Badgley Mischka

Lady of Love Gown

$88 to buy
$500 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Badgley Mischka Lady of Love gown screams sophistication and class. Perfect for any black tie affair, prom, or fancy holiday party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band and silk fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - pleating provides room for curvy hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Fuchsia satin charmeuse. Sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Boning at bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2013
Thank goodness RTR is nice about returns!
This was a great dress, but I definitely do not recommend it for the smaller chested. I wanted to wear this dress so badly, and the color is just as bright and lovely as the picture, but A cups beware! The shape of the top is not flattering for us, and even padding can't make up what nature didn't give you. I'd recommend this dress, just not to anyone with a small bust size like me. Trust me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Beautiful dress!!
I rented this dress for a winter black tie affair wedding. The color is beautiful in person, a vibrant red! You definitely can not wear a bra with this dress, but the structure kept everything in. My only complaint is the under-wire around the bust kept digging into my skin causing an annoyance. I ended up ordering a long after reading the reviews. I felt being 5'6 in heels a regular length might be too short. However, the dress was extremely long and most of the night when I walked/ danced I had to hold it up to prevent stepping on it. I got a Ton of compliments for this dress "Lady in red" and would highly recommend it! Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2013
Elegance
it was better than i expected and made me feel absolutely elegant ! I was very happy with the result the only thing that bothered me was the breast area but than can be fixed with good strapless bra of cutlings
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2013
wrong size...
I ordered a 4 and they sent me a 0, didn't fit, but looked like a cute dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 28, 2013
Amazing gorgeous dress!!
I loved this dress. I looked amazing in it!! It was the talk of the whole party. People gave me compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
October 26, 2013
True to size but not for big busted women.
I am a 32DDD size 0/2; I believe I could've fit the 2 in the chest best but fit everywhere else fine in the 0. I am a perfect hourglass and didn't feel as though this flattered my shape; I believe it's best for somewhat boy shaped and/on smaller busted women.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2012
Lovely
Wore this on New Years. It fit perfect and was very elegant. It looks better in the picture though.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2013
I loved the fit
True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 23, 2013
This dress is gorgeous, but I was unable to wear it
The zipper on this dress was difficult to zip and once it was zipped it was so crooked it was unwearable. It needs a replacement zipper, so I was unable to wear it and had to send it back. That being said, aside from the zipper being crooked, this dress was HOT. I mean, I could not believe how amazing it looked. Some people mentioned they needed spanx with it but I thought it was fine without. It was quite a showstopper. I'm actually hoping I have a formal event in the coming months so that I can order it again (and hopefully get a dress that doesn't have a busted zipper). Seriously, if you're considering renting this dress, do it. It looked amazing!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 25, 2014
Rent the Runway was a great experience! An easy process and beautiful dress
I ordered this Badgley Mischka floor-length gown for a formal for an organization I was a part of. It was perfect! It looked very elegant and classy, and you could really feel the quality in the construction. Since the top part was boned, similar to a corset, (which also made it look great,) it was a little tight on my waist area - I don't have a super defined waist - but it still fit well overall. I got a lot of compliments, including one from one of my closest guy friends! I would recommend this dress for any classy, formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2012
Stunning
I wore this for my senior prom and have never felt so pretty! It's a lot darker in person but the color is stunning and I received tons of compliments on it. I have short legs so I had to wear heels at all times, the dress was long on me even at a regular length. Beautiful, and I HIGHLY recommend it! (:
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2013
Definitely a great choice for sorority formals!
Beautiful color that stands out and I loved the sweetheart neckline. I have a fuller bust, but it still fit me perfectly! If you're short, make sure to order the shorter sizes and wear at least a 3 in. heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2013
I am now obsessed with RTR thanks to this dress!
