Corundum Sapphire Gown

$80 rental
$790 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ruched for that formal affair in this brilliant blue gown by Badgley Mischka. The super flattering waistline will have you feeling so confident! Simply add Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Luminosity Pearl Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Also available in green, red and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1397 reviews
Fit
Large
(54)
True to Size
(1014)
Small
(73)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
May 22, 2016
Wedding Guest Dress
The dress itself is gorgeous and fits perfectly received so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2016
Loved this dress!
Super comfortable and flattering. Got so may comments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
May 17, 2016
This was a beautiful, comfortable dress.
While I loved the color, fabric, and flow of the dress, it was way too long. I'm 5'3", and I had to wear 5" heels to keep the hem from dragging on the floor. I received tons of compliments throughout the night. Someone was wearing the exact same dress from Rent the Runway at the wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 16, 2016
So many compliments from both men and women on the color of this dress!
Love this dress! I've rented in other colors in the past and will definitely rent again. You can wear a regular bra and the dress is very comfortable. I'm 5'9 and the regular just made it to floor with flat sandals on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black tie event I attended. It added some color to the event.
The dress runs small. I would recommend getting a size larger than what you normally wear. I loved the way the dress fit me.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
May 15, 2016
Stunning dress!
This dress was perfect for a 6:30 wedding. I recently gave birth to twin girls, and this dress helped cover up my remaining baby bump. The zipper was a little tough, but definitely worth it! I received numerous compliments on the dress!! I am 5'4'' 145 lbs and needed 3" heels. The dress made me feel stunning!
Angela May 25, 2016
What size did you order?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
May 14, 2016
very elegant event ...glad I had something long...
Fit was great, zipper was difficult and I was traveling alone, so had to ask two women at the elevator in the hotel to help me with the back. I did contact the company about the difficult zipper and noticed other reviewers said the same. The color was classic and simple...most of the bridal party and family were in sequins, but I felt like a classic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
May 14, 2016
Wore for prom junior year.
Beautiful color and material was incredible. The top fits a little tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2016
Light, comfortable, flattering
The dress was perfect for a black tie wedding I attended. It was good for dancing, comfortable and not heavy. Runs a little small - I am usually an 6 or 8 and I wore a 10 regular so I would definitely size up as a back up size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2016
White tie/Black Tie Gala Auction
The fit was true to size and comfortable. With the help of just a little Hollywood tape, I was able to wear my regular bra. The fit was flattering, yet you could relax and eat! I wore 2.5" heels and the dress was maybe a quarter inch too long. I had to hold up the front or I would trip on the outer layer. If you want to wear true heels, I'd go with the long (if you are taller than 5'5"). Would definitely rent again. Rent the runway is two for two with me, so I will continue to utilize their services when I don't see the need to keep a $500 dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2016
This was for my college senior formal dance, and the dress was beautiful.
The dress fit well and zips easily. I am 5"5 and the Regular brushed the floor. I ended up wearing like 2 inch heels so I wouldn't trip in it, and the length was great! The chest area was a little roomy. It looks AMAZING when you dance and twirl around, and I got a ton of compliments on how classy and elegant it was. The color is a stunning royal blue. I would highly recommend this dress. It is great quality.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
May 11, 2016
This dress never faltered. It was comfortable, a hit, I felt great in it, etc. AMAZING
This dress fit very well. The length was great (I wore flat shoes) It even fit me well in the bust area where I am... well endowed. ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 9, 2016
Loved this Dress!
This was a fantastic dress for a formal charity gala. I'm a true size 0 and it fit perfectly! I have a very small chest, and it wasn't an issue. I wore a regular bra - maybe not the best idea, but it worked for the most part. My stomach bulges a little after giving birth to twins and I felt that this dress hid it well. I'm 5'5" and the length was great with 3 inch heels. I do think that the color is a little different than the picture - more blue, less purple, but it's still a beautiful dress. It was very comfortable as well! As always, RTR customer service was fantastic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 8, 2016
#prom2016chaperone
The color was great. I thought the size was true but I am 5'8 and it would've been too short if I would've picked a shoe with much of a heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2016
The dress was perfect!!!! So many compliments on the elegance and color. I wore it to prom.
The fit is true to size. It is nice to be able to wear a strapless bra with this dress. The 0R was the perfect length with a 2-3 inch heel. People loved the color; it is so pretty. This dress is extremely flattering and doesn't give away when you eat a lot at the dinner and the stomach expands a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 6, 2016
Beautiful, Beautiful Dress
I *loved* this dress!! It is amazing and is far and away my favorite rental so far. I got so many compliments when I was wearing it, and it was incredibly comfortable. It flows fantastically and the color is eye catching. Almost everyone else at my event was wearing black, and this dress stood out. I got this dress as a replacement at the last minute (RTR customer service is amazing!) and 0R was sold out, so I got the 0L. I am 5'4 and with 3 inch heels it was still an inch or an inch and a half too long, but because of the way it flows I wasn't stepping on the hem too badly. The 0R would have been absolutely perfect. I would certainly rent this dress again, and definitely will rent it again in another color. It is amazing.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2016
Pretty, but a little too "matronly" on me.
A slight bit tight in the bust. I would suggest that this dress works better for slender, smaller busted girl.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
May 6, 2016
Loved the dress, got lots of compliments!
Great fit. Very flattering color and style.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 5, 2016
goood fit
fit well, perfect length and comfortable
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
May 3, 2016
This dress was super comfortable and fir perfect!
