Listen to Your Heart Gown

$80 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Fall in love as you glide across the dance floor in this gown by Badgley Mischka. Red ruffles are a feminine choice for a night of bliss. Add classic sparkle with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Envy Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Chiffon (100% Polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
239 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(157)
Small
(16)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2015
Beautiful color and fit great!
Typically I am always a 4 but this dress ran big and the 2 fit perfect. The dress was a perfect length and stayed up without any adjusting all night. Would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 4, 2015
Beautiful dress, complimented all night. I felt like an red carpet worth celebrity! :)
Size 8 was a bit long, but worked fine with 4 inch heels. I would have worn the size 6, but it was way too tight on the chest area. It zipped up, but had some major "spillage" that wasn't too classy for a wedding. ;)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 30, 2015
This dress was absolutely beautiful and perfect for my prom!
The shade of red is classic and looks great on all skin tones. The fit of the dress itself was sleek and slimming, makes the midsection look flatter and the butt bigger. I didn't need to wear a bra but had to pull up the dress from time to time, probably in part because of the dancing but also because the fit in the bust could have been a bit better but other than that this dress fit great and looked beautiful. Got many compliments and even requests to borrow it for other proms.
FayeFayeSeptember 1, 2015
did you wear heels?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 25, 2015
Perfect modern red dress for my wedding + tea ceremony
Love love love this dress. I wore it for my wedding..specifically for my Chinese Tea Ceremony and for the reception. It's a beautiful red and the fabric is light and airy. The ruffles and ruching were all in the right spots. I received a ton of compliments on the dress. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 25, 2015
Soft and whimsical even for red dress. Striking but not revealing. Wanted to keep.
110lbs, 5'8", 32DDD, Size xs/0 with my peter pan boy hips, and wear 5/6 inch heels... so I always get the longer size. This dress was extremely long, but I think it looks classy when you have to gather it up when you walk. I was afraid, as always, that I wouldn't get it to zip at the chest, or that I would look like a puffer fish when I breathed in. That was not that case. The dress fit gorgeous. I would suggest wearing it around for a good 1/2 hour before your event just to get a good feel for how to get situated in it, as I would any strapless dress. All in all, this was a drop-dead gorgeous gown that looks better in person that even on the model. I rented 3 dressed and this was the only one I tried on bc there was nothing that could compare to it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2015
Felt like a million bucks!
Wow. This dress fit perfectly. I'm busty (30G) yet my boobs looked great, and there is ruching in the stomach so no need to suck in. Very comfortable and great color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 6, 2015
Beautiful dress!
I didn't wear this one to the wedding because the cut was very similar to the bridesmaids, but this was definitely on par with the other dress I had rented. I loved the shape and it made me look curvier than usual.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 1, 2015
Enjoyed seeing my cousin and his beautiful wife get married.
The dress was beautiful and it fit great. The cut was a great detail to my post baby bump.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2015
Lady in red! Enough said...
Rented this beauty for my cousin's wedding. I rented the 4 long since I read that girls my height who like bigger heels found it to be too short. The size was a little too long at 5'5 even with my huge heels. Should've stuck with the 4 regular but either way the dress was GORGEOUS and fit perfect on my body. Danced the night away! A huge recommendation on this beautiful dress for any formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2015
Great dress for a formal wedding or event!
Fit really well, a bit long for me since I'm 5'4, but worked out well with 4" heels. Beautiful fabric and color. The bodice makes a petite/straight waist look a bit curvier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2015
I Felt Gorgeous
Pros: I felt gorgeous. It's a stunning, bright red color, the cut made me look curvy (and I am not a curvy girl), the boning in the top of the dress was supportive though I did wear a strapless bra, it fit perfectly as far as length went (I'm 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels with the regular dress), and I received so many compliments. It was tight enough to stay up but not so tight that I couldn't breathe. It did not fall down at all, which was tested with all the dancing I did at prom. It is sexy without being trashy and can make probably anyone look like Jessica Rabbit. If this is your first rental, I've rented dresses for my major events for the past two years now and they are always beautiful, fit well if you read the reviews and the stylist notes so you know what it fits like, and are always, always on time. Do not worry about renting. It's a seamless process and has been amazing every time. Last note about the dress: I've been to three proms and I felt the most beautiful, comfortable, sexy, and confident in this gown than any others. Cons: Overall, it was a really beautiful dress, so these things should be noted as minor issues for me personally. I am usually a 2 but always get a 4 when I rent to be safe and I needed it this time. In fact, I wish I had gotten a 4 and a 6 because the draping on one hip did not look like it had on the model, even after I'd steamed the dress to get rid of any wrinkles. Granted, I'm no twig but I'm certainly not heavy, so I was hoping the draping would have been more flattering though it was flattering enough. It is not hot on its own, but if planning a lot of dancing in a big room, the lack of a slit in the dress creates this column of heat within the dress. Or maybe I'm just really gross and sweaty. It's narrow in the waist which was fine for me but could be an issue. Had I not worn heels the dress would have been far too long. OVERALL RENT IT. YOU WILL LOOK AMAZING.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2015
I wore it for a end of college Senior Ball.
