Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

197 reviews

Fit
Small 103
True to Size 93
Large 1
Photos 95
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2011

The dress was comfortable to wear and I felt beautiful in it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is an amazing dress! I received tons of compliments and double takes (the positive kind) when I wore it. I am 5’5, a 34B and 125 pounds; the size 4 fit me well. The dress is emerald green with a beautiful sheen that catches the light. I would definitely rent it again.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 19, 2011

The service is always great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered a 4 and 6. I tried on the 6 first and since it fit I didn't bother with the 4. The color in person is better than the pic. It's has a gold sheen to the fabric really pretty.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 31, 2011

One of the mother of the bride's friends came up to tell me how great I looked!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a friend's black tie wedding in NYC, and it was perfect! Great, rich color for the fall/winter, and nicer (heavier) fabric in person. It's form-fitting, but was true to size and very flattering.
GK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Dec 7, 2011

Beautiful Dress for Holidays

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Wore this dress during a formal holiday date with my husband. Loved the style and color but wish I had gone a size up! I usually wear a 4 and it was VERY form fitting. Because of this I advise wearing spanx underneath, especially if you have an hour glass shape.
Jannell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2011

Wore the dress to my work Christmas party- it looked fabulous and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved the fit and color of this dress. The only thing is that I would order your extra size one size up, rather than down. I'm usually a size 2 or 4, which is what I ordered and the 4 fit like a glove! The 2 was not going to fit at all- I'm 5'6" and 115lbs. But the 4 fit perfectly and it was such an amazing dress. I would highly recommend it!
Aliisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 19, 2011

Gorgeous

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress! Gorgeous color, tons of compliments. It does run small, as others have noticed. I usually am a 2, but the 4 fit like a glove. I am a bit curvy, though!
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 22, 2012

I loved the fast service. I was told I looked like a model all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was very excited to rent this dress. First, the RTR service is awesome! I received the dress early and quickly opened the box. I was not disappointed. The green is more vibrant in person...and the 4 fit like a glove! i had ordered a 4 and 6, based on other reviews, but I did not notice a significant difference between the 4 and 6. I think the 6 was a tad looser in the bust. I felt beautiful in the dress and got many compliments that night. My boyfriend also liked the dress. Very comfortable..no fidgeting/fixing the dress all night. Thanks RTR!
Taren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 26, 2012

The ease of RTR made attending a formal event almost stress-free.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great color! I went to a formal event with a bunch of conservative lawyers. Most of them wore black, but this green was a statement, a subdued one. I usually wear a 0, but the 0 and the 2 fit almost identical (its very tight across the backside). I opted for the 2, since I felt like there was a slight skin bulge under my left arm in the 0. It was very comfortable and easy to pull off.
Ragland
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 8, 2012

your dress fits like a glove

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress. It was so so pretty on. The color of the dress is even better in person. I do have a bubble butt, so it was a little snug....keep that in mind. Still squeezed into though and got a bunch of compliments!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

The was my first time ordering from RTR and it was a great experience. I bought a $400 dress from Saks just as a backup in case something happened with this one. I ended up returning it and saved a ton of money with this one. This dress looked better, fit better, and didn't kill my checking account. My boyfriend was raving the whole night about how wonderful the idea behind RTR is. I will definitely order for my next event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie Mardi Gars themed benefit. I received tons of compliments through out the entire night. I paired the Kate Spade Putting on the Ritz necklace with it and some small earrings and it looked great. The dress definitely runs tight. I'm typically a size 4 but I have a somewhat large butt so I had ordered the 6 and the 8. I wore the 8 and even though it was a little tight at first, it stretched out some. I wore Spanx underneath and it ended up looking great.
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2012

Hair and makeup matched with a great dress make for a glam night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is gorgeous and was so fun!!
Karissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 7, 2012

Beautiful quality, great service.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received a ton of compliments on this dress! It is beautiful. I usually wear a size 2 but I took the advice of the other reviewers and orders a few sizes up since I have wide hips. The size 4 fit but I wore the size 6 because it was more comfortable.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 7, 2012

