Badgley Mischka

Corundum Sapphire Gown

$70 – $80 rental
$790 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ruched for that formal affair in this brilliant blue gown by Badgley Mischka. The super flattering waistline will have you feeling confident.

Also available in green, red and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cobalt crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1723 reviews
Fit
Large
(62)
True to Size
(1177)
Small
(92)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2017
Gorgeous color, fit, and flow for my engagement pics
I rented this dress for my engagement pictures and it worked great! The color showed up well in pictures. The fit is conservative while still feeling gorgeous and sexy. I have a teeny bust and although the front was loose on me, I actually think it worked and maybe gave me a little shape there. Would recommend to anyone who wants to be comfy and classy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2017
Easy fit of the dress allowed me to just enjoy the evening!
Beautiful vivid color, great for fair skinned girls. Was still very post-partum, and it made me feel comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
October 9, 2017
This was perfect for a black tie wedding. This dress is a show stopper.
I'm 5'10 and this length was perfect. I'm typically a twelve and it was true to size. I did not like the tiny zipper as it does that typical tiny zipper over a lot of fabric sticking while zipping. I received a lot of compliments and felt like a million bucks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2017
Beautiful formal wedding in Chicago. The dress was perfect for the occasion!
I loved this dress! The only con was that it was too long and I kept tripping on the fabric. I wore my tallest heels and I'm 5'7'' tall so I didn't think it would be a problem but it WAS. I definitely won't be renting a floor length dress anytime soon. Bummer!
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 40C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
October 8, 2017
Flowed great in the wind and when walking
Fit tight around the rib cage, but left a "bubble" on my back and big in the arm holes. I'm 5'6" and wore 1 inch heals and the length was good. Still wore it. Looked nice, but I would not rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Weight: 110lbs
October 7, 2017
Great for a winter wedding
I wore this for a New Year's Eve wedding and it was beautiful. I'm pretty short (5'2") so it was a little long for me and I might want to get the 2P if I rented it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 7, 2017
Beautiful but LONG
The only option for this dress was 14L...even with 5" heels I struggled to not step on it. But it was worth it as I felt gorgeous and I loved the flowiness to the bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 6, 2017
Perfect for a Fall Wedding!
Love this dress. The blue is even better in person, so vibrant! The material is gorgeous and flowy. It's a high neck so I wore a statement necklace over it. I wore the 10 to the event because the waist was a better fit so that the top didn't blouse too much (I don't need anything more going on up there than there already is!) but after eating I think I could have gotten away with the 12 :) I ordered the regular but wore 4" heels, which was perfect, it just skimmed the floor. With flats or smaller heels though it would have been way too long so just a warning to petite ladies! No complaints though, loved it and would wear again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2017
Very comfortable
This was a backup dress. I would recommend it if you want to be comfortable and hide some extra stuff. I didn't end up wearing it as I was really happy with a different dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 5, 2017
Beautiful color and so comfortable!
Very long flowy and comfortable gown. The best part is that it defines your waist but is loose through the hips. I'm 5'4 and wore this with regular heels just fine. If you have a racerback bra, that would probably work best. Would recommend! I've actually rented it twice already.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2017
Confidence
The dress was classic and comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
October 3, 2017
Standout dress
I rented this for a formal wedding, and could not be more pleased with it. I rented a 12R and 10L, and ended up wearing the 10L for the length. I'm 6' and wore a 1.25" kitten heel and the length was perfect. Could have gotten away with the R length if I was wearing flats. The color is incredible and the dress was comfortable - very flowy. Got tons of compliments. Highly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
October 3, 2017
I have rented this dress 3 times now for weddings. I absolutely love it!
Flattering fit, very fun to wear, looks great with heels.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 27, 2017
Perfect dress for an outdoor ceremony and inside reception.
I loved this dress! I received a ton of compliments on it throughout the night. They sent an 8 and 10P. I went with the 10P because the 8 was slightly too tight in the chest. I'm almost 5'3" and the 10P length was great with about 2 inch heels. We sat in the sun for the reception and even though it was a bit hot, the dress kept it cool. Because it's pretty flowy and wasn't too tight, I didn't get sweaty on the dance floor and never felt confined. I also got away with not wearing a bra (bonus!). There was another girl at the wedding in the same dress, but in green. She wore it with minimal jewelry and it looked great on her, too. I wore mine with a double-strand pearl necklace, pearl drop earrings, and small bracelets. There were only two cons: 1) The zipper kept catching right at the ruching at the waist. Even my husband had a hard time pulling it up. Once we finally got it, though, it was loose-ish at the waist, so I know it's not because it was too tight. 2) The dress arrived with a tear at the hem (I'm guessing the previous renter had a fun time). I was able to sew it up with a little blue thread and nobody could notice. Overall, I loved this dress! As a first time RTR customer, I will say that I'll definitely come back for formal events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
September 27, 2017
The look on my husband's face and his declaration- "You look Beautiful!"
