Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1101 reviews
Fit
Large
(64)
True to Size
(707)
Small
(102)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2017
It fit so amazing and got a ton of compliments
true to size and fits like a glove.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
June 7, 2017
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT....even with it on the hanger.
I received the dress I rented ON TIME. Even before the EST. time. It was packed nicely and neatly. Rent the Runway makes it look effortless. WAIT! It is effortless. So glad I stumbled upon this site. I love this dress. It's me to a tee. Simple but eloquent. Sassy but not too much. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT. The earrings, I will just say, I am going to slay. I will post a picture after the event. Thanks Rent the Runway. What a fabulous idea.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2017
Perfect dress for my engagement photos.
Runs a little small. If you're 5'7 or taller, order a long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 6, 2017
Beautiful but didn't fit
I rented this dress for a friend's evening wedding and both the 8 and 10 did not fit around my hips/thighs. The material appears to have stretch but it really doesn't. The draping was confusing and made it difficult to put on and for me, was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 1, 2017
Brother-in-law's wedding
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable for a winter wedding, I could dance freely, and appreciated the slit. I was concerned the arms might be too long on me, but the arm length was great too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
May 24, 2017
Very comfortable, slimming and elegant. Wore to a black tie affair
True to size. I'm 5'6" I could have gone with the regular but for my 6 inch hills I wanted it longer. Great Dress Many Compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2017
Engagement Pictures
I used this dress for my second, more formal outfit for engagement pictures. I'm 5'10" wore the 4L, had heels on and it was still long enough! Very classy & flattering. Would rent again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2017
Beautiful fit Felt very old Hollywood glamorous
Fit true to size Hugged my curves perfectly Very comfortable fabric I'm hourglass figure and it's a perfect dress for that body type I'm really short (5'2) so I ordered the petite and it still was a little long but with my 4 inch heels I was fine The slit was not too high on my leg, barely over my knee but then again I'm really short Wore this dress to my husband's military ball and I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
May 14, 2017
This dress fit great. True to size.
I wore this to a formal gala with work colleagues. I am larger on top and needed something less revealing. This dress did the trick. Classic black dress that can be dressed up with some accessories. Very comfortable and a great fit.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
May 10, 2017
I was 5 months pregnant and the most comfortable I have ever been in a formal dress! perfect in pics
I wore this to my Work Gala, I was 5 months pregnant and I am 5ft tall, the 6R hugged my belly and the length was perfect with 4.5 inch heels. love the extra fabric on the side to add a hint of style to an all black but classy dress, I Recommend!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 9, 2017
Wore this for a night at the opera
When I ordered this, I couldn't order the long size and that would have really helped. BUT that being said, the regular length ended up working out even with heels (it just was more ankle length). Fit true to size, would definitely rent this one again!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
May 9, 2017
The dress was amazing! So comfortable, classy with the neckline but sexy with the slit!
Zero cons for this dress, would recommend
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
May 7, 2017
Elegant Gown was an eye catcher
I absolutely loved this gown. It was true to size and looked so beautiful on. I received so many compliments. There is a good amount of stretch and covers all the problem areas. I'm 5'1" and got the regular after reading the reviews , it dragged a little, but it looked like it had a little train. Didn't want to take it off, will definitely rent again with RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 30, 2017
Retro Hollywood perfection!
This dress was amazing! For a girl trying to lose weight and be body positive, this dress sure did the trick. Fits very nice and falls just right and the slit is not too much. Only thing is that it was hard to get on at first.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 30, 2017
fit was perfect! loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
April 27, 2017
This dress was not for me.
I did not like all the drapery on this dress. I feel it hid my figure and was not flattering. I felt frumpy. The length was good if I was to wear it and the size was accurate. I did not wear this dress to my event and was pretty disappointed. Be aware there is a lot of fabric.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
April 26, 2017
Sadly, my event was snowed out so I didn't get to wear it out :-(
Fit rather true to size, maybe a touch big. Super flattering and the leg slit made it just the right amount of sexy. Super bummed I didn't get to show this off, but will totally rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 25, 2017
Comfortable, flattering and an easy material to wear
Incredibly comfortable and flattering. I received many compliments and would rent it again.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
April 24, 2017
Black Tie Gala
Fabric was nice, but was quite short. I ordered the 16R and wish I would have ordered the long. I ended up having to wear flats to accommodate the length (or lack there of).
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2017
All around perfect!
Easily put I was not feeling very confident about my post baby body. So I needed something flattering. I hadn't even tried it on to moments before we left. Let me just say it was super comfortable and fit perfectly. Fell in love RTR--this busy working mom had no time to look for a dress and found one and had it shipped same week.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 22, 2017
The process was simple and easy. I received the dress exactly when I was told I would.
