Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(103)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
Perfect dress, perfect timing. Worry and stress free every time I need a dress!!
I rented this for my sorority formal and I typically wear a size 2, but after I read the reviews I decided to order a 4 and 6, so glad I did! The 4 was literally perfect and a 2 would have been way to snug. This dress is gorgeous and I got a million compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2012
Fits like a glove.
I'm normally a size 0, and read the reviews and ordered one size larger - glad I did! It's a dress that hugs all curves, fits like a glove. The ruching helps hide lines, enhances curves. Comfortable to wear. Order one size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 4, 2012
I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks in the dress. It is so nice to be able to rent a dress like this to attend some of these fancy work events I have to go to without breaking the bank!
This dress is gorgeous! The color is stunning and the fabric is thick and well made, so I felt like it was holding my in and keeping my shape. It fits true to size and I would definitely order it again. Would be perfect for a Christmas Party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2012
I felt wonderful wearing a beautiful dress that made me feel like a movie star!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional night wedding and it was perfect! The dress does run small so I suggest renting up a size. I normal wear a 4 or 6 but after reading customer reviews I decided to rent a 6 and an 8. The 6 could have been worn but the 8 was much more comfortable. It fit slightly above the knee on me. This dress was beautiful and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 19, 2012
Runs Very Small
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses... and the 10 was pretty much too small. I ideally would have worn the 12... Order up at least a size or probably two to be safe!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
August 9, 2012
Was sick when this pic was taken. This is me, trying on the dress. I posted this pic and a pic of me in my back up dress to ask FB which dress I should wear.
I loved this dress so so so much! The only thing I did was the shoulder flap was to fashion daring for me so I tucked it under. Even then the dress still looked fabulous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
Black Tie NYC Dinner
Perfect dress for my black tie dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Classy and unique
This dress was the perfect choice for a large formal wedding. The color is standout (it's a bit more teal than it looks on my monitor) but the material and cut is classy and gorgeous. The sleeve and bodice has nice structure, not too floppy. I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
August 25, 2012
felt like a princess!
I absolutely loved everything about this dress. The fabric feels so smooth and the dress is slim fitting, but not constricting. The length was perfect -- not too long, not too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2012
didn't end up wearing
My husband didn't love this dress, so I wore something else. I think the dress was a bit on the runs smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Nice but a little too flashy
This fit me extremely well, but that leaf-like shoulder adornment is much bigger and poofier than the photos would have you believe and the dress is VERY form-fitting and shiny. I prefer something a little more subtle in general.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 19, 2011
The service is always great!
I ordered a 4 and 6. I tried on the 6 first and since it fit I didn't bother with the 4. The color in person is better than the pic. It's has a gold sheen to the fabric really pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2012
Hair and makeup matched with a great dress make for a glam night!
This dress is gorgeous and was so fun!!
RTR CustomerSeptember 18, 2012
You looked fabulous! Works great with your coloring.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
Liked it a lot
Received a lot of compliments on this dress. Some things I did not anticipate were the color was a lot brighter then I had thought(more of a dark turquoise green rather then hunter green) and the angle across the chest was higher then I thought. The cut of the dress was beautiful, and very flattering!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
I would love to have this in my closet permanently.
It is great for formal affairs and dates. Looked so chic!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 1, 2012
This was a great dress! It was very form fitting and hugged you in all the right places!
Great dress, true hunter green, great fit and not revealing but sexy at the same time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Absolutely gorgeous dress!
I'm going to have to go ahead and say it ran a little small and here's why. I'm usually a 0-2 but I couldn't zip the 0 and just barely squeezed into the 2. The 4 could've been way too big but I don't know. Even though it was tighter than I usually like it had the rouching on the sides and you couldn't tell. I think it was just perfect in the 2 on my body. All my pictures looked fantastic in this dress. I would actually rent the same one again I loved it that much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
Worked great! Fit very well
Very comfortable, did not feel too tight, great color. Ran true to size. I just had a baby when I wore it so wore a bigger size than usual. Usually wear a 4 but wore a 6. Worked great.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 9, 2012
Simple and easy! Can not wait to use RTR again.
The fit of this dress was perfect and it was comfortable. I choose to wear all gold accents, my shoes, jewelry and bag. It looked great, I got compliments all night long. Oh and no dress sitting in my closet that I will never wear again. I will say that in some of the review photos this dress appeared to be lighter that the web pictures, but the dress that was sent to me was exactly like the one on the web site. I prefer classic fashion and this dress fit the bill.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 11, 2012
I slipped on that gorgeous dress, soaked up the beautiful color and I just felt beautiful.
The fit was perfect. A lot of the reviews say the size runs small, and I do agree but only a tiny bit small. I typically wear a 2, ordered the 2 and 4. I wore the 2 and it fit like a glove. I was concerned about the material (in the pic it looked a bit stiff and heavy to me) but it was light, and soft and had just enough stretch in it. The color is a beautiful, rich green, the shoulder piece is not too big or distracting and the fit is wonderful...very flattering and classy. I wore this to a wedding and received a lot of compliments. This was a great choice and I was sad to have to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress. Incredible color.
This dress is GORGEOUS in person. I got so many compliments on it. The color is not quite as dark as it appears in the picture online, but the color is absolutely beautiful. This dress was perfect for my fiance's company Christmas party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
i LOVED it!!!!!!!!!
I usually wear and 2 or 4 but since I have implants, I have trouble with side zippers. I ordered a 4 & 6 based on the "runs small" reviews. I needed the 6 cause 4 wouldn't zip past my chest! I received so many compliments!!!! Can't wait to order again
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
October 15, 2012
I could not believe all of the compliments I received that night! I felt like a million bucks!