I was so happy the bride loved my dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a great time in this dress. When it first arrived I was concerned about the size at it looks to be very small. Once on it is a very true fit so if you don't want it to be tight definitely order a size up to be safe. Received many compliments on the unique style and pretty color. I certainly recommend this dress the length is perfect for an elegant affair!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 3, 2012

panic that the size 8 was too small.... Emergency call to RTR... so gracious and helpful!! Relief when the RTR box showed up at noon the next day with the larger size, just hours before prom.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Got this dress for my daughter's senior prom. She usually wears an 8, so we ordered an 8 and a size 6 as backup. The 8 was too snug! The prom was a day away. Rent the Runway rescued her by sending sizes 10 and 12 via Fed Ex overnight. She looked stunning and felt fabulous. Thanks RTR for saving the day!
Taylor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 7, 2012

Perfect dress, perfect timing. Worry and stress free every time I need a dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my sorority formal and I typically wear a size 2, but after I read the reviews I decided to order a 4 and 6, so glad I did! The 4 was literally perfect and a 2 would have been way to snug. This dress is gorgeous and I got a million compliments.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 4, 2012

I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks in the dress. It is so nice to be able to rent a dress like this to attend some of these fancy work events I have to go to without breaking the bank!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is gorgeous! The color is stunning and the fabric is thick and well made, so I felt like it was holding my in and keeping my shape. It fits true to size and I would definitely order it again. Would be perfect for a Christmas Party!
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 4, 2012

I felt wonderful wearing a beautiful dress that made me feel like a movie star!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie optional night wedding and it was perfect! The dress does run small so I suggest renting up a size. I normal wear a 4 or 6 but after reading customer reviews I decided to rent a 6 and an 8. The 6 could have been worn but the 8 was much more comfortable. It fit slightly above the knee on me. This dress was beautiful and I highly recommend it!
KT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Was sick when this pic was taken. This is me, trying on the dress. I posted this pic and a pic of me in my back up dress to ask FB which dress I should wear.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress so so so much! The only thing I did was the shoulder flap was to fashion daring for me so I tucked it under. Even then the dress still looked fabulous.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

felt like a princess!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved everything about this dress. The fabric feels so smooth and the dress is slim fitting, but not constricting. The length was perfect -- not too long, not too short.
KT
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! Great fabric and color. It seemed to have a turquoise tint, but most thought it looked emerald green. It definitely runs small. I'm normally a 4 which was skin tight, and even the 6 was tight but fit well for the most part. One thing to be aware of, I was running around in it all night working an event, and it does ride up. Also, the top part by the collarbone seemed to bubble up a bit, but I was probably the only one that noticed. The ruching fabric made it very flattering, and the material on the shoulder makes it look fancier, not 80's as I originally thought it did in the model picture. I highly recommend it as long as you buy 1-2 sizes bigger!
Errin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

The color, fit and flare of this dress definitely combined to get the "WOW!" factor I was going for!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6, but decided to get the 8 just in case the hips/chest were weird, and I ended up wearing an 8, which fit very nicely. I don't think I would've been able to eat dinner in the 6! The material is very flattering and comfortable; I wore this dress for several hours, both to a sit-down, formal dinner and later to a chic afterparty and it definitely made the transition seamlessly. Got tons of compliments, especially on the color/fit/shoulder detail.
Jes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Perfect for Christmas Gala

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was beautiful and fit perfectly. it was very comfortable to dance in all night!
Carol
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Simple and easy! Can not wait to use RTR again.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress was perfect and it was comfortable. I choose to wear all gold accents, my shoes, jewelry and bag. It looked great, I got compliments all night long. Oh and no dress sitting in my closet that I will never wear again. I will say that in some of the review photos this dress appeared to be lighter that the web pictures, but the dress that was sent to me was exactly like the one on the web site. I prefer classic fashion and this dress fit the bill.
rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