I was worried the dress was going to be too long but it was perfect with my 4inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
May 2, 2016
The dress was gorgeous and in beautiful condition. The fit was perfect and I felt amazing in it.
I am 5'8" and wore 5" heels and still stepped on the dress at times. I would probably rent the regular for someone my height.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
May 2, 2016
The color is to die for!
Loved this dress! It fit perfectly and I felt so comfortable in it. This was a great dress for the event, and allowed me to wear flats since I was working on my feet all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2016
This dress is a 5 - comfortable, gorgeous color, flattering design
I have never received more compliments on a dress before, people were stalking me down in the middle of a wedding to ask me about it. The color is simply amazing and the dress itself is unbelievably comfortable. I would DEFINITELY recommend this dress to anyone and everyone!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
May 1, 2016
Too much fabric in bust
Too much fabric in the bust area and snags in material. I sent it back the next day. It did not fit in the same way this dress in other colors has fit on me previously. The green version was perfect for a summer wedding.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 30, 2016
The free free flowing dress.
I loved the cool and the comfortable fit. I wish it was slightly shorter because I'm not. a fan of high heels.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2016
.
I ordered this dress for a black tie event for my husband's work. I had a baby 6 months ago and still have some baby weight, so I liked that this dress was advertised as "bump friendly". I guessed that I would need a 10, but wasn't sure if I should order an 8 or a 12 for my backup size. I ended up ordering an 8 but wish I had gone with a 12. The 10 fit, but the band around the waist was very snug and there is no "give" to the fabric. I am not sure that this dress would fit on a pregnant woman. Other than that, the dress was perfect. I loved the color and the fabric. I wore 2 inch heels and the length was just right.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
April 29, 2016
Classy and Fun
I'm 5'4 and 130 and this dress was perfect. I ordered the 4 and 6 and wore the 4 and it was perfect! I loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
April 29, 2016
Prom!
#prom
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2016
gorgeous color
I'm 5'1" and the petite length and fit was almost perfect. I have short torso and felt the top part was just a tiny bit too long to be a perfect fit on me. This dress comes also in red and green. I had originally ordered green one (also beautiful) in regular size and was too long even with a 5" platform stiletto. Highly recommend the dress for formal affair. The skirt soft and flowy and moved with you, was full but not too bulky. Wear with a statement necklace.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
April 26, 2016
Loved the dress for dancing, and the color was perfect!
I ordered a Regular and Long, Regular was plenty long enough to wear with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2016
Comfortable, flattering, worry free dress for any formal event!
Loved this dress for my friend's wedding! Got lots of compliments, and the color was gorgeous! It fit true to size, I tried on the 4 and it was a little more room in the top, mainly the arm holes, than I wanted. Very slimming waist. I wore about 3 inch heels with the dress and it came just off the floor. I would wear this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 26, 2016
This dress was stunning and I felt like a princess all night!
I loved the flowy material and the way the dress moved. It fit perfectly and I wish I could own it! I'm 5'5" and was able to wearing 3.5" heels with the dress just barely touching the ground. The zipper was difficult but I was able to do it on my own. I tried to get away with wearing a regular bra but my straps kept sliding out so I recommend taking others' suggestions and wearing either a racerback or no bra at all. I got compliments on this dress all night and would rent again if the opportunity present's itself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 25, 2016
This dress is just fine
I rented this as a backup dress for a formal event, and it would have been totally okay. It fit as expected. It's just kind of blah, so you'd need big accessories. Be aware that the waist is very fitted. I have a very small waist and never have problems with fit there, and this dress fit very snug at the waist. This dress would have served it's purpose adequately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2016
Beautiful color! Very comfortable...
But!! It made me look heavy! I got many compliments, but there's a lot of fabric despite the light and airy feel of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
April 24, 2016
I wore this dress for a work-related military ball. It was conservative, but flattering and gorgeous
Great fit, lots of compliments. It was flattering and vert appropriate for a work ball! I'm an athletic build with some bumps I didn't want to show and this slimmed and covered perfectly. Bonus: I'm 6'1" and was able to wear the 10L with heels!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 21, 2016
This dress was so comfortable and I received many compliments all night.
Fit perfectly. The zipper was a little hard to get up over the band seams so I had to be careful with that part.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 135lbs
April 20, 2016
Black tie dinner for charity
Color was beautiful and I got compliments on the dress. I wore a racer back bra with it which was nice to not have to go strapless. Only complaints were size. I ordered a size 6 with an 8 back-up size. I should have gotten a 4 back-up. I ended up wearing the 6 but it felt a little big so I would have liked to have tried on the 4. The length was long and I had to wear 4 inch heels to keep it from dragging. This made for sore feet! And the worst happened, another lady at the event was wearing the exact same dress and she also rented it from RTR - what are the odds?!?!?!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
April 20, 2016
Beautiful, comfortable dress!
I'm 5'7, 150lbs and can wear sizes 4-8 in dresses depending on the cut. I'm curvy in the hips but small busted so the 6 fit perfectly. It was a little loose on top, but not so much so that I felt like I was going to flash everyone through the armholes. It was super comfortable and the color was great. Perfect for a black tie scholarship dinner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
April 19, 2016
It's a lovely, simple dress.
I typically wear a 6, so I'm glad they offer the free back up size as I had to use it. The part that gave me issue was the "waist" which kind of sat more like an empire waist almost. I can't suck in my rib cage so I had to use the 8. I am 5'10" and the long was perfect if you want to wear it with heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 19, 2016
Beauty in blue
Loved everything about the dress.
See more reviews:
4 / 35
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×