This dress fits like a glove. The color and fabric are amazing. It looked and felt so luxurious!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and very flattering, the one shoulder added drama to a cocktail dress!
Very comfortable dress, very forgiving in areas that you would like to hide. Rich jewel tone color. I received compliments all night! So glad I rented this dress. RTR has the most amazing customer service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
I felt elegant and stood out in a sea of black at an art museum wedding. Got many compliments!
My boyfriend was stunned when he first saw me in this dress, so I guess it was a good sign. :) It felt amazing on... just stretchy enough to be comfortable, though definitely fitted in the bust. Being a chesty girl, I'm very glad I sized up. The 2 would have been far too tight. The color is gorgeous - a cross between teal and emerald with many varying shades when the light hits it. And it's worth noting that the dress is not satin as it appears in the photo, but rather similar to a silk shantung, both in iridescence and feel (which to me is a good thing!) My only complaint is that it would sometimes ride up as I walked around (it is a bit in the pic), so I had to keep fussing with it, but overall it was lovely and I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
The Emerald color and flattering dress was GLAMOUROUS! Everyone complimented it!
Pro- fit like a glove! NO cons!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2012
Great standout dress!
I usually wear a 10, but it was a bit snug so the I settled for the 12. The color was vibrant and the dress was so fun, I would highly suggest this for a formal event! Very comfortable and easy to wear all night. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
Great dress, but lightly soiled
This dress was beautiful. Thankfully, I listened to the reviews and ordered a size up - I definitely needed it. I tried the dress on right when I got it, looked at it for size, loved it and hung it up for the next night. However, when I put it on for the wedding - in the bright lights of my bathroom - I noticed a very large water stain down the center of the dress. Luckily, the ruching in the fabric and the dark color/dimly lit reception helped it to blend into the fabric relatively unnoticed. The night was wonderful, and I felt very good in the dress. Just a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the rental. RTR did offer me 25% off my next rental as an apology...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress, color is awesome
Fit runs small, definitely not for the large busted. I usually wear 6, and the 6 in this dress was a good, but very figure-hugging, fit. I'm glad I had the 8 to compare it to, and I almost wore the 8 until I "spanx'd" the size 6. Color is great, length was perfect (just above the knee and I'm 5'10"). This would be a great dress for Holiday parties. Neckline does not lend itself to a necklace, just some fun earrings and a bracelet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Gorgeous color, unique style
I loved the color and fit of this dress! It's VERY fitted, but gives you a nice shape. I'm almost always a size 0, but this dress I wore the 2. Thank god for the extra size. I'm not usually a one shouldered dress girl, but this one may have changed my mind. It wasn't too short which I also liked. I got a ton of compliments on it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
What made my night unforgettable was the look on my husbands face when he saw me walk out in it
The dress was nice fitting .... I ordered both a 4&6 just in case I wasn't able to fit the 4 .... Once i got the dresses i tried both on and i felt like the 4 was a little snug but the 6 was too loose .... The 4 hugged what I wanted to hug and hide what I needs to hide .... Lol .... Overall I enjoyed the dress and I received a lot of compliments on the dress .....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
pretty color, snug fit
This dress is more jewel-like in color than the picture shows. It was a bit snug in the hip area if you're curvy. I also folded the shoulder flap under since I felt that it was a bit too big.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2012
Perfect for the holidays!
Loved the structured fit of the dress :) The emerald green was stunning and I received many compliments! I loved the one shoulder, and the ruching of the dress was very forgiving :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2012
Perfect in every way!
Vibrant color and very comfortable. Material was forgiving enough to dance (and eat). Wore this to a black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
Gorgeous and comfortable dress for a formal affair!
Although I've been a member of RTR for years, this was my first rental. I was a little apprehensive at first because I'm short but curvy through the hips so fit can be an issue for me. However, I was pleasantly surprised! The dress, clutch, and earrings all arrived on time and were in excellent condition. The dress fit well and was very comfortable. I recieved a ton of compliments on the dress from both my own relatives and relatives of the bride. I definitely don't regret my rental and I look forward to renting a similar style again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2012
Best Dress Ever.... Fun and classic!
Hugged the right places and hid the omg wish I could lose weight places, all while looking classy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
December 4, 2012
loved it!
it was a little tough to get into, because it's meant to be tight...but it was worth the effort. this dress was beautiful and i felt so happy and confident in it. i felt really skinny in it which always made the night more fun. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Will order again in the correct size.
Beautiful dress. Ran very small across bust. I am a 36D. Fabric is gorgeous and color is wonderful. Just be sure you order up a size. I wore my back up dress instead.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
Great for a Holiday Work Event
I wore the dress to a formal holiday dinner for work. I was a bit nervous based on other reviews that the color wouldn't be how it appears in the photo--I think what the photo doesn't capture is that there is a good deal of shine to the fabric, which does provide a more pale/teal tone in certain light. That being said, I wouldn't recommend this dress for a daytime event, but it was perfect for a holiday party in the evening! One last note--I would say the dress runs a full size small. I normally wear a 4 in dresses, but the 6 fit great (and the 4...did not!).
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2012
Felt like a rock star all night!
Great company and service! Wore this to my company's Christmas party, and got compliments from everyone. I only ordered one size, and fasted all day because I was worried it would be too tight. It worked out ok though. The big shoulder thing was kind of weird, but I guess that's high fashion for ya. You can't help but have a great time in one of these dresses.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×