Badgley Mischka

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(103)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Body type: Pear
September 5, 2011
Beautiful and very flattering dress that disguised my post-baby tummy completely. It is stretchy and very comfortable to wear. The color is true emerald, in the picture on my screen it looked a little more teal, but beautiful. Just add high heels and some sparkly earrings and you are red carpet ready!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2011
This dress was beautiful in person. I got tons of compliments. The color was a bit brighter than the online picture. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and went with the 6. It was snug, but it's supposed to fit that way. Loved this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2011
This dress was perfect! I ordered a size 4 and 6 and the 4 fit great :) It came in timely and was so much easier than going shopping in a mall! I will be ordering again for my next event for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2011
The dress was comfortable to wear and I felt beautiful in it.
This is an amazing dress! I received tons of compliments and double takes (the positive kind) when I wore it. I am 5’5, a 34B and 125 pounds; the size 4 fit me well. The dress is emerald green with a beautiful sheen that catches the light. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2011
I got a 2 and a 4 - the 4 was a bit big in the bust (I'm a 32DD/34D) but fit great on my hips, the 2 fit perfectly in the bust but was tighter than I'd prefer in the hips. I wore the 2. Ended up being knee length on me since I'm much shorter than the model! Overall, it fit great. The fabric looks like satin in the picture, but is actually polyester-taffeta. It is fairly stretchy, which helps the fit.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 11, 2011
I found this dress to be very flattering. I liked the length too... not too short and not too long. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 and I took the 4 in this dress (with a pair of spanx of course). I recommend that you wear this dress if you want to be noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2011
Loved it.
If you're on the busty side, definitely size up! Other than that, what a great dress! Very comfortable. Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 12, 2011
Couldn't have asked for more!
The dress itself fit true to size in the body, but was tight across my chest. I ordered my normal size, and one up, and while I ended up wearing the one up, by the end of the night it was bothering me and I wondered if I should have gone two sizes up to stay comfortable! Lots of compliments on this dress -big hit!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2011
LOVED this dress for my friends wedding - fit my body perfectly - I am usually between and 2 and 4 and the 4 was perfect. It made my waist look so tiny because of the pleating detail and the color is so rich. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2011
Super cute dress! It is much more emerald in person. Very flattering but form fitting. I am between a 2 and 4, so I opted for the 4 because I thought the 2 was a bit too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 31, 2011
One of the mother of the bride's friends came up to tell me how great I looked!
I rented this dress for a friend's black tie wedding in NYC, and it was perfect! Great, rich color for the fall/winter, and nicer (heavier) fabric in person. It's form-fitting, but was true to size and very flattering.
AmyJanuary 31, 2012
This is my review - not sure why it didn't say what size I rented, but I wore a 0, and usually wear a 0. I weigh 108 and am a little hippy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2011
Wore this dress to my brother's wedding and got many compliments on it: the color, the fit, and overall how elegant it looked! I wear a 2 or 4 and the 4 fit me just right. Paired it with champagne colored Badgley Mischka heels to complete the look!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2011
Love it!
I wore this in a size 8, to my cousin's wedding. Even though I'm only 5'1", the hem hit just above the knee and fit perfectly. The ruching accentuated my curves and the material was stretchy enough to hold my girls in place (36D)... without giving me an unsightly side-cleavage muffin top. Since the material has some give, I probably could have worn a 6. I got so many complements throughout the night and would love to rent this dress again in the future.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 15, 2011
Loved it!!
Wore it to a friend's wedding & got compliments all night. The color is such a vibrant emerald green. The pic doesn't do it justice. I'm def renting from RTR for all events from now on. Very satisfied customer :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 17, 2011
dresses came damaged
This dress fit very snuggly across the hips and thighs, and came down far enough to make it wedding attire appropriate. However, while the 8 fit me, my husband pointed out that there was snagging across the bottom- it looked like it had been rubbed by sandpaper! Thankfully the 10 wasn't too big- but even it had a small smudge on the front.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
November 22, 2011
Gorgeous!
I can't say enough great things about this dress. Fit perfect, looked gorgeous, and had STRETCH in it. Super comfortable and I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'5" and it hit a bit above the knee which was perfect. Want to rent it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2011
Fantastic!!
This dress is absolutely fabulous! It fit perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 8, 2011
Stunning!
