Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
905 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(540)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 27, 2017
I ordered the dress mere days before my event and it arrived on time
I loved this dress!! It was a bit long for me, I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels, but other than that, it was lovely- I received compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
April 26, 2017
TONS of compliments on the dress....
Awesome dress!!!! I usually wear a 0 but I couldn't get it zipped up at all... but the 2 fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
April 23, 2017
Perfect for a gala!
Wore this for a choral gala fundraiser event. It was a bit on the small side, but I knew to expect that. So glad I got the 2nd size up. Form fitting, but showed off my curves. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
April 22, 2017
Fun night at a gala for work. Friend took awesome pics since my hubby and I rarely get out!
Don't worry about getting a strapless bra. It basically has one built into it. A little tighter than expected. Glad it fit because I actually got a size smaller and not bigger as suggested because the 10L wasn't available. It just fit though ... was a little short so I ended up wearing flats. I'm 6'0.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
April 17, 2017
I wanted a non-promy gown and I got it!
This dress was amazing. I am 5'10" and I wore 2 inch heels with the dress and the "long" option fit me perfectly! I have broad shoulders and big boobs and that was the main concern when purchasing this dress but it couldn't have fit better. This dress is sophisticated and stylish and was exactly what I wanted. The only downside was that I couldn't raise my arms up all the way while dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 15, 2017
This was the perfect dress for me. It was a winter wedding and the dress was lined, so I wasn't cold
The fit was great. The dress was very comfortable except for the "stays" in the bust. They weren't necessary and kind of warped. Also the dress was about 6" too long, even though it was a petite. That being said, I would wear it again. I got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
April 10, 2017
Loved the dress- looked so great on!
Arms were tight so had to be careful but fit perfect and very comfortable. Was torn under arm but was able to mend so it couldn't be seen.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2017
The dress was perfect!
This had the perfect amount of gathering fabric that made me less worries about how tight it was. Such a flattering style and perfect for a gala. Heavy fabric...I did get a little warm but aside from that it's a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2017
Classic!
Loved this gown the fit, the material everything! It does have boning and its a lil uncomfortable at times but nothing unbearable! I am 5ft and was really worried that it would be to long! The 6 fit great but the 8p length was perfection & there was not a huge difference in the 6 & 8p besides I liked the length of the 8p. I wore 4 in heels and the small train fell just lovely! The ruching is very complementary to an hourglass figure ;)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
April 7, 2017
Military ball
Perfect and classy and comfortable for my husbands military ball. I will use RTR again for any formal event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
April 5, 2017
Should have gotten my normal size
I read the reviews to go up a size and the dress was very loose in the waist on me. I should have stuck with a 16W which is my normal dress size. I am 5'8" and I definitely needed the long. Regular would have been too short. I loved the dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 112lbs
March 28, 2017
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding!
I was nervous about the length since i'm short but it was perfect with 4 inch heels. Very flattering absolutely loved this dress.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
March 27, 2017
Amazing off the shoulder look
I am 5'7'' and 135. Size 4 fit, but 6 allowed for breathing room. I am a B cup, and it was tight over my chest, but fit! Definitely recommend the regular over long length as well, I had to hold the dress up all night. Other than that, this dress was amazing! Worked well for day and night transition, very classy and I got a ton of compliments. Love RTR!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
March 25, 2017
The dress was perfection. It truly looked beautiful on.
It was a heavy dress, amazing material.
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2017
.
.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2017
Wore it to my niece's dress...absolutely perfect for a 6:00 wedding. I got many compliments!
I ordered the 16WP and the 18WP only because the straight 16 and 18 was not available. I also wanted to be able to wear flat shoes due to a recent surgery. I am always a straight 16 but I guess the dress being petite made it smaller so it took the 18P to fit. I got the most compliments on this dress. It would be well worth owning and it fits curvy women really well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 22, 2017
Felt like I owned it
I'm not a small person so was hesitant to have something so tight. The gathering his imperfections. Sleeves a little tight but was fine with that. Built in bra a major plus. Many compliments at high end black tie wedding Does run small
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
March 19, 2017
Flattering and Timeless Dress
Perfect fit and very comfortable
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 14, 2017
Perfect dress!
I rented this dress for my mother in law. She was having some confidence issues before ordering. Once she got the dress on she realized that this was the perfect dress with the perfect fit. She was satisfied with the dress I chose for her!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2017
Beautiful, elegant and would flatter any figure
I did not end up wearing this for the event because it was a little too plain and safe for Mardi Gras. However, the fit is fantastic... I felt long, lean and beautiful in this dress. It has an Angelina Jolie quality to it. I have this in my favorite and look forward to wearing it during the winter ball season.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 9, 2017
I loved how elegant the dress was, it really was stunningly beautiful.
it was such a beautiful dress and I kept getting compliments on it all night. The pro of the dress were that you could wear it without a bra, which was fantastic. The material was so nice, but once you started dancing it definitely held the heat so maybe keep this dress for the fall or winter events. The cons to the dress were that it was so long I had to keep messing with it all night so other people or I wouldn't keep stepping on it. I wore about 4 inch heels (granted I am short) but the length was part of the elegance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
March 7, 2017
Fit like a glove. I felt so glamorous all night!
