2013

Got LOTS of compliments on this dress, very classy and sophisticated.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The biggest con is the nude under dress was a bit longer than the mesh sequined overlay and i had to pin it up. Was a bit of a hassle, but it was such a beautiful dress no one noticed the pins.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2013

Amazing party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for a fancy cocktail party! After reading other reviews on RTR about the fit running on the larger side, I decided to go with a size small. I am usually in between a size 4 and 6, and the small fit me perfectly. This dress is great for a woman with an hourglass figure like myself because it hugs the curves well. Its absolutely stunning and super comfortable. Lots of compliments came with wearing it. I highly recommend this one!
ameemc
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

Great dress - flattering but not too restricting for eating and dancing.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At weddings that are going to span afternoon into evening, it's important for me to be able to eat and dance, but still look glamorous. This dress is very distinctive, yet you can wear any bra underneath. The only con is that the lining underneath would crease in the torso area so unless you readjusted after standing up you'd have lines. It would be better if the lining had a tiny bit more structure. But great dress overall, and would highly recommend.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×