Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Make Love Not War Gown

$85 rental
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You might be mistaken for royalty! This deep purple gown by Badgley Mischka will make a strong and beautiful statement at that gala event. To create a truly standout formal look pair with accessories like Alexis Bittar’s Seaglass Lattice Teardrops and Jules Smith’s Viva Glam Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Petite, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Petite, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Purple crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. High neckline. Open back with flutter detail. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size75
Small8
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 30, 2014
This was an amazing dress for a beach wedding as it blew in the wind glamorously!
The Six was actually to bit so I went down to the 4 and it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2014
Super Elegant
This dress can be described as regal and elegant. It fit fabulously and the detail in the back had a ethereal touch to it. The color is amazing and it is beautifully crafted!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
July 13, 2014
This dress made me feel so glamorous ! Best website , exceptional costumer service !!
I'm usually a size 2 but I wore the dress in a zero . Great fit , I didn't need a bra
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2014
Perfect fit, & comfortable. Rec'd a lot of compliments!
Had to wear with flats, but the look made it very boheme!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 29, 2014
Got so many compliments.
The fit was overall great. I'm a med on top large bottom and the 8 fit perfect. I got the long and it was really long for me. I'm about 5-8 and wore 2 inch heels. Prob should have ordered the regular. The color was very pretty. The material that hangs in the back I wasn't a huge fan of. I had someone tie 2 loose knots and it looked really nice. Overall I liked. This was a last minute pick because the dress I wanted wasn't in good condition and RTR couldn't send it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2014
I loved the color of this dress! It was beautiful on and comfortable.
The dress fit really well. It was my 2nd choice when they didn't have the 2nd size in the original dress I ordered, but I'm so glad I ordered it. The only con I would really give it is that it made me look a little more busty than I am because of the cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 23, 2014
friends
This dress perfectly and was very comfortable to dancing around in. It's the perfect blend of wearing the "safe" choice and making statement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2014
Great dress, simple but very flattering!
fit really well, looser in the bust, so I recommend people with smaller chest going with the smaller size. Great length, I'm 5'8 and the regular hit the floor perfectly, even with low wedges.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
May 29, 2014
Beautiful, perfect fit!
Amazing dress I am short with a large bust and this dress looked great! Very comfortable as well and I got a lot of compliments on the dress as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Very Pretty
This was my first choice dress, however I was unable to wear it. I ordered this dress in 2 sizes, but only the smaller size was available, which made it a little to snug to wear comfortably. I would recommend this dress, the color is beautiful and very figure flattering. Was sad to not get to wear it. Maybe next time!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 15, 2014
The whole process was so easy! I got the dress a day earlier than planned and it fit perfectly!
I'm 5'1" 145 lbs and the 6R fit great. It was a little long, but with my heels it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2014
RTR was awesome. First time user, called about concerns & they made the process stress free
Such a comfortable dress! I choose to not wear a bra, dress lined so no problems there. I am 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels. Choose the Regular Length. The dress fell perfect, long enough, but no tripping. I am a little short waisted, so the waist on this dress isn't the best style for me, but I loved the halter and that made up for it. Neck fit well. The closeup picture is more accurate of color of dress. This dress was a winner, Elegant yet easy to wear.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2014
Beautiful color, lovely dress...just not as amazing as the"back-up" dress!
Ended up only trying-on this dress, since my back-up dress turned out to be AMAZING. The purple color of this dress is beautiful, and would have been great for the university gala I attended; however, the style was far less flattering on me than the back-up dress I chose. The fit was true to size for me. Low back and neckline style would have required a special bra or stick-on support. Length would have been about right with 2" heels. As other reviewers have commented, sheer outer layer of the skirt is quite a bit longer than the lining, which was a little awkward.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2014
I wore this gown to a ball and it was perfect! I got lots of compliments! Would highly recommend it!
