Badgley Mischka

Listen to Your Heart Gown

$80 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Fall in love as you glide across the dance floor in this gown by Badgley Mischka. Red ruffles are a feminine choice for a night of bliss. Add classic sparkle with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Envy Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Chiffon (100% Polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

172 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 122
Large 24
Photos 144
Marlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Glamorous dress although not quite as forgiving as I had hoped

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress had just the right amount of curve hugging glamour while still looking appropriate for my husband's military ball. I loved the flattering neckline and the notice-me red color, although it was a little more tomato red than I expected. The ruching was helpful to hide flaws from one side, but the other angle seemed to thicken my waistline rather than slim it (even with Spanx) and make me look a little more Jessica Rabbit up top than I had realized. I am usually a size 4 or 6, but the 2R actually fit well except for the bust which was just a little too tight for comfort so I ended up wearing the 4R, which allowed me to breathe comfortably. Both dresses were about one inch too long, even with four inch heels. Overall, a successful dress, even with the less than flattering angles.
RTRlover
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Nov 16, 2014

Stunning dress in an amazing color!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
received tons of compliments! The dress is very comfortable and the waist detail gives great definition. I'm 5'6 1/2 and normally wear a size 4. I ordered the 4R but it was too big at the top and just a little too short to wear with heels. I ended up wearing my backup size 2L. While it was an inch too long even with 4 inch heels, the fit at the top was better if not even still a little big). I recommend sizing down and if you are 5'6-5'7 you can order the regular length but you'll need to wear shorter heels.
Courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Perfect dress for a military ball!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the OR to the Marine Corps Ball with 3 inch heels and I am almost 5'6". I thought the length was perfect because I like having my feet covered and I didn't step on the dress. Also, it was wonderful that I didn't have to pull the dress up at all throughout the night, which is rare with strapless dresses because I have a small chest. The dress was so comfortable and my boyfriend thought the dress was gorgeous! I wish I didn't have to return this dress because it is PERFECT!
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

I felt beautiful

Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very comfortable and sexy. I wear an 8, but the dress did not come in an 8 petite, so I ordered the 8 regular and the 10 petite. The 8 regular fit perfectly everywhere except the length where I had about 4 inches of fabric with my heels on. I decided to wear the 10 petite, and even though it wasn't as sexy and form-fitting as the 8, I still felt beautiful. Plus, I wasn't tripping over the dress all night! One unexpected thing about this dress was that the ruffle detail is actual on the overlay. The lining was the perfect length on both dresses, but the overlay was long. This is something to note if you are tall and curvy because the lining may be too short.
Chachabella
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was nice, although a bit long even while wearing 3 inch heels. The top was slightly big, even on my chest, and so was constantly dropping down. Perhaps I could have worn a 2R and that would have helped the length and bust issue. It was however incredibly beautiful and I received so many compliments.
Jo
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Just GLAMOROUS

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit snug, but in a good way. The length is a lot longer than I thought it would be, but wearing heels does help. The red color is really vibrant. Great for pics! I wore it for our engagement pics and everything turned out beautiful. I really love this dress.
fabiola
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

I felt just like pretty woman!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally rented another dress, and this was meant the be the back up. The first dress had boning that made it slightly uncomfortable. This dress fit almost perfectly, and hid all my trouble spots. It looked great with his dress blues :) Everyone is still gushing about the dress. The only downside, tricky zipper! It's very small and can take some work since it gets stuck in the fabric.
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

Amazing! I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful on. I normally wear a 6 but I had to go with the 8. I have a pretty athletic build so the 6 was too small in the bust/back region. I am 5'9" and wore 4 in heels and the 8R was the perfect length. I loved the dress and can't wait to use Rent the Runway again!
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Beautiful dress! Felt like I was on the red carpet.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
For the most part the dress fit beautifully, was surprised I needed the 8 but I think it's because I have a wider back/large bust so it was just hard to zip up at the top. Also even though I was in 5 inch heels the dress was too long. Other than that though it was fine and the dress looked and photographed beautifully. This was the first time since prom I've worn a full length dress and I was very happy with it.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Everyone complimented my dress and I felt great in it!

