Badgley Mischka

DaCruz Shimmer Mini

$51 to buy
$495 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel and look ready for that extravaganza in this dazzling mini by Badgley Mischka. A burst of sequins is all you need to feel like you're walking the red carpet! Add some crystal and shine with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Better for larger busts - ample room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% nylon). Strapless with boning on bodice. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
193 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(49)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 15, 2013
Shine On!

I rented the 8 and the 10. This is a true designer dress, therefore the size is not inflated like large American retailers (e.g., Gap) so if you have a larger chest, I'd recommend sizing up. So much fun to wear for a an annual holiday girls' night out that's theme was glitter this year.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2013
Too small :-/...not for big busted girls!

This was my first disappointment from RTR; too small, couldn't zip past up the chest. Luckily I had ordered another dress, too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
Old Hollywood Glamour

Once again, I was very satisfied with my RTR dress. This frock oozes old-time Hollywood style, and I felt like a star the entire evening. Perfect for the New Year's Eve celebration I attended. The dress works with a standard strapless bra. I would recommend sizing up if you're a C cup or larger, as it is small in the bust area. Also, I had to be careful when zipping, as the pull tended to catch on the sides of the dress. Overall, though, I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
January 3, 2014
Pretty dress for holiday party

Great dress but too small around bust. I am a 36C and I couldn't zip up the 12.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 11, 2014
was pretty, but it ran really small I thought for badgley mishka

This was my dress, i am normally an 8 in BM, got the 8 and the 10, and i coudln't get in the 10 at all. it was also really heavy. I ended up wearing my backup and LOVED it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2014
Beautiful dress!!!!

I orgiinally rented this dress to wear to an evening wedding, but after it came in my husband said it was a bit to flashy to wear to a wedding. So I wore my back up dress. I did try the dress on, I wear a 34d and size 8 fit my chest perfectly but the waist was a little big. The size 6 was to tight in the chest but fit my waist, because of that reason I don't know that I would rent it again, but I do say that if you rent this dress it would be a definite head turner ;)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 2, 2014
Great for my Mardi Gras date party!

I wore the size I usually get, but it was pretty close. It was a little big in the top and rather tight right under the ribs. Not so big that it would fall down (due to the tightness at the waist), but I barely filled out the top. I would still probably rent this dress again, and the sequins weren't itchy or obnoxious.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2014
Perfect for a themed party!

I rented this for a Mardi Gras Masquerade Party and it was perfect for the event. It was a little cheaper looking than I expected, so I wouldn't have wanted to wear it for a super fancy or formal event, but for the themed party it was great! It really really sparkles. My boyfriend told me I looked like a gold disco ball! I typically wear a size 2 but I am glad I ordered the 4 as back up because I couldn't get the 2 to zip! The zipper on the 4 was even a little tricky to get up, even though there was plenty of room once I got it zipped.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 14, 2014
Great party dress - very sparkly!

Fit: Not having worn this designer, I am glad I sized up for the chest! 6 would have been a difficult night - the 8 was still snug enough to support. If you're curvier (Read: Hips) the darts tend to stick into your sides, but that's typical of a lot of structured tops. Con: Zipper / material is tricky - definitely needed help in and out of the dress. Pro: Great holiday party dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2014
Great party dress!

This dress was PERFECT for the Gatsby party I was attending... but beware, it runs extremely small. I would suggest ordering 1-2 sizes up!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2014
Amazing dress!

This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I rented it for my sorority's spring formal. The dress was a little on the heavier side, but it wasn't unbearable. It was also longer. It hit right above my knees. I usually wear a size zero and couldn't manage to get that one zipped up. The two worked, but was a little looser. I got so many compliments on this dress! I'm definitely renting it again in the future!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
May 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress for my sorority formal!

Ran small for me! But the larger sized ordered fit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2014
Disco perfect!

I sized up as suggested, which was smart. Really vute but a but itchy by the end of the night, Perfect party dress and really felt glammy!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2014
Dress was too small, didn't wear it!

I ordered the 8 and the 10, since all the reviews said the dress ran small. I was so sad to find that even the 10 was too tight at the top - and loose at my waist. The fit was overall pretty awkward; I'm an athletic build with boobs, which can admittedly make dresses tough, but even so, I figured a size 10 would work. Also, the dress was oddly long on me -- it hit past my knees and I'm 5'5"! Luckily, I was in NYC and was able to make a swap at the Flatiron store - and THAT dress was a true dream!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 20, 2014
This dress feels like magic! But ouch! Make sure the boning is safely inside the fabric!

