Corundum Sapphire Gown

$70 – $85 rental ?
$790 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ruched for that formal affair in this brilliant blue gown by Badgley Mischka. The super flattering waistline will have you feeling confident.

Also available in green, red and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1470 reviews
Fit
Large
(55)
True to Size
(1047)
Small
(76)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2016
Lightweight and a beautiful color
I'm 5'9 and wore the long length with a 2.5ish inch wedge. I could have gone slightly higher. This dress is lightweight even for summer and easy to wear. I'm generally a size 8 so I'd say this runs a tad small through the waist and bust but probably not a full size. Gorgeous color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 13, 2016
Gorgeous, modest - yet sexy - dress.
I loved wearing this dress. My sister had a very small wedding and asked me to choose any dress I wanted, but due to the religious nature of those attending asked that it be modest. I found this style and let her choose the color (it also comes in green and pink). This royal blue was vibrant and a perfect choice; I wore a white pashmina over my shoulders to compliment it. The material was great for the summer heat and would have been good for an indoor winter venue as well. Pros: I felt like a Greek goddess with the fitted bodice and the flowing skirt layers. It's elegant and sexy without showing off all the goodies. (My husband asked if we could keep it.) Cons: The bodice was a wee bit tight for me, though not constrictive or uncomfortable; I probably could have gotten away without wearing a bra, though I didn't try it like that. My regular bra straps also showed outside shoulders; I wore a navy bra so it wasn't too obvious, and with the pashmina covering my shoulders the entire time it wasn't even an issue, but next time I'd wear a strapless or racerback bra if I need one. Also, the regular length was pooling on the floor with my 5'5" frame; it skimmed the floor even with 2.5" heels - I likely could have gotten away with the short length. Fortunately I didn't have to do a whole lot of walking around in it, but when people were right behind me they did step on it a few times. I paired this with a short strand of pearls (choker-length) and it sat right at my collarbone above the neckline. I think most any pearl or sparkly accessories would go well with it. Would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 20
July 13, 2016
Wore this to an Indian wedding
For a little tight around the underarms but fit well once I got the right size. Sizing is a little small. Typically I'm a size 8 and I wore a 12
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
July 12, 2016
Great first RTR experience!
I loved this dress, it was a very flattering fit and I got tons of compliments. The 4 was tight in my ribs so I wore the 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 12, 2016
Simply perfect
I couldn't have been happier with this dress. True to size and the length was just right with a short heel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
July 11, 2016
Love it
It fit well and made me look great, it was a little long with my heels and so that's why I didn't wear it because I didn't want to fall and trip over the dress but the color is amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2016
LOVED THIS DRESS
I absolutely adored this dress! It was perfect for a formal wedding and has a great skirt that looks so pretty when you dance (even if you have no rhythm like me). The color is super rich, the material is lovely and it was so comfortable. I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. Could not have been sadder to send it home.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 52
July 11, 2016
This dress was perfect for me as Mother of the Groom - it was comfortable, lovely and elegant.
I wore a 0L, but, but could have easily wore a 0R. I am 5'8" and I wore a small heel - usually I would need a long, but not with this dress. The customer service dept. gave me great advice and recommended temporary fabric tape as they did not have a 0R at the last moment. The temporary tape worked great - do not use the kind that you iron on as that will ruin the dress. I was nervous about renting a dress that I never tried on, but Rent the Runway will take care of any issues that you have and will send you another size the next day. They were fantastic to work with and I highly recommend Rent the Runway.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 11, 2016
Great color, some fit issues
The color was gorgeous. I ordered the 10R, but it was unavailable, so RTR sent me the 12R. Luckily I got the 12R, because the band around the middle fit perfectly on my ribcage, and a smaller size would probably have been too tight. Also at 5'4" the dress was a little long, even with heels, so I had to be careful not to trip. Finally, the bust was a little loose on my right side, in a way that suggested a stitch was missing. Despite the fit issues, I did like this dress and got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
July 10, 2016
I wore this to my friend's wedding and knew that there would be many well-dressed people attending!
The color of this dress is amazing. Also, if you need to wear a bra or if wearing one just makes things much more comfortable, this dress allows that (racerback).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 9, 2016
Perfect blue for a 4th of July wedding.
