Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$80 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Zebra Tonda Pony Clutch, and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

541 reviews

Fit
Small 71
True to Size 373
Large 67
Photos 321
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

How to wear black, and still stand out!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a Black Tie Awards Ceremony for work... very classy. Only thing I was surprised by was the *weight* of the material. It's very thick, and can hang on you heavy... and it gets warm in there. Glad I got the long version, because it fit perfectly. Love the detailing on the back... but was a tad annoyed by the tail. While it's pretty in theory... everyone seems to step on it!
Jennie
Age: 28
Jan 3, 2015

Classic and elegant

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
I'm super small in the waist but I have a big booty...the gathering made me look bigger in the middle but would definitely recommend this dress especially if your tummy is a problem area. It was really stretchy so other than that, fit like it was tailored. Couldn't move my arms because of the off-the-shoulder design, but that's to be expected.
Veronica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Elegant and Classy

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My back up size was 8R but it was much to big. The 6R was a little snug but it worked. Really flattering!
Addison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

SUCH a great dress

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Glad I went with the long size! This dress was so comfortable and I felt beautiful the entire evening. Would definitely rent this one again!
Sonja
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 2L and a 4L in this dress. I ended up using the 4L because the length worked better for me and it felt more comfortable. This is a very easy dress to wear and could be worn by all body types. Loved it!! Thanks RTR for making it possible for me to get this dress for a last minute formal event!
gg
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

This was my first time to use RTR, and I can't wait to do it again!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was glamorous and classy. I wore it to a black tie event, and felt it was the perfect look, without being too 'sexy'. The fit was perfect, and I wore it with normal heels. The train got stepped on a couple times, but the fabric is thick, so it bounced back. It has boning in the bust area that can sort of stick into your ribs, but I just adjusted them when necessary. No bra is needed. We did dance, although the sleeves are a bit constricting. Overall it was very flattering!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 22, 2015

Hugs all the right curves in all the right places!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! I felt sexy yet classy, and it was perfect for a Governor's ball. The ruching along the boddess and the rear was so flattering, especially with spanks to keep everything in place. The off the shoulder was great too for covering that weird armpit pooch, and my winter white skin tone! I wore a size up due to length. I'm 5'81/2 and needed the 10L to cover my shoes (which were only 3inches). The tag didn't say 10L so I'm not sure if there was a mix-up or if it just doesn't say the L. Great for busty girls. I wear a 36DDD (yes triple!) and it held me really well with a strapless bra. You can't really lift your arms past your shoulders but it didn't matter because I felt amazing, and my boyfriend couldn't stop complimenting me! Highly recommended!
gissel
Age: 28
Jan 24, 2015

Gorgeous fit!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Wedding
Received lots of compliments!
Laura
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Perfect evening- comfortable dress, great date and was able to dance the night away.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up wearing my backup size, I fit between an 8 and a 10. Wish I would have had just a tad taller heels, mine were about 3 1/2 in. heels. Otherwise the dress fit great and looked amazing! This was the first time using RTR and I will be sure use it again!
Camilla
Age: 32
Jan 27, 2015

I could not get enough compliments on this dress. I love the service from RTR. !!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
I could not get enough compliments on this dress. I love the service from RTR. I accidentally ordered my dress for the wrong date. I emailed them and the responded within 30 minutes and told me not to worry just reorder the gown and they would issue me a credit when they received it back, even though it was my mistake. Amazing customer service!!
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Form-fitting, classic long-black dress with a little sexy, a lot of class and a tiny train!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is as described...Im usually a size 2 and I am so glad I ordered the 4 as a back up because it is tight. The ruching in the torso makes it more flattering, but it certainly doesn't leave much room to hide. I got a ton of compliments on it all night and you feel very old-hollywood sexy in it. I am almost 5'8" and I wore 4" heels and the 4L was JUST long enough. The top of the dress brushed the tips of my toes. I have athletic arms and the sleeves were a little tight and restricting, but nothing to really make note of. It was expected considering the cut. Overall, I would order again. It was fun and comfortable and warm!
Gen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Jan 29, 2015

