Badgley Mischka

Listen to Your Heart Gown

$80 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Fall in love as you glide across the dance floor in this gown by Badgley Mischka. Red ruffles are a feminine choice for a night of bliss. Add classic sparkle with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Envy Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Chiffon (100% Polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

200 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 135
Large 25
Photos 166
Marlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Glamorous dress although not quite as forgiving as I had hoped

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress had just the right amount of curve hugging glamour while still looking appropriate for my husband's military ball. I loved the flattering neckline and the notice-me red color, although it was a little more tomato red than I expected. The ruching was helpful to hide flaws from one side, but the other angle seemed to thicken my waistline rather than slim it (even with Spanx) and make me look a little more Jessica Rabbit up top than I had realized. I am usually a size 4 or 6, but the 2R actually fit well except for the bust which was just a little too tight for comfort so I ended up wearing the 4R, which allowed me to breathe comfortably. Both dresses were about one inch too long, even with four inch heels. Overall, a successful dress, even with the less than flattering angles.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

Lady in red! Enough said...

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this beauty for my cousin's wedding. I rented the 4 long since I read that girls my height who like bigger heels found it to be too short. The size was a little too long at 5'5 even with my huge heels. Should've stuck with the 4 regular but either way the dress was GORGEOUS and fit perfect on my body. Danced the night away! A huge recommendation on this beautiful dress for any formal occasion!
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Jun 9, 2015

Great dress for a formal wedding or event!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well, a bit long for me since I'm 5'4, but worked out well with 4" heels. Beautiful fabric and color. The bodice makes a petite/straight waist look a bit curvier.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2015

I Felt Gorgeous

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: I felt gorgeous. It's a stunning, bright red color, the cut made me look curvy (and I am not a curvy girl), the boning in the top of the dress was supportive though I did wear a strapless bra, it fit perfectly as far as length went (I'm 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels with the regular dress), and I received so many compliments. It was tight enough to stay up but not so tight that I couldn't breathe. It did not fall down at all, which was tested with all the dancing I did at prom. It is sexy without being trashy and can make probably anyone look like Jessica Rabbit. If this is your first rental, I've rented dresses for my major events for the past two years now and they are always beautiful, fit well if you read the reviews and the stylist notes so you know what it fits like, and are always, always on time. Do not worry about renting. It's a seamless process and has been amazing every time. Last note about the dress: I've been to three proms and I felt the most beautiful, comfortable, sexy, and confident in this gown than any others. Cons: Overall, it was a really beautiful dress, so these things should be noted as minor issues for me personally. I am usually a 2 but always get a 4 when I rent to be safe and I needed it this time. In fact, I wish I had gotten a 4 and a 6 because the draping on one hip did not look like it had on the model, even after I'd steamed the dress to get rid of any wrinkles. Granted, I'm no twig but I'm certainly not heavy, so I was hoping the draping would have been more flattering though it was flattering enough. It is not hot on its own, but if planning a lot of dancing in a big room, the lack of a slit in the dress creates this column of heat within the dress. Or maybe I'm just really gross and sweaty. It's narrow in the waist which was fine for me but could be an issue. Had I not worn heels the dress would have been far too long. OVERALL RENT IT. YOU WILL LOOK AMAZING.
AK
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 18, 2015

I wore it for a end of college Senior Ball.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, and color looks awesome in photos! The fit is flattering and it is comfortable. The bust was a tiny bit large on me, and it was long without ~4 inch heels.
Veneranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2015

The compliments and how comfortable i felt in the dress.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect, and so was everything else.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 10, 2015

Amazing dress for a wonderful night!!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was one that I got from the RTR store in Georgetown after I was told that my original dress was not available. Even though it was not my first choice, it was an excellent dress for the evening. It fits very well - I wore the 6 (I don't think it was the 6L, just the regular). The top is very fitted, but it did not feel too tight and gave me a nice silhouette. I did not need to wear a bra. I'm 5'6" and the length of the dress was perfect with 3" heels. Overall, I thought that this dress was awesome! I felt beautiful all night long at the black tie wedding (and I looked the emoji girl)!!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
May 10, 2015

This color was gorgeous, many compliments on my gown

Size worn: 2P
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress that RTR overnighted after my other 2 gowns didn't work. They ended up not having any dresses in 0 petite available so they sent a 2 petite. Overall I got many compliments but it was to big in the bust. I'm a 32b and had to wear 2 bras to make the dress stay up. :)
Emma
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2015

Very pretty!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was pretty good (made my chest look bigger than usual). Everyone seemed to love it and it was very comfy!
MissMerc
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 6, 2015

I got tons of compliments on the dress! It made me feel like I was on the red carpet!