This dress is amazing! It hugs your curves and is super comfortable. It is sexy without being revealing and the draping details are beautiful. I rented it to accompany my boyfriend to an awards gala and I received compliments all night. I would definitely rent this dress again if I had an occasion to do so.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
April 20, 2017
Quite small
This didn't seem like a 14. I've had lots of luck with 14's on RTR, but this barely went over my head. Material was heavier and less forgiving than I thought.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 18, 2017
So comfortable and so flattering!
This dress was perfect for my black and white gala. I loved how it fit and flattered all the right places. The length was perfect with heels and the slit made the dress sophisticated sexy. I am actually a 32G and this had enough room in the bust, the fabric stretches nicely. I wore spanx but I don't think I needed to. I paired it with an incredible Oscar de la Renta necklace (also from RTR).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 14, 2017
I was on stage in front of a large group of people 6 months after having my third baby.
This dress hugged all the right places and hid the ones I'm still working on. The slit made the dress sexy. The draping is fantastic on a curvy body. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
April 9, 2017
Great black tie dress. Flattering, not too flimsy, great cut.
I'm 5'10" and a size 8. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 2, 2017
This dress was classy, but not too formal.
This is a fabric heavy dress and can get easily twisted and bunched up underneath. Though it can be worn with a regular bra!
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 2, 2017
Flawless Black Gown
Beautiful gown!! It fit as if it were made just for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
March 29, 2017
the band, people, and booze.
At 5'3 I wish I went with the regular but overall I got alot of complements and it was a hit once again. I love RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
March 29, 2017
I felt great in the dress.
I'm a 5' short curvy woman that just had a baby and I always have problems finding gowns anyway. This fit perfectly and the way the fabric wound around the dress was super flattering. The tag said "14" rather than "14P" so I was concerned at first but it fit perfectly. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 27, 2017
Winter black tie dress
I just had a baby, so loved that this dress covered everything. It was perfect for a black tie winter wedding. I ordered the long because of my height and heel size per recommendations and while the length of the dress wasn't too long, the overlay part was way too low and didn't cover where it should. The regular length would have worked. I could have worn the size smaller but they only sent one size.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 26, 2017
I loved the slit in the dress
The fit was a little big on the back and arms. I loved the dress though. I wish the draping on the front covered the stomach more but I wore spanks. So it turned out fine. Was perfect for the military ball.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 24, 2017
Simple and Elegant
Really liked this dress. Its simple but also has draping around the hips that adds a little character. Since its a long black gown you can accessorize the hell out of it :-) The only con is that as a short lady, I'm 5'0" the slit didn't make it past my knee, which was kind of disappointing because I wanted to have a peek of skin. But otherwise loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 23, 2017
Comfortable and Classy
This was actually my backup to the backup dress but it ended up working out great....I originally ordered the 2 and 4 and had RTR overnight me the 0 because they were both way too big! The fabric is so stretchy and comfortable - perfect for a winter black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
March 22, 2017
Classic elegance
This dress is stunning. I received so many compliments throughout the evening on the style and fit, not to mention it is one of the most comfortable formal gowns I've worn. I'm only 5'2 and I was a little hesitant to order the long but I read all the reviews stating the regular in this particular dress was short so I took a chance and I'm so glad I did! At the last minute, RTR had to send a regular because my alternate long had been damaged and was no longer available. The regular size stopped at mid-calf on me. Thankfully, the 2L fit like a dream and was the correct length with heels. Just something to keep in mind when choosing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2017
Class
If you are going for sexy but also classy great dress. I wore this for a formal event. The only thing I didn't like is the gathering on the front makes you look kinda pregnant. I probably should have went a size smaller. The slit come pretty high. Mid thigh. If you have some stellar quads to show off I would recommend this dress. For me this was my favorite part of this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect for a Winter Wedding
The dress was a perfect balance of classy and sexy. The side slit was just high enough to not be scandalous. I'm 5'4 and recommend getting the Regular size over the Petite size. The dress was just above the floor so it was easy to get around and dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2017
So comfortable and bump friendly
This dress was so comfortable! I am 24 weeks pregnant and though it was definitely a body contouring dress it was easy to move around and dance in all night without having to pull or adjust it often. I loved the detail of the draped material on the back and the ruching in the front. I would recommend this dress for sure whether preggo or not. I normally would have worn the 6 but wore the 8 for a little extra belly room and because the 6 was much shorter in the length and arms. I'm 5' 8" and wore this with flats and it was ok. Heels would have needed the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
March 13, 2017
The dress was great, I was comfortable and got compliments. I'd definitely rent the runway again!
I normally go up a size when I get petite sizes but wasn't thinking when I placed this order. Fortunately, I had the backup size 8, which was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
March 12, 2017
Love!
I wore this to a formal affair. I was 8 weeks pregnant and needed something that had structure, yet had some give in the abdomen. The draping was perfect.
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
March 12, 2017
The Dress looked great !!! I felt very comfortable !!! So many compliments !
I am 5ft 5in. 225lbs large bust . Every thing looked small. !!! what a great fit !!! I would wear a 18 but that was a size 20. so glad that I did !!!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
1 / 28

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×