Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1084 reviews
Fit
Large
(64)
True to Size
(697)
Small
(101)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 25, 2017
Comfortable, flattering and an easy material to wear
Incredibly comfortable and flattering. I received many compliments and would rent it again.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
April 24, 2017
Black Tie Gala
Fabric was nice, but was quite short. I ordered the 16R and wish I would have ordered the long. I ended up having to wear flats to accommodate the length (or lack there of).
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2017
All around perfect!
Easily put I was not feeling very confident about my post baby body. So I needed something flattering. I hadn't even tried it on to moments before we left. Let me just say it was super comfortable and fit perfectly. Fell in love RTR--this busy working mom had no time to look for a dress and found one and had it shipped same week.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 22, 2017
The process was simple and easy. I received the dress exactly when I was told I would.
This dress is amazing! It hugs your curves and is super comfortable. It is sexy without being revealing and the draping details are beautiful. I rented it to accompany my boyfriend to an awards gala and I received compliments all night. I would definitely rent this dress again if I had an occasion to do so.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
April 20, 2017
Quite small
This didn't seem like a 14. I've had lots of luck with 14's on RTR, but this barely went over my head. Material was heavier and less forgiving than I thought.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 18, 2017
So comfortable and so flattering!
This dress was perfect for my black and white gala. I loved how it fit and flattered all the right places. The length was perfect with heels and the slit made the dress sophisticated sexy. I am actually a 32G and this had enough room in the bust, the fabric stretches nicely. I wore spanx but I don't think I needed to. I paired it with an incredible Oscar de la Renta necklace (also from RTR).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 14, 2017
I was on stage in front of a large group of people 6 months after having my third baby.
This dress hugged all the right places and hid the ones I'm still working on. The slit made the dress sexy. The draping is fantastic on a curvy body. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
April 9, 2017
Great black tie dress. Flattering, not too flimsy, great cut.
I'm 5'10" and a size 8. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 2, 2017
This dress was classy, but not too formal.
This is a fabric heavy dress and can get easily twisted and bunched up underneath. Though it can be worn with a regular bra!
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 2, 2017
Flawless Black Gown
Beautiful gown!! It fit as if it were made just for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
March 29, 2017
the band, people, and booze.
At 5'3 I wish I went with the regular but overall I got alot of complements and it was a hit once again. I love RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
March 29, 2017
I felt great in the dress.
I'm a 5' short curvy woman that just had a baby and I always have problems finding gowns anyway. This fit perfectly and the way the fabric wound around the dress was super flattering. The tag said "14" rather than "14P" so I was concerned at first but it fit perfectly. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 27, 2017
Winter black tie dress
I just had a baby, so loved that this dress covered everything. It was perfect for a black tie winter wedding. I ordered the long because of my height and heel size per recommendations and while the length of the dress wasn't too long, the overlay part was way too low and didn't cover where it should. The regular length would have worked. I could have worn the size smaller but they only sent one size.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 26, 2017
I loved the slit in the dress
The fit was a little big on the back and arms. I loved the dress though. I wish the draping on the front covered the stomach more but I wore spanks. So it turned out fine. Was perfect for the military ball.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 24, 2017
Simple and Elegant
Really liked this dress. Its simple but also has draping around the hips that adds a little character. Since its a long black gown you can accessorize the hell out of it :-) The only con is that as a short lady, I'm 5'0" the slit didn't make it past my knee, which was kind of disappointing because I wanted to have a peek of skin. But otherwise loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 23, 2017
Comfortable and Classy
This was actually my backup to the backup dress but it ended up working out great....I originally ordered the 2 and 4 and had RTR overnight me the 0 because they were both way too big! The fabric is so stretchy and comfortable - perfect for a winter black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
March 22, 2017
Classic elegance
This dress is stunning. I received so many compliments throughout the evening on the style and fit, not to mention it is one of the most comfortable formal gowns I've worn. I'm only 5'2 and I was a little hesitant to order the long but I read all the reviews stating the regular in this particular dress was short so I took a chance and I'm so glad I did! At the last minute, RTR had to send a regular because my alternate long had been damaged and was no longer available. The regular size stopped at mid-calf on me. Thankfully, the 2L fit like a dream and was the correct length with heels. Just something to keep in mind when choosing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2017
Class
If you are going for sexy but also classy great dress. I wore this for a formal event. The only thing I didn't like is the gathering on the front makes you look kinda pregnant. I probably should have went a size smaller. The slit come pretty high. Mid thigh. If you have some stellar quads to show off I would recommend this dress. For me this was my favorite part of this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect for a Winter Wedding
The dress was a perfect balance of classy and sexy. The side slit was just high enough to not be scandalous. I'm 5'4 and recommend getting the Regular size over the Petite size. The dress was just above the floor so it was easy to get around and dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2017
So comfortable and bump friendly
This dress was so comfortable! I am 24 weeks pregnant and though it was definitely a body contouring dress it was easy to move around and dance in all night without having to pull or adjust it often. I loved the detail of the draped material on the back and the ruching in the front. I would recommend this dress for sure whether preggo or not. I normally would have worn the 6 but wore the 8 for a little extra belly room and because the 6 was much shorter in the length and arms. I'm 5' 8" and wore this with flats and it was ok. Heels would have needed the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
March 13, 2017
The dress was great, I was comfortable and got compliments. I'd definitely rent the runway again!