Size worn: 2P
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is wonderful, and looks even better in person. The size is kinda large, but not too much to be overwhelmingly problematic. Also, the length is pretty long. At nearly 5'4, I wore the petite and with like 3' heels it was still pretty long. The ruffles are a great touch to the dress and make it quite flattering. It just has a great shape altogether. Awesome dress!
RTR Customer
May 5, 2015

Wore this to my senior prom.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5' 9" and usually wear a size four. I ordered a four regular and a two long, and ended up wearing the two long, but wishing I had gotten a regular length. It was still a little loose on my bust (I'm a 36 C) but overall a good fit, besides the extra length. I would advise going a size down if you are unsure.
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

#white house correspondence dinner 2015

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, however the long was a bit too long.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was such a beautiful dress! The material is more like tulle, but there is boning in the bodice for structure. I ordered the 4 and 6, and wore the 6. It seemed to stretch out over the course of the night and I had to pull it up a lot. I have a small bust, so that could be part of the problem...I think I would have fit in the 4 if I had had someone to help zip me up! I wore 2.5" shoes with the regular length dress and it was a great length. Did not require any Spanx or other "extra" undergarments.
Alicia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Apr 28, 2015

I absolutely LOVED this dress! It really fit the Moulin Rouge theme for my special event.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size, very well made. This was my first Rent the Runway experience. I was very pleased with my order. I will most definitely rent again!
Meghan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

The perfect first dress from Rent the Runway!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfection! I'm busty and my biggest worry is having to go up several sizes to fit my bust. I also NEVER go without a bra, so I have to keep that in mind. I usually wear a size 12 tall so I ordered the dress in a 12L and 14L. I ended up going with the 12L. It was tighter in the chest but that's what I was looking for. I didn't want to keep pulling it up all night. The long was great. I'm 5'11 and I had 3 inch heels (see the photo). It worked out perfectly. The dress looked brand new. There was no sign that it had been worn by someone else. The only problem was that the boning/ribbing in the bodice started poking my ribs. The little plastic pieces had started to come through the fabric on the inside of the dress. Other than that, it fit like a dream! I will DEFINITELY use this site again!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

This dress was perfection! I felt so sexy.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was too long for me, even with 4" heels...I'm only 5'4". But I have a small bust and bigger butt, and the dress fit like a glove!! I never had to pull it up, and I danced the night away.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

the color!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
it was a bit large for me, but wasn't too bad. It's a beautiful red color and very comfortable. It was a little long, so if you're not wearing high heels (mine were 4 inches and I had to keep them on so I wouldn't trip) the short might be better
Leah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 19, 2015

Really great dress and great service! Very easy to return

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely long! I usually wear a size 8 in jeans and ended up wearing 6R because of fit. I'm 5"3 so it was long on me and kind of dragged a bit even with like 4-5 in. heels. Def. order petite if short. Really loved it though! Crowd pleaser for sure!! I would recommend it
Jill
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Loved this dress I wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am a broad so the 8 fit me just perfect. I also have a pretty small bust (34 B) and I suggest you have a larger bust to go up in a size that you normally wear.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Wore to my sorority formal and got compliments all night.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very Light and comfortable to wear. Should've gotten the regular length dress, because I was kind of tripping over the bottom of the dress a bit.
Sylvie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've been looking at this dress for a long time and was happy when I finally had an opportunity to rent it. It fit beautiful and I felt great in it all night long. I did have to pick the dress up a bit when I walked but that wasn't a big deal. Also, the zipper was pretty tough to get up.
Shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Great neckline, classy dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great. I'm a curvy girl and this dress accentuated my curves in the right places. The ruching added some great detail. It was simple, but elegant. The dress fit me like a glove. I'm normally an 8-10, the 10 regular fit perfect. I'm 5'10 and wore 3-4 inch heels, and didn't need the long. I would definitely recommend this dress!
stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

This dress was amazing!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress and the fit! I wore it to my law school formal and received numerous compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

What a pop of red!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this to wear to a "Red Hot Gala" and it stood out, even in a sea of other red dresses. The draping across the front was very flattering. I'm a 34D and still felt appropriately covered. The top did seem a tad stretched out so I occasionally had to pull the dress up during the night. As many reviewers noted, this gown runs long. I'm 5'7" and wore 4" heels. The 10R gown was still a bit long for me but it wasn't a tripping hazard or anything. Overall, this was a flattering, comfortable gown that drew a lot of compliments during the evening.
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Great formal dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was the perfect red and fit great! I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length. I ordered a 2L and 4L and ended up wearing the 2L. It stretched out before we even got to dinner so I wish I had gone down a size. I would definitely recommend the dress!!
Ginny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

