Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

561 reviews

Fit
Small 72
True to Size 414
Large 31
Photos 371
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

The slit is sexy, yet classy

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was surpringly comfy.
Daynese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

I chose this dress for a formal birthday party and it was everything! One word sums this up Stunning

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove, It hugs all the right places, but is very forgiving and is extremely comfortable like wearing your favorite T-Shirt. It's a dress you can actually have a full meal in and not have to suck your stomach in Lol! Badgley Mishka never disappoints! The dress is the ultimate in elegance and a sure showstopper!
Meghan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. It was a little short in length, so I would suggest going with a long if you are wearing heels. Slit was high...when sitting it was kind of uncomfortable.
Danielle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

Loved this look! I wanted to pull off an old Hollywood glam get up and this dress was perfect!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went for an old Hollywood glam look and this dress was perfect! I sized up for length but the 10L was true to size. I'm tall and wore a five inch heel so the 12L was perfect. I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal event, wedding or black tie event. The ruching and detail on this dress was pretty. I felt glamorous for a day and received many compliments.
Red76
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Classy & Elegant

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a black tie event I attended with my husband. I needed something conservative and understated, but not dowdy. This was perfect. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. I added my grandmother's wrap-around pearls and I received many compliments. Next time I will probably order a LONG because I prefer things to hit the floor and not my ankle, but other than that...this was a total hit.
kam10
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Dress was too short.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too short for me and I ordered the 4L. I was disappointed in the condition I got the dress in. It was a bit uncomfortable but the slit in the dress is sexy.
Gabriele
Age: 26
Mar 22, 2014

I had to wear the 8 because the 6 was way too short

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt classy and sexy in this dress and got mani compliments
Maya
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Simplistic Perfection at its best.

Size worn: 14XL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress and I fell in love with it. I had no problems at all. I usually wear a size 10 or 12 but read other reviews and for taller ladies going up a size is great for length. I have a lack of hip but if I did it would have completed me even more. Paired with simple accessories and that is all. Pick this dress and you won't be let down.
caroline
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

I would live in this dress if I could...

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so sophisticated and sexy. I brought my A game to this event in this fitted-in-all-the-right-places stunner. I honestly felt like a movie star. The drape on the hips helped create the hourglass silhouette I've always wanted! My only issue was...I ordered a 6L and 8L. The 6L fit but was snug in the shoulders. I wanted to upsize to the 8L and it was much smaller than the 6??!! The good news (?) - I had two terrible colds in a row and lost 8 lbs in 10 days so the 6 worked. Otherwise - I would have been out of luck. Overall, the RTR concept is genius!!! It's so buttoned up and efficient. I will absolutely rent again and may never buy another dress.
Qsat
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Beautiful fit!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fir perfectly and looked beautiful on! I got so many compliments! I wore it to a formal wedding. I ordered sizes 0R and 0L just in case, and ended up wearing the 0L with 4 in heels (I'm 5'4). The slit isn't as high as shown on the model which worked out better for me.
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Mar 24, 2014

This dress was awesome!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 12 was a little big but my normal size is 10. However I ordered a 10R and it was wayyyy too short! And I'm only 5'5. So I went with the 12R because it was perfect length even though it was a little big. Regardless I received compliments all night long and had a blast with the dress!
Taechaun
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

I had an amazing night, I wore this dress to a black tie event.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beside the extra material around the waist part I loved the over all dress. The dress looks different on the model than it it did on me but I was able to make it work!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Classy, elegant, and a real compliment magnet.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my cousin's black tie Baltimore wedding. I didn't want to be too flashy or colorful, especially since the bride is kind of an understated gal herself, and I have bright red hair, so black was the perfect choice. I was also drawn by the long lines of the dress (I'm kind of short), and the slit gave exactly the amount of sexy that I was looking for. I wish the sleeves were 3/4 instead of long, and I noticed there was some damage (a small hole) right at the top of the slit, but it was not noticeable when I was wearing the dress. The zipper was tough to get up, and the draping looked weird at first, but one I had it on and zipped up, it only required a little rearranging. I will definitely consider renting this dress again!
Ashley
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 31, 2014

This dress was perfect for a black tie gala. I was comfortable and felt classic all evening.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs short, I am 5' 7" and with heels, the long was just long enough. I normally wear a 10/12 in dresses because I have broad shoulders, but the fabric allowed for more give than I anticipated. I wish I had the 8 to try on. It is incredibly flattering and easy to wear. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone who wants to feel like a movie star. The only trouble I really had was that the zipper stuck at the waist and the high back made it very difficult to zip without help.
RTR Customer
Apr 1, 2014

