Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$50 – $85 rental
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1122 reviews
Fit
Large
(64)
True to Size
(722)
Small
(102)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 2, 2016
Love the slit, super sexy but still sophisticated.
If you are taller than 5’8” and plan on wearing heals, definitely order a size long.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
May 3, 2016
This is the perfect dress. Sexy. Flattering. Comfortable.
This dress was great - it was a comfortable jersey knit and hit in all the right places. It was flattering and sexy with the high slit, but conservative enough to wear. With its subtle sexy, it was a win for a wedding or other blacktie event. I felt like a million dollars. I just had a baby when I wore this so it covered the areas I was most sensitive about.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2016
James Beard Awards, Lyric Opera House, Chicago
Note: I'm 5'9" and wore 5 inch heels, and the 12L was the perfect length. The fabric is heavy, stretchy, drapey and forgiving. Hid what shouldn't be seen (middle) and showed off what should (legs are still in good shape). It was perfect. Give yourself time to let the dress relax before you wear it; it's so heavy that when it arrived the hangers were broken and it was in a puddle at the bottom of the bag.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2016
Husband loved it and so did I
Modest sexy dress. Very comfortable. Was great for a winter banquet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
May 7, 2016
Super comfortable and forgiving. Cannot go wrong.
Fit is very forgiving and comfortable. Can easily dress it up with fun jewelry, but you don't need much. Slit runs a little higher than I am used to, but still felt great in it!
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2016
Even the bride said I looked stunning in the dress !
I'm usually 4-6 regular athletic body type and with that said the four regular was perfect. The drapery effect made me appear curvier then I actually am and it was so comfortable as a brides maid I would definitely rent this dress again. Pro: could wear a normal bra Shoe wise I always have to wear flats or sandals (ever since my ankle injury I cannot last in heels of any kind with out walking like a thriller video ) my flats were suitable with only a little drag but the flow of the dress was amazing when ever I walked none of the dress was on the floor
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2016
Stunning, elegant, classy and overall sexy!
This dress was stunning! It wasn't nearly as thick as everyone said it would be. I wore it for an April formal and didn't get overly warm in it. The material felt more like a spandex. It was definitely worth renting. I originally ordered the 0P and the 0R. I was only sent the 0P and not the 0R because someone had apparently ruined it before they could send it to me. This made me nervous but they sent two completely different dresses to me which did not help the situation at all. But thank God the 0P fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
May 8, 2016
Black Tie Event for Work
I'm just at eight months pregnant. I got a size up from my normal size as I am typically an 8 petite. It was a bit big around the shoulders and arms, but I needed the 10p for the chest and stomach. The dress was comfortable, with the right amount of stretch. From the front, you could barely tell I was pregnant. The side was another story :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
May 12, 2016
This dress was gorgeous. Hugged all the best places and was great at hiding tummy :)
ll
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 12, 2016
I loved this dress! Sexy and comfortable
I wore this dress for a James Bond themed Halloween party. I felt the part while also being very comfortable. It's a rare and perfect dress that can make you feel James Bond sexy and comfy at the same time.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
May 13, 2016
I wore this dress for my engagement pictures, I thought it was just the right blend of sexy & classy
The fit is true to size, but like the other reviews, I could've done a size down but in a long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
May 14, 2016
Sexy and Comfortable
If you are taller than 5'7'' get the long. The dress is very comfortable and has some stretch to it. Rent the runway is easy to use and easy to return. The slit adds the sexiness to the dress cut the rest of the dress makes an elegant statement.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 29
May 15, 2016
The dress of course!
loved this dress. I am 5'61 1/2 tall and was even 6 months pregnant wearing it. Fabric was stretchy and super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
May 17, 2016
It was very forgiving for a PP body, and no need to wear spanx.
Very stretchy material. The slit is higher than I thought, but not a problem. Also had some issues with the zipper, but once I got it zipped up it was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 18, 2016
I felt fabulous and received many compliments!
This beautiful dress hugs all the right curves and drapery hides areas that you might not want so tight on your body. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
May 18, 2016
Very Comfortable.
I ordered the 14L and the 12L and ended up wearing the 12. I was glad I ordered the Long because it was just right for me with 3" heels.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
May 18, 2016
loved it- flattering. conformable.
pros - super comfortable really no cons
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 21, 2016
Wore this dress for our holiday photos. Dress was really long but simple enough to be elegant.
Pros: Elegant, warm dress. Runs true to size. Cons: Long if you're short like me. Dress is a bit heavy too.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 25, 2016
It was a simple black dress but what made it stand out was the sleek fit and perfect slit
Fit was great! Was comfortable all night and a sparkly bracelet was just enough to top off the look! Recommend this dress for any dressy occasion! Can be dressed up or down!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
June 1, 2016
Beautiful, flattering dress!
I ordered a slate and willow gown originally for a memorial day weekend black tie wedding. However, the backup size became unavailable and RTR contacted me right away asking if I wanted a 2nd dress option and I chose this one (side note: great customer service!) I'm so happy I got this dress. I ended up not wearing the S&W gown as it was tight in the bust. This dress was great. The length was perfect with 3.5 inch heels. It should be noted the none drappy side is shorter than the other side. I probably could have worn the 12R, the sleeves and shoulders were a little loose on me. The slit when standing came a little above the knee but much higher when you are sitting. For a long sleeve black dress, I found the material to be very breathable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
June 4, 2016
I felt like the Queen of the Ball in my RTR gown. Thank You!
