Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
946 reviews
Fit
Large
(80)
True to Size
(563)
Small
(135)
Size worn:
16P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Age: 42
October 10, 2017
Beautiful dress!
The dress fit very well! It was flattering and lovely.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Weight: 197lbs
October 10, 2017
I loved the dress and how it fit and I received many compliments.
Fit nice I’m 5’4 197 and it his all my imperfections would definitely refer to anyone
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
October 2, 2017
It was too small. I wasn't able to wear it for my event. :( It was beautiful though.
The accessories recommended were absolutely gorgeous. I was able to wear them with a back up dress I had in my closet.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 28, 2017
Classic, simple, elegant, and fun - perfect for the gala event and dancing later!
Incredibly comfortable, very secure off the shoulders, and great stretch! The dress does run a little short, but yet has a small train, so I did wear a higher heel. I expected the fabric to be more of a heavy cotton/poly, and it felt like it had more of a organza overlay.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
September 27, 2017
Not a true Petite, but forgiving style
I was nervous about renting a "Petite" dress because I am very short-waisted, so it can't just be "short." I chose a style without a defined waist for this reason, and I'm glad I did. The dress was clearly just hemmed shorter. The bodice area kept riding up, so I was tugging it down, but the rouching made it less noticeable. the sleeves also hit at an awkward place below the elbow bc it wasn't really a petite. The dress worked fine for the event, but unfortunately I'm not sure I'll risk it again.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Apple
Weight: 168lbs
September 25, 2017
Great dress; fits a range of formalities
This dress was great! We went to a wedding and the formality was a bit unclear so I wanted a dress that could work with super formal and also not be out of place among more cocktail attire. This was perfect. I am large busted and it had a great shape plus a little stretch and great drape to the fabric. It fit me wonderfully but would also fit someone smaller/more average. The ruching was really nice to hide post-baby belly. I'm 5'7" and hate heels. The regular length was just fine with my 1.5" heels, and I was comfortable all night. Any less heel and I'd have tripped, but what I had was just enough. I'd totally rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
September 24, 2017
Made my night! So many compliments and so comfortable!
Wore this to a black and white gala in DC in Sept. I'm 5'1" and around 175 lbs. I wear a 14 in regular dresses but needed a 16 in this bc other reviewers of her right about this brand running on the small side. I also ordered it in W bc I was worried about it being tight on the arms. Used the petite version because I'm short. The 16 WP fit like an extremely comfortable glove. It was a bit long even w 3.5 inch heels so just know that you may need to gather the dress when going on an escalator or walking about. The fabric is a stretchy thick expensive fabric which is extremely flattering on curvy fuller sized women. Allowed me to feel sexy and smoldering yet appropriately dressed at this type of black tie event. RTR did me right! Got compliments all night! Would absolutely rent this again. #gorgeous #glamorous #curvy #thick
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 17, 2017
Easy to wear, elegant dress
Fit: I'm 5'4, 123 pounds, 34B chest. I rented a 4, which fit, but the 2 would have been better as it was a little loose. The length was perfect for me. I wore 4 inch heels. For accessories, I wore the Oscar de La Renta rose necklace (big statement piece) with gold earrings and gold bangle. I received compliments all night. Would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
September 14, 2017
Great Find, Great Price
I got so many compliments on this dress and felt so good wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2017
flattering and hugs your body
arm material is stiff but the body has room to move. Very flattering on. Runs true to size in fit and length. Felt like a princess and got a lot of compliments!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2017
Wore this to a masquerade ball and it was just right.
I tried on the size 10 and it would have worked. I decided to wear the size 12 because it was super comfortable, only a smidge too big, and it was brand new (tags still on). I loved the way it looked and how I felt in this dress. It was a bit long even with heals, but I practiced how to pick up the extra length with one hand and walk and that worked just fine and when I was standing it created a lovely little pool of material around my feet. I also decided to wear a bra with it but I could have not done so if I wanted.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
August 30, 2017
This was a black tie gala and the dress worked great.
The dress fit well and was comfortable. I received lots of compliments. It was a little longer than I expected. I am 5'5" and had on wedge heels and it still was a bit long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2017
Amazing dress!
