Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
635 reviews
Fit
Large
(67)
True to Size
(372)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2013
Perfect FUN LBD
I have nothing but good things to say about this dress that I rented for a business school formal. I enjoy wearing bold and colorful makeup and therefore usually lean towards boring, neutral dresses for formal events. This one was anything but ordinary with the subtle yet flashy sparkle. I was afraid it would look too much like a cheap Halloween dress with the sequins, but it was nowhere near! The sequins were not too scratchy once you were used to feeling them under your arms. The cut was incredibly flattering on me as it hid my tummy but showed off my curves. I loved how the neck was low cut but not too scandalous. However, I did pin it closed slightly at the beginning of the night because the dean of my school and other professors were at the event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 30, 2013
Perfect date night dress! So sparkly!
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner with my husband and loved it! I got it as a 2nd rental so I only had one size, but the 4 fit perfectly. I loved the cinched waist but tighter top/bottom. Zipper was a little tough - it got stuck multiple times on the fabric. Highly recommend!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2014
I think this dress really packs a punch!
Zipper is tough to close and I think that the top is a lot bigger than the bottom....I had higher hopes, but maybe I'm just fat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
I loved this dress for NYE! I got a ton of compliments on how sophicated it looked. It was comfortable and I could wear regular undergarments. I would say to order a size down for your back up. I am usually a 2 but the 0 fit perfectly. If I had to give a negative it would be that my torso is long and the dress was perhaps a little short in the torso but that's more my body type than a problem with the dress. Overall great experience and great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 1, 2014
New Years bombshell! Loved this dress!
I ordered this in the 14, but got the 16 just in case. 14 was a bit snug to zip, so I switched to the 16. That was a little big, but worked great anyway. I got tons of compliments and felt absolutely beautiful in it! It is definitely low cut, but I was looking for that. I did use the complimentary tape they sent to help keep the low cut area in control. I loved the service I received and the dress was in immaculate condition! I am renting a long gown in two weeks & can't wait for that one! So glad my friend introduced me to this site!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
I received compliments all night!
I loved this dress! The draping is really spectacular - you can't get a feel for how pretty it is in the stock picture. People complimented me all night long - I felt like a princess. I think this dress runs pretty true to size but I sized up thanks to a few too many Christmas cookies. The model must be close to 7 feet tall (haha), because the dress is really long. I'm 5'2 and it was knee length on me. The zipper is a little tricky because of all the sequins. But, once the dress is on, it is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2014
Terribly Unflattering
I was so excited for this RTR for NYE.. however the fit on me was awful. The pleats in the front made me look like I was pregnant (my sister: "your stomach looks like it sticks out twice as far as your boobs") and the zipper in the back was all bumpy near the butt, which looked even worse than the front. The butt alone would have been enough for me not to wear it, it looked terrible. I'm a slender girl, flat stomach, small butt, and this dress made me look the opposite. Not recommended for small girls.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2014
Perfect for a New Years Eve wedding!
This dress made me feel super glamorous! The neckline is low cut, but not too revealing. The dress hides any tummy flaws/baby bulge/etc… hooray for that! The hem line was shorter in the back than I usually go with (I'm 5'10"), but it was kinda fun for NYE. The band across the middle was a little tight on my rib cage, but not uncomfortable. The sequins do rub a bit on the upper arms. As mentioned by many others, the zipper is extremely hard to deal with… in fact, the zipper on this dress split the night before my event when I was trying it on (yikes!). Probably from all the previous renters trying to force the zipper too; some of the zipper teeth were clearly messed up (why I took away 1 star on rating). RTR was very helpful, and offered to pay for the last minute alterations-- had to replace the entire zipper, but then it worked beautifully! All in all, for my first RTR experience, I was very happy with the way this dress turned out… I felt confident, sparkly, and comfortable dancing all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 183lbs
January 5, 2014
Overall a great dress, but major zipper issues!
Overall a great dress for a formal New Years Eve party. However, I had to wear my "backup" size 14, because the zipper on the size 12 was completely jammed. Similarly, the zipper on the size 14 was very hard to zip up and I had to use additional lubrication (rubbing a pencil - graphite - on the zipper) to get it up. Did find that the dress was very tight around my ribcage, right below my bustline. This is generally the hardest part for fit, but was especially so for this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
Fun dress for New Year's Eve!!
This was the first time that I had rented a dress and I got so many compliments on it (even from strangers). I wanted a sparkly dress for New Year's and I found it. I would suggest not wear nylons with it because the dress snagged them. I ended up taking them off halfway thru the night. Other than that, I have no complaints. It was a beautiful dress and the service was fantastic!! My silver bangle bracelet was also from RTR.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 6, 2014
...
If you have a large bust, like myself, 36F, then I suggest you go up a size or two. I ordered this dress in a ten and 8, and it zipped up in both, UNTIL it reached my boobs, lol. so I didn't get to wear it! Sad face. I ended up wearing my backup dress. The dress is Gorgeous though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2014
Very flattering cut. A little long.
Very flattering dress. Especially if you're small chested. It was a little long for me and I'm 5'7''. I think this would be perfect for older women or tall girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 225lbs
January 8, 2014
Great for a NYE party!
