Manhattan Socialite Dress

$199 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
549 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size335
Small54
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 18, 2015
Gorgeous
Beautiful sequined dress! Perfect ft, especially with larger bust, very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2015
This dress was fun!
Lots of sparkle, the top was a little big so I had to use some fashion tape to keep it in place. But the dress got me many compliments. The zipper is a little hard to get up but once up, it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2015
Fun dress
The fit was great, and the dress was very comfortable and fun. The zipper was odd though. It felt like it was stuck around the waistband, but it wasn't caught on any cloth or sequins. It definitely required some assistance.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
December 17, 2015
Great dress for holiday parties
This is a really fun dress I wore to an upscale office holiday party. It sparkled in the lighting and I received a lot of compliments. I ordered a 10 and a 12 and wore the 10, it was true to size and very comfortable. My only complaint would be that the sequins kept snagging on my pantyhose and I had a run before I even left the house, but other than that it was a great dress, great value, and I would order it again...I would probably go for a spray tan next time though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 16, 2015
FANTASTIC DRESS!!!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I would rent this again in a heartbeat! It was so comfortable. It does run small, so definitely order one size larger than your typical size (I normally wear a 12, and this dress was a 14). The way the dress falls across the abdomen is flattering (you can go without SPANX if you want). I did safety pin the deep V in the front as it showed my bra a little, but this by far has been my favorite dress that I've ever rented from RTR (and it was a backup dress!!!). I was worried the sequins would rub and irritate the skin on my arms, but that was not an issue at all. If I could find this dress online to buy it, I would snatch it up in a heartbeat! I received compliments all night long at my company Christmas party!!! I highly recommend this dress for cocktail attire!!! I wish I could rent it again for NYE at a casino but unfortunately it's all sold out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2015
Perfect sparkly dress for a winter formal!
I have a full chest, and this dress was so perfect! I had to pin the front so it wasn't showing too much skin, but otherwise it was perfect, and I could wear a normal bra with it! I really loved the dress!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
December 9, 2015
Great dress! Perfect for holiday party!
Size 4 fit well-little tight in rib cage area. Very flattering. Size 6 was too big in chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 7, 2015
Dress was beautiful and comfortable
The dress runs large. I ordered a 10, my usual size, but ended up wearing my backup size 8. The dress allows you to wear a regular bra, which is extremely important for me. I received a lot of compliments throughout the evening. Beautiful, classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 6, 2015
First RTR Experience!
I rented this dress at the last minute and I wish they had the next size available for me. It is VERY low cut, and for a office Christmas party, I decided to go with a more conservative look. However, I will definitely keep this dress in mind for an upcoming bachelorette party! If you are curvy, especially on top, I would order the next two sizes up. I look forward to wearing the dress in the future! #sequins4days
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 6, 2015
Beautiful dress for a 1920's party!
The fit was a little odd, Very low cut and added some extra fabric to the mid-section area. This could be flattering to some figures but made me look thick from the sides. However, the dress was super comfortable and I was able to dance the night away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
December 4, 2015
It was very comfortable, and I received a ton of compliments. Would def rent again!
Loved it! Would have worn the 8, but my hips wouldn't allow, so it was a bit loose in the shoulders with the 10. I'm 5'1 and it hit my knees.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
December 3, 2015
Perfect cocktail dress!
Gorgeous, flattering, and comfortable - can't ask for much more from a dress. The zipper can be difficult to work with, especially over the banded waist, so don't even think of trying to get into this without a helper. But the material has some give and was a perfect garment for a night of dancing at a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
December 2, 2015
Fantastic dress! Covers a multitude of sins!
A bra was a must with a little fashion tape. Comfortable! Has enough give to dance or sit, and still breath. Would rent this again in a heartbeat!!!
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
Sad I didn't have a new dress for my event
Pretty big in the bust for me, couldn't wear it for my event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
November 27, 2015
The dress was fun, sexy and comfortable. I have DD and I could wear a bra which is a plus. Loved it
You do not need to wear much jewlery with this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
November 23, 2015
Perfect Celebration Dress
My sister wanted to be Diana Ross for her 40th birthday, so I knew that sparkly dresses were in order. I ordered two of this dress in black and one in the same cut, but rose gold for us. They were perfect. The cut of the dress is flattering--even on our differently sized bodies. It's definitely low cut, but a little double-sided tape worked wonders. The bottom of the dress was loose enough to allow us to dance comfortably. And the sparkles were awesome. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 50
November 22, 2015
Runs small, very low front/back. Heavy.
I rented two dresses and didn't choose this one. I rented the 14 and sized up to the 16, which was also very tight. I liked the dress, but with the front SO low (a pin would definitely be necessary) and the flare of the pleats right over the belly, it wasn't a good choice for me. If it were looser, the pleats may have fallen correctly. I wore a 14 in another dress for that evening. As other comments stated, the zipper was ridiculously hard to zip/unzip.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 18, 2015
Great dress! Big in the chest.
This was true to size, although there is a lot of room in the chest. I got around this by putting on bra tape, but I was constantly worried :P So better for ladies with bigger chests ;) Other than that it fit really well, and was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 36
November 17, 2015
loved this dress....wore it to a club in Vegas and it was the perfect fit!!
the length was perfect for me, not too short like most dresses i find. it was very flattering and I got many complements.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2015
I'm so disappointed. I didn't get to wear this awesome dress. My event was cancelled.