I loved this dress! I wore it to my school's Ring Dance. It is very true to size and fit very well. The only problem I had with it was the length. I'm 5'6 and wore 2 inch heels and the dress was very short. I would recommend flats with this. Also, this dress is more red in person (which I loved). Overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 21, 2013
I wore this beautiful dress to the Opera in Chicago, and the both the dress and show were amazing!
The fit was very accurate. I measured myself with the size chart and found myself to be a zero. I ordered this size and the dress fit great! It was very comfortable and I didn't have to pull it up to often. I would definitely recommend this dress, its very elegant and unique.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 21, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress! I got a 2 and 4, and would've loved the 2 had the zipper worked. The only downside was that they recommended anyone from 5' to 5'6" rent the regular length, and this dress was too short!! I was pretty self-conscious about it until I kicked my heels off and danced! Looked unbelievable with Stella and Dot's Bamboleo necklace www.stelladot.com/laurafrank I would definitely recommend this dress!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2011
I loved this dress! The color is a bit less bright than in the picture, but still really pretty. I don't really fit into any of the body type categories, but it was extremely flattering and I would definitely rent this again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2011
First of all, this dress is RED, not the pink shown in the picture. I'm tall, broad shouldered, cup size 36A, and high waisted. The size 6 Long fit perfectly, skimmed the ground in 2 inch heels, and defined my waist well. Very good dress to hide a little muffin top or big booty without being too flowy or making you look pregnant, but probably best for smaller busts. Overall a very forgiving and GORGEOUS dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
June 6, 2011
This dres is really pretty. The color is darker than the picture not the "fire engine red" it's a dark pink/red.Photographs lighter. It fits well the top is a little "boxy" in the chest. I wear a 36C and the size ten, and it was still big in the chest. I suggest if you like the picture to get the dress because the shape will work for many body types.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
August 25, 2011
I was a little disappointed when I received the dress because it was wrinkled and I needed to pay the dry cleaner to steam it in order to get the wrinkles out. Also, the paint on the zipper on the back of the dress was chipping off, clearly from the dress having been worn multiple times. In addition, the zipper didn't really zip up smoothly (again, probably from much wear and tear) and I had to battle with it to get it going. The dress itself fit well and even though I'm smaller in the chest, I didn't have to worry about the dress sliding down. No bra needed. Also, there's a lot of material/ruching in the front that helps conceal a tummy so Spanx aren't a total must but I definitely wore them with the dress. I'm 5'9" and wore 3 1/2" heels and the tall size worked just fine. I did receive lots of compliments on the dress and hardly anyone else at the black tie event that I attended was wearing the same color.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
November 3, 2011
This dress was a show stopper at the gala...the compliments were non stop!. I wanted to keep it forever! beautiful, comfortable and easy to wear. Do not need to accessorize it too much, it is just perfect!
KatharineNovember 3, 2015
If you do not mind my asking, how tall are you, Corinne? I booked the OR and wondering what type of heel to wear. I am 5'5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2011
Pretty
This dress was gorgeous. My dad was beaming. I ordered it for a Marine Corp ball, however wore a different dress. The zipper kept getting stuck, but the material was beautiful. I traveled with the dress and when I reached my destination the bottom was super wrinkly. I ultimately wore the other dress because it was more sleek and comfortable. This gown had boning and I felt my "love handles" were sticking out. I would not have necessarily worn spanx if I choose this dress though. Definitely a great dress and I would recommend to all sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2011
Not what I expected
I ordered this dress and another for a formal event. This dress runs quite small and the sweetheart neckline was misplaced on me (the top was more on the sides of my chest than over my bust. The color is also more red in person. However, I ordered another dress that worked wonderfully!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 12, 2012
This was my first time renting and I was so excited to wear this beauty!
I got SO many compliments that night and felt beautiful! Makes your boobs look great too ;)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 13, 2013
Love this dress
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding. It was absolutely perfect! True to size, comfortable and the return process a snap. Now I'm back shopping for a gala dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2013
Complimented all night! Fantastic dress!
Fit perfectly!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×