Badgley Mischka

DaCruz Shimmer Mini

$51 to buy
$495 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel and look ready for that extravaganza in this dazzling mini by Badgley Mischka. A burst of sequins is all you need to feel like you're walking the red carpet! Add some crystal and shine with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% nylon). Strapless with boning on bodice. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
193 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(49)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 30, 2014
Perfect dress for bachelorette party!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! TONS of bling but still a very tasteful and classy dress. Loved it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 2, 2014
I had the best formal ever in Savannah with this dress! I got so many compliments on the dress!
True to whatever size you normally wear! The sparkles are amazing and the dress is great for dancing the night away! Get this dress if you have a formal, dance, or party to go to!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 3, 2014
Great for Busty Girls!!!!
OH MY GOSH! If you're busty and want to go strapless, this dress is for you!! The sparkles were so fun, and the material was more interesting than it looks in pictures. The flow of the skirt was fun and sassy. Most definitely a winner :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 5, 2014
I felt like such an elegant princess in this dress!
The fit was great. The top was a little lower than I expected. The dress was a little but longer than I expected, as well. But other than that, it was a fabulous dress! Despite the sequins, it was not a heavy dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
April 8, 2014
Liquid gold showstopper - not for wallflowers!
This dress was an absolute joy to wear, and I felt at home among the glittering ornaments at my formal Christmas event. The substantial boning kept the top in place securely and comfortably, and the full skirt was perfect for dancing. (Wear little tap shorts underneath if you're really planning to twirl.) Minus 1 star for the HEAVY fabric and a little fraying from use (very minor).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2014
Fabulous!
This dress was amazing. It fit perfectly and I felt great in it. Everyone complimented me! The process was super easy. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2014
i wore this on a date with my boyfriend and i love it. It made him at a double take
the fit was nice. it wasnt to short and fits well event with girls like me who have hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 14, 2014
Great party dress - very sparkly!
Fit: Not having worn this designer, I am glad I sized up for the chest! 6 would have been a difficult night - the 8 was still snug enough to support. If you're curvier (Read: Hips) the darts tend to stick into your sides, but that's typical of a lot of structured tops. Con: Zipper / material is tricky - definitely needed help in and out of the dress. Pro: Great holiday party dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2014
So sparkly!
Great dress- received so many compliments! I am usually between a size 2 and 4, and the 4 was a great fit except for in the chest. I am a 32C and found it to ride a little low. Other than having to tug at the top throughout the night, I had a great experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 20, 2014
Shine Bright Like a Diamond… LITERALLY!
I wore this for a night out on Austin's 6th Street during my Bachelorette Party weekend. It was so much more sparkly in person - like a human disco ball! I felt great in it, but I gave it 4/5 stars because the bust wasn't super flattering - it kind of squishes & flattens things up there :) Overall, a great party dress that is sure to make you feel like a star!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2014
I wore this to a sorority formal dinner.
I loved this dress! It made me feel like a movie start and I received compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 27, 2014
It was my Golden Birthday!
This dress was PERFECT for my Golden Birthday Party. I got lot of comments on it and it definitely made the party extra special. I love the quality of the dress! It does not feel like a a plastic sequin material even the sequin is plastic! The fabric was a little heavy, but it definitely showed this dress was of great high quality! The zipper can be tricky to work with but in the end, it was worth it. You do need to go a size bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 30, 2014
Absolutely perfect for a great gatsby theme party!!
Fit was a little snug, but that actually was perfect because you don't need to wear a bra. The cut is extremely forgiving for slightly curvier girls like myself. I love this style if badgley mischka and have order other dresses that were all amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
Old Hollywood Glam!
I ordered this dress two days before presenting at a University Award's Ceremony where the theme was Old Hollywood Glamour. The dress came the next day, and I could not have been happier. The dress was the perfect length, it fell right above my knee, but I never had to worry about it being too short. I was between the 6 and the 8, but ultimately chose the 6 because the top ran slightly larger than I am used to in an 8. I really loved the dress and wished I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2014
Great party dress!
This dress was PERFECT for the Gatsby party I was attending... but beware, it runs extremely small. I would suggest ordering 1-2 sizes up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2014
Amazing dress!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I rented it for my sorority's spring formal. The dress was a little on the heavier side, but it wasn't unbearable. It was also longer. It hit right above my knees. I usually wear a size zero and couldn't manage to get that one zipped up. The two worked, but was a little looser. I got so many compliments on this dress! I'm definitely renting it again in the future!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
May 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress for my sorority formal!
Ran small for me! But the larger sized ordered fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2014
Pretty dress but wasn't the one I wore.
I didn't wear the dress, the fit was a little snug through the ribcage and the next size up was too big.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2014
This dress was stunning! Everyone loved it!
Fit perfectly and was so comfortable! It was a perfect dancing dress and I would love to wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 27, 2014
Very cute and comfortable dress
Loved this dress, I probably should have gone with a 4, but a size 4 wasn't available (I'm usually between a 4 and a 6). It didn't fall down, but I definitely had to keep pulling it up. Wore to my wedding reception after-party and thought it was fun but still appropriate! Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 27, 2014
Gorgeous! and short!
Such a pretty, sparkly dress but wayyyyyy too short for any except maybe a bachelorette party. I didn't even wear it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2014
Wore it to a formal on a boat! Great for dancing and loved the shimmer. Loved it.
