Badgley Mischka

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(103)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
Pretty dress but didn't fit
I loved the material, but I ordered an 8 and it was too big in the waist but tight around the ribs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 12, 2011
Couldn't have asked for more!
The dress itself fit true to size in the body, but was tight across my chest. I ordered my normal size, and one up, and while I ended up wearing the one up, by the end of the night it was bothering me and I wondered if I should have gone two sizes up to stay comfortable! Lots of compliments on this dress -big hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 17, 2011
dresses came damaged
This dress fit very snuggly across the hips and thighs, and came down far enough to make it wedding attire appropriate. However, while the 8 fit me, my husband pointed out that there was snagging across the bottom- it looked like it had been rubbed by sandpaper! Thankfully the 10 wasn't too big- but even it had a small smudge on the front.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 8, 2011
Stunning!
I wore this to my work holiday party and it really stood out among all the black cocktail dresses. The green is sort of shimmery, sort of teal, perfect for a holiday event. I think this dress runs a little small -- I'm 5'5" and 117 lbs and usually wear a 2, but the 2 wouldn't even zip up. Fortunately the 4 fit me and the fabric has a bit of stretch so it's pretty forgiving. Wore it with the Anton Heunis emerald ring. Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2011
Wore the dress to my work Christmas party- it looked fabulous and I got so many compliments!
I absolutely loved the fit and color of this dress. The only thing is that I would order your extra size one size up, rather than down. I'm usually a size 2 or 4, which is what I ordered and the 4 fit like a glove! The 2 was not going to fit at all- I'm 5'6" and 115lbs. But the 4 fit perfectly and it was such an amazing dress. I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
December 19, 2011
Gorgeous
LOVED this dress! Gorgeous color, tons of compliments. It does run small, as others have noticed. I usually am a 2, but the 4 fit like a glove. I am a bit curvy, though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
December 21, 2011
For best look- get the Spanx
I LOVED this dress. The color, length, style- all attractive and polished. The only thing I'd reccomend is getting Spanx. It helped keep the ruching in place and gives you an hourglass shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 28, 2011
Beautiful Color
I rented this dress for an October wedding on Long Island. The color was beautiful however the fit was a bit odd. I am a 34B and found the top a bit unflattering, it kind of flattened everything out. It also hugged the hip area as well. I am 5'2 with an athletic build, this dress may be more flattering on someone more narrow/slender. Ended up wearing my back-up instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
January 5, 2012
RUNS SMALL!
I normally wear a 6 or 8 and am an hourglass shape, this dress is gorgeous but definitely choose a size up from what you normally wear! The 8 became unavailable so I ended up picking out another dress, thanks to RTR's amazing service! I would have definitely needed the 8, but I liked the other dress better!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 12, 2012
LOVED LOVED LOVED
Absolutely fantastic. It was a bit tight when I first put it on but it stretched just a bit over the time I wore it. To be honest, I wore this for my bachelorette party in Vegas and I wore it out both nights we were there! The color is much more shimmery in person and just beautiful. I can't say enough. I am small up top and it fit me comfortably so I could see that it might not fit people larger than me. It is definitely tight in the hips and front. I didn't need spanx but I would have if I hadn't been doing Jillian Michaels religiously for the past few months! Anyway, I am seriously contemplating buying this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 23, 2012
The was my first time ordering from RTR and it was a great experience. I bought a $400 dress from Saks just as a backup in case something happened with this one. I ended up returning it and saved a ton of money with this one. This dress looked better, fit better, and didn't kill my checking account. My boyfriend was raving the whole night about how wonderful the idea behind RTR is. I will definitely order for my next event!
I wore this to a black tie Mardi Gars themed benefit. I received tons of compliments through out the entire night. I paired the Kate Spade Putting on the Ritz necklace with it and some small earrings and it looked great. The dress definitely runs tight. I'm typically a size 4 but I have a somewhat large butt so I had ordered the 6 and the 8. I wore the 8 and even though it was a little tight at first, it stretched out some. I wore Spanx underneath and it ended up looking great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 23, 2012
Felt like a million bucks
I ordered the 4 and the 6 in the dress and ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little too snug for my liking, but the 6 fit perfectly! The color is so pretty in pretty and I got a ton of compliments the whole night. I have a curvy figure (smaller waist and a larger hip/thigh area) and the dress was very flattering. The dress fit perfectly in the chest area as well. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful quality, great service.
I received a ton of compliments on this dress! It is beautiful. I usually wear a size 2 but I took the advice of the other reviewers and orders a few sizes up since I have wide hips. The size 4 fit but I wore the size 6 because it was more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
March 11, 2012
Fabulous!