Great dress, and color looks awesome in photos! The fit is flattering and it is comfortable. The bust was a tiny bit large on me, and it was long without ~4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2015
The compliments and how comfortable i felt in the dress.
The fit was perfect, and so was everything else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 10, 2015
Amazing dress for a wonderful night!!
This dress was one that I got from the RTR store in Georgetown after I was told that my original dress was not available. Even though it was not my first choice, it was an excellent dress for the evening. It fits very well - I wore the 6 (I don't think it was the 6L, just the regular). The top is very fitted, but it did not feel too tight and gave me a nice silhouette. I did not need to wear a bra. I'm 5'6" and the length of the dress was perfect with 3" heels. Overall, I thought that this dress was awesome! I felt beautiful all night long at the black tie wedding (and I looked the emoji girl)!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 10, 2015
This color was gorgeous, many compliments on my gown
This was my backup dress that RTR overnighted after my other 2 gowns didn't work. They ended up not having any dresses in 0 petite available so they sent a 2 petite. Overall I got many compliments but it was to big in the bust. I'm a 32b and had to wear 2 bras to make the dress stay up. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2015
Very pretty!
Fit was pretty good (made my chest look bigger than usual). Everyone seemed to love it and it was very comfy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2015
I got tons of compliments on the dress! It made me feel like I was on the red carpet!
The color is wonderful, and looks even better in person. The size is kinda large, but not too much to be overwhelmingly problematic. Also, the length is pretty long. At nearly 5'4, I wore the petite and with like 3' heels it was still pretty long. The ruffles are a great touch to the dress and make it quite flattering. It just has a great shape altogether. Awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 5, 2015
Wore this to my senior prom.
I am 5' 9" and usually wear a size four. I ordered a four regular and a two long, and ended up wearing the two long, but wishing I had gotten a regular length. It was still a little loose on my bust (I'm a 36 C) but overall a good fit, besides the extra length. I would advise going a size down if you are unsure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2015
#white house correspondence dinner 2015
True to size, however the long was a bit too long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
I absolutely LOVED this dress! It really fit the Moulin Rouge theme for my special event.
Fit true to size, very well made. This was my first Rent the Runway experience. I was very pleased with my order. I will most definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2015
Beautiful dress!
This was such a beautiful dress! The material is more like tulle, but there is boning in the bodice for structure. I ordered the 4 and 6, and wore the 6. It seemed to stretch out over the course of the night and I had to pull it up a lot. I have a small bust, so that could be part of the problem...I think I would have fit in the 4 if I had had someone to help zip me up! I wore 2.5" shoes with the regular length dress and it was a great length. Did not require any Spanx or other "extra" undergarments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 28, 2015
The perfect first dress from Rent the Runway!
This dress was perfection! I'm busty and my biggest worry is having to go up several sizes to fit my bust. I also NEVER go without a bra, so I have to keep that in mind. I usually wear a size 12 tall so I ordered the dress in a 12L and 14L. I ended up going with the 12L. It was tighter in the chest but that's what I was looking for. I didn't want to keep pulling it up all night. The long was great. I'm 5'11 and I had 3 inch heels (see the photo). It worked out perfectly. The dress looked brand new. There was no sign that it had been worn by someone else. The only problem was that the boning/ribbing in the bodice started poking my ribs. The little plastic pieces had started to come through the fabric on the inside of the dress. Other than that, it fit like a dream! I will DEFINITELY use this site again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2015
I was in New Orleans for Valentine's Day and Mardi Gras.
It fit perfectly. The only thing is that it was a bit long...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 25, 2015
LOVED IT! HEAD TURNER!
