Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Make Love Not War Gown

$85 rental
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You might be mistaken for royalty! This deep purple gown by Badgley Mischka will make a strong and beautiful statement at that gala event. To create a truly standout formal look pair with accessories like Alexis Bittar’s Seaglass Lattice Teardrops and Jules Smith’s Viva Glam Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Petite, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Petite, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Purple crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. High neckline. Open back with flutter detail. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

85 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 69
Large 6
Photos 53
Leweje
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 194 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Perfect, Georgeous, Beautiful!!!!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal affair. The dress fit perfectly though a little long. I am 5'7 and had to wear 5 inch heals to keep the dress off the ground. It is a beautiful dress and I recieved so many compliments.
Annie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 6, 2013

Great service and dresses

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my main dress for prom but ended up wearing my backup dress because it was more comfy and fit my date's outfit better. This dress was gorgeous and I was torn between wearing it, but it was kinda tight around the neck and I hate that feeling. Also slightly tight at the bottom.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable dress for a spring wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When I buy long dresses I always have to get them hemmed, so I was nervous to rent a long dress - but trying on several long dresses in the NY showroom was a huge help! This was the definite winner. The size 4 fell perfectly to the floor with 4 inch heels. The color was beautiful and the dress is very comfortable and forgiving - I was able to enjoy all of the wonderful food at my friend's wedding and dance the night away!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Stunning and quite comfortable.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect for a formal fundraising event I attended.I was pleased with the rental. The dress seemed true to size (typical vanity sizing that is). I'm a few pounds over my listed weight at the moment and I could feel it in the the lining (at the thighs), but gown itself is very forgiving of a couple extra pounds. I might have been more comfortable wearing the 4, but I didn't even try on the back up, because I was rushed. The length was a bit long with 3.5" heels, but I was able to hold the skirt to navigate stairs and while dancing. Also, I did end up wearing a regular strapless bra, which I had to pull down in the back. One of those low back, halter bras might have been better. (A bra isn't necessary under this dress for coverage, the lining and fabric are fine. But there isn't any support or lift built in.) Great dress, I recommend it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

This was my back up dress - which was good because I ordered it too big!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty dress but I ordered it too big!
Mackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Mature and elegant

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a sorority formal and loved the way it fit, but the color combined with the modest fit was a little too old for my age (22). The high neck and detail on the back are very pretty but it just was not the right dress for the event.
JessSabs
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Love, love, love this dress! I received SO many compliments!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly - with the exception that it was a little long - I probably needed higher heels. It was super comfortable and gorgeous. Friends were asking to borrow it (hehe)! Overall, just perfection...
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Pretty dress but not for me.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did think this was a pretty dress but unfortunantely even the 8L didn't accomodate my long torso. If you have a long torso like me, I wouldn't rent this dress but otherwise, it is very pretty with a nice shade of purple and a light/airy feel.
Kim
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

This dress is a class act!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a "black tie optional" event and it couldn't have been a better fit. I received so many compliments. I'm 5'8" around 140 lbs. and the 8R fit perfect length and rib cage wise. And the color is beautiful. All and all, this dress is a show stopper, but not in the flashy, blaring kind of way. Just simple elegant and timeless.
meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

Beautiful dress but too long, not too large.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't wear it because I am 3 or 4 inches too short for it. I would recommend if you are 5'10" or taller.
liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Elegant and luxurious

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs true to size, comfortable, very well-made, beautiful fabric.
Chrissy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

GORGEOUS and super comfortable!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The FIT WAS PERFECT and hugged in the waist but was incredibly comfortable to wear! Loose on the tummy and bust (in a good way) so I was completely comfortable to eat dinner and then dance the night away! So many compliments on the color and style!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Sassy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Oct 28, 2013

I felt comfortable in this gown,

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color and style were great. The quality of the gown was less then perfect, with unfinished seams and hems. Perhaps I expected to much from a designer gown. However, the service of rent the runway was exceptional. I was in emergency mode and I'm greatful for everything.
susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

perfect fit

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cannot wear a bra, very low in the back.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

Love the dress. Many compliments.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I tried it on at the showroom. Fit well. Chiffon is a bit longer than the bottom layer and not tall, but was fine with 3" heels. I am quite short waisted and it worked fine for me but top was not fitted enough to not wear a bra. I imagine if more proportional, it might work. Loved the dress. Would get again in a heartbeat.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful rich purple color! Ended up not wearing this gown

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented 10L, 12L; noted only minor differences in size (waparound neck band roomier in 12L, as was bust). 10L fit, but draped on floor even with 4" heels. Would have worn 12L because length was better and I could wear 3" heels
amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

I did not choose to wear this dress for my event.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits well but is too long for even 5" heels. The neck cuff is really tight.
Elisabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Princess

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When you walk it just flows and was so much fun to dance in. I have a very large chest and this gapped a little by the armpits. The neck dragged down a little in the front because if you are too large of a chest, it takes up more room :) I am 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress was still too long (I got the regular). It was beautiful!
Ebeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 6, 2014

Great!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The halter neckline can pull down and feel tight in the back if you have a bigger chest, but it doesn't show. Overal, a great dress for a formal work event.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