This dress was so comfortable! The only issue I had was that my heels keep getting caught on the short train, so I switched to flats and was fine. Would tooootally rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
August 14, 2017
Beautiful dress! Beautiful me!
I so loved wearing this dress! It was beautiful on and I got so many compliments. It does run small /true to size. I say this because when I was getting ready it was late afternoon and still well over a 100+ degrees outside, ac was working overtime and I was feeling rushed since I did have to keep a schedule at this work event formal affair. No need for a bra, boning in the dress to make that area look perky pretty! Worth every penny spent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2017
Breakfast at Tiffany's vibes all the way!
Makes you feel beautiful in it. The rutched detailing and the sleeves channel this elegant feeling. Dress has detail but is still a gorgeous simple gown that stands out. Has a train. Only con is I'm 5'6 and it does feel long, which is typical for BM. If you're shorter I recommend a petite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 10, 2017
What a beautiful June wedding.
This dress is super forgiving!! It stretches in all the necessary places and even though it's off the shoulder, your movement isn't restricted at all. You need to be prepared to iron it though, it wrinkles quickly. Also beware - this dress is a heavy weight. I wore it to a Dallas formal wedding and the little bit of time I had to be outside was a bit uncomfortable in the warm weather.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
June 26, 2017
Plain but elegant dress for a formal affair
Easy fit, comfortable. I did not end up wearing this one as it was my backup, but would probably rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 18, 2017
Comfy AND classes! Wore to a black tie event in Washington DC.
Super comfortable! Stretchy material is great, and doesn't show panty lines because of the bunched style. Would absolutely wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 16, 2017
Beautiful dress, but shorter than expected.
The dress was pretty and fit well, but I decided not to wear it. I'm 5'9" and the 8L was way too short for me, even without heels.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2017
The right dress for a formal wedding!
I ordered two sizes, 2R and 4R. I wore size the 4 to my niece's black tie wedding. The dress was stunning! The one issue I did have with the dress is that it was a bit snug and uncomfortable around the rib cage. I had to hold my breath and have my husband struggle to zip me up. Additionally, the vertical plastic ribs that shape the breast dug into my skin under my breasts. I thought that wearing a strapless bra would help but it didn't. My husband then put black masking tape over the tips of the plastic that was digging into my skin. It felt some relief, but it only lasted for a while. All in all, having a good time and dancing most of the night distracted me from the discomfort. When I got home and took off the dress I had two red, almost raw, marks underneath both breasts. Makes me think maybe I should have ordered one size larger, size 6R, instead of ordering one size smaller, size 2R.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 15, 2017
Did not wear
First of all, the email confirmation said the dress would arrive by 8 pm. It did not arrive until 9:30 pm so I did not have a chance to try it on until the next day which happened to be the day of my event. So I did not have time to call customer service to request a new size/dress. I recommend receiving your order two days before you need it in case something is wrong with it. Next, I am 5'10/5'11 so I ordered the dress in long. I don't know if the dress was actually long or if I got a regular length, but the dress ended 2-3 inches above my feet when I tried it on without shoes. I felt so disappointed.
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
June 13, 2017
Wore this to the Tony Awards!
This dress was super flattering! Built in bra .. ah-mazing (few wires popped out that were poking a little but trimmed and were ok!). Felt very glamorous. Sat a lot during show and was very comfortable! Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2017
Perfect for black tie wedding
I was 5 months pregnant and needed something to wear. This dress was sleek and elegant. Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2017
Classic, Black-tie gown
I received this dress as a last minute replacement when my first choice was too large. This dress fit great, but definitely runs small, as I normally wear a 0 or 2. Cons-it was a little heavy and the boning was uncomfortable and kept poking me. Pros- it was a classic, timeless dress that got the job done on such short notice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36H
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2017
Lovely dress but not for busty ladies
Rented the 10 and 12. I am very large chested. The 10 was a little tight so I tried the 12... which was so tight I couldn't even zip it. The inconsistent sizing is a problem. That being said, the 10 worked out but be warned that this material has very little stretch. Also I am 5'3" and work 3" heels and it was still a bit too long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2017
Love!
