Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$40 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
486 reviews
Fit
Large62
True to Size317
Small50
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Perfect NYE dress and just enough neckline to make it sexy but not raunchy :)
Seriously, this dress fit like a dream. It was super flattering and not form fitting at all but still gave off the illusion that it was. The lining underneath is super soft and you don't feel constricted by this dress at all. I think it would be a bit more sexy if the length was a little shorter as on most women this dress falls right above the knee (unlike shown on the model). I actually saw two other girls in this dress at my NYE party and they both looked fabulous as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
January 2, 2015
The dress was hard to zip, uncomfortable and not that flattering.
I think it is more of a summer dress and could look cute with open toe shoes and no stockings, I tried to wear it in the winter with tights and it was too much. Length was too long and the middle was bunchy- great if you have something to hide not so great if you don't. The bust area was tight so not sexy like I hoped.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2015
Fun, sparkly NYE dress.
I wore this dress for a New Years Eve party, and I got a lot of compliments on it. The neckline is plunging, lower than I expected, and the dress is thicker than I expected (if that makes sense). The sequined material and the lining together were quite thick, and I thought it made me look a little heavier through the hips than I really am. It was fun, but if I had tried it on in a store, I would not have bought it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
January 1, 2015
Lots of compliments and so comfortable!
This dress fits true to size today a little big. Is definitely recommend the back up as a size down. I'm kinda in between sizes right now but I did go with the smaller size. This dress despite the sequins was very comfortable and fit great in the right places! I can't wait for my next event to use rent the runway again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2015
The dress was perfect to celebrate #NYE! It fit well. It went down to my knees and was low cut.
The zipper was tough to zip up but it fit well. Very low cut so wear a black strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 30, 2014
Everyone loved this dress! I received so many compliments!
I don't know if it was the holiday binging or that the dress just runs small. For the sake of my ego, let's say it runs small..... I found the sequins to be uncomfortable under my arms after a bit of dancing. It helps to wear some sort of sweater or bolero. I also found the deep neck to be too revealing for me (I'm very busty) so I tacked it up another inch for the night. Overall I liked the look and feel of the dress and everyone else really loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
December 24, 2014
Perfect dress, true to size and looks fab!
Dress got plenty on complements and was sexy yet comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 23, 2014
Awesome dress for an awesome work party!
Just loved. Felt so beautiful in this dress! Only thing is that the zipper is extremely difficult, as others have said. Two people had to work on it to get it up and they almost gave up. Luckily we persevered! I am a 36H, so more like a 10/12 around the waist but needed the 14 up top. If you're large breasted, size way up. This is actually much LESS revealing on larger breasted women, in my opinion, because it stays in place. Will rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
December 22, 2014
Who doesn't like a festive gala right around the holidays! I was seeking sequins :)
The dress definitely matched what I was looking for - sequins and festive. I felt that the empire waist was not the most flattering on my body type but I wore it anyway! My friend also had a rent the runway dress that looked great on her (the black and gold dress). Definitely an easy experience renting from them & will do it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2014
NYE :)
It was a little too puffy in the hip area - didm't end up 'falling' quite the way I was hoping for so I did not end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 20, 2014
Not for petite body types
I did not have the right body shape for this dress. The waist was an ok fit but the dress would fit best if you could fill the bust and curvier hips :) also the top seams a bit long as well. Definitely a dress for the lucky curvy body type!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2014
So disappointed
This dress is beautiful on the hanger & very well made. Unfortunately, when I put it on it was not flattering on me. It was way too low cut on top which I could have fixed easily w/ a pin. But it just hit wrong at my hips. I am a size 6 with an hour glass figure and I just think this dress was a bad choice. I think it would look best on someone tall and thin. I got the dress bc it had pleats in the front and I thought that would hide a multitude of sins and allow me to eat and drink all night w/ o having to suck it in. I didn't realize the pleats continued on to the sides. It looked as if the dress had pockets. Anyway, I have rented twice from this site and my first experience was so positive, I will use rtr again and will continue to tell others about it. I will just be a little more selective in what I rent for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
Beautiful dress
Badgley Mishka dresses always work well for me and this dress is no exception. I rented the longer version of this dress for a wedding earlier this year. The dress is beautiful and elegant. The top was a little large (which is unusual for me I am a a 34D) but other than that it was true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2014
Such Sassy Sparkles
Overall the dress was really flattering. It was definitely a little tight, around the arms and I would've wanted to size up, but (as mentioned in other reviews) the dang zipper was really sticky and would not zip up unless I took the dress off, which defeats the purpose. Low front, but I didn't feel overexposed. Can't beat oodles of sparkles
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Was a great cocktail dress - not too dressy, but sparkly enough to wear to a nighttime event
Gorgeous dress. Definitely runs large, so size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2014
loved it! comfortable and dressy all at the same time
I usually wear a size 8. I rented both 8 and the ten and ended up wearing the size 10 because it was very tight in the rib cage. The top straps ended up being slightly loose, but not uncomfortable. Dress was easy to move in. Gathered slightly in the front, hid my midsection that desperately needed hiding due to the party season.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 182lbs
December 11, 2014
Loved the dress. Had planned on wearing the 12, but it was a little snug and around the waist.
