Manhattan Socialite Dress

$199 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
552 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size338
Small54
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2015
This was overnighted the day before my event and was perfect!
This was overnighted the day before my event and was perfect! Fit like a glove. It was so sparkly and flattering I got tons of compliments! First rtr experience and not the last! Wore to a little black dress bridal shower/cocktail party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 8, 2015
dress felt great, loads of compiments, felt sexy and fun!
I chose to wear pantyhose with it (my legs were a mess) and that was bad because the sequin ripped the hose to shreds (which I expected). Renting couldn't have been easier!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2015
I felt like a starlet in that dress! It was actually a resend to back up a size switch.
The dress was perfect. I was able to dance and move effortlessly. The chest was a little big, and I wear a 34 DD. That was such a minor issue. I still loved it and didn't want to take the dress off at the end of the night. The customer service at RTR was crazy supportive. That alone made the experience 5 star!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 169lbs
June 6, 2015
Felt like a million bucks!
Such a great option for a Vegas-style casino night as it was all glam. Pinned the bust together so that my bra (regular bra) wouldn't show and used fashion tape to make sure the girls didn't inadvertently come out to play without my knowledge. I had to stand up extra straight/tall to make sure the shoulder straps didn't move / slide off my shoulders (I'm shorter and I think this is why this was happening). Very worthwhile investment!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 5, 2015
Covered the leftover baby bump!
This was a backup dress sent to me by the stylist after the zipper on the original dress broke... The stylist did a great job picking this dress, as it was almost the exact dress as my first choice, just in a different color. I liked the black much better (than gold). The dress ran a little big, just because I don't have a huge chest, and it didn't fill up the dress. It did a nice job of covering my left over baby weight, however I do think because I wore the bigger size it made me look bigger. Over all it was a good dress, although I don't think I'll rent it again, I felt like it swallowed me up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
May 30, 2015
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! It was easy to dance in and looked fantastic.
The dress was fairly true to size. I have a 32 G chest and a small waist which makes it very difficult when buying dresses. However, this dress left enough room on top and tapered in at the waist, making the fit perfect. Anyway, the dress was a bit heavy, but that's to be expected when it's full of sequins. I highly recommend this rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 29, 2015
Very pretty and classy.
Rented this dress for a NYE party-- I waited until the last minute and so my first picks were already gone. This dress was very nice. I was able to wear a regular bra. The bottom does tend to accentuate hips. The sequins were not too scratchy. Overall it was nice, but was missing the "wow" factor that would make me give it 5 stars.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 28, 2015
Dress fit great.
I have wide hips and there was enough room for them. The zipper is a bit tricky. The sequins rubbed the undersides of my arms a bit. Overall, a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
May 21, 2015
This dress is awesome! Classy and sassy!
Wore this event to a black tie gala and received compliments. This ended up being my backup after my original rentals didn't fit. The fit is comfortable, and even with a large bust is still secure (you can wear a regular bra, yay!). The arms run a little big maybe, I had to keep pulling up the strap every once in awhile, but not enough to make the dress annoying. Probably my best RTR experience yet!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
May 20, 2015
Not flattering for a girl with a booty.
I decided not to wear the dress because the skirt was not flattering to my booty. It made me look dumpy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131lbs
May 19, 2015
:)
I was 22 weeks pregnant for the event and the 6 fit really well. Normally I would probably wear a size smaller, but this had plenty of extra space with the pleats in the front. The top was a bit big--I had to safety pin it a bit because it was a bit baggy in the front.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 18, 2015
Beautiful dress... but couldn't wear it :(
This dress is gorgeous; however, I couldn't wear the size that I originally ordered. So I was able to send it back in time to get a new dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 14, 2015
Very Sparkly!
Longer than it looked in the picture. Good fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2015
Beautiful dress, good construction!
Wore it to a charity event just a couple of months after giving birth. It was flattering but hid the baby bump well. As some of the women would know, you just do not feel attractive or yourself just after birth. The dress was comfortable, beautiful, and perfect for the occasion.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 11, 2015
This dress was so fun and easy to move in. I wore this for a friend's bachelorette party in Denver.
