Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$40 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

402 reviews

Fit
Small 42
True to Size 272
Large 58
Photos 240
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Lots of compliments, as always with a RTR dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 10 and 12, but wore the 10 since it runs pretty big - especially in the front. I have a larger chest so it was fine to fill it out but you'd want to buy some Hollywood Tape if you are smaller chested to keep it in place. Overall super comfy, the material has stretch to it which is always great for dancing. It's pretty long compared to the model photo (I am short though) and would have preferred a shorter version. Lots of compliments as always with a RTR dress!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 11, 2012

It had the "Wow" factor!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding with a group of friends who always dress to the nines. I definitely stood out! I received soooo many compliments and my fiance had to fight the other guys off given the sexy cleavage :)
Nora
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

It was a hit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried about my hips at first. Once I fixed my hair and had the right shoes, I was set to go.
amariecal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Gorgeous AND comfortable! A perfect combination.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: True to size Perfect length (it hit right above the knee) Sexy without being too revealing (at least, for smaller-chested ladies like myself) Cons: The zipper gets caught in the fabric, if you're not careful
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Oct 31, 2012

Compliments all night long

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love anything sequin-y so this was perfect. Wore it for a work event so it straddled an appropriate line of conservative but festive. Was very pleased that the sequins weren't irritating to the skin at all.
Teesha
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 15, 2012

STUNNER!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
THIS DRESS WAS STUNNING! I had a hard time choosing between two dresses and I ended up picking this one. I was so pleased with my choice. All night long I was getting compliments on how great my dress was! I'm still gettin compliments on just the picture alone!!!! I loved it. It was a bit big for me (Although no one could notice) I normally wear a 16 so that is what I ordered, but a 14 would have been perfect. I can't wait for NYE because I am think the 5th Ave Show Stopper is most certainly in the plan!
Loved it!!!
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2012

Love. Love. Love.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lighter than other sequined dresses I've worn. It's got a little stretch to it. Super comfy and i got lots of compliments on it. Just needed a little tape to make sure the straps don't fall down.
Courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Nov 20, 2012

Perfect mix of class and style

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove and was very comfortable. I wore it to a black tie gala for work and it was the perfect mix of being conservative enough, while still feeing young and stylish.
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 3, 2012

LOVE!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was amazing! I was almost 20 weeks pregnant with my second child when I wore this dress and it was very flattering. Doesn't show too much cleavage and a lot of room at the midsection. pre pregnancy I was a 10 but I wore a 12 and I would say it probably runs pretty true to size but maybe a little large. It's a little scratchy from the sequins but all around I loved it!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

RTR is easy to use!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect. I ordered a 10 and 12. The 10 was a little too short and was snug when zipped. The 12 fit perfectly all around. The dress was in fantastic condition, no snags, loose sequins, etc. Overall it was an awesome experience to rent.
simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2012

This dress is flawless!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a Rent The Runway fashion show and got dozens of compliments. The dress is extremely comfortable and very flattering. I really love that it's so sparkly, but doesn't itch or feel heavy. It does run a tad big, but I opted to wear the larger size so that I wouldn't feel constricted. I would absolutely wear this dress again, and honestly, I really want to buy one!
Hollye-Faye
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

This dress is just as comfortable as it is beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a birthday party in Vegas and it did not dissappoint! The dress is beautifully lined and fits like a dream. I was both comfortable AND pretty all night long. <-- an unusual combination!
Beth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I normally wear an 8, but the 6 fit perfectly. It was actually a bit large on top. I don't think I could have fit into the 4, but the top on the 4 probably would have fit better. Really beautiful dress, this process was so easy. I would rent another dress from rtr in a heartbeat!
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Perfect for a night out with friends.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was classy yet fun and was forgiving in the tummy and hip area which is where I was most concerned. The dress has a lining that makes it a bit thicker so as times I felt like it wasn't as flatterening because I felt "thick" but overall I felt comfortable and was happy.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Not my favorite but not bad.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Goofy photo from my husband's party, but shows most of the dress. I got compliments and I liked the sequins but I wasn't a fan of the cut. I have a short-ish waist and I prefer sheath to empire and this was close but more empire than I wanted. I wore a 4 which fit fine in the top but the skirt portion just wasn't cut well for me and not particularly flattering I didn't think. It is less fitted in the skirt and sort of flares out at the waist in a non-beneficial way. The length was fine about mid-thigh and age appropriate. The sequins were scratchy on the arms a bit but nothing that was a deal breaker. You need a helper to zip it up for sure as one functional note. Overall it was fine but I wouldn't wear it again which makes me SO glad it was just a rented dress.
M
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