A friend saw me wearing this dress and rushed to RTR to rent it herself for an upcoming wedding. In my opinion, that says it all. I wore it to a graduate school formal and it absolutely made me feel red carpet-worthy and was very appropriate to the occasion -- the dark green fabric has a subtle shimmer and feels very luxe. I do think that it runs small because the 0 fit me like a glove and as a very petite person, I often have trouble even with 0s (I actually got this as a backup dress to a Tracy Reese whose 0 was too loose). As for length, I am 5'2" and the dress hit me at just above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 23, 2012
Gorgeous color
The shoulder piece on this was larger than anticipated, the color is more turquoise than dark green, and I found it to run small for someone with an hourglass figure such as mine. That said, I thought it was absolutely gorgeous and loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2012
panic that the size 8 was too small.... Emergency call to RTR... so gracious and helpful!! Relief when the RTR box showed up at noon the next day with the larger size, just hours before prom.
Got this dress for my daughter's senior prom. She usually wears an 8, so we ordered an 8 and a size 6 as backup. The 8 was too snug! The prom was a day away. Rent the Runway rescued her by sending sizes 10 and 12 via Fed Ex overnight. She looked stunning and felt fabulous. Thanks RTR for saving the day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
Perfect dress, perfect timing. Worry and stress free every time I need a dress!!
I rented this for my sorority formal and I typically wear a size 2, but after I read the reviews I decided to order a 4 and 6, so glad I did! The 4 was literally perfect and a 2 would have been way to snug. This dress is gorgeous and I got a million compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2012
Fits like a glove.
I'm normally a size 0, and read the reviews and ordered one size larger - glad I did! It's a dress that hugs all curves, fits like a glove. The ruching helps hide lines, enhances curves. Comfortable to wear. Order one size up!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2012
I felt wonderful wearing a beautiful dress that made me feel like a movie star!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional night wedding and it was perfect! The dress does run small so I suggest renting up a size. I normal wear a 4 or 6 but after reading customer reviews I decided to rent a 6 and an 8. The 6 could have been worn but the 8 was much more comfortable. It fit slightly above the knee on me. This dress was beautiful and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 19, 2012
Runs Very Small
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses... and the 10 was pretty much too small. I ideally would have worn the 12... Order up at least a size or probably two to be safe!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
Black Tie NYC Dinner
Perfect dress for my black tie dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
August 30, 2012
didn't end up wearing
My husband didn't love this dress, so I wore something else. I think the dress was a bit on the runs smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Absolutely gorgeous dress!
I'm going to have to go ahead and say it ran a little small and here's why. I'm usually a 0-2 but I couldn't zip the 0 and just barely squeezed into the 2. The 4 could've been way too big but I don't know. Even though it was tighter than I usually like it had the rouching on the sides and you couldn't tell. I think it was just perfect in the 2 on my body. All my pictures looked fantastic in this dress. I would actually rent the same one again I loved it that much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 11, 2012
I slipped on that gorgeous dress, soaked up the beautiful color and I just felt beautiful.
The fit was perfect. A lot of the reviews say the size runs small, and I do agree but only a tiny bit small. I typically wear a 2, ordered the 2 and 4. I wore the 2 and it fit like a glove. I was concerned about the material (in the pic it looked a bit stiff and heavy to me) but it was light, and soft and had just enough stretch in it. The color is a beautiful, rich green, the shoulder piece is not too big or distracting and the fit is wonderful...very flattering and classy. I wore this to a wedding and received a lot of compliments. This was a great choice and I was sad to have to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
I felt elegant and stood out in a sea of black at an art museum wedding. Got many compliments!
My boyfriend was stunned when he first saw me in this dress, so I guess it was a good sign. :) It felt amazing on... just stretchy enough to be comfortable, though definitely fitted in the bust. Being a chesty girl, I'm very glad I sized up. The 2 would have been far too tight. The color is gorgeous - a cross between teal and emerald with many varying shades when the light hits it. And it's worth noting that the dress is not satin as it appears in the photo, but rather similar to a silk shantung, both in iridescence and feel (which to me is a good thing!) My only complaint is that it would sometimes ride up as I walked around (it is a bit in the pic), so I had to keep fussing with it, but overall it was lovely and I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2012
Great standout dress!