As with other reviewers the dress is tight at the ribs but was not uncomfortable. The zipper is difficult at the ruching so definitely have a helper (!!!!). I loved the airiness of the dress and in Florida that is important. I felt stunning in this dress. I did add some blingy flair in an oversized pin to make it more glamorous but it is definitely a winning dress. The neckline shows off your shoulders and is very flattering. Also, I have a large bust and did not have any trouble fitting into this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 26, 2017
Flattering and elegant
Even though it looks like you can wear a normal bra with this dress you can't. I tried every possible way to avoid a strapless bra but failed and ended up wearing a strapless bra with the dress. I ordered the 6R and the 8R. Both fit well and I could have worn either one, but I ended up going with the 6R as it was easier to walk in with my 3" heels - it perfectly grazed the ground without dragging or getting my heel caught in the dress. It is a beautiful color that will stand out at a black tie affair where everyone is wearing dark colors while at the same time incredibly appropriate for a black tie occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
September 25, 2017
I wasn't the only person to wear this FABULOUS dress at the wedding!
This dress is very elegant and comfortable to wear. The top was large, so I wore the back-up size, and it fit perfectly. The zipper is impossible to maneuver alone at the bodice. That is the only downside to the dress. When we arrived at the site of our shuttle bus pick-up, I immediately noticed a woman wearing the same dress I had on. We both said, "Rent the Runway?" and laughed. We accessorized differently because it was a very cold outdoor wedding, so I doubt few people noticed. We had planned to take a picture together and post it on RTR, but didn't get the chance. So to the woman who was twinning with me at the Ali + Paul wedding this weekend, it was nice meeting you. You have exquisite taste!!! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2017
This dress is unreal!
I loved this dress! Some water spilled on the dress and it took a while for it to dry so I had a spot on my for a while and it was a big long for me even with heels but the flow and movement of this dress is absolutely stunning. I would love to order it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2017
Love the color
So many compliments on the dress color. As people said it does run snug around the waste. Is tough to zipper around the waste area, but had help. Didn't always lay flat on the top. But worked ok with strapless. I am 5'7" and was able to wear flats with the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2017
Great Postpartum Dress
Loved the dress, fit great and I felt pretty 11 weeks after having a baby. However, I didn't get to wear it to the gala because my husband ended up having an emergency appendectomy so we were in the ER instead. :(
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2017
So comfortable all night!
Felt like I was wearing pajamas it was so comfortable yet got so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 21, 2017
SMALL
I did not end up wearing this dress. I loved the color & concept but it was SO SO SMALL. I rented the 12R which is my normal formal dress size but I am not even convinced the 14R would have fit. If you have a big chest I would not recommend this dress. I ended up renting another dress which was even more perfect for the Emmy's than this dress. So I was very pleased with the overall outcome.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
September 21, 2017
A comfortable and flattering dress, the banding is a bit snug.
I usually wear a 12/14 and ended up with the 14R. Being 5'5" I wore 4" heals and the dress sat just above the ground. The band is a bit snug so if you have a wider torso you may need to go to your larger size but the rest of the dress ran very true to size and was quite comfortable. The dress was also accommodating for a larger bust with a crisscross bra so it sat under the straps.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
September 20, 2017
Dress was amazing. Fit perfect and got tons of compliments.
Dress was snug up top but comfortable. It fit great. Needed two people to get it zipped up but that's cause I have a large bust. Only con was I didn't wear a bra and it was 80 degrees out and I had major boob sweat which turned the dress a darker color and was noticeable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2017
Love it
Beautiful color for outdoor wedding
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 19, 2017
My first Air Force ball!
The fit and length were just right and I could wear a regular bra with it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
September 19, 2017
Beautiful in blue
The dress fit perfectly. It was comfy and beautiful. It was a little bit long for my 5"4 frame and heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 19, 2017
Very comfortable and easy process
I was scared to try this, since I'm in between sizes at the moment, but I ordered two and was pleased that one fit pretty well. I wore flats, through, and the regular would have been long enough!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2017
Great color and so comfortable
This was a backup as my original wasn't available so I wasn't as excited about it but it worked out great. It is super comfortable and I'm always a fan of something that allows me to wear a regular bra. I wore a racerback bra that wanted to peek out a little under my arms but I put some fashion tape on and went with it. The skirt is really fun and flowy. I ordered a long as I am 5'7" and wore 3" heels but it was still a tad long. I think it was the right option but definitely a bit difficult on stairs at that length. The color is great too. Worn for a black tie wedding and it felt perfect for that with nice accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2017
Another great rental...
