Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
822 reviews
Fit
Large49
True to Size561
Small83
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 7, 2016
My father had a veterans event.
I wore the 12P I usually wore a 14. It was good but snugged. Got a lot of compliments. The dress runner big on me but the stretching of the material helped a lot with my curves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
February 7, 2016
Perfect slinky black dress!
It fit like a glove, but true to sizing! The material was a bit think but perfect for a winter formal. RTR saved the night with this pick!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
The dress was the perfect touch to an amazing night!
The dress was absolutely amazing! It fit perfectly, not too tight or loose, and I even dressed it up with a cute belt. The slit was the perfect length since I have long legs. I got many complements and the dress made me feel confident and beautiful! I'm so happy I rented it. I recommend that you get your exact size and if you are tall (5'7 or up) get it in long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
Dress was beautiful. Fit great.
The fit was perfect. Length was long enough too.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
February 1, 2016
I had a mishap with the dresses but overall I'm very satisfied and will absolutely use RTR again!
This dress is perfect! I couldn't figure out which dress to wear to the black tie wedding I had to attend. When this dress came in the mail I ordered a 10 R and back up 8 R ( I'm a 10) the 8 fit like a glove but I was a little too short I'm 5'4 and with 4 inch heels so it was short. So they overnighted me a 8L and it was perfect!! I felt super sexy and classy. It wasn't a stiff dress , it was flowy and super comfortable!! I never felt so good in a dress! If you are on the fence about a dress. This is the one!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
February 1, 2016
I wore this for a formal wedding and it was perfect.
This fit beautifully. Very well made and very slimming. I just had a baby three months prior to the wedding and it hid everything that needed hid very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
January 31, 2016
Felt comfortable in a stunning dress!
I was torn between whether to get it in regular or long, but think a long would've looked a little better with my heels. I was surprised the 14 fit because I've always had to size up in badgley mischka dresses, but I almost wish I had gotten a size smaller as my backup just to see if it would've looked a little better being tighter in certain places. Also, I thought the slit would come up a little higher, so I was a little disappointed I had to stage it more for pictures. Overall, loved the dress and received several compliments throughout the night!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Perfect dress, perfect service, perfect evening!
I am 5'8" tall, 125 pounds, straight and narrow body with no tush. The ruching and draping of the dress was very flattering on my narrow frame. The moment I pulled this dress out of the zippered bag I was absolutely thrilled with its quality and construction, the material was beautiful and very heavy. After reading the reviews I figured either the 2l or 4l would work. The 4 was actually a little big on me and not that flattering-I felt I was drowning in too much fabric. The 2l was perfect! I have long arms and broad shoulders and the dress seemed tailor made for me. I wore 4" heels and the bottom still skimmed the floor perfectly and the sleeves were perfect length! I felt fabulous in this gorgeous dress, don't hesitate, just rent it! I was sad shipping it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
January 26, 2016
It was easy. I didn't have to worry about finding a dress.
None.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2016
I felt like a Goddess in this dress!! Super sexy yet super classy! Will absolutely rent this again!!
This dress is amazing.... Fit like a glove and super comfortable. I chose the 4 as my primary size but also got the 2L as my back-up. Ended up wearing the 2L- it was just a touch more fitted and the perfect length for 3" heels. The slit made it super sexy but wasn't too high and I never felt too exposed. The ruching along the sides and middle covered up any lumps and bumps that the Spanx didn't. I wore a regular bra with this and it peeked out a bit which wasn't a problem as I wore my hair down and around my shoulders. I felt long and lean which is a rare feat when you're 5'3" and curvy! I wore minimal jewelry- just long sparkly earrings and my wedding band. I highly recommend this dress and RTR. It was my 1st rental but definitely will not be the last!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
January 24, 2016
RTR is a great experience. I will do it again
Overall the dress fit true to size - my shoulders are on the narrow side so the neckline was a bit loose on the shoulders. The gown is long - if you are not 5'8' + do not rent the long version. I worn 1.5" heels and the dress was hitting the ground. Easy to wear, comfortable - lets you 'glide' across the floor.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2016
Too short, but gorgeous and comfortable!
I ordered this dress in a 0P and 2P. I ended up wearing the 2P because it actually fit more tightly than the 0 - maybe a previous renter stretched it out. I'm 5'2"-5'3", 115 lbs, and I wish I had ordered regular length instead of petite. The petite sizes seem to be poorly-hemmed regulars, because the slit hit my leg at an awkward spot and the dress hit my ankles in the heels I was wearing - not the floor-length stunner I was expecting. All that being said, the dress got a lot of compliments, was very comfortable to wear and dance in all night, and overall I'm very happy with my experience - I just know to order a longer length next time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 208lbs
January 20, 2016
It was a really nice dress. Simple yet sophisticated in the details and attention grabbing.