I usually wear a 10, but it was a bit snug so the I settled for the 12. The color was vibrant and the dress was so fun, I would highly suggest this for a formal event! Very comfortable and easy to wear all night. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
Great dress, but lightly soiled
This dress was beautiful. Thankfully, I listened to the reviews and ordered a size up - I definitely needed it. I tried the dress on right when I got it, looked at it for size, loved it and hung it up for the next night. However, when I put it on for the wedding - in the bright lights of my bathroom - I noticed a very large water stain down the center of the dress. Luckily, the ruching in the fabric and the dark color/dimly lit reception helped it to blend into the fabric relatively unnoticed. The night was wonderful, and I felt very good in the dress. Just a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the rental. RTR did offer me 25% off my next rental as an apology...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress, color is awesome
Fit runs small, definitely not for the large busted. I usually wear 6, and the 6 in this dress was a good, but very figure-hugging, fit. I'm glad I had the 8 to compare it to, and I almost wore the 8 until I "spanx'd" the size 6. Color is great, length was perfect (just above the knee and I'm 5'10"). This would be a great dress for Holiday parties. Neckline does not lend itself to a necklace, just some fun earrings and a bracelet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Gorgeous color, unique style
I loved the color and fit of this dress! It's VERY fitted, but gives you a nice shape. I'm almost always a size 0, but this dress I wore the 2. Thank god for the extra size. I'm not usually a one shouldered dress girl, but this one may have changed my mind. It wasn't too short which I also liked. I got a ton of compliments on it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
What made my night unforgettable was the look on my husbands face when he saw me walk out in it
The dress was nice fitting .... I ordered both a 4&6 just in case I wasn't able to fit the 4 .... Once i got the dresses i tried both on and i felt like the 4 was a little snug but the 6 was too loose .... The 4 hugged what I wanted to hug and hide what I needs to hide .... Lol .... Overall I enjoyed the dress and I received a lot of compliments on the dress .....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
pretty color, snug fit
This dress is more jewel-like in color than the picture shows. It was a bit snug in the hip area if you're curvy. I also folded the shoulder flap under since I felt that it was a bit too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Will order again in the correct size.
Beautiful dress. Ran very small across bust. I am a 36D. Fabric is gorgeous and color is wonderful. Just be sure you order up a size. I wore my back up dress instead.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
Great for a Holiday Work Event
I wore the dress to a formal holiday dinner for work. I was a bit nervous based on other reviews that the color wouldn't be how it appears in the photo--I think what the photo doesn't capture is that there is a good deal of shine to the fabric, which does provide a more pale/teal tone in certain light. That being said, I wouldn't recommend this dress for a daytime event, but it was perfect for a holiday party in the evening! One last note--I would say the dress runs a full size small. I normally wear a 4 in dresses, but the 6 fit great (and the 4...did not!).
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2012
Felt like a rock star all night!
Great company and service! Wore this to my company's Christmas party, and got compliments from everyone. I only ordered one size, and fasted all day because I was worried it would be too tight. It worked out ok though. The big shoulder thing was kind of weird, but I guess that's high fashion for ya. You can't help but have a great time in one of these dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2012
Gorgeous color, beautiful fit!
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and I couldn't have been more pleased. This dress is phenomenal, and I got compliments on it all night. The color is gorgeous - more teal in some lights, and more emerald in others. The dress definitely does run small, so I would absolutely suggest sizing up, especially if you're busty or have fuller hips. I was so pleased with my RTR experience with this dress that I also have reserved a dress from the site for NYE!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I ordered this dress in a larger size than I normally wear because I have big hips and I kept reading that it was tight in the hips and I am really glad I did. I ordered this dress in a size 8 and a size 10, I didn't actually get the size 8 (they sent me a different dress instead of this one) but luckily the 10 fit. It fit my helps perfectly but it was a little large in the bust but not too incredibly large. It really is a gorgeous dress! I would recommend getting this dress just remember it does run small and it small through the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful emerald color and very striking asymmetrical shoulder.
Very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 26, 2012
Didn't get to wear it :(
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress :( I ordered the 4 and 6, both were too small, and the 6 which I could have made fit had a very big stain on the front. Based on my location and the time frame RTR was unable to get me a replacement dress for Christmas Eve. I so wanted this to work out as I thought it was a beautiful dress, but just wasn't in the cards.
RTR CustomerDecember 31, 2012
Hi Elizabeth! So sorry that your rental was not a success as was stained. Definitely should not have received something with a stain on it. Please contact a stylist and we'll make sure to refund you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved it!
Once I got over the shoulder flap and how small it ran, I really liked wearing this dress! The color is beautiful and it is flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 5, 2013
Pretty color "of the moment" but not my favorite.
Ordered the 2 and a 4 as a backup. The 2 fit but felt tight across chest and under arm. The 4 was better on top but too big on the bottom. Not wild about the shoulder detail, the dress would be really pretty without it. Unfortunately this dress did not work out for me but as always, RTR's customer service was amazing so no worries. Overall the dress would be really pretty for a prom or on a body that is A cup.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×