The only downside of this dress is when sitting, the sequins can be uncomfortable on your legs. I normally wear a size 8, but the dress is so low cut and loose in the waist, I was able to fit in the 6 with room to spare (this felt amazing!) It wasn't as heavy as I thought, but it did end up snowing so I was glad to have a comfortable dress. Great dress for the occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2015
Cocktail party & dancing with friends in a great dress!
The dress wasn't my first pick but a backup option that was over-nighted to me. The 6 fit very well. A few times during the night the straps did fall off my shoulders. I also used fashion tape to ensure that the deep v-neckline didn't get too risque during dancing. The sequins weren't annoying like I thought they would be (no arm chafing). It was great, I got many compliments and friends said they liked this better than the original dress. So WIN!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2015
Beautiful Dress, runs a bit small
I ordered this dress for a wedding. I didn't end up wearing it because I had rented it only for a back up. But it was so beautiful and such great material. Would definitely recommend. I would order a back up size a size down since it runs small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2015
Great dress!
Great fitting dress, great length, very forgiving. Could be a leave bustier girls with a little too much cleavage since it is low cut. The sequins could be a little scratchy, but for the most part, I was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 187lbs
May 1, 2015
I wore this dress to a black tie event, I got more compliments then I've ever received on a dress!!
I actually wore the same dress {but in rose gold} to the same Ball last year and after receiving so many compliments on the dress and feeling completely comfortable in it {and being completely in love with it & not wanting to take it off}, I decided to wear the same dress! The 16 fit perfect, the only 2 con's that I had going for this dress were the fact that I have a true hourglass figure, my chest is actually a DD, the stitch holding the two chest pieces together felt like it was going to pop and the fact that I have got a booty. Other then those two things, I did not want to take the dress off at the end of the night!!! I would absolutely recommend this dress to anybody that is going to any sort of formal event and wants to receive compliments all night! I'm normally a 12 in jeans and 12/14 in dresses, depending on the fit and designer, but knowing my body type and the fit of this dress, I decided to go up a size to a 16 and boy am I glad I did, it fit like a glove!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 1, 2015
sparkles and hugs your curves
lovely dress, got compliments; i put a belt to accentuate my curves; maybe shorter would be sexier
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2015
Glamorous and fun
I ordered both the 6 and the 8. The only difference is the 8 is looser in the chest. I am a 34B and the 6 fit better. The dress can be a little itchy/uncomfortable when sitting because of the sequins (and if the under layer is shifted), but is otherwise easy to move in and perfect for the Gatsby-themed wedding I attended! I'm wearing this dress in gold in June as a bridesmaid. Can't wait :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 24, 2015
Wore to a bachelorette party in Vegas with the sequin theme.
Able to wear normal undergarments which made it super comfortable. Dress was not heavy like I expected a sequin dress, nor was it itchy. The v-neck and cinched waist was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
April 22, 2015
Great dress! Would rent again.
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity's formal. I felt very comfortable and beautiful for the whole night. The dress fit great and was much more comfortable than I expected! The only con was that it is incredibly low cut. You can wear a normal bra with it, but I'd absolutely recommend using fashion tape or safety pins as well. I felt so great in the dress that I'm renting it in blue for my own formal this weekend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 157lbs
April 18, 2015
Wore For Engagement Photos. Photographs beautifully!
I rented this for my engagement photos. Love the quality of the dress! Can be a bit trickier for an apple shaped woman. The waist is very tiny so I had to size up a couple sizes which are to other areas of the dress a bit baggy. I have a 33.5" waist and the 12 was doable but snug. However I wear a 36D with a 41" bust and the top felt a bit loose in the 12 (which never happens!) because I had sized up for the waist. Overall it's a classy, beautiful dress and I'm pleased with the choice! I'm having my bridesmaids rent the long hold version for my wedding!
RTR CustomerOctober 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your review--it was soooo helpful in deciding size!! -kelly
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 17, 2015
It was comfortable and very pretty.