Comfortable, flattering, classy and sexy!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! The slit was such a sexy yet classy addition to this dress! I felt so comfortable and warm. I received tons of compliments on the dress. The service was great! I will definitely be using rent the runway again! Love love love!
RTR Customer
Apr 5, 2014

I got so many compliments ! I loved the dress and it was exactly the look I was going for !!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit perfect I'm 121 lbs and 5"5 it fit like a glove the 0R
Erica
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Loved the dress. Simply yet classy and best of all it was very comfortable.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size. A little heavy but breathable. Great dress, especially if you are working an event. Very happy with my Rent the Runway experience!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

I attended a James Bond performance at the Symphony and the dress was perfect for the special event.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly and I got so many compliments! I felt like a movie star! I ordered both the 6R and 4R but ended up wearing the 4. The dresses arrived clean and ready to wear. It was the perfect night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Perfect dress for my first mil ball!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my first military ball with my boyfriend and absolutely loved it! This ended up being the second dress I ordered because the first didn't fit but I am so happy I got this one! I received compliments on it all night and felt so elegant & sexy in it. It was the perfect dress for this occasion. I typically wear a 4 but rented the 6 because the 4 was unavailable. The 6 was a little big and bulged some around the zipper in the back so I could've worn the 4. I highly recommend this dress!
DemiWemi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Elegant with a sexy slit.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love the slit and the way the dress made me look extra thin. I wore it for my senior prom, the theme was Great Gatsby. Got soooo many compliments! I wore gold and black jewelry, everything went well together. Despite my dress coming in on the day of prom I pulled it off. I recommend it!
Erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

The dress was very comfortable and fit nicely.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'9" and the 0L came to about my ankles, so it was a little shorter than I expected. The sleeves only came to around the middle of my forearms, so those were a little shorter than the picture as well. The over all look was great though - neither of those things really took away from the dress. I added a gold belt to it just to break it up some and make it look a little younger. I have no chest, so I wore it without a bra, which made the dress even more comfortable. The slit is more towards the middle than off to the side.
Nicole
Usually wears: 8
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Went to a black tie wedding in New York and this dress was absolutely perfect for the night !

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit my body perfectly and hugged in all of the right places. The fabric is thicker - so if it's a night time wedding it's perfect. I'm a pretty busty gal and it made me feel really comfortable which is rare ! I got the long to make sure it was a good length with heels and it worked out great. The slit in the pictures is deceiving though- it's not nearly as high in real life. Formal, classy, stunning gown !
MamaT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

I LOVE THIS ELEGANT GOWN, I WISH I COULD OF KEPT IT!!!! EVERYTHING ABOUT IT WAS PERFECTION! RTR LOVE

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This gown actually molds to your figure without showing the imperfections we might have like belly, no buttocks, or no waistline. .etc.. This dress gives you the opportunity to feel and look like a Supermodel with a perfect body!
Morgan
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 21, 2014

It was a wonderful dress, fit true to size!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit me perfectly and I'm usually a size 14, but am very broad in the shoulders. The fabric around the midsection was a little weird, but it felt glamorous!
Adriane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

I ordered this dress bc I had a formal wedding event and (for me) a long gown was the only option.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using RTR and it was absolutely worth it!! I ordered a 2L as well as 4L. I decided on the 4L because it felt more comfortable and was a bit longer since I had a 3" heel. I truly enjoyed this beautiful dress because it fit like a glove, but still maintained it's sophisticated, but subtle sexual appeal. The slit did not seem quite as high as other's pictures, but it was enough when I walked. The fiancé loved it, as did I. Great job RTR! I have already rented 2 others for my Miami wedding!
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 26, 2014

Prom

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for prom and I often have trouble finding dresses that fit my long body but this fit perfect. No one had this dress and I got so many compliments.
Crystal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

High quality material; awkward overlay over hips, but it works. Slit was sexy but classy. Lovely!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of the dress was a bit awkward, but only in the hips area. The overlay didn't seem to lay flat as shown in the photo; however after playing around with it for a bit, it worked fine. I ordered both the 4R and 6R. The slit in the 4R was a bit higher vs the 6. The slit was sexy, but still classy! I'm a petite, 5'3, so paired this dress with a 5 inch heel to lengthen my frame so the dress wouldn't overpower my short height. PROS: The dress is made from high quality fabric, and is very well made. The top of the dress has sheer sleeves, and gives a hint of sex appeal at the top in addition to the bottom. CONS: The only downside to this dress for me was the overlay over the hip areas (hence the 4 out of 5 stars). It doesn't lay quite as flat as shown in the photo, and can seem a bit awkward when initially putting it on. I had to play with it a bit and maneuver the ruching to my liking. I received many compliments on this dress and would highly recommend.
RTR Customer
Apr 27, 2014

