Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
917 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(548)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2017
Love!
Just like most reviews mentioned, this dress ran slightly small so I got a bigger size as a back up. I ended up wearing the bigger size & it was perfect! I wore it at the Billboard Music Awards - where I was a seatfiller, so I wore it for 7.5 hours (comfortable!) Everything about it was great - the material isn't too heavy - it moves easily; the arms aren't restricting; the rouching is all perfectly placed - especially to conceal the tummy & accentuate the behind. All in all, I think I need to own this dress. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
May 22, 2017
I did not wear the dress. Didn't like how it looked on me.
Dress arrived on time and it was easy to return it.
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
May 21, 2017
The dress was perfect to chaperone the prom at the National Aquarium in Baltimore.
Pros: boning helps to give a great silhouette, you can never go wrong with black, felt extremely comfortable and easy to move/dance in, sexy but not too sexy, great for those of us with ample bottoms Con: if you don't want your shoes to show and you are 5'5" or above get the long, no other cons I would order this dress a million times over
View photos (3)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
May 20, 2017
LOVE THIS DRESS!
The dress fit really well! Super comfortable. Stayed in place well so I never had to adjust anything or keep pulling it up. I received a ton of compliments. Very slimming. I would buy this dress if I could!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 181lbs
May 20, 2017
Felt like I was going to an award show!
I wore this dress to my friend's black tie wedding. It fit great and the length was perfect with a 4 inch heel. The only thing that was slightly annoying was the boning in the chest area. At times it can poke if you're sitting down. The dress is also a little heavier than I realized. Overall, I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
May 16, 2017
This dress will make you feel gorgeous.
I ordered a petite. 2" heels it was a little long. I felt beautiful in this dress. I received lots of compliments. I am between size 4 and 6. I went with the 6 for comfort. Highly recommend.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2017
Beautiful
I rented this for a formal black-tie event. The dress fit perfectly and was very flattering. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
May 10, 2017
I went to my best friends sisters wedding that I also happened to officiate.
I'm not a dress person, never have been. But i absolutely fell in love with this dress. It was absolutely stunning. It was heavy which meant that it was great quality. It fit true to size and looked better on me than i thought it would.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 54
May 8, 2017
I felt classy and elegant
Rushed fabric forgiving of minor figure flaws, bust enhancing style, simple and understated
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2017
Black tie wedding!
This dress was a big hit. It was super comfortable to wear while still being very elegant. With my heels I was about 6'1" and the long was the right choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2017
Loved loved loved this dress!
I loved loved loved this dress! The fit, the style, the magical-ness that it possessed. I felt like a princess the entire night. I will say that unlike other reviews I didn't have an issue with the boning In the dress initially, but I did feel the boning in the top back area around hour 4 of wearing it. I adjusted and went back to enjoying my evening. I ordered the petite which I shouldn't, but most reviews made me feel like the Regular would drag way to much. So if you're close to 5'5 and curvy I would suggest to go with the regular length dress. The silhouette of the dress is so flattering and forgiving. I will surely rent from RTR in the future. Signed #happycamper
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2017
Great dress, sexy but concealing of any problem areas
Loved this dress, wore it to my cousin's wedding...I went with the 8r and it was pretty long so plan accordingly with shoes. I loved the way I felt, very slimming and comfortable. I did wear spanx just for some extra support but with the cut and gathering I probably would have been fine without. I did like the length of the 6r but it was a little tight up top in the boob area so not the right fit for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 27, 2017
I ordered the dress mere days before my event and it arrived on time
I loved this dress!! It was a bit long for me, I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels, but other than that, it was lovely- I received compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
April 26, 2017
TONS of compliments on the dress....
Awesome dress!!!! I usually wear a 0 but I couldn't get it zipped up at all... but the 2 fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
April 23, 2017
Perfect for a gala!
Wore this for a choral gala fundraiser event. It was a bit on the small side, but I knew to expect that. So glad I got the 2nd size up. Form fitting, but showed off my curves. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
April 22, 2017
Fun night at a gala for work. Friend took awesome pics since my hubby and I rarely get out!
Don't worry about getting a strapless bra. It basically has one built into it. A little tighter than expected. Glad it fit because I actually got a size smaller and not bigger as suggested because the 10L wasn't available. It just fit though ... was a little short so I ended up wearing flats. I'm 6'0.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
April 17, 2017
I wanted a non-promy gown and I got it!
This dress was amazing. I am 5'10" and I wore 2 inch heels with the dress and the "long" option fit me perfectly! I have broad shoulders and big boobs and that was the main concern when purchasing this dress but it couldn't have fit better. This dress is sophisticated and stylish and was exactly what I wanted. The only downside was that I couldn't raise my arms up all the way while dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 15, 2017
This was the perfect dress for me. It was a winter wedding and the dress was lined, so I wasn't cold
The fit was great. The dress was very comfortable except for the "stays" in the bust. They weren't necessary and kind of warped. Also the dress was about 6" too long, even though it was a petite. That being said, I would wear it again. I got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
April 10, 2017
Loved the dress- looked so great on!
Arms were tight so had to be careful but fit perfect and very comfortable. Was torn under arm but was able to mend so it couldn't be seen.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2017
The dress was perfect!
