Badgley Mischka

Listen to Your Heart Gown

$179 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Fall in love as you glide across the dance floor in this gown by Badgley Mischka. Red ruffles are a feminine choice for a night of bliss.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Chiffon (100% Polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
243 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(160)
Small
(16)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 1, 2014
It was a beautiful wedding at a very scenic venue.
The dress fit like a glove. Many people commented on how beautiful the dress was and how great I looked in it. I was very pleased. RTR is a great service!!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 13, 2014
Loved it!
I got the 0R and 2R and both fit great but the top was roomy on the 2 so I wore the 0. Loved the color, its a bright red, I didn't see an orange tint in it like other people have described. It's very flattering showing off curves and hiding a belly with the rushing. I got so many compliments on this dress, wish I could keep it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
April 20, 2014
I LOVED THIS DRESS
This dress was so perfect but sadly my original size, 0P could not be sent and I ended up wearing my backup size, 2R. It was long, and did not fit perfectly, but it was the dress that I wanted so I made do. The dress is gorgeous and really shows off your body. I was just sad that it was long, but overall, the dress is perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 20, 2014
This dress was perfect for my senior prom! Elegant and absolutely stunning.
WOW! I was in love with this dress. The pictures just don't do it justice. It curves in all the right places. It was a tad constricting in the bust area, however. But all in all, perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
April 27, 2014
The lady in red!
The dress arrived a day late, so be sure to heed the warnings because that may impact your plans! Also the dress is not in good shape; has a 12-inch stain in the front mid-section and the ruffle is torn so I felt a little junky at a formal affair, unfortunately. I ordered sizes 6 and 8 and ultimately wore the 8 because it bought me one more inch of length. Being so tall I was nervous about length but the very helpful staff at RTR guided me towards Bagley Mischka for long length gowns. This dress is very easy to wear and had nice flow without being overdone. I wore this with 1-2 inch heels and as you can see from the picture it is just long enough. I would order this designer again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 27, 2014
ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!
I tried the dress on the day before my event and didn't want to take it off. So much so that I did my laundry wearing it. The color is a GORGEOUS red and it fits snug in the waist and hips to accentuate curves. It was a little large in the bust but I'm a member of the itty bitty titty committee and that's usually expected -- all I had to do was stuff the bra a bit and we were good to go! Easy to walk and dance in. I'm 5'7" and went with a 2R and the length was perfect with 3" heels. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
April 28, 2014
Great dress!!
They were out of my regular size so i had to wear a size 2. It ran a bit large and was way longer than expected. Even with my highest heels it was dragging on the floor. But it was gorgeous and such a beautiful color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
Got a ton of compliments! I loved this dress- several people told me to just buy the dress.
It fit pretty well on the whole. I did have to constantly pull the dress up. It was slightly longer than I wish, so I kept on stepping on it and pulling it down more.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
April 30, 2014
Beautiful color but the fit wasn't very flattering on my body type.
The dress was a gorgeous bright red but the way it hung on my backside was not very flattering, more for someone who doesn't have much a of booty and wants to emphasize it. still a beautiful dress though
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 1, 2014
THIS DRESS IS AMAZING! I wore it in the Mrs. Fla United States pageant and placed 1st runner up.
NO CONS..All positive comments. I am 5'6 and got a 2 R and it fit amazing. The length was a little short for me. I had on 3 inch heels but had read where people were saying this dress runs long..IN MAY CASE IT DID NOT. I could have kept with my original 2 L that I was going to order. Please do not pay attention to the length comments by others. The length is true when dealing with the REG size. As I said I could have got a 2Long and been just fine which is what I originally ordered till I changed my mind after reading these wrong comments. So if you have heel, get a LONG. I recd so many compliments. I will post more photos from photographer when I get them. If you are a pageant girl, this dress is perfect...simple and eleghant. Shapes your body and very easy to move in. I will be renting this dress again for Miss USA pageant.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
May 1, 2014
Lady in red, turning heads!
This has been my third time using Rent the Runway, and by far, this was the best rental. The dress is stunning. The color just pops in person and in pictures. The fit of the dress is perfect and tight on the bust and midsection but still allows you to wear a strapless bar with it, which allows you to stop worrying about pulling up you dress every five seconds to avoid a wardrobe malfunction. You won't have to worry about that in this dress. Because I'm 5'8, I rented a 8L and it was perfect. I wore 5 inch heels and the gown just grazed across the floor. I was receiving compliments from everyone about how beautiful I looked in the dress. I even received text messages the next day from people who weren't in attendance, complimenting my look. It's a dress thats sexy and fun and will make you stand out from the crowd. If you want to be the center of attention, then this should be in your shopping cart!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 4, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress! Very flattering and didn't have to pull it up all night
I couldn't be more happy that I picked this dress to wear to my school's prom! I rented the 4R and the 6R but the 4R fit me better. The only con is that it was still a little long even with 4 inch heels and I am 5'5. I would definitely suggest getting the short (petite) version if you are my height or taller. I was afraid that I would have to pull it up all night since it is strapless, but the dress has great boning and stayed up nicely. I got so many compliments, and I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 9, 2014
Great Dress! Beautiful color and design!