I received many compliments on my dress. Everyone liked the sparkles.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The neckline dipped very low and I needed to secure it so my bra didn't show. Overall, the fit was very comfortable.
ashley
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 16, 2012

I felt like an absolute unstoppable diva for my 25th birthday!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit INCREDIBLY well! It was true to size and fit my bust; I was a little worried about that because I read other reviews. It fit me like a GLOVE and i didn't have any problems with itching or chaffing. I looked like a sparkly dream and my friends, boyfriend, and loved ones raved over how remarkable the dress was and how amazing I looked. What a way to ring in the 25th year! Have NO doubts about this dress; you'll be absolutely ravishing!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 16, 2012

This dress was very flattering and fun to wear. I got lots of compliments and people loved the idea!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit pretty well and I was told that it was very flattering. It's a bit low cut in the chest but that wasn't an issue for me, luckily. The zipper does stick on the sequins a bit and can be hard to pull up yourself(the size 8 was sticking so bad that I didn't even wear it). Overall It's very comfortable and fun dress to wear.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

RTR made it very easy. I spent less then I normally do for a fantastic dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a little big. I choose a 6 and 4 and wore the 4 that was still a little big but fine for the event. I did pin the dress - a little too much cleavage for a work event. Overall I liked the dress and received many compliments. I would use RTR again.
Mattie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I did really love this dress, but it was pretty long -- I had to pin up the hem about 3 inches to make it a real "party dress". Definitely recommend for a more formal affair, it fit nicely and was very comfortable!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

This dress was a perfect New Years Eve dress! I really loved it! Got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Its a little low cut but you can wear with a regular bra which is nice. It is fitted at the waist and pretty relaxed through the hips. I probably could have used a 4, but it was unavailable at the time of rental.
Lissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Jan 11, 2013

I wore this dress to a winter wedding reception and got a ton of compliments! So comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress and so appropriate for a formal winter party with family. The top was a bit loose but I could wear a normal bra because the v-back was just low enough. The zipper is tough to move past the waist because of the gathering and sequins and requires assistance. The stretch throughout allows for great movement to sit, dance...etc. Overall, a very comfortable dress that packs a lot of sparkle and glamour!
Lacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 13, 2013

Black Sparkly Dress + Winter Wedding = Great Success!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, style was impeccable, and the dress was in really good shape. This was my first time renting, so that was my primary worry. The process was super easy and I got compliments all night! Also didn't have any discomfort from the amount of sequins on the dress--I worried about how it would go under the arms, if it would scratch me up, but not a problem! Sorry that I look crazy in the picture!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2013

Fabulous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6, but the reviews said to order down, and the 4 fit perfectly! It's the ultimate LBD!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Loved it! Super comfortable and glamorous!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super comfortable! I tried it on at the RTR LivingSocial pop-up in gold and decided to rent it in black. I felt great in it and received a ton of compliments. Great dress.
Amberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Stunning!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great...loved the front of the dress how it gathered around the tummy area. Amazing dress!!! RTR is awesome....the whole process was so easy. I will be a return customer!! Thanks RTR for such a great night.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Absolutely loved this dress!! It was perfect for a Mardi Gras dinner party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would definitely recommend this dress for anyone looking to stand out in a crowd! The dress was absolutely gorgeous! I received so many compliments and was excited to share that I rented the dress from an amazing site! The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I opted to wear tights because it happened to be 16 degrees the night of the Mardi Gras dinner party!! The only thing was the zipper was a little hard to get up because of the fabric and the sequins. Just be careful whenever moving the zipper up and down. I cannot wait for my next Rent the Runway experience!!!!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 12, 2013