Fit great, didn't fall down (I had fashion tape but didn't need it!), flowy!. It went really well with my sash and necklace. I have nothing bad to say about this dress! The renting process was also great and I plan to rent again with RTR in the future. LOVED IT
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2014
a little too short
I was thinking I could use this dress for my bridesmaids for a wedding, so I rented one as a trial. I have 2 bridesmaids that are 5'9" and I had a 5'5" bridesmaid try it on and it was pretty short on her. I thought it would be too short for a November wedding and that it wouldn't look right. Also, the underlining is a green-olive tone which made my fair bridesmaid look sick. The sparkles were nice, but overall a little teenage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 23, 2014
Rented this for a photoshoot and it was perfect!
SUCH an amazing dress- just fits beautifully- really flattering and pretty comfortable for a strapless. The gold is REALLY sparkly but the dress manages to stay classy. I would say this is true to size but a little on the small size. I can usually squeeze into a 6 but there was no way with this one- the 8 fit perfect but snug. Definitely rent the size up as your second choice. Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2014
Disco perfect!
I sized up as suggested, which was smart. Really vute but a but itchy by the end of the night, Perfect party dress and really felt glammy!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 9, 2014
beautiful dress!
this dress was perfect! it fits true to size and is so sparkly and fun. the zipper got stuck sometimes, but other than that it was amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2014
Perfect for our Sparkler Send-Off
I loved this dress and it photographs so well! I wore it as my going away dress at my wedding and I am so happy I did! It was a bit loose up top, even in the size 0, so if you have a small chest, beware. For the rental price, I couldn't be happier. I felt like a million bucks.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2013
Couldn't wear either size because neither of them fit properly.
The top was bulky and unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 24, 2014
Not What I Expected
I was really let down by this dress. It seems to be a fine quality and fit me, but it just wasn't attractive in person. There was a bunch of weird, loose draping on the bust that honestly made it look like I had a saggy chest... not pretty! The waist also hit me in the strangest place. It wasn't right under my bust, but not quiet at the waist. It just did not flatter me and I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
August 23, 2014
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress to leave our wedding reception. It was perfect for our color scheme and feel. It ran a little bit big. It felt loose on me. I loved being able to wear such a fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 28, 2014
I used this dress for a photoshoot & it looked beautiful especially for the outdoor shots at sunset
I have a smaller bust and it did flatten out the little chest I have; however, I didn't wear a bra or anything so that may have been the issue as well. Otherwise it was great. The sequins weren't itchy, the dress didn't weigh a ton. I would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
September 14, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous
I wore this to my senior homecoming dance and it is amazing. It was very comfortable, didn't slip down too much, the length was appropriate (just above the knee), and I got lots of compliments. It runs pretty true to size, if a little small. After a while, the sequins did start to chafe my arms but it wasn't bad. Overall it's a beautiful dress and I will definitely rent again in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2014
Dress was too small, didn't wear it!
I ordered the 8 and the 10, since all the reviews said the dress ran small. I was so sad to find that even the 10 was too tight at the top - and loose at my waist. The fit was overall pretty awkward; I'm an athletic build with boobs, which can admittedly make dresses tough, but even so, I figured a size 10 would work. Also, the dress was oddly long on me -- it hit past my knees and I'm 5'5"! Luckily, I was in NYC and was able to make a swap at the Flatiron store - and THAT dress was a true dream!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2014
Statement making dress
The fit is very flattering, although if you have a large bust like I do, size up. That said, since the dress is a strapless it does slide down while dancing. I would definitely rent this dress again- I felt fantastic in it and it photographs really well. I received a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 20, 2014
This dress feels like magic! But ouch! Make sure the boning is safely inside the fabric!
Got compliments on the dress all night. You wouldn't think that sequins would be flattering, but the cut is really stunning. Boning provides a lovely shape to the top, however I think the dress I received had been worn a few too many times... the boning was bursting through the seam and cut my under my arm. It looks like they've fixed a few other spots on the dress - I guess check the top as soon as it arrives so you don't run into the same problem! ouch!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2014
Definitely glittered, was perfect for a New Orleans wedding
Zipper was tricky
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
October 13, 2013
I received compliments all night and I felt formal as well as ready to dance the night away!``
There is no give to the fabric so felt a little snug at waist but skirt was flowy. Very fun to dance in and received lots of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 3, 2014
Awesome dress for a 60s fancy dress party.
The dress was fantastic. So eye catching, looks great in photos and was comfortable. I got so many compliments. While usually a dress-size 6, I thought it would fall down if I wore that one. The 4 was snugger through the hip, but I think it was worth it not falling off :) The zipper is a little hard to zip up, but that is the case for most sequined dresses, so not unusual. I'm a bit small in the chest and needed to wear a strapless bra to fill in the bust of the dress (there is wiring to support the straplessness). I wore the dress with burgundy suede pumps, gold bracelet and necklace. Pretty shiny :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2014
super sparkly!
I rented this for my homecoming, I ordered a size 10 and a size 12. the size ten was super huge when I put it on and the 12 fit perfectly other than the top being to big, I used fashion tape and I was fine :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2014
Beautiful dress but awful zipper...
The dress runs small so I tried to wear the bigger size. My zipper would not go past the waistline, even though the size was correct. I did not get to wear this dress for my bachelorette party like I intended.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×