I didn't have to add too many accessories- Just some nice bracelets and long earrings. I did notice that the sleeves were short on me for some reason so I ended up pulling them up. Also the length of the 12L compared to the 14L was a little shorter. I would've preferred the length of the 14L on the 12L Overall, beautiful dress and an amazing experience using RTR for the first time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2016
High quality fabric, great cut. The long length was definitely necessary to wear with heels!
This dress fit very well, felt like there was a bit too much fabric in the draping at he waist, (something I would address if I had purchased the dress) but overall it was very comfortable, warm (perfect for the January wedding that I attended). One sleeve was missing part of it's hem when it arrived, and after I had it on for a bit the rest was gone too. I received a ton of compliments, and my mom even wants to buy it for herself!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2016
Perfect dress! Simple and sophisticated
This dress was amazing! I expected it to be made of jersey-like material, but it's made of heavier fabric that hangs and drapes perfectly. I would ABSOLUTELY rent this dress again and recommend it to others. It was so classy and I felt like a million bucks! I wore 3 inch heels and the dress fell right at the floor with the regular length. Consider ordering one size smaller as your second size when you rent- I usually wear a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly. My first dress from RTR and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
January 16, 2016
This dress is AMAZING! Very elegant and sexy all at the same time.
It was very comfortable to wear and I felt gorgeous in it. It is definitely a dress to rent! The fabric has great gathering in trouble areas and is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2016
Wish I took a photo in this beaute!
This dress was perfect! I rented both the regular and the long, but ended up wearing the long bc I'm 5'5" and wore 4.5" heels. The material is like spandex but thicker, so it was stretchy in the right places (arms), and the ruching in the front hid my tummy perfectly. There's a sexy slit in the leg, I will definitely rent this dress 100 more times. It was perfect!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 38
January 14, 2016
The dress looked great.
I should have got a size smaller.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 72
January 14, 2016
Don't think I've ever received as many compliments on anything I've ever worn.
It fit perfectly except for the length. I'm 5'3" and was told the 4R would be okay but it was about 3" too long (so gently basted it up). Didn't include the photo because the lighting was such that the beautiful draping at the hips doesn't show at all. Would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 13, 2016
Beautiful, form fitting, and classic!
Be sure to wear high heels if you are short. It will drag.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2016
It was a nice dress for a formal event during the winter.
It was a great dress. However, it's a flimsy zipper. Thankfully they sent me 2 dresses because the first one I tried on, the zipper was caught and easily broke.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 13, 2016
Beautiful and easy to wear.
I did not end up wearing this 12L dress. The 10L fit exactly the same with the exception that the 12L was shorter (go figure). Did not seem like a LONG size at all. Seemed very average.The material was comfortable and the rouching was nice and made my waist look amazing. But it accentuated my derriere much too much. However, at 5'7" and 170 pounds, this was a winner overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
January 12, 2016
Very forgiving dress for a recent weight gain.
This is a very forgiving dress. I am usually a size 12 but have put on about 15 pounds in the past 6 months so wasn't feeling good about my prospects for a dress. This dress fit well and I felt good in it. It did a good job of masking my tummy. Other reviewers wrote about the weird slip configuration inside the dress - I did not find that to be true. I am 5"6" and the long length worked perfectly with 3" heels. The zipper was a bit sticky but not a problem once it got up.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
January 11, 2016
Comfortable, comfortable, comfortable! Giving fabric. I received a lot of compliments on it.
Size fits well and it hangs nicely. There was a big difference between the 6 and 8. I decided to go with the 8 because the size 6 was way too short. almost as if it was altered. The 8 was a little big through the waist and hips - but overall still looked great and I received a ton of positive compliments - so although not perfect, it was a win for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 11, 2016
Classy dress for my holiday party.
This dress was nothing short of perfect. The dress fit true to size and hugged my curves all in the right places. The length of the dress was perfect for the size heels I chose that evening. It wasn't dragging on the floor; nor did I have to hold it up. It was classy and the slit provide just enough sexy to the outfit. This was my second rental from RTR and I still haven't been disappointed! Thank you for always making it a memorable experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 60
January 10, 2016
Very sexy and comfortable. Long sleeves for outdoor wedding was perfect mother of the bride choice!