This dress was beautiful, but does run a little small, especially if you are larger cheated like myself. I just barely got the 8 to zipper up and felt a little constricted across the chest with the dress on, but because of the material, you couldn't tell! I received many compliments on the color and style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
July 9, 2016
Perfect dress
Loved the color. A lot of compliments. Very comfortable. Didn't have to wear a bra or spanx! I left the back a little bit unzippered and clipped the top to give it a more open back look. Worked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
July 8, 2016
Gorgeous color, flawy and comfy
This dress is lovely and swishy and the color is bold and beautiful. But my husband thought it was "pretty but a little bit regular," and I suppose that, given everything available on RTR, he's right! Lovely, but not a knockout without an eye-catching statement necklace, maybe?
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
June 30, 2016
The dress was perfect I got so many compliments on it
The fit was perfect I was unsure at first but a great over all fit
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Body type: Pear
June 29, 2016
My son's wedding!
The dress was perfect! I loved it! I received so many compliments. Thank you so much RTR!
RTR CustomerSeptember 12, 2016
Did you wear heels? I'm 6'2... trying to decide if this will be long enough. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
June 29, 2016
Great dress!
This dress fit like a glove. I am 5'1'' and ended up wearing 3 inch wedges. The dress hit the floor at the perfect length as if it were hemmed for me personally. My bust size is a 32B and it fit great there as well with a strapless bra. Loved renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 29, 2016
Great classic dress!
This dress fit well and was comfortable to spend a night in! The color was great and I received a lot of compliments. I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
June 28, 2016
Beautiful color, petite size is still long
The dress was beautiful! The color was very vibrant and I loved it! The layered fabric also made this really fun to dance in. As others have mentioned, it's hard to zip over the center band by yourself. But as long as you have someone else to help you should be fine. I had hoped that by ordering the petite size, the length would fit me better, but sadly it was still really long. Granted I'm only 5' tall so everything runs a little long on me, even petites. But even in 3 inch heels this dress dragged on the ground. Just something to think about if you're super short like I am.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
June 28, 2016
Black tie wedding
Very much enjoyed wearing this dress and got a lot of compliments. Color was beautiful, dress was comfortable. It did require a strapless bra, which I'm not sure I anticipated from the photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
June 28, 2016
Gorgeous dress
Great dress. I have received so many compliments on the color alone. The middle band of the dress is pretty snug and the rest is so Flowy so you really don't need any form of spanx. I did wear a strapless bra because a regular one showed with the cut of the dress. I'm 5'3 and wore the dress with heels and it was perfect length. Barefoot (while dancing) I did need to lift the dress up. I rented some Kate Spade jewelry to pair with it and it worked perfectly. It was such a comfy material with layers.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
June 28, 2016
Perfect and elegant for an evening, black-tie wedding.
Due to my small bust and the length of the dress (still hit the floor in 3-inch heels!), I wish I had rented the 4P -- however, the dress still fit and was extremely comfortable. I wore it to an extremely elegant, evening, black-tie wedding -- and it was absolutely perfect. I received tons of compliments on the gown. It flowed beautifully. I wish I had one in every color. Highly recommended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2016
Elegant and comfortable
I wore the size 4 and it was true to size. It was very comfortable and I received several compliments. I wore this to a winter wedding and would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
June 26, 2016
This dress is stunning - I received compliments all night!
The dress is perfect! I am 5'6" and 135 pounds, and a 6R was perfect. Great if you have a slightly larger chest - Flattering cut!
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 26, 2016
I felt like a princess...
It is a most amazing, super comfortable, and beautiful dress. It does run long as most designer dresses and I'm so glad I took backup size in petite. I'm 5'4" and needed 4P.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 1
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 23, 2016
Great dress to dance in!
I wore this dress to a semi-formal wedding and it was fantastic. The dress can be hard to zip up with all the fabric at the waist-line so you might want to make sure you have a friend to help. This dress was a blast to dance in and I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 23, 2016
Bright, comfy, and perfect!
This dress worked perfectly for the black tie beach wedding I just recently attended. It was a very windy day and everyone kept commenting on how beautifully it flowed in the wind! The zipper was difficult and I needed my husband to help, but it was definitely a small price to pay when wearing this dress. I'm a 34 DD and there was plenty of room in the bust and the arm holes didn't dig in at all, which for me is a MAJOR plus. The ruching is extremely flattering and the material is perfect for any sort of summer event. I wore 3" wedges and being 5'7.5" the 8L was a perfect length, as it just skimmed across the floor but I never tripped over it. Overall, it literally was one of the comfiest dresses I have ever worn and I will totally rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2016
Loved the color and the length! Comfortable!