I wore this to my work holiday party and it really stood out among all the black cocktail dresses. The green is sort of shimmery, sort of teal, perfect for a holiday event. I think this dress runs a little small -- I'm 5'5" and 117 lbs and usually wear a 2, but the 2 wouldn't even zip up. Fortunately the 4 fit me and the fabric has a bit of stretch so it's pretty forgiving. Wore it with the Anton Heunis emerald ring. Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2011
Wore the dress to my work Christmas party- it looked fabulous and I got so many compliments!
I absolutely loved the fit and color of this dress. The only thing is that I would order your extra size one size up, rather than down. I'm usually a size 2 or 4, which is what I ordered and the 4 fit like a glove! The 2 was not going to fit at all- I'm 5'6" and 115lbs. But the 4 fit perfectly and it was such an amazing dress. I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 18, 2011
Sexy and Sophisticated
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back...but I did anyway. I'm a size 12 with lots of curves and this dress looked stunning on me. I wore it at the Christmas party my husband and I hosted in our home to over 100 people and everyone is still talking about "the Dress" and even people who were not there that evening have seen pictures on facebook and twitter and they love "the Dress" as well. I wore this dress with high waisted Spanx and a regular strapless bra. I'm 5'6" so the dress was about 3-4 inches above my knee. I wore it with nude platform heels and I also wore a large emerald cocktail ring from RTR as well. I wore my hair up loosely and topped it all of with a glass of Champagne in my right hand. Can't wait to rent some more dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
December 19, 2011
Gorgeous
LOVED this dress! Gorgeous color, tons of compliments. It does run small, as others have noticed. I usually am a 2, but the 4 fit like a glove. I am a bit curvy, though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
December 21, 2011
For best look- get the Spanx
I LOVED this dress. The color, length, style- all attractive and polished. The only thing I'd reccomend is getting Spanx. It helped keep the ruching in place and gives you an hourglass shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 28, 2011
Beautiful Color
I rented this dress for an October wedding on Long Island. The color was beautiful however the fit was a bit odd. I am a 34B and found the top a bit unflattering, it kind of flattened everything out. It also hugged the hip area as well. I am 5'2 with an athletic build, this dress may be more flattering on someone more narrow/slender. Ended up wearing my back-up instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
January 5, 2012
RUNS SMALL!
I normally wear a 6 or 8 and am an hourglass shape, this dress is gorgeous but definitely choose a size up from what you normally wear! The 8 became unavailable so I ended up picking out another dress, thanks to RTR's amazing service! I would have definitely needed the 8, but I liked the other dress better!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 12, 2012
LOVED LOVED LOVED
Absolutely fantastic. It was a bit tight when I first put it on but it stretched just a bit over the time I wore it. To be honest, I wore this for my bachelorette party in Vegas and I wore it out both nights we were there! The color is much more shimmery in person and just beautiful. I can't say enough. I am small up top and it fit me comfortably so I could see that it might not fit people larger than me. It is definitely tight in the hips and front. I didn't need spanx but I would have if I hadn't been doing Jillian Michaels religiously for the past few months! Anyway, I am seriously contemplating buying this dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2012
stand out!
This dress came true to size and I was very happy with the fit- the ruched mid section was very flattering! I was really impressed with how the dress comes to you, perfectly packaged and in a garment bag- perfect for me, since I was hopping on a plane the next day. I wore this to a pretty formal winter wedding and it definitely stood out of the crowd! The color is a little darker than shown, but I loved the deep emerald. This was my first try out for RTR and it was a win all around! I will absolutely be renting more!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 22, 2012
I loved the fast service. I was told I looked like a model all night!
I was very excited to rent this dress. First, the RTR service is awesome! I received the dress early and quickly opened the box. I was not disappointed. The green is more vibrant in person...and the 4 fit like a glove! i had ordered a 4 and 6, based on other reviews, but I did not notice a significant difference between the 4 and 6. I think the 6 was a tad looser in the bust. I felt beautiful in the dress and got many compliments that night. My boyfriend also liked the dress. Very comfortable..no fidgeting/fixing the dress all night. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2012
Great color, fit, and quality
This was my first RTR dress. Amazing! It came on time and met my expectations. I usually wear a 6 and it fit snug/true to size, although if you want a little more breathing room, you should order a size up. I wore this for a ballet gala which I had to work at as well and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is great and more vibrant in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 26, 2012
The ease of RTR made attending a formal event almost stress-free.