Great fit, very flattering, and extremely comfortable. I'm busty (40DD), but had no problem with the dress holding me in and staying put. It was perfect!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
March 7, 2017
Perfect combo of classy and sassy!
Wore this to the Red Tie Gala perfect combo of classy and sassy. Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2017
Not as flattering on as i was expecting it to be.
I didn't end up wearing this dress and glad i rented a second one because this dress just did not look good on me. I was expecting it to be a safe choice due to the rouching, but unfortunately it just wasn't attractive on me...and i found it to be very short in length too.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
March 5, 2017
Wonderful, classy dress!
This dress was just how I hoped it would be. I was worried it would be too short based on some other reviews, but I'm 5'9'' (160lbs) and wore 4 inch heels and the dress was definitely long enough (maybe a tad too long). I loved how the dress was flattering to the mid section and the "off the shoulder" style was great. The arms stayed in place all throughout the evening (including dancing) and no bra was needed due to the inner wires. Overall, wonderful dress for a black tie optional evening. The earrings in the second picture were also rented from RTR and they were perfect for a sparkly addition.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2017
Attention Grabber
Perfect length. Flattering fit and quality fabric, but don't expect to raise your arms over your head. I wore this to a formal event for The Commodity Classic. (National Corn Growers Association event in San Antonio) I got non stop compliments all night, and would suggest this dress to anyone. Who knew a black dress could get so much attention?!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 224lbs
March 4, 2017
Beautiful dress
Received compliments all night long. Dress fit well, very comfortable, well made piece. The ruching made this very flattering even on this post-baby body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
March 1, 2017
The dress is so well made! I've got curves, this dress showed off the right things!
Strangers stopped me to ask about my dress! Friends thought I had lost weight! Loved this dress!
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 27, 2017
Great first time experience!
This was my first time renting a dress from RTR and I was nervous. I'm 5'1 and fluctuate between size 2 and size 4 . Plus, I'm curvy. When I tried on the dress, it fitted perfectly. I received so many compliments. I am glad I purchased a 4 though because a 2 would have been very tight! Very classy dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 27, 2017
Tight around the arms. Lots of stretch in the body of the dress.
Comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2017
This dress is draped really beautifully
Pictures do not to it justice because of the color but this is a stunning dress that is beautiful - but not in an overdone way or attention grabbing. I found it perfect for my event. I'm short and even the petite was pretty long on me with 3" heels but not terrible. The neck stayed really secure thanks to all the boning in the bodice. Never once had to pull it up. And I loved the arm coverage. There was NO cleavage which made it perfect for a business event. Got tons of compliments and would wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2017
Did not wear , but fit perfect and complimented my figure . Stunning
Comfortable
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 233lbs
February 20, 2017
Beautiful dress that compliments any body type
Got this dress for a NYE wedding. It was stunning and I felt beautiful. I normally wear a 16 but that size was not available. The 18 worked but the ruching was definitely looser since it was a wee bit big. My only complaint was the lining was starting to wear on the inside of the dress so all the boning was sticking out and poking me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
February 19, 2017
Sexy and sophisticated dress
Lots of compliments on this dress - wore to a gala. The boning in the bust area keeps the off shoulder style in place. I rented the regular height and wore flats - if u are 5'5 or taller and want to wear heels definitely go to the tall. With a body shaped I felt confident and pretty in this dress. Would rent again.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
February 10, 2017
Very classy dress, with comfort!
This dress does run small, however, I could have used an 8 (not available). The 10R was slightly loose and a bit too long for the shoes I wanted to work. It did work out with high shoes, as I didn't have any other options. It was perfect for the event and received quite a few compliments.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2017
Lovely dress for a formal party!
This dress fit very well! The material was stretchy and ruched so there was plenty of forgiveness for any problem areas. I was worried it would be a little plain being just a black dress, but the neckline made it more interesting and glam. Doesn't photograph all that well, but looks fab in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2017
Very forgiving and flattering
I am busty and a curvy size 12 - 14. I am 5'4" I needed to wear very high heels so that I would not trip on it because the P, I was told would be too short. I think I should have gone with 14P. I received many compliments. Beware the train in the back gets stepped on by people, but I feel like amillion in it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
January 26, 2017
I wore this to a formal wedding. Loved the look!
It runs somewhat small on top. Restrictive with arm movement, but very forgiving and flattering. I received many compliments. I am 5'6 and I was nervous it was going to be short, but it was just right. If you are any taller you will need a long length. This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and I would definitely rent from them again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
January 26, 2017
I attended the 58th Presidential Inaugural Liberty Ball and the dress was PERFECT.
I loved this dress. This dress was elegant and refined, but really made a statement -- even amongst a sea of beautiful ballgowns. I felt very comfortable and was able to move with ease. I'd recommend this dress to anyone, regardless of size or height.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
January 22, 2017
Fun evening with girlfriends in a great dress!!!
This fit true to size, and I loved the ruching on the dress. I was initially disappointed with the length - for a tall, it barely touched the floor when I was barefoot (I'm 5'7"). After styling it with a pair of lower cute strappy heels though, I didn't mind the fact that my shoes peeked out from the dress, and it actually made it easier to walk around that evening. The dress does have a small train, so that made the shorter front more manageable, and not so noticeable. I would certainly rent this again, as it was very flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×