Just like most reviews mentioned, this dress ran slightly small so I got a bigger size as a back up. I ended up wearing the bigger size & it was perfect! I wore it at the Billboard Music Awards - where I was a seatfiller, so I wore it for 7.5 hours (comfortable!) Everything about it was great - the material isn't too heavy - it moves easily; the arms aren't restricting; the rouching is all perfectly placed - especially to conceal the tummy & accentuate the behind. All in all, I think I need to own this dress. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
May 22, 2017
I did not wear the dress. Didn't like how it looked on me.
Dress arrived on time and it was easy to return it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Pear
May 21, 2017
The dress was perfect to chaperone the prom at the National Aquarium in Baltimore.
Pros: boning helps to give a great silhouette, you can never go wrong with black, felt extremely comfortable and easy to move/dance in, sexy but not too sexy, great for those of us with ample bottoms Con: if you don't want your shoes to show and you are 5'5" or above get the long, no other cons I would order this dress a million times over
View photos (3)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
May 20, 2017
LOVE THIS DRESS!
The dress fit really well! Super comfortable. Stayed in place well so I never had to adjust anything or keep pulling it up. I received a ton of compliments. Very slimming. I would buy this dress if I could!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 181lbs
May 20, 2017
Felt like I was going to an award show!
I wore this dress to my friend's black tie wedding. It fit great and the length was perfect with a 4 inch heel. The only thing that was slightly annoying was the boning in the chest area. At times it can poke if you're sitting down. The dress is also a little heavier than I realized. Overall, I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
May 16, 2017
This dress will make you feel gorgeous.
I ordered a petite. 2" heels it was a little long. I felt beautiful in this dress. I received lots of compliments. I am between size 4 and 6. I went with the 6 for comfort. Highly recommend.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2017
Beautiful
I rented this for a formal black-tie event. The dress fit perfectly and was very flattering. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 270lbs
May 11, 2017
Super comfy!
I loved this gown. I'm a hairstylist so I gravitate toward black items so this was perfect for me! It was a little heavy for the warm weather but other than it was super comfortable. I am very bottom heavy (and short!) so the fact that I put this right on and it fit perfectly was so awesome. Also, since it was black, it was like a blank canvas in terms of accessorizing. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the zipper which was really hard to get up and down and also because the particular gown I got had some boning exposed so that poked me a few times. Other than that, great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
May 10, 2017
I went to my best friends sisters wedding that I also happened to officiate.
I'm not a dress person, never have been. But i absolutely fell in love with this dress. It was absolutely stunning. It was heavy which meant that it was great quality. It fit true to size and looked better on me than i thought it would.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 9, 2017
The theme was great Gatsby and this dress worked perfectly for it!
Great fit overall definitely covered my tummy and arms just like I wanted! However, my only issue was the chest area of the dress, the built in bra was incredibly painful and had to keep pulling it up.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 55
May 8, 2017
I felt classy and elegant
Rushed fabric forgiving of minor figure flaws, bust enhancing style, simple and understated
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2017
Black tie wedding!
This dress was a big hit. It was super comfortable to wear while still being very elegant. With my heels I was about 6'1" and the long was the right choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
May 5, 2017
Live Auction Opera Fundraiser David Yurman Model
I specifically chose this dress to showcase the David Yurman auction piece for the opera fundraiser gala. I felt comfortable, classy and very feminine. I do believe it runs true to size - kinda; it stretches after being worn, and I had to continuously lift it up throughout the night. All in all it was a great dress, the ruching helped me feel more confident with my tummy area half sleeves with my arms. Cant wait to rent the runway again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
May 2, 2017
I didn't like the dress.
I ordered a 10 but it fit like a size 4. I couldn't even zip it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2017
Loved loved loved this dress!
I loved loved loved this dress! The fit, the style, the magical-ness that it possessed. I felt like a princess the entire night. I will say that unlike other reviews I didn't have an issue with the boning In the dress initially, but I did feel the boning in the top back area around hour 4 of wearing it. I adjusted and went back to enjoying my evening. I ordered the petite which I shouldn't, but most reviews made me feel like the Regular would drag way to much. So if you're close to 5'5 and curvy I would suggest to go with the regular length dress. The silhouette of the dress is so flattering and forgiving. I will surely rent from RTR in the future. Signed #happycamper
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×