Corundum Sapphire Gown

$80 rental
$790 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ruched for that formal affair in this brilliant blue gown by Badgley Mischka. The super flattering waistline will have you feeling so confident! Simply add Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Luminosity Pearl Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Also available in green, red and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1148 reviews
Fit
Large50
True to Size877
Small55
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 21, 2015
Had so many compliments on the dress!
Perfect fit, true to size. Wore 3 inch heels, so I should have gotten the 12L Very comfortable and fun to dance in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Weight: 110lbs
October 20, 2015
I LOOKED FAB!!! :D
The dress fits perfectly. It can be a little long depending on what size heels you are wearing which can make it a little hard to dance in, but overall its PERFECT!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2015
Fit great and made me feel beautiful!
I needed a dress for a black tie wedding in NY 9 weeks after having a baby (10lbs to go to pre-baby weight). I am 5' 7" and currently weigh 155. Not knowing my dress size (but pre-baby was size 6-8) , I rented three sizes and ended up wearing the 10R. The 8R fit but I was more comfortable in the 10R. It was very flattering for my mid-section and i was able to wear a regular bra so the girls were supported since I'm nursing - I got compliments all night on how great I looked for 9 week post partum! This was my first time renting from RTR but I will definitely use it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 20, 2015
I received many compliments in the dress and felt 100% comfortable!
Runs true to size. All of my work clothes (business casual) are a size 2. I wore approximately 2 inch heels with the dress and it fit well with the long length. If I wore larger heels the dress (even the long) would have been too short. If I would have worn flats, the dress would have been too long. It was a little difficult going up and down stairs but was easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2015
Beautiful dress in a wonderfully rich color.
Yes, the zipper is atrocious. The great thing about having a backup dress is you can show whoever is zipping you up exactly how to do it--on the dress you're not wearing. You will definitely need someone to zip you in and out of this thing--preferably someone with patience and dexterity. But it's completely worth it for a comfortable dress that looks stunning both in real life and in photographs. I'm 5'5.5" and the 12R was exactly floor-length if I stood ramrod straight. So it mostly swished on the ground a smidge, but I got to wear flats and I call that a win. From the reviews, it seems like curvier women (of all sizes, because curvy is a shape and not a size) who are my height can get away with flats on the R length...because our hips and butts lift the dress just high enough. YYMV. I chose to wear a strapless bra which was completely invisible under the dress--as was my Fitbit Zip. Yay pleating! Definitely order a size up as your backup size as the waist has z-e-r-o give. If you're short-waisted and large-of-boob, this is actually a pretty great dress because it gives you more space for boobage. The back of the dress above the waistband poufed out a little on me, but since the front was the only part being photographed it worked for me. Cons: 1. There is no give in the waistband. Size up for backup. 2. There were two small snags on the skirt's chiffon which were thankfully mostly hidden. Since this is a popular dress, I expected more signs of wear so I was fine with it. If you're going to be heavily photographed, inspect the dress like a hawk before you wear it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 19, 2015
Great Dress! High quality material that is flattering.
Fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 19, 2015
The dress was the perfect level of formality and fun for a black-tie optional wedding.
This dress fit me like a glove. I waver between a 10 and 12 and this dress was perfect in all aspects--long enough and made my waist look tiny! This neckline doesn't always flatter me because I'm a bit chestier than I look, but on this dress it was perfect. Another girl was wearing the same dress (also, RTR) and we both agreed that we loved it. The color is a rich and vibrant blue, perfect for the evening autumn wedding. I did end up wearing spanx, but was actually able to go bra-less with it, so to each their own!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 18, 2015
Beautiful dress for a formal navy ball!
This dress was so elegant and flowy. I wore it to a formal navy ball, and the royal blue looked really sharp against a sea of mostly plain black dresses! I got the size 8 and 10 as many reviews said it ran a bit small, but the regular size 8 turned out to be just right. I am on the shorter side, but the length was just right with a pair of heels. My husband said he liked this dress so much that I should buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2015
I'll rent this again!
This was my back up and I didn't end up wearing it but loved it!! Perfect with 3 inch heels to brush the floor. True to size but not very stretchy so size up if in between. A beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2015
This was perfect for the wedding I went to.
The fit was seriously perfect. I'm 5'1 1/2 and was a little worried about the length. With heels it slightly touched the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 11, 2015
Compliments all night long!