I rented this dress last minute, literally the day before the wedding. Obviously that short notice there wasn't a big selection. But all worked out well I loved the dress and it fit really well. The 8L was a little too long I am 5 '8" and wore 3" heels and it hung a little long in the back I kept stepping on it. But it was still manageable and comfortable. A side note is that the pick up service at the NYC store isn't a streamlined system. I waited in line for 20 minutes to pick up. The dresses for some pickups aren't ready and the girls disappear for minutes at a time trying to track down orders for pick up. There has to be a better process. Unfortunately I didn't have time to get it shipped.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 17, 2017
Comfortable and elegant !
Such a flattering dress. Fit well even with my large chest (34DD.) Comfortable even on a very hot day. Needed a strapless bra due to the cut of the dress, which I didn't expect. The color was stunning. This was my backup dress and I knew it was the right pick as soon as I put it on. I'm 5'6 and I wore 3" heels. Loved this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
September 17, 2017
I felt absolutely beautiful and the compliments never stopped!
Im 5'9" and this dress was perfect fit with my 2" heels
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
September 17, 2017
Beautiful Vibrant Color
This dress was prefect for a summer evening wedding. The color is beautiful! I decided on the larger side for comfort while dancing and to avoid having to wear restrictive undergarments. I wore a racerback bra and it worked great. The material is nice & I liked the way it flowed. The zipper can be kind of difficult around the "belt like" part but it's doable. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 16, 2017
The most comfortable formal dress!!
Overall, the fit of this dress is great and true to size. I got the 6R and the 8R and ended up wearing the 8R because I am a bit bigger in the chest and couldn't zip up the 6R once it got to that area. The zipper is hard to zip up and I did struggle with but was able to make it work. I got so many compliments on this dress and it was so easy to accessorize as well. I never once felt uncomfortable or that I wanted to take it off at the end of the night. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2017
Great for twirling!
Loved this dress! The lining was too long, and I had to pin it up so I wouldn't trip on it and it wouldn't show under the overlay. The color was vibrant and fun, perfect for a fancy evening with lots of dancing afterwards. Comfortable and elegant. Definitely recommend this dress for a fun night out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 14, 2017
I felt elegant and comfortable!
This is THE BEST dress if you're a stately woman. I'm 6 feet tall, and it was almost too long for me, so for sure order the short/petite one if you're not tall. But, if you're a woman with a body (and good shoulders), this is an absolutely perfect dress. The drape was so flattering, and it flowed in a very appealing way. It was the most comfortable formal dress I've ever worn. The color is rich.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2017
So comfy and elegant
This dress was beautiful and true to size. I was nervous the top would be too tight or too loose but it was perfect. I'm 5'7" and 130 lbs and a 34C and I wore a 4 regular. This dress was great to dance in. I wore it to an Indian wedding and we did A LOT of new dance moves! I never had to pull or tug the dress. It was just perfect. The color is brilliant and vivid.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2017
So comfortable and got a lot of compliments
This dress is like wearing fancy pajamas. I was worried it would be too formal for the wedding I was going to, but the color and the material made it so that it could be dressed up or down. I received a lot of compliments and was very happy with my choice. I did have to wear a strapless bra just because I am a bit paranoid about bra straps showing. Also, the 6R would have worked fine as well, but I have a large ribcage so right wear the waist was on the dress looked a bit too tight on me so the 8R worked great. I wore it with 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 250lbs
September 13, 2017
This was a perfect maternity dress for me, but would be perfect not pregnant as well!
This was my back up dress and ending up being the best one. The color is amazing, and the fit was great. I'm 7 months pregnant, and this hit above my belly and then was flowy below that. It was perfect for a wedding on Cape Cod, and I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 13, 2017
Dress was beautiful!
This dress was beautiful and the fit was perfect! I'm 5'2" and I wore the 12 petite. I recommend ordering the petite length if you are around this height. It was still down to the ground on me and I was wearing tall heals. The entire process was so easy. Just drop the dress bag with the return label off at ups the next day. This dress does require a strapless bra due to the positioning of the shoulder pieces.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 44

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×