I slipped on that gorgeous dress, soaked up the beautiful color and I just felt beautiful.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect. A lot of the reviews say the size runs small, and I do agree but only a tiny bit small. I typically wear a 2, ordered the 2 and 4. I wore the 2 and it fit like a glove. I was concerned about the material (in the pic it looked a bit stiff and heavy to me) but it was light, and soft and had just enough stretch in it. The color is a beautiful, rich green, the shoulder piece is not too big or distracting and the fit is wonderful...very flattering and classy. I wore this to a wedding and received a lot of compliments. This was a great choice and I was sad to have to send it back.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Beautiful dress. Incredible color.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is GORGEOUS in person. I got so many compliments on it. The color is not quite as dark as it appears in the picture online, but the color is absolutely beautiful. This dress was perfect for my fiance's company Christmas party!
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

I could not believe all of the compliments I received that night! I felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits like a glove. The color and fabric are amazing. It looked and felt so luxurious!
Marianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

This dress was so comfortable and very flattering, the one shoulder added drama to a cocktail dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable dress, very forgiving in areas that you would like to hide. Rich jewel tone color. I received compliments all night! So glad I rented this dress. RTR has the most amazing customer service.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

The Emerald color and flattering dress was GLAMOUROUS! Everyone complimented it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pro- fit like a glove! NO cons!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2012

Gorgeous color, unique style

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color and fit of this dress! It's VERY fitted, but gives you a nice shape. I'm almost always a size 0, but this dress I wore the 2. Thank god for the extra size. I'm not usually a one shouldered dress girl, but this one may have changed my mind. It wasn't too short which I also liked. I got a ton of compliments on it!
EJ
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

What made my night unforgettable was the look on my husbands face when he saw me walk out in it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was nice fitting .... I ordered both a 4&6 just in case I wasn't able to fit the 4 .... Once i got the dresses i tried both on and i felt like the 4 was a little snug but the 6 was too loose .... The 4 hugged what I wanted to hug and hide what I needs to hide .... Lol .... Overall I enjoyed the dress and I received a lot of compliments on the dress .....
kristy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 14, 2012

NICE COLOR. GREAT TEXTURE.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RENTED THIS DRESS FOR THE GALA EVENT. PERFECT OUTFIT FOR FORMAL EVENTS & DINNER.
emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 15, 2012

Perfect for the holidays!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the structured fit of the dress :) The emerald green was stunning and I received many compliments! I loved the one shoulder, and the ruching of the dress was very forgiving :)
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

Perfect in every way!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Vibrant color and very comfortable. Material was forgiving enough to dance (and eat). Wore this to a black tie wedding.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

The perfect dress for my Occasion!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and pretty much every loved it and the color!
Linda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was a little tough to get into, because it's meant to be tight...but it was worth the effort. this dress was beautiful and i felt so happy and confident in it. i felt really skinny in it which always made the night more fun. :)
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Wow effect.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore to my company holiday party. The color is incredible - I can't tell you how many compliments I got. A slam dunk. I also got the 0 - took one look at how narrow the torso was and didn't even try. 2 hugged my ribs but not in an uncomfortable way. Length - I'd feared it would go past my knees, but not even close. It hit about where it does on the model photo, despite the disparity in our measurements. I wore with sparkly white studs (I'm told they look convincingly like diamonds), a blingy green & white cocktail ring, and black Nine West pumps. I'm not a fussy gal when it comes to accessories so letting this dress speak for itself was totally up my alley.
Meghann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 13, 2012

beautiful, flattering dress and quite comfortable. Stretchy material!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the color of the season!
Claire
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Felt like a rock star all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great company and service! Wore this to my company's Christmas party, and got compliments from everyone. I only ordered one size, and fasted all day because I was worried it would be too tight. It worked out ok though. The big shoulder thing was kind of weird, but I guess that's high fashion for ya. You can't help but have a great time in one of these dresses.
Rasheena
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Amazing

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits like a glove. I received a thousand compliments for this dress. The color is as seen and I love green so I was so excited.
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Apr 1, 2015

Such a fun, comfortable dress!!! Would highly recommend, but size up.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable but runs small
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×