LOVE LOVE LOVE the style and cut. Very flirty. The cut is extremely low on the bust area, so you must be really careful if you have a large bust. But besides that, the color is beautiful and gets five stars from me! Will definitely use rent the runway again.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
April 21, 2015
This dress was perfection! I felt so sexy.
It was too long for me, even with 4" heels...I'm only 5'4". But I have a small bust and bigger butt, and the dress fit like a glove!! I never had to pull it up, and I danced the night away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 21, 2015
Good customer service
A bit snug so too much cleavage for a formal work event. Otherwise very pretty, great color. Customer service was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2015
the color!
it was a bit large for me, but wasn't too bad. It's a beautiful red color and very comfortable. It was a little long, so if you're not wearing high heels (mine were 4 inches and I had to keep them on so I wouldn't trip) the short might be better
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2015
Really great dress and great service! Very easy to return
Definitely long! I usually wear a size 8 in jeans and ended up wearing 6R because of fit. I'm 5"3 so it was long on me and kind of dragged a bit even with like 4-5 in. heels. Def. order petite if short. Really loved it though! Crowd pleaser for sure!! I would recommend it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2015
Loved this dress I wish I could keep it!
I am a broad so the 8 fit me just perfect. I also have a pretty small bust (34 B) and I suggest you have a larger bust to go up in a size that you normally wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2015
Wore to my sorority formal and got compliments all night.
Very Light and comfortable to wear. Should've gotten the regular length dress, because I was kind of tripping over the bottom of the dress a bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 9, 2015
Beautiful Dress!
I've been looking at this dress for a long time and was happy when I finally had an opportunity to rent it. It fit beautiful and I felt great in it all night long. I did have to pick the dress up a bit when I walked but that wasn't a big deal. Also, the zipper was pretty tough to get up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2015
Great neckline, classy dress!
This dress was great. I'm a curvy girl and this dress accentuated my curves in the right places. The ruching added some great detail. It was simple, but elegant. The dress fit me like a glove. I'm normally an 8-10, the 10 regular fit perfect. I'm 5'10 and wore 3-4 inch heels, and didn't need the long. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2015
This dress was amazing!
I really loved this dress and the fit! I wore it to my law school formal and received numerous compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
March 29, 2015
What a pop of red!
I rented this to wear to a "Red Hot Gala" and it stood out, even in a sea of other red dresses. The draping across the front was very flattering. I'm a 34D and still felt appropriately covered. The top did seem a tad stretched out so I occasionally had to pull the dress up during the night. As many reviewers noted, this gown runs long. I'm 5'7" and wore 4" heels. The 10R gown was still a bit long for me but it wasn't a tripping hazard or anything. Overall, this was a flattering, comfortable gown that drew a lot of compliments during the evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2015
Great formal dress!
The dress was the perfect red and fit great! I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length. I ordered a 2L and 4L and ended up wearing the 2L. It stretched out before we even got to dinner so I wish I had gone down a size. I would definitely recommend the dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2015
The rental was a breeze and I got so many compliments on the dress all night long!
The dress fit great and stood out at my event perfectly! I ordered the 2R and 4R. Both fit, however the 2 was tight in the chest so I opted to wear the 4 for comfort. I didn't feel like I had to pull the dress up all night which is common with strapless dresses. I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with the dress and wore 3 inch heels which made the length perfect for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 22, 2015
This dress was so gorgeous.. I received compliments all night!
The dress was not only beautiful, it was comfortable. The red was eye catching and the neckline left nothing to the imagination so be prepared to stop traffic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2015
Lovely dress; lots of compliments
It was very tight in the bust, but that made it easy to wear with spanx. It ran long, even for the "regular" size, and even with four inch heels. I had to pick it up a lot.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2015
Classic and beautiful gown
very flattering cut and rouged in back to flatter your derrière. I am 5'9" and ordered a 6 Long, but even with 3.5" heels, the long was too long; however the regular may have been too short with heels? recommend for tall women to order both. Gorgeous, classy gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2015
Amanda was amazing at customer service!!!
My first dress didn't fit, but thank goodness for this one! I loved the sweetheart neckline and the length was pretty spot on especially since I'm only 4'11". After a failed attempt at a BCBG dress, I will only go Badgley Mischka for long dresses! I loved the red and I got a ton of compliments. I was concerned the red would be too much, but it wasn't at all. I probably could have gone with an 8, but I was definitely pleased with this one!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×