I rented this dress as a back-up and ended up not wearing it, but I did love the dress. I am 5'8", 145lbs, and my bust is 34DDD. This dress fit like a glove in the bust area, however, I could grab fists full of material in the back around my waist and bottom area. My measurements generally require that I buy a size up (for my bust) and then tailor down to a 6, so this was not surprising. The length of the dress was great! I could wear a medium height heel and walk comfortably, but my highest heels (4 inches) worked the best. The color was a very vibrant red and it was definitely a sexy dress that shows off your bust area. Loved it, but my other dress was more appropriate for the event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
May 11, 2014
First time experience was a great one! Loved the dress!
Both the 0L and the 2R were very long, even with 5" heels. The 0 fit perfectly otherwise so I went with that. Attempted to use fashion tape to adjust the hem length but it was extremely difficult because of the two layers. Had to pull it all off and just hold up the dress when I walked/danced. Not ideal but it worked out ok and was worth it as the dress was fabulous otherwise. The color was vibrant and the sweetheart neckline and rouchhing was extremely flattering. Probably would work even better for ladies with a larger chest. Only complaint was that the zippers on both sizes kept getting stuck and there were some minor snags in the material. Overall, a great experience, would recommend, just known it runs long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
The color of this dress is so vibrant. It definitely is an attention getter!
This dress fit great, was super comfy and looked amazing! I don't have much butt, so it was a little loose in the rear. I tried on the 0L which fit better but ended up being too tight in the chest area, so I went with the 2L. Overall, this dress was a hit and I would definitely rent it again or recommend it to others. It was long enough to cover my shoes which is a MUST for me, and it was very elegant. This is my second successful rent the runway dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
I wore this dress to my senior prom, couldn't have been happier, and received SO many complements!
I ordered the sizes 6R and 4R; I am usually somewhere in-between but the 6 was way too big in the back/waist. I wear a bust size 32F, and the 4 fit perfectly with a strapless bra. I wore 4inch heels and the dress was the right length, but if my heels had been shorter the dress would've been too long. I would definitely recommend this dress to curvy girls like myself because it totally accentuated all of our assets. The RTR process was so easy and I can't wait to do it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
May 17, 2014
Customer service was so incredibly helpful when my second size was damaged by a previous renter.
I loved this dress! It was so not my style originally but I took a chance and ordered it for a formal affair. I ended up feeling like a million bucks! And honestly I've never received so many compliments. The bust of the dress has some nice structure so I didn't need to pull it up at all during the night (even through dancing). The color red is absolutely gorgeous and looked so nice with my date's navy suit. The only thing I'd recommend is getting a size shorter than you'd think. It was very long (even with 6 inch heels on) but rent the runway was kind enough to send me some fashion tape to hem the bottom temporarily. Definitely a bombshell dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 18, 2014
Simply put, I felt glamorous.
The dress is beautiful and very comfy. It is very long however! I would typically get a long and the regular was even a little long for me. A higher heel would have made the regular length almost perfect but I had to do a good deal of walking so opted for the shorter heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2014
Felt comfortable and glamorous!!!
The dress was absolutely beautiful. Arrived a day early too! I loved everything about the dress except... The zipper sticks. Not a big problem, just made getting into it a pain. I wore this dress for my boyfriend's army ball and got so many compliments! Wonderful dress.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 19, 2014
super comfortable & fun dress for black tie wedding
I had tried the dress at the Soho showroom, so I already knew it would fit but dress fit really well, went up one size from typical dress size & it fit perfect. i'm 5'6" and regular length worked perfectly with about 3" heels hugs in all the right places & the fabric is very forgiving!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2014
The perfect combination of sexy and classy.
I ordered both the 4R and 4L and ended up loving the 4L. The dress fit absolutely perfectly. I am a 34D and I didn't even need to wear a bra with this. It has stretch so its comfortable but it also doesn't feel like it's going to fall off. Flattering in every way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 23, 2014
The dress was exactly what I was looking for for prom.
The dress fit good the only problem was that the front kept going down throughout the night. I suggest wearing it with a bra under that'll keep it tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2014
Literally the most beautiful dress I have ever worn.
Fit was absolutely perfect and snug, length was perfect as well with 3-4" heels. The color and rouching photographs amazingly. So pretty, no complaints!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
May 23, 2014
I ordered this for my daughter who was attending a Gala and it fit her lovely.
Runs a little small if you're busty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2014
I was the only red in a sea of black tie. I got tons of compliments on the bright color!