The dress fit perfectly! I'm about 170lbs, 5'4 and ordered both the 8r and 10r, both fit but I wore the 10r since it hung a little better. I wore a racer back bra and did have to use fashion tape to hide the straps and the sides of the bra. Other than that, everyone couldn't stop telling me they loved my dress, and I couldn't stop telling them it was from RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2015
So many compliments
So many compliments on this dress!! This was my first rental from RTR and I can't wait to order again!!! Highly recommend this dress very comfortable true to size wore with heels and the length was perfect for me
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2015
Fabulous dress, super flattering!
Great dress, fit perfectly. Wore it for a black tie event. Definitely needed the petite, which fit just like the 8R, but was a bit shorter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
October 2, 2015
Wow! Statement color, beautiful!
Tons of compliments on the color, stood out in a sea of black and white. Size 10R was tight in the back and waist, 12R was perfect. The fit was true to size and was extremely comfortable. Didn't have one area that pinched, squeezed or required constant adjusting. 4" heels worked for me, even if it was a little short (3" inches would've been great). I wore a t-back bra, as normal straps would show.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 1, 2015
Great dress for a wedding!
I usually wear a size 4, but the 4L was a just a little too tight and a little too short, so I decided to go with the 6L and wear flats which was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2015
Lovely dress to wear for Prewedding photoshoot
I tried it on at rent the run way store and loved it. It's elegant and beautiful dress. Hence I rented it for my Prewedding photo session. True to size and color is bright!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
September 27, 2015
This gown was perfect for my husband's Navy Supply Corps Ball. It was elegant but super comfortable!
The dress was the perfect length. The waist is pretty fitted and doesn't offer much stretch, but the dress runs true to size. The flowing bottom is surprisingly heavy, but the dress was still flow and comfortable enough to dance in all night long.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 24, 2015
The dress was absolutely stunning I felt like I was a socialite at a high class wedding.
The fit was great it gave me room to dance but was fitted up top. It was just the right length with my heels and wasn't stepped on when I took them off. The zipper was hard to pull up with one person but once it was on there wasn't an issue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
September 24, 2015
Beautiful color!
Great fit. Very flattering. Loose and flowing in the right places, but fit well and didn't look too big. Loved the color!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2015
Perfect fit and received so many compliments on it!
I've never worn a long dress so it was a little tough to get used to while sitting down and getting up, but it looked perfect.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 23, 2015
This dress worked perfectly for a black tie wedding!
This dress fit true to size, the a-line cut was very flattering. I'd recommend ordering the long for taller girls
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
September 22, 2015
Saved my bacon! Only dress I could wear
Just after the birth of my first baby, we were invited to a black tie wedding. I was completely stuck on what to wear as I was not my usual size at all and wanted something beautiful to make me feel beautiful. I ended up wearin g this dress with a patterned blazer because I was not comfortable with the look of my arms but the vibrant color of this dress made the entire ensemble light and sophisticated. A good shape for camouflaging a middle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2015
This dress is very comfortable and I received tons of compliments on the color.
I'm 6'0 tall, and the 10L dress was a good length with flats. It would've been a bit short had I worn heels. The dress runs fairly true to size, but maybe a bit on the small size. I can usually do an 8 or a 10, and even the 10 felt a big snug on this one. All in all, though, a really beautiful dress - gorgeous color, and I received tons of compliments. Very comfortable, too.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 22, 2015
Gorgeous dress, so many compliments!
This dress was gorgeous and I received so many compliments on it. Only trouble I had with it was the zipper. It was really tough to get the zipper over a certain part of the dress but we finally got it up! This dress was perfect and I wish I could wear it again!
RTR CustomerOctober 8, 2015
how tall are you? and did you wear heels?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 59
September 21, 2015
Got so many compliments, and of course I told everyone it was a Rent The Runway! Perfect!
Ordered the 4R and the 6R as a backup. Tried on the 6R and it fit perfectly! I am 5'7" with measurements of 34C/D chest, 26 Waist and 36 hips. Hip measurement wouldn't really matter, neither would waist. I measure 29 at braline and it fit perfectly. Any bigger in that area, and I would size up to an 8 because there is no stretch. The dress was plenty long with my 3 1/2" heels. I think it fit me the same way it looked like it fit the the model. The color is stunning. Professional pictures will be added later, but this one is from my Iphone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 20, 2015
Perfecto for a fancy wedding!
Fit and length were perfect, very comfortable and elegant. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2015
The color of the dress is even prettier in person!
I am 5'11, 134 lbs. I wore a 2L and it touched the floor in flats. Beautiful dress, very flowy which I love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 19, 2015
I got so many compliments
The fit was perfect and true to size. I wore heels which if I didn't it would have been too long since I am only 5'2". I loved the color and I had so many compliments from people. I wore it to a navy ball.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 44
September 17, 2015
Great color and fit especially for black tie event.
