Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

538 reviews

Fit
Small 69
True to Size 404
Large 31
Photos 352
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Wore this dress for my engagement photos and the pics turned out gorgeous!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress runs small- the 2 fit me and i'm usually a 4 or sometimes 6. Plenty of room in bust. Interesting draping on the hips- some may not like it. It is beautiful and elegant. So simple and makes your face and hair stand out. Nice slit too for easy movement. Loved it and love the pics!
Lauren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 21, 2015

Great night!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm a performer so I needed something formal that I could be comfortable and move around in. I liked the fit of this dress and it was very flattering. Since I have a large bust I needed to size up, but it was great for my event. I received lots of compliments!
Alyse
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress! Was so comfortable and the long sleeves made it great for a formal event in January.
Lacey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

This dress was amazing!! Very flattering on all body types

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. It very flattering on all body types because of the built in folds.
Nicole
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Chic and comfortable!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress... I got a size 2L and the fit was perfect. I am 5'6" but ordered the L so I could wear 4" inch heels and it was the right decision. The dress is comfortable, so you have no problem wearing it all night... Yet still incredibly chic and classy. You can't go wrong in a classic black gown with a sexy slit!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Simple, yet elegant! Comfortable to wear all night.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress at our city's Chamber Gala. I was so anxious for this dress to arrive. When I first placed the order I had a 4R. After reading some reviews I changed it to a 4L and I'm so glad I did. It was a tad long even after putting heels on, but nothing that I had to hold my dress up for. I would rather have it a little longer than shorter anyway. The dress was GORGEOUS!! It is simple but SO classy and elegant. I got complements all night on it. The only issue I had with the dress was every time I went to the restroom the lining would get all twisted and I would have to take some time readjusting. The dress does have draping fabric in the front and sides, but its nothing that striked me as being odd. After trying it on the night before, I could hardly wait to wear it. It was so comfortable. I wasn't itching to get home and get out of the dress. I felt great in it. I will definitely be renting from RTR for future Chamber Gala's.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size and was a perfect length for me. I'm 5'3" and wore a 3/4" heel. It was the perfect dress to wear to a black tie wedding at a mansion. I felt so glamorous. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Leah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

This dress was perfect, in every way, I have never received so many compliments on a dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
After reading reviews, I decided to order the 0R and 2R, and ended up going with the 0R. I wore 5 inch heels and still had to hold the dress up as I walked and danced. If I were to ever need a formal dress again, I would re-order this one in a heartbeat, except in a petite size specifically for the length.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

The perfect black dress for cold winter nights!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. I wore it for an outside New Years Eve Event downtown. Although I live in Florida it still gets chilly, so this long dress was perfect because I didn't want to bother with a coat check. I know some people complained about the length, but I thought it was perfect length and I'm 5'4 and wore 3 1/2 inch heels black heels with it, no problem. I think this dress would truly be flattering on any body type and I added the belt just to emphasis the waist area more. I received multiple compliments!!!
Jaime
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Gorgeous, comfortable dress, perfect for my husband's black-tie work event.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hugged the curves that I wanted to have hugged, but was very forgiving around my post-baby stomach pooch. Would definitely wear this again - I looked great and felt fantastic in it.
RTR Customer
Jan 30, 2015

Classic and simple. Can't go wrong!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered the 8 and 10, wore the 10. I usually wear a 8, but it was way too tight. I recommend ordering a size up. Also, when seated that slit is HIGH...I was at a table most of the night so it wasn't an issue, but would have been if I was sitting elsewhere :-) All in all happy with the dress!!
Kat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

It was an amazing night with great people!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a New Years Eve party I threw from my mom's birthday. loved it and got so many compliments on it. I wore the size 4R and actually the size 2R. The 2 was a little snug but still was able to move around in it comfortable. Its a gorgeous dress to wear for a nice occasion.
Heather
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

Classy and elegant, formal enough for a black tie event that I attended.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I never write reviews for anything but for this dress I had to. The dress fit beautifully and more importantly I felt beautiful in it. I was worried it was going to be too short given my height and my choice of 4" heels. It was the perfect length. It is form fitting enough to show off your shape but has elegant ruching and draping that covers your mid-section. The slit up the side was enough to show off some skin but still covered enough to keep it classy. I paired it with a statement necklace and shoes it really tied the whole look together for me. I couldn't be more pleased with this dress- I wish I could have kept it!
Andie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

