Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
511 reviews
Fit
Large62
True to Size326
Small52
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
February 22, 2015
Great dress to ring in 2015!
This dress was perfect, a little short but it was fine with tights. The neckline was a little deeper than I normally wear but loved it anyway! I wore this to NYE. So comfortable! I did struggle with the zipper, but it was fine!
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 177lbs
February 18, 2015
Fit great and really fun!
I wore this dress on a trip to Las Vegas and it was perfect! It fit great and was really beautiful. My husband LOVED it! The dress was also in perfect condition. Really fun rental and I definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2015
I felt so glamorous!
The fit was perfect! Was a bit scratchy on my arms but nothing too bad. The length was a bit longer than I expected but I am also very short.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
February 6, 2015
It is a gorgeous dress! Rented for NYE and it was perfect! Definitely shows cleavage but tastefully!
Did not have any issues! Perfect dress to add some sparkle to your night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 2, 2015
I used this as a trial run to get the right size for an event in April.
fits true to size. the sequins under the arm might be a little annoying towards the end of the night.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
January 28, 2015
Great dress!
I am 5 ft 4 and it fell just above the knees. You can wear a standard bra and don't need to worry at all about the straps! It was comfortable to wear while still looking fun/flashy. It was a great dress I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 170lbs
January 28, 2015
Wearing that dress!
I loved this dress, and I knew it was going to be a tight fit. I had to safety pin the front and use fashion tape to keep from falling out of it, but other than that, I loved it.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2015
Great dress! Incredible service as this was the replacement dress arrived at the 11th hour.
Dress is great! I received a few comments from strangers just walking into the event that they loved my dress. I usually wear a size 8 but with my larger bust 34DD I wore the size 10 - the 8 wouldn't close in the back. Service was incredible at RTR as the first dress I ordered didn't fit this was the replacement dress and it exceeded my expectations.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
January 24, 2015
Sparkly yet Classy!!
Pros: very flattering and easy to wear Cons: a little long, large chest area & zipper hard to zip
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2015
Great Dress!
The dress was very comfortable and fun. Some comments suggested the sequins were itchy, but it didn't bother me until pretty late into the night. Some of the sequins had been pulled or snagged by previous wearers, but once it was on you couldn't tell. My cleavage was on full display, as a D cup, I'm used to that, but be warned if you aren't comfortable with it. Overall, I was very happy with the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
January 22, 2015
Perfect Vegas Dress!
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas! It was extremely flattering, but me in all the right ways, and had the perfect amount of cleavage. I'm an hourglass shape and it definitely flaunted that! My only gripe was the feeling of the sequins on my arms, however that naturally comes with renting a dress like this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
January 20, 2015
Super sexy flattering dress!
This dress is gorgeous, figure flattering, and sexy. Hugs the curves but doesn't accentuate the flaws. If u are looking for a sexy black dress....u found it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
January 17, 2015
Perfect for my roaring 20s theme party!
Wore this for my half way through deployment party. It fit perfect. Little tight around my boobs. I also had to pin it at my boobs since they were about to pop out. I'm a 40DD. Other than that it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 17, 2015
loved getting the dress in the mail and trying it on! first time! great experience!
the 8 and the 6 fit very similarly. i went with the 6 because it was a little more form-fitting. great dress! only problem was that someone else had rented it at the party as well.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 14, 2015
Beautiful dress !
This was a lot more busty than I thought it would be. I used the tape to keep it as conservative as possible! Definitely got lots of compliments! The sparkles do eventually irritate your arms and the zipper was INCREDIBLY difficult! Overall great dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
A bit scratchy, not my favorite
There wasn't a size 4 available in this dress for the dates I wanted, so I went with the 2 and crossed my fingers. Had a hard time getting the zipper up even with the dress on the hanger, the seams are thick and difficult to work around. The sequins weren't the most comfortable and I felt the dress didn't flatter my body overall. Not a bad dress, just not as great as I was hoping.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
January 11, 2015
Pretty dress, fit doesn't work on pear shapes.