I loved this dress! Unfortunately, it was too tight around my ribcage and chest!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! Unfortunately, it was too tight around my ribcage and chest!
Erica
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 21, 2014

The dress was perfect and the process with RTR was easy.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really surprised this dress fit true to size given the designer. I loved how light and airy it was. It worked really well for the event and I got lots of compliments.
Tania
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

The richness of the color made me really stand out. Absolutely Beautiful!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous and ordered a 12 which was a little big, but it pretty much fit well. I little long.
laura michelle
Top Contributor
Age: 34
Apr 19, 2014

I didn't feel great but wore it anyway

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fitted but u felt frumpy in it
Faye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Easy, Breezy, Beautiful, but GLAM!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would never have picked out this dress, but the back up dress I originally ordered was damaged, so this was sent as a replacement. Boy I am glad that happened! I think this is a really classic dress. It's not overly sexy; it's timelessly feminine. This is a long dress - I am nearly 5'9 and with 4 inch heels it was just the right length. If you are on the shorter side, I would err on ordering a regular. The fit is great and forgiving for those of us with hips. I didn't feel the need for a bra, but I think if you prefer support, this might not be the dress for you. The back has a beautiful flowing back feature, which worked for me as I have some scarring on my back and this helped mask it. I paired this dress with bronze accessories, but you could easily pair with silver or gold bags, shoes and jewelry. My only complaint is that the neck chaffed my skin a bit, but it was bearable.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014

Very Pretty

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first choice dress, however I was unable to wear it. I ordered this dress in 2 sizes, but only the smaller size was available, which made it a little to snug to wear comfortably. I would recommend this dress, the color is beautiful and very figure flattering. Was sad to not get to wear it. Maybe next time!
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 16, 2014

Great dress, simple but very flattering!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit really well, looser in the bust, so I recommend people with smaller chest going with the smaller size. Great length, I'm 5'8 and the regular hit the floor perfectly, even with low wedges.
Dora
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

friends

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress perfectly and was very comfortable to dancing around in. It's the perfect blend of wearing the "safe" choice and making statement.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Perfect fit, & comfortable. Rec'd a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Had to wear with flats, but the look made it very boheme!
Yve
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

This dress made me feel so glamorous ! Best website , exceptional costumer service !!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a size 2 but I wore the dress in a zero . Great fit , I didn't need a bra
DD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Great band and good friends.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful chiffon gown. The color is brighter and richer than pictured, but a very flattering shade of purple. I am usually and 8 because I'm busty. The 8, with all of the ruching made me look a size larger than I am. I was delighted that the 6 fit, since it was much more flattering with less fabric. I was shocked how long this gown was. It never occurred to me to order a regular length...I'm 5'7 and was wearing 4' Jimmy Choo Nova's which have a small platform. I had to very, very careful not to trip on steps, getting in and out of the car, or up from the table. Otherwise, it looked fabulous and I felt elegant in it.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

I loved the flowy way of the dress and how the back of the dress looked.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The halter neck was too tight for comfort in 4R. The halter fit a little looser in size 6R, but the sides were too big on me to wear.
christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

my dress was the most unique

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
cost savings alone is worth it and the ease of renting
KJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

neck is small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I generally wear a 2 or a 0, depending on the designer. This dress was very pretty, elegant and forgiving. But the neck/collar was simply too tight. I didn't feel comfortable wearing it while sitting down/dining at a gala, so I wore one of my own dresses.
TLM
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

1000 people, most of the women in black so I really stood out in this dress. Just lovely!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'7" so a regular length would have been fine. I could only zip up the dress to the "band" so just created a "v" be folding down the sides. Should have ordered two sizes as suggested. Loved the fabric and look!
jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Beautiful color

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have broad shoulders and a wide rib cage with more narrow hips. The skirt is very straight and wasn't flattering on my body.
Kabrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2015

Very nice material but I did not wear this one.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very tight across the chest, under the bust-line. I'm a 36 but there was no way it was going to zip up. Going up a size would of been too big elsewhere.
Kali
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2015

This beautiful dress was spectacular; color, the fit. The dress flowed like gentle breeze in motion!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit. The length was longer than expected but still beautiful!
K
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

Great dress and ideal for a black tie wedding where color is encouraged!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size -- if you have a big bust, the dress will definitely work. I could have fit into a 4, but the 6 was comfy. I wore the 6R and a 3 inch heel and the length was perfect.
Suzie
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 192 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

The dress was very elegant. It was more purple than the website photo conveyed, but that was okay.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you have a short and thicker torso, like me, this might not be the best dress. While the dress is very flattering for a pear shape figure, the mid band kept riding up on me. Also, the front and back of the dress are longer than the sides, so had to pick up the dress so I didn't trip.
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 12, 2015

The dress is gorgeous, and fits true to size. Very comfortable, easy to wear.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is so pretty, its a little brighter than in the picture. The only complaint i have is that the neck fit a little tight, but it was definitely worth it. I love this dress, I recommend it highly! This was my first experience with RTR, and overall I was extremely impressed with the company and the quality of the work they put into this for their customers.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×