The fit was great. True to size. It worked well for my petite hourglass frame. I will have to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
November 11, 2015
Too small for my larger bust
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party however it was too small in the bust for me to wear:( it was beautiful and would've been great for the occasion and I loved the concept of how it looked on! But rent the runway took fantastic care of me when it was too late for a replacement. The customer service is top notch, sincerely.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 11, 2015
I had lots of compliments
The dress is really pretty. Perfect length for me- just above the knee. Perfect cleavage as it was lowcut but possible to wear a good bra! It was pretty tight around my ribcage, but I have a barrel chest. Also, it had bulky straps that hid my best feature- clavicle. In my unique case, I really pushed my limits on the dancefloor and by the end of the night the sequins had rubbed the back of my arms to be uncomfortable!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
November 9, 2015
Beautiful dress!
The dress is great, although it can be a little on the short side and especially short on the backside if you have any booty. With that being said, the fabric has some give to it, so it is very comfortable and the way the fabric falls in the front it hides the midsection well. Sequins were not too scratchy. Overall I LOVED this dress....I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 9, 2015
I wore this for a company gala and it was perfect!
The fit was great! Not much give around the waistband and the top felt a little loose (I think because I had to go up a size for the waistband). The sequins was a little itchy under the arm area but nothing too horrible! We danced the night away and I never worried about the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2015
Halloween party
Dress was flattering for my shape. It was very low cut and I had to use a safety pin so I would not reveal too much. I was able to wear a regular bra which was nice. Length was perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 5, 2015
This dress reminded me of a modern sassy Audrey Hepburn, loved it!
I'm rather short, but this hit me perfectly right at my knees. The sequins were a little scratchy under my arms as the night went on. I got a million compliments on the dress. It wasn't as deep of a V in the front as other reviews made it out to be. I plan on ordering this dress again in the other colors offered. Super chic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 3, 2015
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a Halloween party, we went as a 1920's couple! This dress was surprisingly very comfortable! For the most part true to size. Top was a little big on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 3, 2015
Effortless Beauty
Not the best angle in the picture, but I loved this dress! Great for all body shapes. Has a slight stretch, and the sequins don't scratch like you would think.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 3, 2015
I felt like Marilyn Monroe!
I rented this gown for an event we had at work. The fit was amazing and it truly made me feel like a movie star! I didn't really have trouble with the zipper, fit comfortably and I was able to wear it through a 10 hour work shift for the event. Definitely recommend it and it was a great rental price!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 3, 2015
I wore this for a Halloween party and it was perfect for a 1920's flapper!
The dress was a little snug right under the bust line, which made it hard to zip, but it wasn't uncomfortable. I tend to go between a size 2 or a 4 and the 4 was definitely the right choice. I loved that it was loose enough in the stomach area that I didn't feel the need to wear spanx to hold everything in but still didn't look baggy. The sequins were definitely scratchy on the arms but overall, this dress is a winner in my book!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
October 29, 2015
RTR is an easy and affordable way to get the perfect dress for your special event.
This dress fit great and was very comfortable. I was worried I might be overdressed but it was perfect for my cocktail evening attire. My only complaint was it was a little snug in the rib cage and the neckline was really low. I had to pin it to avoid my bra showing. Overall, I loved wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
October 28, 2015
Perfect combo of classy, formal, cute, but for a black-tie WORK gala.
Definitely runs a bit large. Makes the hip/waist appear a bit larger than normal. It's a very heavy fabric with lots of lining though, which is super forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 26, 2015
Glam dress for a glam night
I'm between a 14 and 16, rented both, and the 14 fit really well - very flattering. Paired it with ELIZABETH COLE Bacall Earrings.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 26, 2015
This dress was perfect for the event and made me feel absolutely beautiful.
The dress ran true to size. The draping was gorgeous and is perfect for anyone who has an hour glass figure. Pictures to not due it justice. Zipper was hard so I highly recommend having someone around when you get ready.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 24, 2015
Everyone loved it!
I have rented this dress in the long and in different colors and every time I wear it I love it even more! This color and length is what my friend choose for her bridesmaid dresses for her Vegas wedding! This dress is so comfortable! It does show a bit too much cleavage for my liking BUT I just pin it to suit me. I'll definitely be renting it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
October 19, 2015
Post baby, wanted something that looked nice and hid imperfections while still stylish.
Wasn't sure what size I am post baby, I ordered 12 and 14. My chest area/back are bigger (38 G post baby) and the tightest area was top of zipper. I did end up pinning the bust area, despite my chest size the material seemed to flap open to reveal my bra but the pin was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2015
Great Gatsby Themed Party Dress!
Amazing dress! I've rented this one in both the black and gold. Very flattering. Love that I could wear a real bra but didn't feel like the girls were on display. Gathers at the waist and hides mid-section very well. I also have very long legs and could wear heels without feeling that the dress was too short. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2015
Gorgeous glamourous dress.
I ended up wearing a different dress for my friend's wedding, but would definitely rent this for a more glamourous event - New Year's, Holiday Party, movie premier. The size 4 fit perfect, but I usually wear a size 6. Recommend going a size down, especially if you have a small bust.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 12, 2015
Perfect for the event
Fit true to size
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
October 8, 2015
Show stopper!!
Very comfortable dress! The zipper is a little bit of a pain but if you take your time it won't be a problem. I have a large chest and it's a little low cut so I had to pin the front but it's gorgeous! True to size and wore it all night!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×