Really pretty dress, but the fit just didn't work for me. I am fairly pear shaped, and the bottom half was too snug - the back hiked way up, but there was plenty of fabric in the front. I also felt like the length was more mid-thigh than knee length, and I'm only 5'5". Definitely go a size up for your backup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
January 9, 2015
My birthday party was a night to remember, and this dress is part of the reason why!!
Although the venue was very dark, everyone saw me in this dress!! Who knew a black dress can sparkle so brightly!! I am a bit small in the bust area, so some adjustments needed to be made, but the dress was a great fit in all other areas and was very comfortable! I will rent again in different colors for upcoming events! It was amazing!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2015
Almost perfect
I ordered this dress to wear to my company holiday party this year and overall it worked out great. As others have noted it is VERY low cut but a small saftey pin fixed that for me. Additionally, it was a little longer than I would normally prefer, but for a work event it ended up being just fine.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 9, 2015
Pretty dress! Not a maternity dress.
This dress is gorgeous, but it wasn't bump friendly enough for my 7 month bump. I usually wear a size 4, but went for a 6 and and 8 and neither came near to zipping up. If it helps other pregnant ladies, I've gained about 25 pounds during my pregnancy and it's mostly showing on the front/bump area and in my chest (haven't gained too much in the booty, hips, etc.). Alas, the fine people at Badgley Mischka couldn't accommodate my extra girth, but I will say the dress is super pretty and would rent it again if I was in the early months.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143lbs
January 8, 2015
Perfect for a NYE wedding in Napa Valley!
Comfortable and looked great. Got lots of compliments. There's cleavage with this dress and I even pinned it closed a bit more. Gotta be comfortable with a little cleavage. :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2015
Comfortable and fun!
I wore this dress for a NYE party and received many compliments! The dress was comfortable and flattering. I was surprised a little at how long the dress was. From the picture of the model, I thought it would be a little shorter, but I still loved it, Unlike others have said, I didn't have any issues with the sequins under my arms. The straps did seem a little long, but I didn't have any issues with them sliding off. Overall a great dress, would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2015
Very flattering and sparkly!
Wore this for a NYE wedding and loved it :) Fits great around the waist, shoulders are a bit large. Skips over hips nicely and is very comfortable. Zipper is hard to get up past the waist because of all of the fabric, and the sequins are annoying at first, but I quickly forgot about them. I got compliments all night!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 6, 2015
A good dress for a NYE Wedding.
I got a ton of compliments on this dress, but had a few issues with it. Zipper gets stuck on the sequins and is VERY hard to get zipped up. It's very itchy up top as the sequins rub against your skin. Sizes run very small (thank goodness for a backup size). I've never worn a size 14 dress before and needed to with this one. It's also not a dress I probably would have purchased for myself had I seen this in a store. Regardless, I love how easy it was to get a dress and would definitely try Rent the Runway again.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
January 5, 2015
Beautiful dress, just not for me
I'm 5'1'' and the straps for this dress were way too big. They flopped off my shoulders. I was really disappointed and had to return it. It's a beautiful dress in any case.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Perfect NYE dress and just enough neckline to make it sexy but not raunchy :)
Seriously, this dress fit like a dream. It was super flattering and not form fitting at all but still gave off the illusion that it was. The lining underneath is super soft and you don't feel constricted by this dress at all. I think it would be a bit more sexy if the length was a little shorter as on most women this dress falls right above the knee (unlike shown on the model). I actually saw two other girls in this dress at my NYE party and they both looked fabulous as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
January 2, 2015
The dress was hard to zip, uncomfortable and not that flattering.
I think it is more of a summer dress and could look cute with open toe shoes and no stockings, I tried to wear it in the winter with tights and it was too much. Length was too long and the middle was bunchy- great if you have something to hide not so great if you don't. The bust area was tight so not sexy like I hoped.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2015
Fun, sparkly NYE dress.