I normally go up a size when I get petite sizes but wasn't thinking when I placed this order. Fortunately, I had the backup size 8, which was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
March 12, 2017
Love!
I wore this to a formal affair. I was 8 weeks pregnant and needed something that had structure, yet had some give in the abdomen. The draping was perfect.
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
March 12, 2017
The Dress looked great !!! I felt very comfortable !!! So many compliments !
I am 5ft 5in. 225lbs large bust . Every thing looked small. !!! what a great fit !!! I would wear a 18 but that was a size 20. so glad that I did !!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
March 10, 2017
Not a great look for people with tummy issues.
Very unflattering if you have tummy issues.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2017
Great dress, fits true to size, very comfortable
High slit, use a safety pin if you don't want to show too much leg.
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 9, 2017
I liked this dress in theory, but it fit weird to me.
The length is really awkward and I am short. I'm 5'2 and it stopped above my ankles. It also had this strange diagonal line on the bust that I didn't enjoy. Not my favorite dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 58
March 9, 2017
Perfect dress for the occasion! Lots of compliments!!
I rented this for a formal affair. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. The ruching hid the problem areas and the split was just enough to be interesting but still decent. I would definitely rent this one again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
March 9, 2017
Compliments all night long!
What a great dress! It was easy, so comfortable and very flattering. There was one minor issue with one of the sleeves (thus 4 stars instead of 5) - I guess the finishing on the cuff had come apart at some point and the repair was poorly done. Big clumps of thread on the interior of the cuff (I had to trim about 10 loose ends poking out!) and you could see the shoddy stitch work on the outside of the sleeve. Since it was black, it wasn't *as* obvious as it would have been in other colors, but it wouldn't have been difficult to properly mend it. I wore this to a gala and got so many compliments. The slit is great and the dress "walks" very well! If you have a lot of sitting (i.e. A dinner), beware of the slit! I was glad I had a napkin for extra coverage. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2017
So many compliments on this dress
This is a great dress for a winter event. It's warm without so much material. It's sexy and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
March 5, 2017
Great gala dress!!!
Lots of compliments and very comfortable!! The draping gave it a little extra flair and it was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 5, 2017
Lots of compliments!
It was so comfortable and the 10P was perfect for my length. The 8R fit well too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
March 4, 2017
Such a nice flattering stretchy dress for my postpartum body!
Elegant, comfortable. Both the 8R and the 10R would have worked, however the 8R that they sent was missing the front ruching & the 10R had it, so I went with the 10R. The 8R would have been more form fitting and would have been beautiful on me if the dress wouldn't have had the defect in the front that made it thin. I did get compliments on dress all night and felt as comfortable as I could have being my current size. No special undergarments needed, super stretchy. Beautiful gown!!!! Will definitely use Rent the Runway again. Such an easy process with a great dress sent timely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
March 3, 2017
This dress was perfect for the Mardi Gras ball I attended!
This dress was lovely! I received so many compliments all night. The fabric was heavier than I expected, but it fit well and wasn't too hot even with dancing! I'm 5'2, and needed to wear tall heels with even the petite size. But I absolutely loved it. Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 28, 2017
Many Compliments
I felt amazing in this dress. It runs true to size, but you definitely need someone to help with the zipper. The weight of the gown is just enough and the sleeves kept the chill off without having to keep up with a coat or shawl. I was very comfortable and only needed my regular bra and spanx. I received many compliments from other guests and highly recommend this service and gown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 27, 2017
Elegant yet sexy!
I was actually able to try on the dress at the New York flagship store. I went there looking for a different dress but fell in love with this one! I wore it for a black tie event. I had tried on the 0L in store, it was the perfect fit but much too long. I'm 5'1/2" so I ordered the 0P and 0R as my back-up. The 0P worked perfectly with 4.5 inch heels. It gathered a tiny bit on the floor. The fabric is warm making it a perfect dress for winter time, so comfortable and wrinkle resistant. It is the perfect mix between elegant and sexy. The long sleeves and high neck line make it modest but the way it hugs your curves and with a high slit in the front gives it the sexy feel. The only complaint I have is that the zipper in the back was very stiff, it wouldn't always lay flat against my lower back. I loved wearing it and highly recommend it to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 27, 2017
This dress was a great pick for a winter black tie optional event.
I love this dress and was sad when I had to return it! This dress has the perfect amount of sass and class. The cut of the dress is flattering and does not restrict movement for dancing, eating, and drinking. If you are looking for a more length, order the long sizing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2017
Love this dress!
This dress fit perfectly! Received tons of compliments all night. Would absolutely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
February 25, 2017
prefect fit for my growing belly!
I normally wear a size 14 or 16 but because I'm six months pregnant I had to size up. I ordered the size 18 but it was returned to RTR damaged but thankfully the 20 was a little roomy but overall a good fit. I got tons of compliments and felt a little less pregnant for the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
February 21, 2017
I got compliments from everyone! my regular size is a 10 should have gotten a 10P in this dress.
Even though it was a little big and little long it still worked. It is my 3rd or 4th dress from rtr and I have never been disappointed with quality of dresses, packaging is another story-- I recommend getting it 2 days prior to event just in case.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
February 21, 2017
Gorgeous, classy and yet a little bit different!
Thicker fabric and tight to curves. Very flattering.
See more reviews:
1 / 28

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×