Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$40 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and a ring like the Dannijo's Coco Ring.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

381 reviews

Fit
Small 41
True to Size 261
Large 55
Photos 225
Mandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful. It was also very comfortable and easy to move in. I received lots of compliments on how fun and sparkly it is. It is cold where I live so I put a little black leather jacket over it and it worked perfect.
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 13, 2013

Glitzy but surprisingly comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for an office holiday party and I was happy with it overall. I'm a definite hour glass shape, so I usually wear a size 6 but often will wear a size 8 too. I got both a 6 and 8, and the 8 was way too big but the 6 fit pretty well (I kind of wonder if I should have tried a 4 though). I was happy that it was low cut but not too revealing... but the way the fabric gather does make you look extra chest-y (which I wasn't crazy about). It was super comfortable and very sparkly... so I was pretty pleased overall!
Reta
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2013

This dress fit like a glove and was perfect for showing off my curves.

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising gala. I got plenty of compliments for this dress. It showed off my figure and accentuated my waist. It has plenty of stretch to accommodate my curvy hips and chest. This dress is fully lined and VERY comfortable. The sequins and front ruching disguised my tummy well. The downside was that the zipper was a bit bulky and was ever prevented the dress from laying smooth along the back. I would most definitely wear this dress again!
Melinda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2013

Beautiful dress that's flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress does run large, and I appreciate the other reviews that suggested ordering the second dress a size smaller, as that's the one I wore. The dress is surprisingly comfortable, with the bonus of a normal bra working with it . Assistance is required with the zipper - it's sticky getting it past the seam, and you need somebody who's not afraid to give a good tug. Definitely recommend this dress for a cocktail attire type event!
AchAy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

I wore this for a 1920s themed wedding. I used champagne accents so I'd match my gf who was in it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great, I got the gold version as a back up, but this one was definitely cut differently. I do have some war wounds under my arms from the sequins and I wondered if I was ever going to be able to get the dress on, and then off due to the crazy zipper! I feel it hid my belly well, and made me look like I actually have hips.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

I felt like a million dollars!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I hosted a charity fashion show at my school for pediatric cancer research and when it was my turn to walk at the end of the show I felt so confident and received so many compliments after the show! It was so comfortable! The only thing is that I am not large-chested so it was little too big in the chest area. Definitely wear sticky boobs (what I did) or no-bra with it because a strapless bra will be visible unless you safety pin it.
Heather
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Sparkly and AMAZING!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments! I wore this to a bachelorette party and even though we spent 80% of our time at a country bar, I got so many compliments on it. It was a little short for my usual taste, but nothing major. Definately if I ever rent this one again, I would wear spanx--the cut of the skirt in back was different and I felt like my butt was huge. Overall, it was really comfortable and the neckline was just perfect. Highly recommend this dress if you love the SPARKLE!!
Mary Frances
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Be a "knock out" in Badgley Mischka!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had the fabulous opportunity to meet the designers Badgley Mischka themselves at a cocktail party promoting their new eyewear line! Dressing to impress, I wore one of their highly rated dresses, the Manhattan Socialite. It's comfortable, sexy and very flattering to the figure. I also wore their earrings which dazzled. I went to the ballet later on that evening and was perfectly suited for both events in that gorgeous dress.
Lilly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

I wore this at an awards ceremony I attended with my family.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall the dress was on the large side, but the bust was especially large and definitely needed the fashion tape RTR sent.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Great dress, very comfortable and I got a lot of complements!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is true to size, but I would go down a size for your back up. Very comfortable and nice to be able to wear a regular bra. Great, flattering fit.
Audrey
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2013

Perfect for a sorority formal!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hit me in all the right places. I received many compliments. Although it is made of sequins which you might think could be uncomfortable, the lining of it is very comfortable. I would recommend this dress to girls who may be a little body-conscious but still want to make a statement! I would suggest wearing minimal jewelry because the dress is an accessory in of itself.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Apr 4, 2013

A beautiful fun dress for a great cause

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was gorgeous remaining classy but also an element of fun. It was perfect for the semi formal gala I attended Fit was true to size. The 4 fit but I felt better in the 6 for length to accommodate my pear.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

I should probably just buy it...