I wore this dress to a NYE party because I think you should always look as sparkly as possible when ringing in a new year. This was my first time using RTR and I was overly impressed! The dress arrived when they said it would which was a huge relief as I was traveling early the next morning and could not afford delays. I loved the packaging and appreciated the free garment bag. The dress is very well made, sometimes a sequined dress can look really cheap and the sequins will scratch your skin, fall off while you are wearing it, etc., but this dress has very high quality materials and is put together very well. I also loved that I could wear a normal bra with this dress - a total plus for me! The negatives for me were that I thought the shape of the dress and how the material drapes in the skirt really drew a lot of attention to my hips. If you have a pear shape then you know this is the last place we need more attention drawn to! Also, at 6 feet tall, the dress was just a teeny bit shorter than I would have liked but it worked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
January 18, 2014
Great dress.
I wore this for a friend's wedding. I got many compliments and it looked great. Lots of cleavage but not untasteful. The black was more muted than the gold version of this that I wore for another wedding. I was happy with the fit. It definitely hid my belly which was a plus. It was a good length on me, above the knee but not skimpy.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 19, 2014
feeling SO comfortable and confident in a dress I loved
LOVE this dress... For sure runs large especially in the bust, I was a bit scandalous that night since I couldn't fill it out. After I rented this I went to the designer's website and bought a similar dress which I am also obsessed with. RTR is phenomenal, I'm renting another dress for a long weekend in NYC.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2014
Just wasn't my style
The dress was great, it fit well and it was very comfortable and flattering so that it hid nay unwanted tummy shots. Unfortunately the dress was forgiving but also too matronly for me. It came down to my knees and was so roomy in the skirt section that it looked like someone in their late 30's or 40s would wear. I'm only 27 so I was looking for something with a younger look for new years eve.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
January 27, 2014
It was so sparkly
I really liked this dress but the bust was such a deep "V' it made me kind of uncomfortable but it was comfortable. It was kind of heavy because of all the sequins.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 30, 2014
Beautiful dress but I did not wear it. The zipper was giving me lots of trouble.
The zipper was very troublesome and I had to force it each time I put it on. Was nervous it might open at the wedding so I wore something that I already had. Service was great though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2014
Black Sparkle Fun
I had previously rented this dress in gold for another occasion. When I had an issue with the dresses i wanted not being available in my size at the last minute, they sent this as a replacement. I did not wear it to the event, but is is comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 5, 2014
Loved this dress. Rented it in the champagne color last year for the same event!
Zipper was incredibly stiff and almost couldn't wear it. However, I love this dress and it was very flattering, especially for a pear shape like me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 18, 2014
Beautiful dress, but not for a girl with junk in the trunk
Rented the dress as a backup. ordered both 12 and 14. Could not zip the 12 up, knew that was coming lol. Got the 14 on, but the zipper was really sticky starting about where the back gathering is. Needed help so I didn't damage the dress by pulling on the sequins. Once on, the top fit well, and from the front, the dress is very flattering a lovely. From the side and back, not so much. Well, not on me. Bubble bums run in the family, and the back of the dress tends to ride higher than the front, making this a no go for me. Kind of sad, but Hey, not everything works out. My other dress was fantastic, and I can't wait for another occasion to rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 19, 2014
Not too short, flattering, but big in bust
I ordered this as a second choice and it ended up being my first. I thought it was going to be too short, but it was perfect. I have a 38DD chest and I still had to pin the bust or else it just fell open. It was comfortable and classy. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 21, 2014
Very pretty and great quality
I wear a size 10/12 but I have a 36DDD chest (enhanced not natural) and a perfect hourglass shape (propotionate measurements) ......I rented these as my back up dresses...the Nicole Miller was a JOKE I looked more like a sausage than sexy which is rare...BUT...thankfully I rented this....and a back up size.....the 12 fit perfect....but wouldnt zip because of my chest.......the 14....fit but was a serious struggle over my chest the thing to remember is those of us with beautiful chests....pay the price for not having boy bodies......my chest is fake so they sit where I put them and do not require undergarmets to make them look good....so it is sad when designers are too dense to realize women have breasts....booties....and....if you have a size 12 dress.....cut bigger arm holes on clothing...this was fine though.....I had a GREAT NIGHT and EVERYONEEEEE even men stopped me dead in my tracks and complimented me on my dress and my accessores....I felt and looked beautiful and confident THANK YOU RENT THE RUNWAY
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
February 22, 2014
The sparkles were sassy, but the black kept it classy
As a 36 DDD, the girls were on display. I ended up adding a bandeau to feel better. Otherwise, I wore a normal bra, and felt great. The sequins were sparkly so I felt special, but it was subtle enough I didn't feel like I stuck out. I wore this to a military event, and it was the perfect dress for the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 25, 2014
Being told "You're a BOMBSHELL!"