We attended a red carpet awards show event & I felt like I was the STAR! This dress fit in all the right places & it hid all the things that you don't want anyone to know you have in the wrong places. The fit was a little big, however with the ruuching it fit like a glove. The split is designed to show off just enough leg for a peek-a-boo effect. I received compliments all night long & my date said he felt like he was with his very own exclusive star of the show. The dress came quickly & the entire process from picking to shipping to wearing to sending it back, RTR makes it extremely easy. Thank you RTR & I will be renting again. Ladies get on board, you'll never feel or look better!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 11, 2016
When my original dress was unavailable, RTR helped me find a replacement dress
When my original order was unavailable, RTR helped me find a replacement dress. However, the 4R was not sent in the replacement order for some reason and they had to ship it to me the day of my event (two days after my order date). Customer Service was great. I enjoyed wearing the dress and was thankful that it all worked out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 28
June 23, 2016
Little black dress for a big affair
Wore this for a black tie orthodox wedding, so I needed a gown with coverage and this dress delivered. A little snug around the thighs but a size up would have been too big up top. Overall it was comfortable and flattering. A little heavy for June but I wasn't uncomfortable in 70 degree heat. I'd wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Weight: 130lbs
July 3, 2016
Classy Dress
Beautiful dress! I am usually a 4p. I ordered a 4p. It is very flattering. I would have felt more comfortable in a 6R. The petite was too short. For those reasons I did not wear it. If you are over 5ft and want to wear heels then I recommend a regular length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 11, 2016
Classy dress!
I wore this dress to a work gala. Perfect for a work event. Just enough sexy, but still conservative and sophisticated. This dress runs true to size and it is good at hiding any problem spots like love handles. It is a little long so if you are short like me, wear heels!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 16, 2016
Elegant & comfortable
The fit was true to size. The cut and style was very flattering. Perfect for a black tie wedding or formal event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2016
I was the most elegant women at the work event.
Fits perfect, brings out your best features on you. Complimented my style, wore it for a work event and I must say it was the right amount of sexy with the right amount of classy. I would so wear this dress again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2016
Flattering fit.
Great dress that would flatter any shape. A little too big though-I should have gone a size down. I got the 2R.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 175lbs
September 13, 2016
True show stopper!
I can't say enough good things about this dress! I work it to a Vegas on the Bay party cruise and it was perfect! The long sleeves kept me warm but not overly hot, the slit was the perfect length, not TOO much leg for a work event. And the rouching in the front made it so I felt good about myself even after eating and drinking all night. I ordered a 12 and 14 and could have easily worn the 12 but because of the length and my heels I wore the larger size, but this dress is absolutely true to size. Everyone needs to rent this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 18, 2016
Awesome dress! Easy process with ordering and returning.
Fit was a little loose but very comfortable. I originally ordered a 0p but they no longer had it available a week prior to my event. I ended up with the 0r which actually worked out really well. Only a little bit long with my 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
September 26, 2016
Beautiful!
I wish the rouching was high up to conceal the whole belly but otherwise a beautiful dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2016
The dress fit perfectly and looked phenomenal. I got compliments all night.
It was also incredibly comfortable, but if you're anxious about your stomach area, you might want to add spanx. I did and felt awesome all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2016
Elegant for black tie wedding!
I LOVED the leg slit in the dress. I actually thought it was a little boring but I was complimented all night and received a ton of positive feedback on my social media pages! Probably could have been a little more snug but the length was perfect with my four inch stilettos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 4, 2016
great dress! would rent again
fit is flattering, draping hides all sins. no need for shape wear! wore regular bra
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2016
Stunning!
I was nervous about this dress because I thought the material was going to be too heavy for an early October wedding but it was perfect! I received the dresses on time and I got the additional size just in case. It I didn't even need it! This dress fits perfectly and is so comfortable and looks stunning on! I received so many compliments and it really does help hide the stomach area! I am about 5"2 and the regular was the perfect length, I would suggest this dress to anyone bc it was comfortable, flattering and perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 9, 2016
This was my back up dress, but unfortunately I wasn't able to get my first choice in time.
Fits true to size. Comfortable, elegant, and warm for a fall wedding in Wisconsin! Loved the slit detail to add a little more sex appeal. Got tons of compliments all day. Wore a statement necklace and bold lips... Hollywood glam!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
October 11, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit great and looked great on my body, perfect dress!
This was my first time using RTR and it will not be my last. The customer service is great and fast to respond, just when I thought I wasn't going to get my dress in time for my event, customer service came through and got my package to be left at a UPS location so I could pick it up same day. The fit of the dress was true to size, I got the L because I'm tall and it was the perfect length with heels on. I got so many compliments and felt really comfortable in the dress. 10/10!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2016
Very sleek and comfortable!
This dress was quite elegant, and offered extreme comfort, perfect for a fancy, evening wedding reception. The 14 fit well, but the slit went up a little too high, so I chose to wear the 16, which was a little big in the arms and a bit long, but overall more comfortable. The dress was versatile. I dressed it down a little by wearing some gladiator sandals and simple sea glass earrings. It could have easily been more glamorous by adding a heel and more jewelry. If you are looking for a comfortable, versatile outfit with class, then this is your dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2016
Love!
Beautiful, elegant, sexy and comfortable Very forgiving around the tummy area
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
October 19, 2016
So comfortable and pretty!
I rented this dress for a black tie cancer benefit. I love this dress. I ordered an 8L because the reviews said that the long is good with high heels. I'm 5'4" and the long was extremely long. I ended up having to pin it up even though I was wearing 5 in. heels. Aside from that, I received many compliments and loved this dress. The material is not thin and not thick. It's perfect! If you're looking for something that's modest but sexy, go with this. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 29

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×