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in blue last October for a wedding and decided to get it as a back-up dress for my bachelorette party in March! I got it in black, and ultimately ended up wearing it instead of the other dress I rented. This dress just fits so well! And I was comfortable in it all night long. I should probably just buy this dress - I love it so much!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Talk of Chi-Town!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit beautifully! I am really glad RTR gives you two sizes, because the 4 fit a lot better than the 6. I wore this to my sister's Bachelorette party in Chicago (they are pictured also in RTR dresses) and we were complimented all night. It is cut low in the front and back; my black bra was exposed a little in the back. I 100% recommend this dress and felt very glamorous! Thank you once again RTR!
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Felt beautiful!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 12 but I put on a little weight so I had to size up. But the 14 wasn't available for the date of the wedding so I had to size up again. So I ordered two sizes; my regular 12 and the 16. The 12 was a struggle to zip up so I wore the 16. It felt a little loose in the strap and was longer than I think it was supposed to be but overall I think it fit beautifully. I felt skinny despite the weight gain! Extremely flattering and forgiving on my belly. It was the right amount of sexy, dressy, and classy.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

You look like a celebrity!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the gold version of this dress recently, so I knew what to expect with the black one. As I said in an earlier review, the dress fit a little bit large, but it was overall nice. Very sparkly, and the neckline was quite flattering. The bodice of the dress, while flattering, fit slightly larger and the rouching made it a bit puffy and less form-fitting than I would have liked. The length was a bit long as well, but I'm on the shorter side (5'4"). Overall, liked the dress and it was good for my event with colleagues.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2013

Last minute change in plans left me without a dress, RTR saved the day.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. The zipper was a little tricky going over the seem in the back; you need an extra hand. I got complements from people I didn't even know. Everyone loves this dress.
Mama K
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 8, 2013

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
What I loved about the dress: I could wear a normal bra, it wasn't too short, comfortable to move around in. What I didn't love: I felt like the dress was a little bulky and wasn't particularly flattering to my figure. The sequins also made it very difficult to zip up. Overall, the dress was suitable for my event, but didn't "wow" me. I'll definitely rent from RTR again though- the entire process was very easy.
Anna
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2013

Fit wonderfully, and flattered my chest and hid my tummy.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For ladies with a larger chest, it's going to be out there, so make it work. The shape is really good for big hips, though. (Esp with a little help from shape-wear).
Ktina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2013

The dress was at my hotel waiting for me when I arrived for vacation.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress was a true fit. It was very slimming and complemented my body. The sequins were hard to sit in though.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Great dress for a sparkly bachelorette party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was super comfortable and versatile. I wore it for my best friend's bachelorette party, which had a "sparkle" theme. I ordered the 8 and the 10; I could have worn the 10, but the 8 fit better in the chest area. The zipper was a pain to get up, but I was happy the dress could be worn with a regular bra. Fun to dress up with bright jewelry (I also rented some kate spade earrings) and shoes! The only con was that--while it definitely can be flattering on many figures--I thought it accentuated my hips a little bit more than I would have liked.
Myra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Many compliments

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a last resort dress... the two I originally ordered didn't fit, and they didn't have another size to send me. It's definitely unique, and caught attention. It's not too flashy, and people liked it. But, I didn't feel very pretty in it. I didn't like the waist line and it didn't look very flattering on me. I was impressed with the RTR customer service, as then ensured that the dress was overnighted to my hotel and arrived before noon. Even though I plan on renting again, I'm nervous about having a similar experience the next time.
Niki
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

This was so easy to rent, wear, and return.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. Was hard to zip. My boyfriend, at one point said, I'm gonna need some pliers. But I think that's normal with the hidden zipper + sequins. But we got it. (Without the help of any pliers!) Low cut but not anything inappropriate. I was able to get my dance on and be comfortable!!!
Colleen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 21, 2013

I loved how easy RTR makes it for us. Couldn't have been more pleased with this experience :)

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was true to size and it fit really well. I'm normally a 12, but ended up wearing the 14 because the wedding was held at a Brazilian steakhouse (where you are expected to eat...and eat...and eat) and I wanted the extra room and not feel like I was stuffed into a dress all day. I'm tall (5'9) and the dress went right above my knees. It was a bit low cut in the cleavage area so thank goodness for that fashion tape lol. The back of the dress went up fairly high and the straps were wide enough that I was able to wear a regular bra without any straps showing. It wasn't too clingy and it gave you plenty of breathing room. The sequins were a bit scratchy, but nothing too bad. Great dress!
Linzlo
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