The dress! The slit! The draping! Oh my!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my first gala and could not have gone with a better selection. I fretted over options for three weeks before a couple of stylists helped me choose this dress via an email session. It arrived well in advance and came in perfect condition. I am 5'7 (the girl on the right is me!) and wore 3" heels and went back and forth between the long and the regular lengths. In the end I chose the long length and it was perfect! Not once did I worry about tripping on my dress. I go back and forth between a 10 and a 12 and I opted for the 12 so it would fit over my chest. Be sure to make sure all of the fabric is in place before zipping it up otherwise you will have a hard time! The slit was perfect and made me feel like Angelina Jolie at the Oscars. My stomach is not my best feature and even though I wore Spanx, the jersey material of the dress was clingy and accentuated my stomach, so be prepared to suck it in all night! The ruching did not cover as much of my stomach as I hoped but I still loved the dress over all. Perfect for dancing and moving! Definitely consider this dress for your next black tie event.
RTR Customer
Feb 7, 2015

The dress is gorgeous on. The flow makes you feel like you are swooshing through the room.

Size worn: 2P
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bust is tight. Had to try a few bras.
VS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Comfortable and beautiful.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was surprised that this dress was so short. I should have ordered the long. It was very comfortable and fit great but I almost didn't wear it because of the length. I liked the fabric and the way the dress looked on my body. I wore my hair down and added dazzling earrings and fantastic heels.
Marisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

How many compliments I received on the dress.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! It did got a little short. I'm 5'4", and it was too short with my initial heels I had picked out (4").
Rhonda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

I felt so beautiful.

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful. Fit true to size, I may have gone with 0L but wasn't available. Length was perfect wore low heels. Got compliments all night and shared with many about rent the runway who had never heard of them.
ashleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Feb 8, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 0P
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'1 and the 0 petite fit perfectly! The size 0 was a little too big and long. The 0 petite was a perfect length even with heels! The material of the dress is thick enough but not too hot. Perfect for a winter wedding. I wore it to a charity event. I would rent it again!
RTR Customer
Feb 9, 2015

Everything arrived on time.

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The gown fit beautifully . However, I usually wear between a 2 or a 4. In this dress, the 4 was perfect and the 2 was too small. The dress was well made . It was understated glamor. I would recommend for any winter formal affair.
Julissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Wore this for one of my friend's winter wedding in Taos, NM. Dress was perfect for the weather.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs true to size, recommend a size up as a second option. Fabric is heavy and form fitting. Loved the draping and length.
Christine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

This dress is VaVaVaVoom!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
(I'm the blonde in the picture) In truth the chest was a bit too tight, the cross body ruching was stretched a bit more than the designer intended. I ended up wearing a spanx tank minimizer (40DDs) instead of any kind of bra. I wore 6inch Jimmy Choo black suede stilettos and the regular length gown was still too long! Love the dress, great fabric (a little thick), with some give to it. I'd wear it again in a 10 petite.
Rae-An
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Feb 9, 2015

I wish I had another fancy event to go to, just to wear this dress!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is actually my back-up dress for my event. I didn't end up wearing it because the other dress was more fitting for the occasion. But I still absolutely LOVE this dress! It fits my body amazing, and it's long sleeve! Which is perfect for anyone who's insecure about their arms .. me! & I love the slit! The only thing I though was weird was the neck line, other than that this dress is perf!
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

This dress was classy and timeless. It gave me a constant stream of compliments all night long!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little short, but I'm short so that was ok. I wore a 0R and I'm 5'2 and 115 lbs if that gives you any idea! It was heavy material so I would not recommend wearing it unless its winter time.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding. I ordered a 2R and 4R. The 2R was about 3-4 inches too short with 3in heels, so I went with the 4R which was the perfect length. I would definitely recommend and rent this dress again!
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

great dress it was worn to a masacarde ball

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has unique rouching. At first I thought it looked like side bags when I tried it on. As the night when on the dress moved and laid nicely and no longer looked side bagish, it was faltering to my shape. This was my first time using RTR and I was very pleased and will definitely be using again!
Christine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