If you are in between sizes like me, I would opt down a size for this one. I ordered it in 4R and 6R and wore the 4. I only wore 3 inch heels, I would've probably needed a long if they were any higher.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2014
It was the perfect dress!
So yeah, I'm 5'5 and it was the perfect length with 5 inches heels!. Gorgeous gown..was not my first choice this was personally picked by the stylist. The original dress I picked was damaged by previous renter so they upgraded me and sent me 3 dresses! AMAZING! Overall, I'm glad that I wore this dress rather the original one which looks awful for my skin tone..lol Thank You RTR! YOU GALS ARE THE BEST!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2014
Easy, Breezy, Beautiful, but GLAM!
I would never have picked out this dress, but the back up dress I originally ordered was damaged, so this was sent as a replacement. Boy I am glad that happened! I think this is a really classic dress. It's not overly sexy; it's timelessly feminine. This is a long dress - I am nearly 5'9 and with 4 inch heels it was just the right length. If you are on the shorter side, I would err on ordering a regular. The fit is great and forgiving for those of us with hips. I didn't feel the need for a bra, but I think if you prefer support, this might not be the dress for you. The back has a beautiful flowing back feature, which worked for me as I have some scarring on my back and this helped mask it. I paired this dress with bronze accessories, but you could easily pair with silver or gold bags, shoes and jewelry. My only complaint is that the neck chaffed my skin a bit, but it was bearable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
April 19, 2014
I didn't feel great but wore it anyway
Fitted but u felt frumpy in it
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 14, 2014
Gorgeous dress!!
True to size; a little long; color looks different in pictures depending on lighting;
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 14, 2014
The richness of the color made me really stand out. Absolutely Beautiful!
I was nervous and ordered a 12 which was a little big, but it pretty much fit well. I little long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2014
This dress made me feel beautiful, special, sexy, classy, and glamorous. Loved it!
This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged at the waist precisely how it should and flowed over my hips and legs just right. I wore about 4 inch heels and I really wouldn't have been able to walk in the dress without shoes that high. The dress is definitely long and the chiffon material falls farther than the underlining. I had no real problems with the length though because I had shoes that went well with the make and length of the dress. I will definitely rent from this website again. It was so worth it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
Great friends, food, dress & drinks :)
This dress was beautiful and made me feel like a princess. I am pretty tall (5'8") and ordered 6L and 8L and both were very long. I wore small heels but the dress was still slightly long. The 6 fit perfectly aside from length but I loved the dress. So many compliments! I would just recommend that unless you're 5'10" and up, you probably won't need the long fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 21, 2014
The dress was perfect and the process with RTR was easy.
I was really surprised this dress fit true to size given the designer. I loved how light and airy it was. It worked really well for the event and I got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 7, 2014
Great dress, very comfortable. You will need a backless bra.
Fits true to size and is very flattering. I'm curvy and it did a great job of hiding my least favorite parts of my body. The color was awesome too.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 20, 2014
I loved this dress! Unfortunately, it was too tight around my ribcage and chest!
I loved this dress! Unfortunately, it was too tight around my ribcage and chest!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2014
Great!
The halter neckline can pull down and feel tight in the back if you have a bigger chest, but it doesn't show. Overal, a great dress for a formal work event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2014
Princess
When you walk it just flows and was so much fun to dance in. I have a very large chest and this gapped a little by the armpits. The neck dragged down a little in the front because if you are too large of a chest, it takes up more room :) I am 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress was still too long (I got the regular). It was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2013
I did not choose to wear this dress for my event.