I wore this dress to a black tie evening wedding and it was perfect. The color is amazing and the dress is flattering. I wore a size 6 and it was a good fit and length. Received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 16, 2015
The color is gorgeous and the length was just right.
The fit was true to size. The length was perfect - and I'm 5'11 and had on 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 15, 2015
Wore this dress to a black-tie wedding - it was perfect!
I usually wear an 8-10 in dresses, but am a little smaller on top, so I went with the 8 (they didn't have a 10 in stock). It fit perfectly around by rib cage (some of the reviews remarked that it was small or tight, but mine was right on!). One size up would have been too big. I felt GREAT in the dress, and got compliments all night! It was comfortable, and looked great with my hair down. Definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
September 15, 2015
Wore this dress to a Navy Dining Out. It was perfect.
Fit really well. Very true to size. Color was gorgeous. Comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 15, 2015
Beautiful dress, very comfortable, and a stunning blue!
I usually wear a size 4 in dresses (and 6 in bottoms) but they only had a size 2R left and I really wanted this dress so I gambled a little bit with the smaller size and it turns out that it fit PERFECTLY! If I had a large bust though, it probably wouldn't have zipped up as easily. The dress was flowy and light and only slightly touched the ground with 5 inch heels (I'm 5'4). Would definitely recommend this dress, as it is flattering and creates a beautiful waistline. That blue color is to die for!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
September 14, 2015
Beautiful color & very comfy
I ordered the 2P and 2R. I'm 5'2" and 122 lbs, and usually wear a 2 in everything. The petite was perfect. I was swimming in the regular length. The color was beautiful and I felt great in the dress the entire night. I would rent it in another color if I wasn't going to another wedding with the same people! Next year. Thanks everyone for writing reviews, including sizing information & adding photos. They are so helpful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 14, 2015
Beautiful wedding.
This dress was great for dancing and was a super comfortable fit. I loved the color and the length! Got tons of compliments, made me feel confident all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 13, 2015
Ability to try the dress on before renting in the DC location wiped away any anxiety I may have had.
This dress was very elegant. It flatters in all the right places and flows as you walk. I would have preferred to rent the petite version due to my height but it wasn't available. I wore very high heels and the dress just skirted the ground. It would occasionally get caught in my shoes but not enough to cause any issues. I love this dress. I wish I owned it :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
September 11, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was such a fun dress!
It fit perfectly. The only trouble I thought I was going to have was that it was going to be too long but when I tried it on with shoes. Perfect length! I did have some trouble zipping it up at the band of the dress but with some help it was fine. I was comfortable and had so much fun dancing the night away. The only complaint that I have is that I wish there was maybe a 6-day rental. I went out of town and had to get the 8 day rental because of the way our flights ended up. Otherwise is was a great outfit to rent!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
September 11, 2015
I wore this gown to a black tie gala.
This dress really will fit anyone: its easy, forgiving, and elegant. It would be difficult to mess this one up. I was terrified that the 2 would be too big (I'm normally a 0), but with a structured bra it was perfect. I'm just under 5'8" and the dress length was almost perfect with 2.5 inch heels. I was so worried that the dress would be short that I purchased some flats, but ended up not needing them. The big con (and this of course isn't the dress's fault) is that I felt a tad underdressed and unsophisticated for the gala that I was attending. It feels a little like an old bridesmaid's dress (it was even snagged in a couple of places but nothing too noticeable). Its pretty and the color is nice, but its very plain. I'd never been to a gala before and now I know. Lesson learned. If I am invited to attend another gala, I'll spring for a ballgown from RTR. Bottom Line: this is basically a very pretty bridesmaid's dress. Heck, if you are looking for a bridesmaid's dress, stop your search, this is it! You won't be sorry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
September 5, 2015
Beautiful cobalt blue color that stole the show! I wore the dress to Junior Prom
Very flattering with beautiful waistline and amazing flowing skirt. Color was vibrant and received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2015
Perfect for a black tie wedding
I tried this on at the store after my stylist picked it out for me. I am usually not drawn to blue but this blue is so pretty. This was perfect for a black tie wedding. The wedding was outside in August and I was much less hot than my friends, the dress is pretty light. I wore and 8P which was the perfect length for my shoes, I am 5'3". My back up was the 8R, which worked with the shoes I tried on at the store. My heels were about 3". I am usually and 8 and the 8 fit well. I didn't wear a bra since it's both tight and pleated on top. There was an illustrator at the wedding and I was able to get a fashion illustration done of me in the dress. Such a nice keep sake.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
4 / 29

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×