It does have a waistband and I'm glad I had the larger size. The dress looked fantastic, but the zipper was difficult to zip in this one place. We were worried if we kept tugging it might break, but finally got it to work. It was the perfect cocktail party dress, very comfortable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2014
Great dress - zipper snags.
I liked this dress, but the zipper snagged on both sizes. The fabric along the zipper line bunched and caught in many places. I got stuck in one dress, had to rip it open! The second dress I got into easily but getting out was tough, again!! The dress is flattering to the waist but the top is very loose. Sticky tape is needed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
December 10, 2014
Masquerade perfect!
Beautiful dress, flattering if you have some curves. Looks good with tights or without. Comfortable, not too itchy. Perfect length for a tall girl. I wore this to a masquerade party during Halloween and it was perfect little dress for the night! I enjoyed wearing it and one of those dresses I wish I owned.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
Holiday party glam
This dress worked out for me after the one I really wanted was returned to RtR (by previous renter) damaged and unwearable. RtR was kind enough to let me choose (2) other dresses since my first choice wasn't available. This worked worked out well and I got a lot of compliments at the party and on FB.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
Perfect Party Dress!!
The dress was a perfect fit and made me feel so sexy. It definitely will show your cleavage so if that's an issue for you, this dress is not for you. The dress was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it. The process of getting and returning the dress was also very easy. The only issue I had with the dress was the zipper wanted to stick out at the bottom because I have some junk in my trunk, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I was able to fix that with just a couple pins. My bust size is 40 D. It wouldn't give me that option to choose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2014
I really enjoyed wearing this dress to my event, I got lots of complements.
I usually wear a size 10 and I went up to a 12 because of the bust area. It was a bit loose around the hips but tighter around the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 36D+
December 8, 2014
Eye catching, great style, and just perfect! I wish I could've kept it!
This dress was actually my backup dress because another dress I liked best was only available in one size (didn't want to risk that one size not fitting). I tried it on and it hugged in all the right places and was slightly loose right where it needed to be! It showed a good amount of cleavage (not bad in my opinion!). I felt beautiful and I got so many compliments on it! I wore it to my work Christmas party (dress code is "festive attire"). Would def rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 6, 2014
I felt like a million bucks in my dress!!
I liked this dress but I wouldn't say I loved it. The reasons that made me not love it was the fact it was very low cut, I ended up pinning it together in the front because you could see my bra and felt like I was a little too exposed for my level of comfort. It was super hard to zip and un-zip, you cannot do it yourself and it was really hard for my husband to do. The fit is a little odd, I felt like it made me look pregnant. I wore the dress to my work holiday party which is a fancy event. This dress was just perfect for it. I loved how it sparkled and got compliment after compliment all night long. The fit was true to size, many reviews said it ran big but not in my case. I wear a 6 in most dresses so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 was perfect. This was my first time using RTR and I'm hooked. I will use it again. Even though I didn't love the dress I would recommend it to anyone. I feel like it's a good dress for nearly any body type.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
December 1, 2014
Great fit but not the most comfortable.
I had recently rented this dress in the navy color. While I still loved the dress and the fit, I liked the navy much better than the black version. However, they are both great dresses and I would rent again. The sequins can be a little scratchy but it is super fun and funky!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 25, 2014
I wore it for my bachelorette party.