Wore it for the 2013 Grammy Awards

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVE this dress. It's a bit stretchy so very comfortable, and you can wear a normal bra with it which I love. Would definitely receommend it. Probably rent a size down as your extra size.
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Very cute and comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The neckline was a little low for me at first but I got used to it. Stayed in place; regular bra was never an issue (I.e. it didn't show).
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 13, 2013

Glitzy but surprisingly comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for an office holiday party and I was happy with it overall. I'm a definite hour glass shape, so I usually wear a size 6 but often will wear a size 8 too. I got both a 6 and 8, and the 8 was way too big but the 6 fit pretty well (I kind of wonder if I should have tried a 4 though). I was happy that it was low cut but not too revealing... but the way the fabric gather does make you look extra chest-y (which I wasn't crazy about). It was super comfortable and very sparkly... so I was pretty pleased overall!
Reta
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2013

This dress fit like a glove and was perfect for showing off my curves.

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising gala. I got plenty of compliments for this dress. It showed off my figure and accentuated my waist. It has plenty of stretch to accommodate my curvy hips and chest. This dress is fully lined and VERY comfortable. The sequins and front ruching disguised my tummy well. The downside was that the zipper was a bit bulky and was ever prevented the dress from laying smooth along the back. I would most definitely wear this dress again!
Melinda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2013

Beautiful dress that's flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress does run large, and I appreciate the other reviews that suggested ordering the second dress a size smaller, as that's the one I wore. The dress is surprisingly comfortable, with the bonus of a normal bra working with it . Assistance is required with the zipper - it's sticky getting it past the seam, and you need somebody who's not afraid to give a good tug. Definitely recommend this dress for a cocktail attire type event!
AchAy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

I wore this for a 1920s themed wedding. I used champagne accents so I'd match my gf who was in it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great, I got the gold version as a back up, but this one was definitely cut differently. I do have some war wounds under my arms from the sequins and I wondered if I was ever going to be able to get the dress on, and then off due to the crazy zipper! I feel it hid my belly well, and made me look like I actually have hips.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

I felt like a million dollars!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I hosted a charity fashion show at my school for pediatric cancer research and when it was my turn to walk at the end of the show I felt so confident and received so many compliments after the show! It was so comfortable! The only thing is that I am not large-chested so it was little too big in the chest area. Definitely wear sticky boobs (what I did) or no-bra with it because a strapless bra will be visible unless you safety pin it.
Heather
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Sparkly and AMAZING!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments! I wore this to a bachelorette party and even though we spent 80% of our time at a country bar, I got so many compliments on it. It was a little short for my usual taste, but nothing major. Definately if I ever rent this one again, I would wear spanx--the cut of the skirt in back was different and I felt like my butt was huge. Overall, it was really comfortable and the neckline was just perfect. Highly recommend this dress if you love the SPARKLE!!
Mary Frances
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Be a "knock out" in Badgley Mischka!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had the fabulous opportunity to meet the designers Badgley Mischka themselves at a cocktail party promoting their new eyewear line! Dressing to impress, I wore one of their highly rated dresses, the Manhattan Socialite. It's comfortable, sexy and very flattering to the figure. I also wore their earrings which dazzled. I went to the ballet later on that evening and was perfectly suited for both events in that gorgeous dress.
Lilly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

I wore this at an awards ceremony I attended with my family.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall the dress was on the large side, but the bust was especially large and definitely needed the fashion tape RTR sent.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100 lbs
May 30, 2015

This dress was absolutely gorgeous! It was easy to dance in and looked fantastic.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was fairly true to size. I have a 32 G chest and a small waist which makes it very difficult when buying dresses. However, this dress left enough room on top and tapered in at the waist, making the fit perfect. Anyway, the dress was a bit heavy, but that's to be expected when it's full of sequins. I highly recommend this rental!
Pamela
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

dress felt great, loads of compiments, felt sexy and fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I chose to wear pantyhose with it (my legs were a mess) and that was bad because the sequin ripped the hose to shreds (which I expected). Renting couldn't have been easier!
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 13, 2015

Amazing dress

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect for those with an hour glass figure. I received compliments on the dress all nice. It was very comfortable and gorgeous!!! Fitting for so many occasions
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×