Fit beautifully. The fabric is thick so it was warm enough for our December cool temperatures. I received, and continue to receive compliments on this dress from that night! The drape pieces didn't hit in quite the perfect places but no one knew that but me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2016
The dour countess
Dress is beautiful. Ended up not wearing it because the 10L was too long through the torso and I didn't like the way it hung on me. The 8L fit better, but the bodice was stretched out in a weird way and wouldn't lay right. The dress is very somber and conservative. I would rent it again in a Regular length for a different occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
January 7, 2016
Classy Yet Sexy! Will Definitely Rent Again
This dress is amazing, and I am beyond bummed out that I never actually got to wear it, due to a change in plans. I had planned to wear it as my New Year's Eve dress, and it would have been PERFECT! The quality and fit were both fantastic; although I was covered up, I still felt so sexy because the structure is so flattering. The slit up the leg in particular was perfect ... it gave just the right amount of leg. Length was fine for me too, which is tricky because I'm short. Basically, when I tried this dress on for NYE (just for fun), my boyfriend was insisting I just go ahead and wear it regardless, because he liked it so much. Thank goodness I didn't.. I would've looked ridiculous at the informal event we went to, where people wore sweatshirts and sneakers. Sooo sad, but will definitely be renting this one again!
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
January 6, 2016
Really a great bridesmaid dress for the winter.
I'm not one to post reviews, but this dress really was great. With 13 bridesmaids, all of us were pleased and looked great in this dress! Super comfortable. I had to exchange mine for a petite, and was glad because of the way the swoop on the torso sat. Definitely go petite if you have a short torso and are shorter in general.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
January 6, 2016
Conservative and classy! I wore this dress to an inaugural ball and received lots of compliments.
My usual size was too tight on my stomach and mid-section, so I'm glad I got the extra one! The dress arrived with the draping part (goes around the waist and hangs over the back) wrong-side out, so when I first put it on, it looked so awkward and I started crying. Haha I finally figured out how to correctly pull the fabric over the head and back down the correct way. It made a world of difference! I felt appropriately covered for a fancy work event in January, yet feminine with the slit and fitted style. I definitely recommend accessorizing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
January 5, 2016
Perfect for a December Charity event.
I did not think about the length with my heel height. I got the 4R originally and then saw it was way too short. They overnighted a 4L and it worked. I would love to wear the dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
Classy dress
I ordered the 4L and 2L and wore size 2L. I'm 5.7 and 123 lbs. It fit well but I gave it 3 stars because it had a tiny (but visible) hole on the sleeve and I couldn't wear the 4L.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
January 4, 2016
LOVED this dress. Slimming and elegant.
Pros - flattering and slimming. Runs a little big, but not much. Normally I would wear a 6, but because the fabric is a little stretchy, I easily fit into a 4.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
January 4, 2016
Didn't spend a fortune for something I would never wear again.
Fit was perfect. Would definitely recommend shape wear though. Long was perfect with 3" heels. Received so many compliments and was asked several times if I had lost weight - when I hadn't.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 4, 2016
. I was extremely excited about this dress. I wore it to my father's NYE wedding.
The dress came in two sizes (8L and 10R) but the 8 did not zip, even an inch although it fit perfectly. The 10 was extremely short, as I was expecting gown length. The dress still got a lot of compliments and was very good material. Also, the layering... Not flattering or easy to adjust for best fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
January 3, 2016
It was beautiful and made all my curves look minimized not exaggerated.
no cons
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 3, 2016
I felt like a million bucks
As a veteran RTR'er I can honestly say this was one of my top 3 dresses! I loved the heavy material. This dress was super sexy and very classy. It fit perfectly and the gather in the front hit in just the right place to highlight my curves. Highly recommend!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
January 2, 2016
I love the simple elegance of this dress. You can do so much with this color and style.
I am so glad I ordered a long (10L). I am 5'7 and wore a 4 inch heel. The front sash fell slightly awkward and created a small pouch look. I may have been able to go with the size 8 for a tighter fit. The slit is sexy and not too much. I felt very sexy but ladylike in this gown. The zipper wouldn't zip all the way down so luckily I could still squeeze in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
January 2, 2016
My dress was amazing! The dress runs true to size. The dress was very comfortable. Thanks RTR!
Comfortable and very forgiving. I will definitely rent again! The rental process was amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
January 2, 2016
It was too small in the hips but too baggy in the bust; I didn't end up wearing it.
The fabric was a little heavier, which would have been great for the Wisconsin winter, but I didn't end up wearing it. The dress was too small, enough that I wasn't even able to put it on. My roommate tried it on, and it fit her (much smaller) hips, but was really baggy in the bust for her. Bummer! Glad I got a back-up dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 21

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×