Loved this dress but it is a struggle to zip!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 20, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
This dress fit really well. I have a fairly long torso and this fit perfect at the waist area. The cut of the dress also gave lots of room to move around easily. The only negative on a size Long is that it was too long. I wore 3 inch heels and I'm 5'9" and the dress was still too long and caught a few times where I almost fell. I would definitely order this dress again, only in the 2. Very pretty blue and the material was so comfortable. Easy to sit and dance in. Very figure flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Weight: 170lbs
June 19, 2016
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
The RTR web site advised me to order a long, based on my height. This was good advice. Even though I opted to wear flats, I would have had a couple inches to wear heels if I'd wanted. The bodice fit was flattering and comfortable (I wear a 34C-D bra). I needed a strapless bra because it narrows at the shoulders, but the dress holds up the bra without needing to fasten it very tightly. Plenty of flowing fabric for dancing, without a bulky look. The fabric is nice and breathable, even on a hot night. The color is stunning. Everyone complimented me on this dress. Cons: the zipper is a little tricky.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 18, 2016
Vibrant blue and very comfortable!
This was my backup dress. i put it on after my event so that i could take a pic for this review. The color is gorgeous and it's comfortable. I just didn't think it did much for my pear shape/wide hips. The zipper is tough...you will definitely need someone to help you. I added a wide elastic belt and I think it changed the whole look! I'm 5'5" and with heels, the length was perfect. Someone at my table wore this dress, so my first choice ended up being the right one :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 17, 2016
Loved the look and feel!
This was my first time using RTR and I loved it, so easy to use! I wore size 4R. I'm only 5'-4" so even in my tallest heels, it was a little too long. It didn't cause me to trip or stumble but I had to be cautious. The dress was so comfortable and a really flattering shoped. Overall I loved it and felt great in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 16, 2016
Beautiful dress, very well made.
Depending on the designer, I fit between sizes 8 and 10. I am 36DD and could not zip up the 8 so I wore the 10. I ordered the 10 P because other women had said it was long but I wish I had not - it ended up being too short. (I am 5'8")
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 16, 2016
Great color and fit
The fit was great on this dress! My husband and I had a little trouble with the zipper at the waist part where the rushing is but other then that I was highly satisfied!! It's very flattering and I was comfortable all night. I'm glad I ordered the long because it hit perfectly with my heels. I wore 2 1/2" heels and I'm 5'10". I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Petite
June 16, 2016
Amazing dress! Received so many compliments on the color, style, fit.
Dress is long, if you are short and don't like high heels, you could go with the petite size for length. I wore 4" heels and length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 16, 2016
I felt super glamorous!
The dress is gorgeous and fits amazingly. It was super flattering, and like the reviews, was quite hard to zip up, but nothing some help couldn't fix. I got a lot of compliments on the color and fit and would highly recommend it. I have a larger bust (34D) and did not find it to be too tight on top at all, however you may not need a bra as it is fitted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2016
The dress fit like a glove and I received complements all night!
Fit great around my rib cage and chest. Drew attention to my waist and fell nice over my postpartum tummy and legs!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Weight: 117lbs
June 14, 2016
Great for a black tie wedding
This was the second time I've rented from RtR and will continue to do so in the future. The dress was perfect and I went with the 4R and it was true to size. I'm 5'5 and with heels, I was 5'7 and the 4R JUST touched the ground. The 4L would have been way too long. I got many compliments at the Black Tie wedding I attended in Manhattan. The only issue was the zipper. I needed help in and out both times I tried it on. It gets stuck where the fabric is tight and made me very nervous that I was going to break the zipper. I even practiced zippering the dress up and down when I wasn't wearing it and it was still difficult.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2016
I loved this dress! It made me feel absolutely beautiful!
It's a touch on the long side. I'm 5'5" wore 3 inch heels and it just touched the floor. It's very flowy and I tripped on the bottom a couple times (no worries, I didn't fall!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 117lbs
June 14, 2016
The color is one of my favorites. Cobalt Blue. Fits true to size
The fit is true to size. Perfect length and style for a gown
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
June 12, 2016
Beautiful and elegant black tie wedding
Fit: Great fit for long legs, small bust Pros: beautiful dress, no one else had on anything similar, perfectly skimmed the floor. Cons: a few small tears but I doubt anyone saw them
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
4 / 37
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×