It fit well except for the zipper being a little off. I will definitely be renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2014
This dress was awesome! I felt so great in it and got lots of compliments!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party and it was perfect! The dress fit true to size. The sequins were a little scratchy under my arms, but didn't bother me too much! I loved all the compliments I got while wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2014
I wore this dress to a masquerade gala, and it was absolutely perfect.
I loved the neckline and the fact that I could still wear a normal bra. The zipper was a bit hard to work with even with the dress on the hangar, so be prepared for some frustration zipping it up. I think the dress could have been an inch or two shorter, but overall it was the perfect dress for my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
November 16, 2014
I liked it, but didn't love it
I wore this for my bachelorette party. Dress was beautiful, but even with my double D bust, was still a bit big in the shoulders and bust area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
November 9, 2014
I got this for a wedding and black was the way to go & the sequins really added something special.
I usually wear and 8 but this just zipped!! Needed 2 people to zip me otherwise I could not wear it. It fit perfectly though once zipped past the challenging section where the zipper sort of got stuck. Would recommend getting your usual size and a size larger. Great dress though! Perhaps a little uncomfortable under the arm pit with the sequins, but got used to it fast.
AshleyNovember 12, 2014
I keep reading reviews that it was kind of long.. but it looks like the perfect length in your picture! I'm a similar height as you (5 feet) and curious if that is where it fell or if you have it pinned up?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 5, 2014
Rented for a bachelorette party, didnt end up wearing b/c the bride liked it more than hers
Great fit, beautiful dress. Would rent again!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
October 30, 2014
Fun, flattering dress!
This dress was so beautiful and fit perfectly. I thought it was super sexy while still remaining classy. Perfect for a fancy night out in Vegas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
October 19, 2014
Perfect LBD
I decided on this dress after reading all the great reviews. I ordered the 12 & 10 because I am between sizes right now. I ended up wearing the 10. I could have worn either size. The 12 fit but was a little big in the bust. It has stretch to it & was super comfortable. I have a little rash on my arm from where it was rubbing on the sequins but the dress was worth it. I would definitely recommend this dress wish I got a pic of myself in it!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
October 19, 2014
I received compliments all night. This dress sparkles!
Dress fit perfectly. It's very flattering as it conceals yr midsection and gives you a more defined waistline. I also loved the sexy neckline which did require a little fashion tape. Overall great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2014
I rented this dress for my engagement party. I've gained weight recently and still felt great in it!
I went with the bigger size because it gave me a little more room to move. Both sizes fit nicely though. It hid my problem area (stomach) and also helped me stand out the whole night. It was a little itchy under the arms, but nothing that was too bothersome. The zipper was also a little tricky, but likely due to the sequence.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2014
Classy - perfect for a wedding
Overall, I liked the dress. I didn't love it. The fit wasn't exactly the way I liked - it made me feel a little hippy. But I got a lot of compliments on it, so it probably looked better than I thought it did. The style was perfect for a country club wedding and it photographed nicely in pictures.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2014
Flattering shiny dress!
Pros: The fit is very flattering for a busty girl with hips. I felt very pretty. Cons: it was extremely hard to zip up, the band underneath the chest has absolutely no give, and the sparkles caught on EVERYTHING (completely ruined my shawl)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2014
Overall great dress - really comfortable to wear.
The zipper is really tough... I ended up putting the dress on backwards so I could see as I zipperd past the horizontal "waistband", then spun it around and finished the last bit once the top was up. Much easier this way. The top has a very deep V, and for me, being smaller up top, I ended up using a pin to keep the op together a bit more. The length was great for me - just above me knees. Again, great dress. Got lots of compliments. Will definitely use RTR again.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2014
Head turning dress!
I felt sexy, confident, and beautiful in this dress and received multiple compliment. I usually wear a 14, and the 14 was perfect. A little snug at the waist, but that is where I carry the majority of my weight. Some reviews complained about the sequins scratching their arms- I didn't notice when I was dancing ALL NIGHT LONG. I do wish the dress had been slightly shorter. I'm 5'8" and had assumed it would be mid-thigh, but it was actually almost to my knees. Still looked and felt amazing though. It is low cut so you need to be OK with showing off a little cleavage. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 172lbs
October 10, 2014
I received so many compliments on the dress and how great it looked
This dress fit great, was so comfortable. I was able to dance all night in it!
See more reviews:
5 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×