This dress fits well but is too long for even 5" heels. The neck cuff is really tight.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2013
Sophisticated, effortless and sexy
This was my first RTR experience. I wore this dress to a black-tie fundraiser, and it was perfect. Was looking for something that was elegant and understated. Am not in ideal shape at the moment and didn't want anything too clingy. LOVED the way this looked. I'm 5' 5 and a half" barefoot, and the 6R length was perfect with 3.5-inch heels. Full disclosure: Back dips down too low to wear a traditional strapless bra. I wound up not wearing anything. Material provided full coverage. Fit wise: I'm thick-waisted and wide through the hips, and this was a bit snug in the waist, but Spanx remedied that. ... This was the seventh year I've attended this annual fundraiser, but it was the first time my husband was still commenting about how gorgeous he thought I looked a week later. Am super satisfied with the dress and the whole RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
LOVED the dress and got tons of compliments!
The length was perfect. The top part around the neck is pretty snug, and I have a small neck.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
November 16, 2013
Beautiful rich purple color! Ended up not wearing this gown
Rented 10L, 12L; noted only minor differences in size (waparound neck band roomier in 12L, as was bust). 10L fit, but draped on floor even with 4" heels. Would have worn 12L because length was better and I could wear 3" heels
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
Love the dress. Many compliments.
I tried it on at the showroom. Fit well. Chiffon is a bit longer than the bottom layer and not tall, but was fine with 3" heels. I am quite short waisted and it worked fine for me but top was not fitted enough to not wear a bra. I imagine if more proportional, it might work. Loved the dress. Would get again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 11, 2013
perfect fit
Cannot wear a bra, very low in the back.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2013
I felt comfortable in this gown,
The color and style were great. The quality of the gown was less then perfect, with unfinished seams and hems. Perhaps I expected to much from a designer gown. However, the service of rent the runway was exceptional. I was in emergency mode and I'm greatful for everything.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
October 21, 2013
GORGEOUS and super comfortable!!
The FIT WAS PERFECT and hugged in the waist but was incredibly comfortable to wear! Loose on the tummy and bust (in a good way) so I was completely comfortable to eat dinner and then dance the night away! So many compliments on the color and style!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Elegant and luxurious
Runs true to size, comfortable, very well-made, beautiful fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2013
Beautiful dress but too long, not too large.
I couldn't wear it because I am 3 or 4 inches too short for it. I would recommend if you are 5'10" or taller.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
October 8, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress and I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
I'm usually between a 4 and 6 for most things but I found this dress ran a little large. The 4 fit me perfectly although, for my height, it was a little too long. It was also flattering in all the right places!
GabrielleOctober 17, 2013
Hi Cassie, I ordered this dress to wear and I was just wondering what heel height you would suggest as I am the same height as you? Thanks! You looked beautiful.
CassieOctober 17, 2013
Hi Gabrielle - my heel was 4 inches and it worked. Another inch probably would've made all the difference though. Thanks for the compliment. O
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2013
This dress is a class act!
I rented this dress for a "black tie optional" event and it couldn't have been a better fit. I received so many compliments. I'm 5'8" around 140 lbs. and the 8R fit perfect length and rib cage wise. And the color is beautiful. All and all, this dress is a show stopper, but not in the flashy, blaring kind of way. Just simple elegant and timeless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2013
Pretty dress but not for me.
I did think this was a pretty dress but unfortunantely even the 8L didn't accomodate my long torso. If you have a long torso like me, I wouldn't rent this dress but otherwise, it is very pretty with a nice shade of purple and a light/airy feel.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2013
I wasn't able to wear the dress because it was WAY too long.
I looked at the reviews, info and consulted the inline stylist before deciding on what size to order. Based on the stylist recommendation, comments and my own measuring (I measured from my shoulder to the floor and compared that to the dress details) I ordered the dress in L. I also ordered hem tape so I could adjust it if it was too long. The dress had a sheer outer layer over a lining. The lining was the perfect length with heels. The dress (sheer part) was about 5 inches too long. I could not use the tape I bought because the dress was sheer. I ordered a 10 for my backup size. That was a waste as well, because while the 8 fit, it was a little loose. I think a 6 in R length would've done the trick. The dress was in beautiful condition. So, it went back into the bag and I sent it right back for a credit.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×