Got compliments on the dress all night. You wouldn't think that sequins would be flattering, but the cut is really stunning. Boning provides a lovely shape to the top, however I think the dress I received had been worn a few too many times... the boning was bursting through the seam and cut my under my arm. It looks like they've fixed a few other spots on the dress - I guess check the top as soon as it arrives so you don't run into the same problem! ouch!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Weight: 160lbs
October 7, 2014
Beautiful dress but awful zipper...

The dress runs small so I tried to wear the bigger size. My zipper would not go past the waistline, even though the size was correct. I did not get to wear this dress for my bachelorette party like I intended.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
November 5, 2014
Wore this for Halloween, wasn't the most comfortable

This ran very small on me. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 was difficult to zip (I am normally a 4) and I found it to constricting and uncomfortable because of the sequins. Size up on this one if you have a larger chest like myself, 34D.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 9, 2014
Beautiful bridesmaid dress!

My sister in law had us pick our own short gold sequin dresses as our bridesmaid dress (how lucky!) for her Art Deco themed wedding. This dress was beautiful, great gold color and high quality. Perfect to dance all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2014
My favorite RTR dress!! Hands down! Photos don't do this gorgeous dress justice...MUST RENT!

This is hands down my favorite RTR dress. I wore this for my 25th birthday and received so many compliments. The sequins on this beautiful gold dress are very high quality. The color gold and the way it shines & glimmers are like no other dress Ive rented. The only thing I would say is the bust can be a little tight for girls with a bigger bust (I'm a 34D), but definitely doable! I loved it so much I was so sad to return it. A MUST RENT!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
December 9, 2013
All the people that came up to me to say they loved my dress, and how "me" it was.

I loved loved the dress however, i am a 34DD and i had to put the dress on and than my bra. It was very tight in the chest area, and every where else was big. I would not recommend this dress for a girl with a big chest

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2015
PERFECT NYE party dress!

This was the perfect NYE party dress! I downplayed the "sparkle" by adding a suit jacket over it and it worked really well. The sizing of this dress is a bit unusual. After reading some of the reviews, I originally put down a size 2 and 4 but since I'm a bit flat-chested, I opted for the 0 instead. Size 0 has a very stiff and structured boning lined so I didn't even need to wear a bra but the size 2 has less boning but for some reason, it felt smaller than the 0. I think it's because I tried to wear it with a bra (or else I would look flat). I would almost suggest people get either the size 0 and don't wear a bra or a size 4 with a bra.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
January 9, 2015
Loved it and looked super cute on!

I am normally a solid size 10, especially up top, but had to wear the 12 and even that took help getting into. Just a heads up. It was fine once zipped up though. Great dress! Very fun and worked great with pearls for a 20's themed party!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 19, 2015
Sorority Semi-Formal

I rented this dress for my sorority's semi-formal, and overall I was pleased with it. I did end up wearing the second dress sent with the size four that I had ordered. This was mainly because this dress did run a little small and the size four, which is my usual size, was too small for my chest. Other than that it was a wonderful dress and I got compliments on it all night long!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2015
Pretty dress, odd fit

Beautiful dress, but not for me. The bust/waist runs small and it was too long for so it made me look boxy/sloppy. There's a lot of heavy fabric at the top too so it made my chest look bulky. Overall, unflattering for my shape. Great dress for someone with a smaller chest, long torso, or an hourglass figure.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
May 20, 2015
Felt like a total rockstar

Fit a little small and the zipper was heavier duty than I was expecting. But I felt great all night and danced like crazy

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 18, 2015
I rented a size 4 and it ran too small so i didn't end up wearing it.

The dress was more sparkly/ glittery then i expected. It looked like a disco ball and was a bit too showy for a bridesmaids dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 21, 2015
Busty gals beware

Rarely to never wear a 10, and it was still 1 to 2 inches shy from zipping. Really wanted it to work but no go!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
July 31, 2015
The dress is beautiful!! Exactly what I was looking for!! Absolutely stunning!