I surprisingly revived several compliments on such a simple, yet elegant dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I chose to wear this dress for prom 2014. I decided to go with a different look. Classy, simple yet elegant. I was uncertain if I made the right choice. Once I got to the venue I revived many compliments. I ordered a 0L and 2L I went with the 2L because it was very snug and tight, I love fitted nothing but not too snug. I wore 4 inch heels so I has glad I chose to get a long. Overall it was an amazing dress. I didn't get too hot while dancing! Extremely comfortable!
KATLYN
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Simple and elegant black dress for a black tie gala. Easy to pair with a great statement necklace.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size. I'm 5'6" and wore 5" heels and the length was perfect. The slit on the dress was awkward but I just pinned the sheath underneath over to the side and the slit was fine.
TA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

The dress was the best backdrop for my sapphire and diamond necklace and ring.

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pro: Heavy fabrics draped very nicely and hides all flaws. Great for chesty girls! Cons: The dress is seriously short. I'm 4'11 and was wearing a 4.5 inch heels and the dress hit the floor. I could fit the 2P as well but it was 2 inches off the ground. Be warn: This dress is great for straight body type with little hips. The draping on the hip areas accentuate it so it makes you look very hourglass.
Ciel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I was with my fellow Veterans

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect, and I received several compliments. The only issue for me was that it was a bit long and it was hard to sit without the slit exposing my legs.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Elegant and memorable, got compliments all night!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Photos don't do this dress justice. Had to rush to the showroom in New York the day of my event due to another dress not fitting. Snagged this one off the rack and it worked perfect. It was a size or two bigger than I normally wear, but still worked due to the material and cut. I felt like a million bucks in this dress!
Kena
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 1, 2014

Almost perfect for my law school prom

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got a lot of compliments but I didn't like how I felt in this dress :( It's beautiful but the split wasn't in the right place and the arms didn't really fit me. Also I felt like it was just a little too short. I may be over critical but I would suggest if you're a woman with long limbs to be careful renting a dress with sleeves. It's hard to know for sure how it'll fall.
MamiDoesItAll.com
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 3, 2014

I felt sexy and sophisticated

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress fit me like a glove. I especially loved the stretch in the material and the split is a head turner full review on MamiDoesItAll.com
RTR Customer
May 4, 2014

The dress fit perfectly. Everything was perfect. I was perfect. Thank you Rent the Runway!#fabulous

Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love Rent the Runway!!!! My night was amazing because I looked and felt amazing. I recommend this site for every girl because every girl deserves her night. I'm so glad I found out about this website!!!!
Whitley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 4, 2014

Lucky I fit in this dress with my 8 month pregnant bump!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is truly a gorgeous dress. I would say the fit is true to size, besides the length. Since I am 8 months pregnant and regularly wear a 4, I rented a 6L and an 8R (assuming the 8 would have a naturally longer length). I am 5'6 and would have been much more comfortable in an 8, but not kidding, the 8R skimmed my calves. I have never worn a long in my life, so I guess this was a first! My heels were 3 inches and the L was perfect length. The material of the dress is very stretchy and forgiving-so perfect for a pregnant person. The slit is so high, I wish I would have safety pinned it down a little so I could have sat all night without covering my exposed thigh, but it is definitely what makes the dress feel so sexy. Also, I have ordered from RTR before and this was my first negative experience. When asking for help with fit since I knew my size would be way different, all they said was "check the bump friendly section." When my dresses came and I would have been most comfortable in an 8L, I contacted them and didn't feel I got a good enough response in order to feel confident that a new dress would come in time, considering you have to return your other dresses within 24 hours unworn. I was disappointed in that, but very happy I could squeeze into the 6 and was showered in compliments by my hubby. :)
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 6, 2014

Felt elegant and sexy at the same time

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress with details that make it interesting despite being a solid color. Was complemented all night.
Kristina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
May 6, 2014

What made my even unforgettable is that was a celebration for me completing my BA!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved my dress! I got plenty of compliments!!
RTR Customer
May 6, 2014

All the compliments.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got like a billion compliments. This dress was the key to my amazing prom night. Everyone was all over me. The dress fit like a glove and I got a 6L because I wanted my dress longer. Someone even told me I looked like I should be on the cover of vogue!
Thuy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 7, 2014

Great night, great company

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was heavy, and thick, which made it super flattering. My husband and I are photographers and had an impromptu photo shoot in the parking garage after our gala, see pictures. I am 5'6.5" and wore 2.5 inch heels with the 10L and it was the perfect length to skim the floor.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×