Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

197 reviews

Fit
Small 103
True to Size 93
Large 1
Photos 95
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Pretty color "of the moment" but not my favorite.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered the 2 and a 4 as a backup. The 2 fit but felt tight across chest and under arm. The 4 was better on top but too big on the bottom. Not wild about the shoulder detail, the dress would be really pretty without it. Unfortunately this dress did not work out for me but as always, RTR's customer service was amazing so no worries. Overall the dress would be really pretty for a prom or on a body that is A cup.
Gail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Liked the style and fit! Fun to wear, very stylish, worn for a Green Gala.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfortable yet snug and shapely.
Tiarna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Pretty green color. Got a lot of complements

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Flattering but snug fit.
Mona Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Just amazing!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
sexy fit
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Amazing Green Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It is super comfortable and the fabric is a little stretchy. Along with the rouching, it is was super flattering. The color is very similar to that in the photo but I found it a little less shiny (which I thought was perfect). I was sad to take this dress off at the end of the night.
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Jan 22, 2013

This was my back-up dress. I didn't wind up wearing it, as it ran small...must be thin to pull off.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 4 and a 6, as those are the two sizes I usually wear in dresses; however, neither dress worked. It was very small in the mid-section and chest. If you have a bit of a belly or carry your weight in your stomach, this dress may not be for you. If it had fit, the dress looked like great quality and was definitely a "dressy" dress. Too bad, as I would have ordered it again for future weddings.
Heidi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

the dress fit fantastically!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
runs small - glad i got the 4. had to re-clean under the arms as their was some residual deodorant stains from previous wearer
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Order 2 Sizes Up

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress, great color that lead to many compliments. After reading reviews I decided to order my normal size (6) and a size up (8). But even the size 8 was snug around my thighs. The lining underneath kept twisting and you could see them hem line outline showing through the skirt. I was constantly pulling and twisting to keep it straight, gave up after an hour. The dress was beautiful though!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Jan 30, 2013

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Though typically a size 0 in my previous RTR rentals, this 2 fit perfectly. This was a very pretty color for a holiday season wedding. I would definitely recommend!
Springs
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 8, 2013

Beautiful BUT true to reviews runs small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
OK, so I ordered this dress for a formal party I had to attend. My party was on Saturday but because of the 4 day rental window I picked Friday for the dress to arrive so I could ship it back on Monday. I live in San Diego so there was no way I was going to be able to get another dress if this one didn't fit-poor planning-I know :) A few things: 1) Beautiful dress and arrived exactly when they said it would. Thicker material with a sort of iridescent shimmer to it. 2) Will go beautiful with fair skin. 3) I asked a stylist if she thought the dress would fit my chest but she had no idea-a little bummed she couldn't offer more help but it was so pretty I wanted to try it anyways. 4) I got home late on Friday after work andnnnnnnnd it didn't even come close to zipping up over my chest! I ordered the 12. I have a 42 inch chest-36 DD but actual inches can be more helpful. 5) I called at 7:00am on Saturday morning to return the dress. The automated system was easy to use (note: have your order ID ready). 6) The return envelope is awesome and I had the dress dropped in the mail by 8:30am. 7) I never heard back/got a receipt to see if they refunded my money for the dress since it didn't fit. Overall: OK experience. Liked how easy ordering and returning was-would have liked to get a bit more help for the stylist and would have liked conformation of refund. It hasn't showed up on this billing cycle. Hopefully I don't have to call again.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

It was such an easy experience and took no effort on my part!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. It is a very classy dress and I got tons of complements all night.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

The green was not what I expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was dressier than the occasion called for (which I didn't realize when I ordered it!). But dressiness aside, the green had a lot of gold shimmer in it The "bow" on the shoulder is also bigger than I thought it would be. I'm little and it covered too much of my neck/arm. - more than I the picture shows. Also, the material isn't very soft. It's stiff and I thought cheap looking. I've rented some fabulous dresses here... this wasn't one of them!
Pamplemousse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful Holiday Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a holiday-themed wedding in late November. The color and shine is gorgeous! The fabric is a little stiff. I found the dress to run true to size. I rented a 0 and a 2. I ended up wearing the 0 because I am small chested and the 2 was a little big on top. It was a little tight in the hips and the fabric did bunch a little funny just at the top of my hips, but it wasn't a deal breaker. I'm almost 5'8 and the dress was PLENTY long enough, hit my legs where it does on the model. Overall, it was a great dress and I received many compliments on it!
Elisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Gorgeous dress. Got complements all night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
So glad I ordered a size up. The 6 fit perfectly and was very comfortable.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
May 4, 2013

Beautiful color.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress ran a little small. But the fabric was beautiful and expensive looking.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2013

Very pretty, I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very pretty and would recommend it. I got compliments all night. The material was nice to.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 16, 2013

Perfect for a night out!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for NYE and got several compliments on the color and the way it fit. IT runs true to size, and the color is a little lighter than in the photos, but it's still a beautiful dress.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2013

looked fabulous but came with a ripped seam.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have trouble fitting into dresses because I'm a 32H, but the dress fit perfectly. i was super bummed about the ripped seam, especially since this was my first RTR dress rental.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

made me feel so confident at my sorority formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
slim shoulders might be hidden by the shoulder piece but don't be afraid of this dress if you have broad shoulders
luckylady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 18, 2013

simple, easy to wear

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was more sheen than I thought and the sleeve on the left made it look like an 80s prom dress
taifgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2013