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great and really flattering. It hid all those little imperfections and made me feel great
Kris
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Didn't work for me, needed strapless shape wear, would have had to hike

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first I thought this had potential, but I didn't have shape wear that didn't have straps. My husband said it was a little lumpy at the waist and the draped fabric couldn't hide it all. It worked ok without a bra, but I would have had to hold my breath to keep it truly up. Upon further thought I felt a little cheap in the dress, esp. with the bust action going on. I've have two kids and this would work better for someone with no extra waist fat. Zipped up with the help of my husband and I couldn't have done it without help.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

I wore this dress for a black tie "Old Hollywood" theme holiday party and received many compliments!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I paired this dress with white gloves and retro chandelier earrings to really make a statement. It was the first time that I ordered a Long dress, but I selected a 4L because that's what others my height (5'9'') recommended. The only thing that I'd say is if you are 5'9'' you will have to wear at least 3 inch heels with the dress. I needed to order a pair of strapy silver sandals for the occasion. I probably could have squeezed into a size 2, but the 4 felt comfortable and I didn't find myself pulling it up, which is always a pet peeve of mine with strapless dresses.
RTR Customer
Dec 23, 2014

I felt like a beauty queen in this dress. Red is my color, but this just made me feel gorgeous.

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress for my corporate holiday party where they flew us up to Boston. I ordered the 4 regular and 2 regular. I don't have large breasts so the 4 was a little big and I knew I was going to be pulling it up all night so I tried the 2 and it was perfect! It was a little long like most others mentioned, but I had on 5 inch heels so it was almost perfect besides the fact that it could have maybe been an inch shorter or so. Overall I loved the dress and it made my night that much more special.
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Gorgeous dress for a black tie wedding! Loved the red; really stood out amongst a lot of black.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore very high heels to keep the dress from dragging across the floor. The top was big across the chest while the rest of the dress fit perfectly. I tend to have this problem with strapless dresses. Fashion taped helped but I did have to adjust & pull up the top quite often during the evening. If I had bought this dress, I would have had the top altered to fit better. But for the price & ease of using Rent the Runway, it's worth it! Received so many compliments! Love this dress!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Remarkable Dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a wedding a week before Christmas so I thought a red dress would be fitting for this occasion. This dress was absolutely stunning. Everyone was in awe of the dress and it stood out perfectly. It was absolutely breath taking and it fit perfectly. I danced the night away in this beautiful dress.
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Amazing!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very comfortable. The bodice was very comfortable and stayed securely in place despite being strapless. I wore a size larger than normal because the bodice is very fitted the bigger size gave me plenty of room to breath.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Great color, so comfy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the dress a lot more than I thought I was going to - the color is such a pretty, vibrant red and it was incredibly comfy. It ran a little bigger -without a bra I think I could've done a zero. I was worried about the length but I'm almost 5'5" and with tall shoes it was perfect. It was a great dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding and I received a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked that the strapless dress stayed up and it was a great length with heels. It runs a little smaller, but I also opted to go up a size because I knew I'd be dancing all night and I wanted to be comfortable.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was beautiful. Loved the red color. I ordered the petite as a back up because I've worn this designer before and it was a tad too short, but the regular was a tad too long. I'm 5'5" and wore 3" heels, if I had worn 4" heels it would've been perfect. I have a large bust and still had to wear a strapless bra to hold the dress up more. So I would make the backup size smaller than what you usually are. I could've gone a size down surprisingly. My back up was way too big. Overall loved the dress.
suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

The dress fit perfectly!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. It was a little tough zipping up the dress by myself but other than that it was perfect!
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Gorgeous-vibrant-stunning-even better in person!!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress last year and my husband was hospitalized the day of our event. (RTR was amazing about that situation BTW) I have dreamed about it for a year and loved it so much that I reordered it. It is even more beautiful in person. I received so many compliments and felt amazing!! With that being said, I just had a baby exactly 4 months ago and did order up. If you would normally wear a small bikini bottom but large top then go a size up because of the zipper and bust! I am 5'0, normally 110 (pre-baby) and 34-D. With 4 inch heels I still needed a petite. I dont think the regular is significantly longer because I tried both, but if you are 5'3 or shorter, order the P.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Alvin Ailey

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am almost 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels and I still picked up the dress. The color was perfect. I didn't have to adjust the top too much. I would or liked to see how the 0 fit. But the back made my butt look nice.
bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Feb 15, 2015

Perfect good fit

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect
Heather
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