I've gained some weight, so I had to wear the 14. As other reviewers have noted, the zipper is horrendous! It took 2 people to zip me into it, even with me holding the back of the dress! I highly recommend rubbing pencil lead or waxed paper on both sides of the zipper. This was an emergency replacement when my original "flapper" dress didn't fit. I'm afraid I was a tough (needy) customer, but RTR was great as usual, and overnighted me this beautiful dress! I was able to wear a normal bra with this, even with the deep-V front and back, which was a relief. It came to about my knees but that didn't seem overlong because the rest of the dress (shape, material) was so flirty. I'm planning on renting this in the other colors for some upcoming events!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
February 27, 2014
It was the perfect holiday party dress—sparkly and pretty.
The fit was totally flattering. I felt so pretty and glamourous in the dress. I loved how it sparkled without being too overwhelming. I'd rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2014
Did not fit a 36d!
I was so disappointed in the dress I would not get the chest to zip. I am only a 36d and it literally wouldn't zip around my bust. So sad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
So many sparkles for a bachelorette party!
Wore this dress to my friend's bachelorette party. It was kind of a heavy material, which was fine because it hid my curves. It did cause the sleeves to fall down once in a while, though. The cut of the dress was very flattering. It's REALLY low cut. The sparkles got caught on my friend's lacy dress all night, but it was WORTH IT! Loved it, would def recommend for curvier girls.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 16, 2014
The zipper has serious issues!
This dress was a backup dress but was gorgeous. The weight of it was nice and the cut was very figure flattering. A few other reviews mentioned weird pleating on the hips but I didn't notice that. Now the bad part. I couldn't even zip this dress up and I don't mean it didn't fit. The sizing was perfect, but once the zipper reached the rib cage, it would not budge. I ordered the size 12 and it seems like every other size 12 reviewer mentioned this issue also. I tried for 30 minutes with the help of my husband and three kids and it was never going to zip. I was sweating bullets and ready to scream profanities by the end. Thank god it was a backup because if this was the only dress I had ordered, I would be livid. It seems enough people have had an issue with the zipper and it's a shame because the dress really is pretty.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
March 23, 2014
Great customer service! Zipper is TOUGH
This dress was beautiful. True to size but slightly big on top. Customer service at Rent The Runway could not have been better. The only issue I had with this dress was the zipper. You need two people (other than yourself) to get in it. It's awful. Other than that dress was great. Comfortable and beautiful. Great service. Will definitely use again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 23, 2014
Fun Dress for NYE
I loved wearing this dress. I decided to size up because of my large bra cup size- 36F. I just pinned the dress in the front with a safety pin and it was a perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2014
Very flattering. Great fit
Pretty low cut so for ladies with big boobs it might show more than you'd want
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
April 6, 2014
Felt like a million bucks
Loved having people ask me "Where did you get that dress?!?" I wore this dress to a black-tie optional fundraising event. The dress fit well and highlighted my curves nicely. I did use a safety pin to close the cleavage just a little bit more given the nature of the event, but there was plenty of fabric to do this without detracting from the overall dress appearance. My only misgiving about the dress is that it is longer in the front than in the back--I think it may be the extra draped material in the front. I was told it was not as noticeable as it felt. Although I am a size 14, I do not carry my weight in my stomach so maybe that is why it draped longer in the front. Overall though, loved wearing the dress and have already recommended it to friends!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2014
Neutral
This was my first choice dress but is opted not to wear it afterall. It drew more attention to my stomach than I was looking for. It was not bad, it just wasn't a fabulous fit for my figure. The sparkles are beautiful , though !
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2014
Great dress, pretty comfortable, got so many complements.
Rented this dress for a wedding because I had rented the long one back in December for a winter wedding and loved it. Fits well but wished it had been a little shorter on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 29, 2014
I loved this dress! I rented it for my friend's bachlorette party. Perfect for the evening!
The sequins were a bit scratchy under the arms at first. Eventually, I forgot they were there! The front does dip a little lower than I was expecting. But I wasn't going to a formal event, so I wasn't too worried about the amount of cleavage showing. Overall, it was a great experience! I would definitely order from renttherunway.com again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2014
The perfect dress for a sparkly night out on the town!
The dress is possibly the most comfortable dress I've ever worn. The length was perfect for dancing and it had plenty of give to hide any pre dancing meals! The only con was that the sequins were a little itchy in the underarm area, but I only felt them a few times throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2014
Great dress - fits well and was comfortable for a night out!
Wore this dress for a night out in Vegas and was a great fit and very flattering! I would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2014
I wore this dress for a movie premier in Dallas.
It seemed more low cut on me than it does on the model shown on the site. I had to pin it so I wasn't indecent.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 6, 2014
This was my first experience with RTR, & it was love at first dress! I felt comfortable and sassy :)
I wanted to find the perfect dress for my friend's bachelorette weekend in Chicago, and I wasn't having any luck shopping around. I decided to give RTR a try, and it was the best decision ever! I was nervous because I'm usually very picky about how things look and fit, and the dress ended up fitting perfectly. I love that they send 2 sizes, and all the packaging is taken care of. Talk about convenient fashion! I have a larger bust area, so I ended up pinning the top. It wasn't super tight either, and I liked that! Actually quite flattering for any body type I think, and a great dress to wear for any celebration. It made me feel classy, comfy and sexy all at once!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×