The rental was a breeze and I got so many compliments on the dress all night long!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great and stood out at my event perfectly! I ordered the 2R and 4R. Both fit, however the 2 was tight in the chest so I opted to wear the 4 for comfort. I didn't feel like I had to pull the dress up all night which is common with strapless dresses. I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with the dress and wore 3 inch heels which made the length perfect for me.
Shell
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

This dress was so gorgeous.. I received compliments all night!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was not only beautiful, it was comfortable. The red was eye catching and the neckline left nothing to the imagination so be prepared to stop traffic.
E
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Lovely dress; lots of compliments

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very tight in the bust, but that made it easy to wear with spanx. It ran long, even for the "regular" size, and even with four inch heels. I had to pick it up a lot.
Coco
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Classic and beautiful gown

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
very flattering cut and rouged in back to flatter your derrière. I am 5'9" and ordered a 6 Long, but even with 3.5" heels, the long was too long; however the regular may have been too short with heels? recommend for tall women to order both. Gorgeous, classy gown!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Amanda was amazing at customer service!!!

Size worn: 10P
Rented for: Wedding
My first dress didn't fit, but thank goodness for this one! I loved the sweetheart neckline and the length was pretty spot on especially since I'm only 4'11". After a failed attempt at a BCBG dress, I will only go Badgley Mischka for long dresses! I loved the red and I got a ton of compliments. I was concerned the red would be too much, but it wasn't at all. I probably could have gone with an 8, but I was definitely pleased with this one!
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Fit perfectly around my waste, the color was beautiful

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect length with heels, great fit and sliming around waist and fit around my bust
Christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Color was perfect, very comfortable dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color was absolutely beautiful. The fit was perfect too -- it fit in all of the right places. The dress, however, was too long. It was dragging on the ground and I had to keep lifting the dress off the floor. It looked amazing but it was hard to dance in for the fear of tripping on the dress and ripping it. I would not recommend this dress for a dancing event.
Heather
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

This was a great dress and I got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 4L and 6L. The 6L was too loose in the bust. The 4L was perfect but in the front it was a little too long. It was almost like some of the ruffles had been pulled out because it had been walked on. The back length was perfect. I'm 5'8" and so glad I didn't order the 4R...I think it would have been too short. Overall, I loved this dress and it was perfect to wear to my daughter's Senior Girls Dinner and Dance.
bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Feb 15, 2015

Perfect good fit

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Alvin Ailey

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am almost 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels and I still picked up the dress. The color was perfect. I didn't have to adjust the top too much. I would or liked to see how the 0 fit. But the back made my butt look nice.
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Gorgeous-vibrant-stunning-even better in person!!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress last year and my husband was hospitalized the day of our event. (RTR was amazing about that situation BTW) I have dreamed about it for a year and loved it so much that I reordered it. It is even more beautiful in person. I received so many compliments and felt amazing!! With that being said, I just had a baby exactly 4 months ago and did order up. If you would normally wear a small bikini bottom but large top then go a size up because of the zipper and bust! I am 5'0, normally 110 (pre-baby) and 34-D. With 4 inch heels I still needed a petite. I dont think the regular is significantly longer because I tried both, but if you are 5'3 or shorter, order the P.
suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

The dress fit perfectly!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. It was a little tough zipping up the dress by myself but other than that it was perfect!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was beautiful. Loved the red color. I ordered the petite as a back up because I've worn this designer before and it was a tad too short, but the regular was a tad too long. I'm 5'5" and wore 3" heels, if I had worn 4" heels it would've been perfect. I have a large bust and still had to wear a strapless bra to hold the dress up more. So I would make the backup size smaller than what you usually are. I could've gone a size down surprisingly. My back up was way too big. Overall loved the dress.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding and I received a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked that the strapless dress stayed up and it was a great length with heels. It runs a little smaller, but I also opted to go up a size because I knew I'd be dancing all night and I wanted to be comfortable.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Great color, so comfy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the dress a lot more than I thought I was going to - the color is such a pretty, vibrant red and it was incredibly comfy. It ran a little bigger -without a bra I think I could've done a zero. I was worried about the length but I'm almost 5'5" and with tall shoes it was perfect. It was a great dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×