The dress was amazing! Received lots of compliments on it! Made me feel great!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Party
When I ordered the dress, I thought i got 2 sizes. One as the back up. To my surprise only 1 dress came and it was the day before the event! And size 2 R was not a good fit; very tight. But I called Customer service and they were great! The size 4R arrived the very next day. The dress itself was amazing. Good fit and it hugged me in the right places. Received lots of great compliments on it! Will use RTR again soon!
Kerry
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 4, 2015

An amazing, classic gown. I wore this to a Black Tie gala and got lots of complements!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Forgiving fit, nice material. One thing-Would have liked it they put a hook at the hem to accommodate for the train.
Dana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Perfect dress for a formal affair. I received lots of compliments all night.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal affair in Charleston. The dress is very elegant and comfortable. Perfect dress for a perfect night. I wore 3.5" heels and the length was great for dancing the night away. If you want a little bit of a longer train in the back I would order the longer length.
Kara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Classy and elegant dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
My first time using RTR, won't be my last! I love the free second size and the included fashion tape - also, returning the dresses was very easy and convenient. I ordered my usual size 4L but chose to wear the back-up 6L for comfort, there isn't any give from the waist up so if you are between sizes I would recommend sizing up. This dress was so easy to style and wear, it is incredibly flattering - I received compliments all night, wish I owned it! A great choice for a classic, glamorous and timeless gown.
Quisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

This dress is called the "Belle of the Ball" and that's truly how it made me feel! Great fit!!!!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So many people said that I looked absolutely AMAZING! I'm a zero and this dress fit great. It was snug in the breast area, but it worked out even with a strapless bra under. I wear a 32 C so it's not for a busty girl. It was very flattering and comfortable. I ordered a 0L and a 2R. The length was the same on both. I wore 4 inch (or 5) heels and the dress touched the floor but didn't drag or prevent me from walking. I'm 5'2 and a quarter... basically 5"3, but my legs are long in proportion to the rest of my body.
Kristen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Feb 14, 2015

This dress fit perfectly and was very lovely. Simple yet classy.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I saw great reviews on this dress and decided to order it for my first prom. I was worried it wouldn't fit, but i was truly happy with this dress. I highly recommend this for petite girls!
Joy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Loved the mystery bling they chose for me

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress and it was very comfortable to wear. I probably would have preferred the long because my shoes showed a little too much. It fit great, but due to my large breast size 34dd they felt a little squished and I had to wear a strapless bra. But I'm sure I was the only one who noticed that. Dress was beautiful and classy and showed off my curves!
Tiffiny
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

I loved this dress

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress truly is glamorous. I wore to my husbands Marine Corp Ball. It was the only one of its kind unlike the other ladies who shopped department stores wearing the same dresses.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

This was my boyfriend's first movie premiere! It was a night I'll never forget.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Depending on the dress, I either wear a 0, 2, or 4. After chatting with one of style consultants, I was advised to get sizes 0L and 2L in this dress. If I could go back, I would have got a 2L and a 4L. Though the 2L fit, the boning of the dress pressed into my skin on my chest. It wasn't too noticeable, but it was a bit uncomfortable. Also, even though I went with the longer size, the dress still didn't reach the floor in the front. Overall, however, I think the dress was beautiful and made me feel like a movie star.
thinkshannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Amazing evening for a good cause!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Very comfortable!!
Ryan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I wore this dress to a black tie wedding.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove! The boning created a beautiful, solid waistline and the ruching basically eliminated the need for spanx. I'm normally a size 2 but after reading the rest of the reviews, I decided to order the 4L. Definitely the way to go. I'm not sure I could've moved much in the 2L. Definitely order your normal size and possibly a size up from that. It needed a little pop of color, so I paired it with a statement necklace/earrings to keep it from looking a little too plain. I got compliments all night :) Go for it!
Carrie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

Wore this to a black tie wedding - it was the best dress there!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wore it in Feb in Indiana to a very cold and snowy wedding. I found the dress to be very comfortable and it did a great job of hiding and accenting all the right areas. I hope I have another event like this in the future so I can rent it again! RENT IT!!
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 21, 2015

The dress was fabulous! The material was amazing and perfect for a formal event.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It runs a size smaller than what I usually wear, but it was an all around perfect dress!
audreys
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Very Hollywood, red carpet-esque!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress felt great, wore well and received many compliments. I am a 36D and it was a tiny bit tight across the bust, but I needed the 4 to fit the rest of my frame. It was overall a great dress! I'm 5'8" and the 4L was exact. It wasn't too long nor too short with 4 inch heels.
Renni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Super sexy

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is very firm fitting so you have to be comfortable with that. I also rented the necklace.
Kristen
Age: 26
Mar 14, 2015

So. Many. Compliments.