I was so excited about this dress, until I put it on. Its beautifully made, but was way too short.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very tight, I couldn't wear a bra when trying it on. The length fit like a petite gown, and the arms were too short as well.
Amy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Fundraising gala with a Studio 54 theme.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually ordered a 0P, a 0R wasn't available. I'm 5'2 1/2" and and I wish the length had been a little longer to make it a true gown. But it was gorgeous. I accessorized it with a gold belt, which I think completed the look. It fit well, although it could have been a little more snug. That's just my preference. I got a lot of compliments and I highly recommend this sexy yet elegant dress.
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

Having the most comfortable, unforgettable dress

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress, super comfortable and great to wear all night
Carolyn
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 15, 2015

I went to a winter scholarship gala and felt so sexy without trying.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was wonderful, I did not need spanx and had the ability to eat without worrying. There are draping details that are hard to see, but I think it made my waist look smaller.
Patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Wedding Fun

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 4L and 6L. Ended up wearing the 4L, it is very long had to hold it up when i walked even with 4 inch heels. The dress was beautiful and was great for a chilly night :) I felt like a movie star with this dress was sad to return it.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

This was an amazing dress. It was simple and elegant with a beautiful silhouette that stood out.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material hung effortlessly and hugged all the right curves. The ruching helped cover up all the trouble areas. I have an hourglass shape and this dress made that a very positive thing. I normally wear an eight but i ended up going with the six. The only strange thing was that the eight and the six were almost different dresses, but they may have just been altered differently. If you are even a little bit over 5'4" and if you're wearing over 3 inch heels, get a long!!!Overall an amazing, show stopping and comfortable dress to wear. I would defiantly wear it again!
RTR Customer
Feb 18, 2015

Felt so classy & got so many compliments!!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4-6. I ended up wearing the 6 because it was more comfortable, the only thing that bothered me was the size difference in the sleeves. The size 6 sleeves were almost too loose but for the most part you couldn't tell in photos so I didn't worry about it. The size 4 was a just little snug in the tummy and the sleeves were a little short.
suzy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

The customer service!

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. You cannot zipper this on your own. I needed help.
Diana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

I rented for this beautiful charity event in Chicago called, "Snowball."

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect for this winter event! The long sleeves were warm enough but very breathable. The length of the dress may have been a little too long for the heels I wore, and I found myself picking it up a lot to walk around so I wouldn't step on it. The size 8 almost seemed too short when I originally tried it on which is why I went for the 10, but the 8's length may have been better! Overall, the dress was flattering and comfortable, and the high slit really made it unique from "just another black dress.." I loved it!
ARC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Elegant, simple, but stands out all the same

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabric has some stretch which makes the sizing forgiving, but generally a very tightly fitted dress! A really elegant, simply dress that stands out all the same, I received a lot of compliments on the leg slit especially!
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Wore this to a winter wedding...such a classy dress, loved it!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size and really flattered my body. The material was thick and a little heavier than I expected, but it was nice for this winter wedding as it kept me warmer. I can't tell you how great I felt in this dress and how many compliments I received.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Barrister Ball. Perfect dress for a formal winter event!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is my first time using RTR and I was very impressed. I ordered a 4 long and a 6 long. I ended up wearing the 4 because it was longer than the 6 (which I thought was a little odd) but ended up working out great! Both dresses were true to size and fit snugly.The dress material is heavy, but this worked in my favor since it was so cold outside traveling to the event. I wore 5 inch heels and the dress just barely touched the floor. I received so many compliments and loved the dress! Definitely renting again!
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

GORGEOUS DRESS!! I felt like a super model!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was actually my backup dress. The one I ordered was too short with my heels on. But after trying on both dresses, this one was just beautiful. I fell in love instantly! It was very modest but super sexy and elegant. It hugged my body in all the right places and made me feel super glamorous! I had many compliments all night. Also, the customer service was amazing. I had actually order a totally different dress in a regular size, but after reading reviews about the length I was nervous it would be too long since I'm only 5'1". So I chatted with customer service and that particular dress was not available that date in petite. So she sent me links to several other dresses in my petite size for me to choose from. I went with 2 styles and they included the backup size, they also changed the jewelry from my original order and "comped" me for one of the pieces of jewelry. It arrived the day before like it was supposed to, and I have now mailed it back. I will definitely rent from here again!! It was so easy and the dress looked amazing!! Thank you RTR!!
Tessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Gala and was complemented all night long by people of all ages. The dress was a perfect length with heels for my body. The fabric was comfortable and flattering at the same time. No adjustments were needed.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×