This had the perfect amount of gathering fabric that made me less worries about how tight it was. Such a flattering style and perfect for a gala. Heavy fabric...I did get a little warm but aside from that it's a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2017
Classic!
Loved this gown the fit, the material everything! It does have boning and its a lil uncomfortable at times but nothing unbearable! I am 5ft and was really worried that it would be to long! The 6 fit great but the 8p length was perfection & there was not a huge difference in the 6 & 8p besides I liked the length of the 8p. I wore 4 in heels and the small train fell just lovely! The ruching is very complementary to an hourglass figure ;)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
April 7, 2017
Military ball
Perfect and classy and comfortable for my husbands military ball. I will use RTR again for any formal event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
April 5, 2017
Should have gotten my normal size
I read the reviews to go up a size and the dress was very loose in the waist on me. I should have stuck with a 16W which is my normal dress size. I am 5'8" and I definitely needed the long. Regular would have been too short. I loved the dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 112lbs
March 28, 2017
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding!
I was nervous about the length since i'm short but it was perfect with 4 inch heels. Very flattering absolutely loved this dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 27, 2017
Amazing off the shoulder look
I am 5'7'' and 135. Size 4 fit, but 6 allowed for breathing room. I am a B cup, and it was tight over my chest, but fit! Definitely recommend the regular over long length as well, I had to hold the dress up all night. Other than that, this dress was amazing! Worked well for day and night transition, very classy and I got a ton of compliments. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
March 25, 2017
The dress was perfection. It truly looked beautiful on.
It was a heavy dress, amazing material.
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2017
.
.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2017
Wore it to my niece's dress...absolutely perfect for a 6:00 wedding. I got many compliments!
I ordered the 16WP and the 18WP only because the straight 16 and 18 was not available. I also wanted to be able to wear flat shoes due to a recent surgery. I am always a straight 16 but I guess the dress being petite made it smaller so it took the 18P to fit. I got the most compliments on this dress. It would be well worth owning and it fits curvy women really well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 22, 2017
Felt like I owned it
I'm not a small person so was hesitant to have something so tight. The gathering his imperfections. Sleeves a little tight but was fine with that. Built in bra a major plus. Many compliments at high end black tie wedding Does run small
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
March 19, 2017
Flattering and Timeless Dress
Perfect fit and very comfortable
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 14, 2017
Perfect dress!
I rented this dress for my mother in law. She was having some confidence issues before ordering. Once she got the dress on she realized that this was the perfect dress with the perfect fit. She was satisfied with the dress I chose for her!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2017
Beautiful, elegant and would flatter any figure
I did not end up wearing this for the event because it was a little too plain and safe for Mardi Gras. However, the fit is fantastic... I felt long, lean and beautiful in this dress. It has an Angelina Jolie quality to it. I have this in my favorite and look forward to wearing it during the winter ball season.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 9, 2017
I loved how elegant the dress was, it really was stunningly beautiful.
it was such a beautiful dress and I kept getting compliments on it all night. The pro of the dress were that you could wear it without a bra, which was fantastic. The material was so nice, but once you started dancing it definitely held the heat so maybe keep this dress for the fall or winter events. The cons to the dress were that it was so long I had to keep messing with it all night so other people or I wouldn't keep stepping on it. I wore about 4 inch heels (granted I am short) but the length was part of the elegance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
March 7, 2017
Fit like a glove. I felt so glamorous all night!
Great fit, very flattering, and extremely comfortable. I'm busty (40DD), but had no problem with the dress holding me in and staying put. It was perfect!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
March 7, 2017
Perfect combo of classy and sassy!
Wore this to the Red Tie Gala perfect combo of classy and sassy. Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2017
Not as flattering on as i was expecting it to be.
I didn't end up wearing this dress and glad i rented a second one because this dress just did not look good on me. I was expecting it to be a safe choice due to the rouching, but unfortunately it just wasn't attractive on me...and i found it to be very short in length too.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
March 5, 2017
Wonderful, classy dress!
This dress was just how I hoped it would be. I was worried it would be too short based on some other reviews, but I'm 5'9'' (160lbs) and wore 4 inch heels and the dress was definitely long enough (maybe a tad too long). I loved how the dress was flattering to the mid section and the "off the shoulder" style was great. The arms stayed in place all throughout the evening (including dancing) and no bra was needed due to the inner wires. Overall, wonderful dress for a black tie optional evening. The earrings in the second picture were also rented from RTR and they were perfect for a sparkly addition.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2017
Attention Grabber
Perfect length. Flattering fit and quality fabric, but don't expect to raise your arms over your head. I wore this to a formal event for The Commodity Classic. (National Corn Growers Association event in San Antonio) I got non stop compliments all night, and would suggest this dress to anyone. Who knew a black dress could get so much attention?!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 224lbs
March 4, 2017
Beautiful dress
Received compliments all night long. Dress fit well, very comfortable, well made piece. The ruching made this very flattering even on this post-baby body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
March 1, 2017
The dress is so well made! I've got curves, this dress showed off the right things!
Strangers stopped me to ask about my dress! Friends thought I had lost weight! Loved this dress!
See more reviews:
1 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×