Great color! I went to a formal event with a bunch of conservative lawyers. Most of them wore black, but this green was a statement, a subdued one. I usually wear a 0, but the 0 and the 2 fit almost identical (its very tight across the backside). I opted for the 2, since I felt like there was a slight skin bulge under my left arm in the 0. It was very comfortable and easy to pull off.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2012
your dress fits like a glove
LOVED this dress. It was so so pretty on. The color of the dress is even better in person. I do have a bubble butt, so it was a little snug....keep that in mind. Still squeezed into though and got a bunch of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 23, 2012
The was my first time ordering from RTR and it was a great experience. I bought a $400 dress from Saks just as a backup in case something happened with this one. I ended up returning it and saved a ton of money with this one. This dress looked better, fit better, and didn't kill my checking account. My boyfriend was raving the whole night about how wonderful the idea behind RTR is. I will definitely order for my next event!
I wore this to a black tie Mardi Gars themed benefit. I received tons of compliments through out the entire night. I paired the Kate Spade Putting on the Ritz necklace with it and some small earrings and it looked great. The dress definitely runs tight. I'm typically a size 4 but I have a somewhat large butt so I had ordered the 6 and the 8. I wore the 8 and even though it was a little tight at first, it stretched out some. I wore Spanx underneath and it ended up looking great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 23, 2012
Felt like a million bucks
I ordered the 4 and the 6 in the dress and ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little too snug for my liking, but the 6 fit perfectly! The color is so pretty in pretty and I got a ton of compliments the whole night. I have a curvy figure (smaller waist and a larger hip/thigh area) and the dress was very flattering. The dress fit perfectly in the chest area as well. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful quality, great service.
I received a ton of compliments on this dress! It is beautiful. I usually wear a size 2 but I took the advice of the other reviewers and orders a few sizes up since I have wide hips. The size 4 fit but I wore the size 6 because it was more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2012
I was so happy the bride loved my dress!
I had a great time in this dress. When it first arrived I was concerned about the size at it looks to be very small. Once on it is a very true fit so if you don't want it to be tight definitely order a size up to be safe. Received many compliments on the unique style and pretty color. I certainly recommend this dress the length is perfect for an elegant affair!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
March 11, 2012
Fabulous!
A friend saw me wearing this dress and rushed to RTR to rent it herself for an upcoming wedding. In my opinion, that says it all. I wore it to a graduate school formal and it absolutely made me feel red carpet-worthy and was very appropriate to the occasion -- the dark green fabric has a subtle shimmer and feels very luxe. I do think that it runs small because the 0 fit me like a glove and as a very petite person, I often have trouble even with 0s (I actually got this as a backup dress to a Tracy Reese whose 0 was too loose). As for length, I am 5'2" and the dress hit me at just above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2012
Beautiful fabric!!
Great color and absolutely stunning dress! Received many compliments on this dress! It was a little snug, but it's meant to be that way. Very satisfied with this rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 14, 2012
Beautiful, stunning color
I wore this for a black tie affair--stunning, absolutely stood out among a sea of black and red. The length was just above the knee and the shoulder detail is beautiful. The color is very vibrant. I rented a 6 and a 4, the 6 was a good fit but really figuring flattering--it might not be appropriate at a more conservative event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 23, 2012
Gorgeous color
The shoulder piece on this was larger than anticipated, the color is more turquoise than dark green, and I found it to run small for someone with an hourglass figure such as mine. That said, I thought it was absolutely gorgeous and loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2012
i love it!
It's a gorgeous dress and I wore it to my sorority formal. It's a little long for me, 5'3" but I still like it a lot. The color is more impressive than it is on the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2012
panic that the size 8 was too small.... Emergency call to RTR... so gracious and helpful!! Relief when the RTR box showed up at noon the next day with the larger size, just hours before prom.
Got this dress for my daughter's senior prom. She usually wears an 8, so we ordered an 8 and a size 6 as backup. The 8 was too snug! The prom was a day away. Rent the Runway rescued her by sending sizes 10 and 12 via Fed Ex overnight. She looked stunning and felt fabulous. Thanks RTR for saving the day!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×