This was a great dress and I got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 4L and 6L. The 6L was too loose in the bust. The 4L was perfect but in the front it was a little too long. It was almost like some of the ruffles had been pulled out because it had been walked on. The back length was perfect. I'm 5'8" and so glad I didn't order the 4R...I think it would have been too short. Overall, I loved this dress and it was perfect to wear to my daughter's Senior Girls Dinner and Dance.
Christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Color was perfect, very comfortable dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color was absolutely beautiful. The fit was perfect too -- it fit in all of the right places. The dress, however, was too long. It was dragging on the ground and I had to keep lifting the dress off the floor. It looked amazing but it was hard to dance in for the fear of tripping on the dress and ripping it. I would not recommend this dress for a dancing event.
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Fit perfectly around my waste, the color was beautiful

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect length with heels, great fit and sliming around waist and fit around my bust
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Amanda was amazing at customer service!!!

Size worn: 10P
Rented for: Wedding
My first dress didn't fit, but thank goodness for this one! I loved the sweetheart neckline and the length was pretty spot on especially since I'm only 4'11". After a failed attempt at a BCBG dress, I will only go Badgley Mischka for long dresses! I loved the red and I got a ton of compliments. I was concerned the red would be too much, but it wasn't at all. I probably could have gone with an 8, but I was definitely pleased with this one!
Coco
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Classic and beautiful gown

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
very flattering cut and rouged in back to flatter your derrière. I am 5'9" and ordered a 6 Long, but even with 3.5" heels, the long was too long; however the regular may have been too short with heels? recommend for tall women to order both. Gorgeous, classy gown!
E
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Lovely dress; lots of compliments

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very tight in the bust, but that made it easy to wear with spanx. It ran long, even for the "regular" size, and even with four inch heels. I had to pick it up a lot.
Shell
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

This dress was so gorgeous.. I received compliments all night!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was not only beautiful, it was comfortable. The red was eye catching and the neckline left nothing to the imagination so be prepared to stop traffic.
Ginny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

The rental was a breeze and I got so many compliments on the dress all night long!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great and stood out at my event perfectly! I ordered the 2R and 4R. Both fit, however the 2 was tight in the chest so I opted to wear the 4 for comfort. I didn't feel like I had to pull the dress up all night which is common with strapless dresses. I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with the dress and wore 3 inch heels which made the length perfect for me.
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Great formal dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was the perfect red and fit great! I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length. I ordered a 2L and 4L and ended up wearing the 2L. It stretched out before we even got to dinner so I wish I had gone down a size. I would definitely recommend the dress!!
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

What a pop of red!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this to wear to a "Red Hot Gala" and it stood out, even in a sea of other red dresses. The draping across the front was very flattering. I'm a 34D and still felt appropriately covered. The top did seem a tad stretched out so I occasionally had to pull the dress up during the night. As many reviewers noted, this gown runs long. I'm 5'7" and wore 4" heels. The 10R gown was still a bit long for me but it wasn't a tripping hazard or anything. Overall, this was a flattering, comfortable gown that drew a lot of compliments during the evening.
stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

This dress was amazing!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress and the fit! I wore it to my law school formal and received numerous compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Great neckline, classy dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great. I'm a curvy girl and this dress accentuated my curves in the right places. The ruching added some great detail. It was simple, but elegant. The dress fit me like a glove. I'm normally an 8-10, the 10 regular fit perfect. I'm 5'10 and wore 3-4 inch heels, and didn't need the long. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Sylvie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've been looking at this dress for a long time and was happy when I finally had an opportunity to rent it. It fit beautiful and I felt great in it all night long. I did have to pick the dress up a bit when I walked but that wasn't a big deal. Also, the zipper was pretty tough to get up.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Wore to my sorority formal and got compliments all night.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very Light and comfortable to wear. Should've gotten the regular length dress, because I was kind of tripping over the bottom of the dress a bit.
Jill
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Loved this dress I wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am a broad so the 8 fit me just perfect. I also have a pretty small bust (34 B) and I suggest you have a larger bust to go up in a size that you normally wear.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

the color!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
it was a bit large for me, but wasn't too bad. It's a beautiful red color and very comfortable. It was a little long, so if you're not wearing high heels (mine were 4 inches and I had to keep them on so I wouldn't trip) the short might be better
Rebecca
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

This dress was perfection! I felt so sexy.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was too long for me, even with 4" heels...I'm only 5'4". But I have a small bust and bigger butt, and the dress fit like a glove!! I never had to pull it up, and I danced the night away.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×