I wore this dress for a New Years Eve party, and I got a lot of compliments on it. The neckline is plunging, lower than I expected, and the dress is thicker than I expected (if that makes sense). The sequined material and the lining together were quite thick, and I thought it made me look a little heavier through the hips than I really am. It was fun, but if I had tried it on in a store, I would not have bought it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
January 1, 2015
Lots of compliments and so comfortable!
This dress fits true to size today a little big. Is definitely recommend the back up as a size down. I'm kinda in between sizes right now but I did go with the smaller size. This dress despite the sequins was very comfortable and fit great in the right places! I can't wait for my next event to use rent the runway again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2015
The dress was perfect to celebrate #NYE! It fit well. It went down to my knees and was low cut.
The zipper was tough to zip up but it fit well. Very low cut so wear a black strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 30, 2014
Everyone loved this dress! I received so many compliments!
I don't know if it was the holiday binging or that the dress just runs small. For the sake of my ego, let's say it runs small..... I found the sequins to be uncomfortable under my arms after a bit of dancing. It helps to wear some sort of sweater or bolero. I also found the deep neck to be too revealing for me (I'm very busty) so I tacked it up another inch for the night. Overall I liked the look and feel of the dress and everyone else really loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
December 24, 2014
Perfect dress, true to size and looks fab!
Dress got plenty on complements and was sexy yet comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 23, 2014
Awesome dress for an awesome work party!
Just loved. Felt so beautiful in this dress! Only thing is that the zipper is extremely difficult, as others have said. Two people had to work on it to get it up and they almost gave up. Luckily we persevered! I am a 36H, so more like a 10/12 around the waist but needed the 14 up top. If you're large breasted, size way up. This is actually much LESS revealing on larger breasted women, in my opinion, because it stays in place. Will rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
December 22, 2014
Who doesn't like a festive gala right around the holidays! I was seeking sequins :)
The dress definitely matched what I was looking for - sequins and festive. I felt that the empire waist was not the most flattering on my body type but I wore it anyway! My friend also had a rent the runway dress that looked great on her (the black and gold dress). Definitely an easy experience renting from them & will do it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2014
NYE :)
It was a little too puffy in the hip area - didm't end up 'falling' quite the way I was hoping for so I did not end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 20, 2014
Not for petite body types
I did not have the right body shape for this dress. The waist was an ok fit but the dress would fit best if you could fill the bust and curvier hips :) also the top seams a bit long as well. Definitely a dress for the lucky curvy body type!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2014
So disappointed
This dress is beautiful on the hanger & very well made. Unfortunately, when I put it on it was not flattering on me. It was way too low cut on top which I could have fixed easily w/ a pin. But it just hit wrong at my hips. I am a size 6 with an hour glass figure and I just think this dress was a bad choice. I think it would look best on someone tall and thin. I got the dress bc it had pleats in the front and I thought that would hide a multitude of sins and allow me to eat and drink all night w/ o having to suck it in. I didn't realize the pleats continued on to the sides. It looked as if the dress had pockets. Anyway, I have rented twice from this site and my first experience was so positive, I will use rtr again and will continue to tell others about it. I will just be a little more selective in what I rent for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
Beautiful dress
Badgley Mishka dresses always work well for me and this dress is no exception. I rented the longer version of this dress for a wedding earlier this year. The dress is beautiful and elegant. The top was a little large (which is unusual for me I am a a 34D) but other than that it was true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2014
Such Sassy Sparkles
Overall the dress was really flattering. It was definitely a little tight, around the arms and I would've wanted to size up, but (as mentioned in other reviews) the dang zipper was really sticky and would not zip up unless I took the dress off, which defeats the purpose. Low front, but I didn't feel overexposed. Can't beat oodles of sparkles
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Was a great cocktail dress - not too dressy, but sparkly enough to wear to a nighttime event
Gorgeous dress. Definitely runs large, so size down.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×