Pros: The dress is beautiful, I really cant say enough about the way it looked. The whole night i was getting compliment after compliment. It really is a head turner. It also isn't as itchy as I initially thought it would be. Although it is covered in sequins, the dress is lined very well. There was only slight rubbing in the underarm area. It was true to color and looked Exactly like the online photos. Cons: I loved this dress, it was exactly what i was looking for but I'm always a little hesitant in ordering offline. I read lots of reviews of this dress before deciding to rent it. Most reviews were for the sizes that I had rented. Normally I very between an 8- 12 in dress sizes. It always depends on the style of the dress for me. I rented a 10 and got the 12 as my back up, and i am happy I did. Although the dress I'm sure is true to size for most people it still ran a little small for me in some areas. I have an hour glass figure. The 12 fit great in the hips and waist, It also fit around my bust. My issue was my rib cage, which is larger. I have a broad back. The boning was very uncomfortable on my rib cage. It was also very snug. The zipper is a skinny zipper, that seemed to get caught in the lining as you tried to zip it up. It looked like this has happened to many. I wish it was a little looser in the rib area. It was difficult to sit because the boning was going into my hip i have a shorter torso so the dress was a little out of proportion for my body type. Also for shorter people, the dress hits a lot longer on the leg that i had originally anticipated. It was right at my knees. So if you're looking for a little shorter than this dress might not be for you. All in all the dress was what I needed. I celebrated my Golden birthday!! It was flashy yet classy. I would recommend getting two sizes bigger if you have a larger rib cage, but other than that I highly recommend this dress.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2015
Soon many compliments!!

Loved the dress. It fit weird though. I am a little busty and it just didn't fit well. So bright and pretty though. I had a change of dress outfit so I did that halfway through my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Age: 28
September 28, 2015
This dress was very pretty and photographs well!

I normally wear a 0 and I have a very small waist - the 0 was very tight in the waist and bust and I opted to wear the 2 so I could still wear a bra and be more comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 14, 2015
Perfect for a holiday party!

This dress was beautiful and perfect for my boyfriend's work holiday party. It runs a little small - I normally wear a 2, but had to rent a 4 (luckily I got both sizes). The zipper is really hard to zip sometimes, it tends to get stuck on the track. It's also a little longer than I thought, but that made it fancier, so it worked! Overall a great dress for the price, I got a lot of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
December 23, 2015
Wonderfully structured top and tons of shimmer!

Loved this dress; the classy top & hemline balanced out all the sequins. My usual size 8 was just a bit too snug so I opted for the 10, which fit wonderfully. The top is structured and I never felt like it was going to fall down. I chose to wore a bra even though there was really no need to; the top is thick enough that you don't even need pasties. Wore this on my birthday to a formal holiday party.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 29, 2014
RTR is the best!

I originally ordered my normal size, 10, but when it arrived the dress wouldn't zip. It was just slightly too small. I immediately called RTR & they offered to send a size up to my hotel room in Vegas! They really are the best! I still had so e trouble with the zipper of the 12 but I just needed an extra set of hands! I'm not a large busted woman so if you are, I suggest sizing up!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
June 27, 2014
The dress made me feel so pretty.

I rented this dress to wear at my bachelorette party and it was perfect and so fun to wear! It ran a little small in the bust and I wore the bigger size. The zipper also stuck a little. I got lots of compliments and it was very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
October 26, 2014
Amazing dress!

I wore this to a Halloween party. I'm usually a 4 but after reading reviews I got a 6. My only complaint is the sequins kind of hurt my under arms. But to be expected with all sequin dresses.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2014
Beautiful Dress!

Loved the color and the sparkle, except it was a bit tight in the bust area. Order a size up if you're busty in the least! Normally I'm a 4-6 but I had to wear an 8 in this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2014
Exactly how it looks

Love that sparkling gold sequins and love the style and shape of the dress. It's a little tight in the tummy area but overall a great fit. Very flattering because of the loose bottom.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 31, 2014
Not for busty girls.

This dress is definitely sized by designers, and not the mass market sizing I'm used to. It fit fine in the waist, but I could not get my DD bust into it. Sad I couldn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
February 20, 2014
Shimmer like a goddess, if you can get it to zip!

I love this dress so much, but it run small! I ordered up sizes, and still couldn't wear it because it didn't fit. The gold is beautiful, and I would have loved to wear it, bit it just wouldn't zip!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2014
Stunning and flattering--just what Gatsby would want!

I definitely recommend choosing a delivery date two days before your event just in case it doesn't fit. I ordered a size 2 and a size 4 because that's what I normally wear, but for some reason both were super small around the chest were not even close to zipping! I immediately called RTR and they were so nice to overnight ship a size 8 (size 6 was sold out) and it was just a little big so to keep it from slipping I sewed it a little on both sides and took out the thread before I returned the dress. It's also a little long, it hit me just above the knee and I'm fairly tall. I got so many compliments, though on how sparkly the dress was ("That's the sparkliest dress I've ever seen in my life" was one of my favorites) and how well it reflected the lights when I danced. All I had to do was shimmy a little and I looked like a magical disco ball! Also super flattering even though it was a little big. Perfect for a night at Gatsby's!

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×