I felt absolutely stunning in this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 10 and 12, the 10 fit perfectly with a regular bra. After two babies in two years I was incredibly nervous about what I was going to wear to the wedding. This dress hit in all the right places. I felt incredibly comfortable and will use RTR again.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Fun Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress for our 1950's themed party!
Jenny248
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Flattering and comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I wore it for a black tie optional wedding. It was so flattering and very comfortable. I wear a 6/8 in a-line dresses. The 6 fit here. I received lots of compliments, so that made me feel great! I definitely felt confident and comfortable all night. The v neck comes down a little low, but it was probably fine. I used a little fashion tape just to be safe. I probably should have pinned my bra strap too because it showed in some pictures (see attached). All in all, I highly recommend this dress! It comes in a long version too, but I thought it was a little bit too dressy for the wedding I attended. This was my first time using RTR and I'll definitely use it again. I was lucky enough to be in NYC and go to the Showroom (amazing!!!).
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

Got a compliment from the bride!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like the other reviews, this dress was great! I was a little concerned that the sequins would be a little too much, but it turned out to be just right for an evening wedding. By the end of the night, I even got a compliment from the bride! Paired it with a pair of satin black heels and a simple black leather clutch. The dress is definitely the star of the show so I kept the jewelry at a minimum. The only potential down side to this dress is the neckline - either have lots of fashion tape on hand or be comfortable showing off the girls a little bit. This was my first time renting with RTR and I can't wait for the next occasion to do it again.
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 19, 2013

I wore this to meet Ron Jeremy on my birthday. Ended up being overdressed but, looked hot!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It made my cleavage look awesome!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 28, 2013

Wore this to a cocktail party and felt like a million bucks.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was fantastic! It was super flattering and hit in all the right spots. I felt glamorous all night long and got a lot of compliments on the dress. The zipper was a bit difficult once the dress was on, but I think that was just from the weight of the material because the size was a perfect fit.
Nicole
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

Great dress! Fit perfectly, was in great shape, and flattering.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, the dress was in great condition. It fit perfectly, was comfortable, and perfect for a black tie ball.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 11, 2013

Matching rentals!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 10, but got a 10 and 12 in this dress because I have a full bust and hourglass shape. I was glad I did, because I ended up wearing a size 12. I was thrilled with the fit and dress... until I showed up and another guest at the wedding had rented the same dress! We both ended up laughing about it and calling each other our "dress twin", but we were disappointed to end up looking like matching bridesmaids. I suppose that is a testament to how popular this website is, but I was hoping to stand out. Although I had a great experience with the rental and ordering, I am not sure I would rent again. Or if I did, I wouldn't rent an item labelled 'most popular'. On the bright side, we both had very different figures, and this dress was beautiful on both of us!
sofia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 21, 2013

I felt like a million bucks!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. I usually wear a size 6 but decided to rent the size 4 as back up. I'm glad I did because the 6 fit me too big. I loved that I could wear a normal bra with this dress. If you're thinking of renting this dress rent a size down.
Checka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

i had a baby 7.5 month ago this was the first time in a long time i felt beautiful and fabulous!!!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am losing weight and was nervous which size to get the 10 fit but was a little snug the 12 fit perfectly and gave me a little room. I absolutely loved this dress its style was classic and everyone complimented me how beautiful it was.
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

felt like a movie star!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
very comfortable dress, sequins are gorgeous! i was told i looked like a supermodel by several other guests!
Kalona
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 24, 2013

Beautiful dress! Perfect length and just fit so well. I would rent it again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great. Came just to my knee; neckline was low, but not uncomfortably so...you don't need accessories for this dress because the dress is pretty enough on it's own.
Elisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this dress fit and how comfortable it was. I didn't have to adjust it once the whole night! The dress arrived in pristine condition and on time. I will definitely rent again!
Victoria
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Made me feel like a million bucks!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this for my 10 year high school reunion and it fit like a glove! It was exactly the right length so as not to be too revealing with the low neckline. I loved the fact that I could wear a real bra with the dress and never had to readjust. I was able to move, dance, and have a ball without fear that is have an wardrobe malfunctions. I will definitely be using RTR again!!
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Oct 5, 2013

So exciting when the bag comes!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The 14 fit in some spots and not in others! I read all reviews and thought it would fit perfect. It is big on top and shows a lot of boob. I also felt it was a smaller 14. It does rub underarms so if that would bother you, then forget it. I did feel gorgeous regardless.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

sparkles!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little itchy in the arm from the sequins. Overall a perfect night time dress for a night out in NY.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×