Size worn: 12P
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got compliments ALL NIGHT LONG! Loved this dress. Loved the way I felt in it! After losing weight, I thought the description "true to size" would mean I would fit the 10p. But, I have a large bust, even after having a breast reduction, so I needed a little more room for the girls. I'm 5'2" and the petite length was perfect! Loved loved loved this gown, and so did everyone else!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 16, 2015

easy to wear! comfortable to dance in!

Size worn: 12P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress. It had a lot of support from the boning.
RTR Customer
Mar 16, 2015

People complimented me on the dress all night AND it was comfortable

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was perfect
Katrina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Mar 24, 2015

I wore this dress to a black-tie charity gala, and it was perfect.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was not my typical style but was perfect for me, a few months post-partum when I'm self-conscious about those last few pounds. The off-shoulder sleeves showed off the collarbone but covered my upper arms and the ruching on the bodice was extremely forgiving. It was a curvy silhouette in the best way possible. My only complaint is that the wires in the bodice literally cut into my ribcage, which was uncomfortable and left a nasty mark.
Serre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Loved!!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 8, 2015

This dress was perfect for a wedding in mid March.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit very true to size and was very complimenting. You could wear this to a very formal event or even dress it down a bit. The material was very comfortable as well!
Erin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

This dress was beautiful and the material has enough stretch so you can dance.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall I loved the dress but I did have some problems. I initially ordered both the 12 and the 14 and when I tried on the 14 I thought I had the wrong dress. It hit my ankles and wasn't close to zipping. I hesitantly decided to try the 12 and it fit perfectly. So I got lucky because there's something wrong with the 14. The dress is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. I wish I could keep it because it's perfect for a black tie event. The length was great too. I'm 5'4" and could walk barefoot and it just skimmed the ground so I could have worn flats or heels. I definitely recommend this for hourglass figures and if you have a larger bust or wider shoulders definitely order two sizes!
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

Great wedding

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was good, and I got lots of compliments. However, the dress had clearly been worn a number of times, and the clasp on top of the zipper had clearly fallen off at some point.
msteresa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

Simple & Classy...

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect. I'm 5'4 and wore 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The fabric falls nicely and I love the fact that I didn't have to bother with wearing a bra with this gown. My friends said that I didn't look like I just had my 3rd baby so I will say that the fit is very flattering. If you want to arrive to an event with a classic look - I highly recommend this dress.
Kay tee
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 18, 2015

Zero stress! Excellent service, quality of garment!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Zero stress! Beautiful dress and fit. Options provided should 1st size not fit. Effortless. Ease of app and return. Expectations completely and thoroughly managed. Thank you!
Nathalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

Beautiful dress with amazing fit. I am 5'8" and this dress with 4 inch heels was perfect.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pay attention to the length and adjust accordingly. Great for tummy coverage as well.
Alison
Age: 24
Apr 25, 2015

So beautiful! And easy to do!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore to a military Ball and jaws were dropping! Beautiful dress the 6L back up size I got fit perfectly! I'm 5'8'' 141lbs and small chest. this dress was amazing! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely use RTR again!
Caitlin
Age: 24
Apr 26, 2015

This dress is truly stunning. It shows off figure without emphasizing problem areas. Stunning!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 4 showed my curves a little more so I went with that. It feels amazing on and the neckline is am truly stunning. I absolutely loved this dress. I'm 5'10 and wore 5" heels and he dress was just shy of floor length so don't get a Long unless you are tall and planning on wearing heels. Wore a standard strapless bra which was great!
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

The dress fit perfectly. So comfortable and very flattering. :)

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits snuggly to your body, shows your curves and is a very comfortable stretchy fabric.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×