I got more compliments on this dress!!! Great for christmas.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very flattering.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

beautiful fabric and cut, great for a formal affair.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs very small, I usually wear a size 4; the 8 was a snug fit, but I went with the 10 because I love to dance! I was able to take advantage of the 'try-it-on' promotion and I am so glad I did because I tried on the 6 and knew I would have to size up before the wedding. I received so many compliments on this shiny beautiful dress.
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

I actually didn't end up wearing this dress - I returned it for a credit, but it's still very pretty

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful and is a deep emerald color. It would have been perfect for the Wizard of OZ themed gala I was attending. Unfortunately for us wider hipped ladies I think you might want to consider ordering 2 sizes up, and definitely one size up. I also have a wide torso, so I could get the zipper past my waist on the 8, but not past the bustline. The 6 was just altogether too small.
Marisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Beautiful Color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It runs pretty small. I wear a 2 on a larger day, and had to go buy a body spanx to make sure there weren't any lumps and that I could actually fit into it. It was really pretty, but it's runs SMALL fyi!
janna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 1, 2013

Georgeous emerald green dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an evening wedding. I'm typically a six, but the reviews suggested to go up a size and I'm glad I did. The eight fit just right! I definitely recommend.
flick'r
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

This was my first experience with RTR, and it was fabulous. I'm a customer for life now!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had a black tie optional Christmas party to attend, and really loved the color of this dress. I selected the size 10 with a size 12 as the backup. As several reviewers mentioned, this dress does run small, and it was clear that the 10 wouldn't make it up over my hips, but the 12 was a little larger, with the help of shape wear. You definitely want to wear shape wear (Spanx, etc.) with this dress, as it does show all the bumps and lumps. Thanks to being a little out of shape at the moment, I wore the dress with a strapless Flexees by Maidenform strapless body briefer, plus a Flexees easy-up firm control waist nipper, then sheer black control top hose. (Ladies, if you opt for a body briefer, go with a thong style or a slip style, as I felt like I had to really suck in my rear end to keep the briefer's panty lines from really standing out.) The color of this dress is a deep green and is GORGEOUS! I did find that the dress did ride up just a bit, but I think that was due to the shape wear to some degree. I found myself adjusting my dress from time to time, but it wasn't a big deal. I also rented the gold Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings and Cara Accessories Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and they were perfect with this dress. I got tons and tons of compliments and felt really great in this dress. This was my first RTR experience, and I'll be a customer for life. I opted for a Shoshanna backup dress (the Black Leopard dress), and they only had the 10 available (the 12 wasn't available for my rental date). I think that the Shoshanna dress would have been a winner, too, had the 12 been available for me.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Dec 22, 2013

Beautiful dress, runs REALLY small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this in two sizes, my usual dress size and a size up. It was not at all kind to my pear-shaped body. It fit around the bust and waist, hugged way too tightly around my bottom-half and would only zip to just below my bust. Needless to say, I didn't end up wearing this one.
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jan 10, 2014

Beautiful dress, just not right for me!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this to wear at my formal birthday dinner. I rented an 8 and a 10, thinking that I would probably fit into the 8 since I've recently lost weight. The 8 was too tight around my hip/butt area. When I tried on the 10, I realized that the two sizes FIT EXACTLY THE SAME. I feel like this dress was not meant for those of the curvier nature, but if you decide to try it, I suggest running one or two sizes larger.
AUDREY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

everything about RTR was perfect, i can't wait for my next rental!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I got SO many complements :) the dress was slimming, sexy & I loved the color but the bow made it difficult to wear a coat/jacket.
Margaret
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Wonderful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The shoulder detail makes it stand out in a crowd. Tight in the hips, size up.
Manya
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Gorgeous dress, very flattering, match very well with gold accessories

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very nice dress
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Best dress ever!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful, beautiful dress that got me compliments the whole night!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

very flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress fits in all the right places, I got so many compliments!
504girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Sometimes, less is more.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color was beautiful. I rented it as a backup, but sometimes less is more. I rented a 10, based on others suggestions, and it certainly did not look "big" . Its about the fit, not the number.
lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove, size 2 fit like a 0 though. But luckily, I knew that from other reviews so it wasn't a problem.
Ktheta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 21, 2014

Show Stopper

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, that didn't look like "everyone" else's dress. Definitely stood out in a crowd and got attention from all different types of people with very different style. My husband kept forgetting calling it a Boom-shacka-lacka dress instead of Badgley Mischka because he said that was easier to say and definitely highlighted certain areas :)
aap1115
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Jun 5, 2014

First RTR experience, and loved it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 6 and 8, and then switched out the 6 for a 10 at the last minute because the dress is so fitted. The RTR customer service representative was incredibly helpful and overnighted the size 10. I'm pear shaped, so it was more fitted around my hips, but the ruching hid any odd wrinkles when I walked. I love the color and style of the dress, and I wish I could have kept it for myself!
Jaime P
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Perfection.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. Not only was the color stunning, but it fit perfectly, hugging in all the right places and at the same time, sucking you in. I got SO MANY compliments on both the color and the fit and to top if off, it was super comfortable. I wore this for a winter wedding and it was beautiful! Highly recommend.
Svati
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Nov 27, 2014

Runs small!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Couldn't zip it up, even though I'd ordered a size larger than I usually wear (since other reviewers had warned about the sizing). Good thing I had ordered a second dress, as well! This one was useless to me.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Nice shape -- but cheap fabric

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked great in the picture, but the fabric was cheap and plastic looking.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×