A true size 10 but it runs a bit small below the ribs. I am a 36C and didn't need to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
April 17, 2015
Sooo sparkly and received a lot of compliments.
This dress is so beautiful and made well. I wore the 6 even though I am usually a 4. The top was a little big and more snug at the thighs. I wish the dress was a little shorter .... Fell at a weird length. Received a lot of compliments and the dress was very comfortable ... Wore it for 9 hours!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2015
I wore this to work at a formal masquerade ball.
The dress is beautiful and photographed really well. I wore the smaller backup size, and it was still slightly large, so go down a size. I have hips and it hugged my curves in all the right places. The dress was comfy and I felt great in in the entire night! I did feel like the chest was large on me and I'm a 32 D, so watch out for that if you do not want to show off a lot of cleavage. Overall a wonderful dress that I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
April 13, 2015
The dress definitely fit the theme of the night... Shimmer
The fit was a bit tight at the rib cage but was quite comfy all night. The sparkle and the pleated front was very slimming.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2015
just what I wanted!
I wore this to a Christmas event, and loved it! I ordered another Badgley Mischka dress (the gold one on here), but it was too big, so I settled on this. It was very comfortable and flattered the stomach area- gave me a defined waist! Very classic and fun.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178lbs
April 10, 2015
Classy, elegant, and beautiful!
Great fit, classy, and super comfy. I felt so beautiful without it being "too much." I would recommend this dress for something more formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 9, 2015
Perfect Prego Formal Dress!
I rented this dress for a black tie event when I was 21 weeks pregnant with my 2nd baby. The dress has stretch and made me feel thin when I normally don't! Got tons' of compliments. I had to go up several sizes because of my bump, I wore a size 12 and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 2, 2015
Fun dress that's super flattering!
I ended up in this dress when my original dress went missing. I'm so happy this one worked out! It was super comfortable and very fun. Heads up, the zipper tends to stick a little but it's worth the effort.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2015
Fun dress!
This dress fit true to size. It was great for my 36D chest. I was concerned that the sequins would bother me while dancing, but they did not. I wore this dress several months after having my second child and it hid my post baby belly pretty well. The zipper was really tough to get up, so make sure you have a helper.
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 230lbs
March 29, 2015
Absolutely stunning!
Wore this for a dinner party. It fit like a glove. I received a lot of complements. The zipper is nearly impossible to zip up, so make sure you have a friend to help. Overall I loved it.
TaraApril 11, 2015
You look incredible!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2015
Beautiful Last Minute Replacement
I love the Fifth Avenue Showstopper Dress so when I was contacted that my selected dress was not available after all this was a nice back-up. Slimming and very flattering, this pretty dress was a great dress for a large busted girl like myself to wear to a company holiday party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
March 9, 2015
This dress would have been amazing if I could get the zipper to work! Almost...
Gorgeous dress, could not get the zipper to fit. 10 was way to big. 8 slightly too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2015
Nice looking.
Top a bit big as I'm slightly short waisted. The sequins under the arms may be a bit much if you wear for a while. And top reveals a bit too much cleavage for me. Didn't get to wear to event as it was canceled due to weather so I don't have 'wearing' experience, just wishful trying on! Would rent again.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 1, 2015
Perfect cocktail dress!
This was the perfect dress for our awards ceremony. My original dress did not fit correctly but stylist Janelle helped me to select this dress which worked even better than I imagined. Runs true to size though it is low cut. I pinned it slightly just to make sure it wasn't too low cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
February 28, 2015
Perfect! Was just enough to make a statement and it sparkled so pretty!
If you have a lot of boob action, you might want to use a pin cause the neckline can get a little risqué !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
February 27, 2015
Fit Great fit! Mash at the party!
I was just a little afraid the sequences would get caught in something or fall off, but they never did. I bought the insurance just in case for peace of mind. Otherwise, it fit Great! For a lady who is size 12-14 it was a slimming style. Love it!
See more reviews:
5 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×