The dress is great for girls with few curves because it's like a built in hour glass shape for your body! No bra necessary is also always a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 29, 2014
This dress was gorgeous!
The fit was perfect, except for the length. It was way too long for me, even with my heels, and I had to hold it up whenever I walked or danced. It was too beautiful not to wear, though, so I wore it anyway, and it wasn't that much of a problem. The red is a gorgeous color; bright without being tacky or obnoxious. A gorgeous dress, not too over the top but still stunning.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
June 5, 2014
I felt so glamorous!
The fit was a little smaller than expected...2L was snug, but it felt very secure the whole night. Overall, I enjoyed how it looked and felt very much...I didn't want to give it back! I got several compliments and was even told I had the best dress of the night! My biggest dilemma was deciding if I needed a long or not. But at 5'6" the length of the long was just right!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
June 7, 2014
I had no dress a week before prom but I finally found it here at RTR!
It was a great dress. When I went to try it on at the stores I tried a 4 and it was a good snug tight fit so I don't need to be readjusting the strapless part but at the day of the event I was thinking wait I should have it looser to dance and eat and do all I want. It was a little loose but not bad it didn't strip me. I'm so happy I had the perfect dress for prom. NON STOP COMPLIMENTS!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
June 7, 2014
Gorgeous blacktie evening in the Bronx Botanical Gardens, where the true red was a hit!
Fits well and Long size hit the floor just right for me (5'8" with 4" heels). Got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2014
This dress is stunning. It was actually my back up dress, but I fell in love the moment I put it on
It fit like it was made for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 8, 2014
Very pretty dress
Beautiful, but too small around rib cage for me. Did not wear.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2014
Loved the dress. Perfect for the event I went to. I would use this site again.
The fit was great complimented my body in all the right areas. The only con is that I'm 5'7 and a 1/2 and the long was too long. I would have gotten a regular. I think it also depends on the shoes you are wearing. Mine were 2 inch heels and the dress was dragging on the ground. In this picture the dress is sewn a bit where it was easy to get out to return.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 8, 2014
So many compliments
Glamorous and so comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
July 13, 2014
Everyone was so helpful
Gown was long but was able to get it taped up to wear so it worked. Would order petite next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
July 13, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal wedding. This dress got attention all night!
Fit was perfect for me (small chested, pear shape). The zipper was a little hard to zip at the waist seam, the the dress stayed on all night without any stickies. The length was good with my 3 inch heels, thought I picked it up when I walked up stairs. I got a ton of compliments all night long and felt amazing.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
July 16, 2014
The dress fit like it was made for me and the material was light which helped for a summer wedding :
The dress was long even for a R cut (I'm 5'3" and had to wear 3 in heels ). I was in between a 4 & a 6 when i first tried it on but that was a month before the wedding. The 4 fit snug as a bug in a rug . Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
July 23, 2014
This dress had some damages to it when I opened the box.
There were subtle runs in the dress and a hole on the right lower side. The underwire in the back pinched and bit me all night. Especially after I stood up. I received compliments on the style and fit, but I cannot recommend this beautiful looking gown. It's simply too uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111lbs
July 24, 2014
The dress is elegant and sexy!! Color is fabulous!! Soo many compliments!
I'm only 5'2", and I wore 4.5" heels. Dress was perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 27, 2014
Felt like a princess, comfortable all night and got lots of compliments at a black tie wedding.
Other reviewers said this runs small but I found it true to size--I wore the 6R and usually wear a size 6. I was worried about showing too much cleavage but it covered everything I wanted it too (bust size 36B). The material is softer than I expected and the only structure in the gown comes from the boning through the bodice. I could have used a tummy/hip shaper, but ended up not having time to go purchase. But that is where the rusched design of the dress is very forgiving and flattering! It was still a bit long in front even with my 3" heels on, but when I called before ordering the stylist advised me to go with the regular size instead of the short/petite and I am glad she did. Was still able to dance without tripping and it looked right with my heels. I received compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 28, 2014
This dress was everything I could have hoped for! I got TONS of compliments that night.
Pros: - it's true to size. The dress fit perfectly. I got a 6L because I can't stand dresses that end up showing your shoes. This was slightly long, but not to the point where you'd trip on it. I just grabbed it when walking up or down stairs. - The fabric looks beautiful. The ruffle laid perfectly and the chiffon fabric made this dress very elegant. Can't say I have any Cons. I would not suggest wearing this dress if you don't really have hips though - I don't think it would hang the same on someone who wasn't curvy. Also, you can't have a really big chest in this either. I wear a C and wore a strapless but could have gone without. I had a couple dress issues with other dresses that I had chosen and the team at Rent the Runway went out of their way to overnight this lovely gown to my salon so that I would have it in time for the ball. Ended up being a great experience.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×