Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
778 reviews
Fit
Large75
True to Size489
Small119
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 2, 2015
Was a back-up dress; just loved the other one more.
It fit nicely on top and through the stomach - fitted, but stretchy and comfortable. It also stays in place well. The lower part of the dress was quite flowy - (too much for my taste) - felt like I was wearing a nightgown. Which some people may love - I just need something a bit more formal and fitted. But had I not loved my first choice dress, this would have done fine.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2015
Very fancy wedding and the dress was a perfect fit!
Dress was true to size and height. Perfect fit.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2015
I felt comfortable in the gown all night. Received several compliments:)! Excited to rent again.
Very fitted, especially around the arms.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2015
so many compliments and so comfortable
glad I didn't get the short. I like my heels high and this was perfect.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2015
The dress fit perfectly. So comfortable and very flattering. :)
Fits snuggly to your body, shows your curves and is a very comfortable stretchy fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 26, 2015
This dress is truly stunning. It shows off figure without emphasizing problem areas. Stunning!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 4 showed my curves a little more so I went with that. It feels amazing on and the neckline is am truly stunning. I absolutely loved this dress. I'm 5'10 and wore 5" heels and he dress was just shy of floor length so don't get a Long unless you are tall and planning on wearing heels. Wore a standard strapless bra which was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 25, 2015
So beautiful! And easy to do!
Wore to a military Ball and jaws were dropping! Beautiful dress the 6L back up size I got fit perfectly! I'm 5'8'' 141lbs and small chest. this dress was amazing! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2015
The process from start to finish was so easy and the dress I rented was so perfect!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I ordered the 2R and 4R as my backup. The 2R for perfect! When I took the dress out of the bag it was heavy to hold but once I had it on it was so light and super easy to walk in. The back bottom of the dress has a very small train but it wasn't in the way at all. I just picked it up to carry when I was outside so it wouldn't get dirty. The only thing that was a little uncomfortable was the top. Because I have a small bust the top of the dress had a vertical wire to help fill the top out. But for me when you were up close (at least I could tell) you could see the wire because it went below were it should normally be because I have a small bust. But the wire was flexible so I was able to bend it so it fit comfortably. Over all this was my favorite dress I have ever worn to a weeding and I got tons of compliments and I was so comfortable!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2015
This dress fit well and was very comfortable for the evening!
The fit was true to size. It fits well around the bust; not loose or falling. No need to worry about fighting your dress all evening! I am 5'6" and ordered a regular length. It was a bit short for my liking in the front. Other than that, great dress for a formal affair!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2015
Beautiful dress with amazing fit. I am 5'8" and this dress with 4 inch heels was perfect.
Pay attention to the length and adjust accordingly. Great for tummy coverage as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2015
Fit well in general, the sleeves were a bit droopy on the sides though
Im 5'7" and the length was perfect but I was actually in flats because of a foot injury. Any taller and I would have definitely needed the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 20, 2015
Classy dress. Made me feel very beautiful. Got lots of compliments.
Curve hugging dress, floor length
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 18, 2015
Zero stress! Excellent service, quality of garment!
Zero stress! Beautiful dress and fit. Options provided should 1st size not fit. Effortless. Ease of app and return. Expectations completely and thoroughly managed. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2015
Simple & Classy...
The fit was perfect. I'm 5'4 and wore 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The fabric falls nicely and I love the fact that I didn't have to bother with wearing a bra with this gown. My friends said that I didn't look like I just had my 3rd baby so I will say that the fit is very flattering. If you want to arrive to an event with a classic look - I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
The dress was nice and tight, so it was slimming. Definitely warm, though! It's thick.
I'm 5"7 and had less than 2inch heels and I definitely needed the long.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 16, 2015
Awesome dress! You can dress it up or dress it down....
I had to wear the 4 because the 6 was too large at the top, the 4 ended up being longer though so it was better for me. I wore 4" heels and it was perfect. The boning was a bit uncomfortable but it all worked out and looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 14, 2015
Great wedding
The fit was good, and I got lots of compliments. However, the dress had clearly been worn a number of times, and the clasp on top of the zipper had clearly fallen off at some point.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 174lbs
April 13, 2015
Tight, short, but pretty
I normally wear a 12, and so I ordered a 12, and a 14 as my backup size. The sizing description says to order a Regular length if you're under 5'6" so I did. (I'm 5'4") Big mistake. When I tried on the dress, it was mid calf., and both sizes would not zip all the way. Of course I panicked being that my event was in two days, and called customer service. The size up was booked, and most of the formal dresses only go up to a 12. Although it took over two hours of calling back, speaking to a different agents and having to explain my situation, I was able to pick another three dresses to ship overnight. All three fit! Both size 12 dresses zipped, so I guess the Belle of the Ball ran really small. Overall, although it was a little stressful, I will be renting again in hopes that it was just that one dress that the sizing was really off. I gave two stars because the dress would have been really pretty if it fit.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2015
This dress was beautiful and the material has enough stretch so you can dance.
Overall I loved the dress but I did have some problems. I initially ordered both the 12 and the 14 and when I tried on the 14 I thought I had the wrong dress. It hit my ankles and wasn't close to zipping. I hesitantly decided to try the 12 and it fit perfectly. So I got lucky because there's something wrong with the 14. The dress is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. I wish I could keep it because it's perfect for a black tie event. The length was great too. I'm 5'4" and could walk barefoot and it just skimmed the ground so I could have worn flats or heels. I definitely recommend this for hourglass figures and if you have a larger bust or wider shoulders definitely order two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2015
This dress was perfect for a wedding in mid March.
This dress fit very true to size and was very complimenting. You could wear this to a very formal event or even dress it down a bit. The material was very comfortable as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2015
Absolutely stunning!
I loved the sleeves and the fit - it was perfect for a charity auction I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Loved!!
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Ended up not wearing it
Very boring dress
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2015
LOVE THE DRESS! Order a size bigger!
I wish so bad I would have ordered the bigger size! I loved loved loved the look of this dress but it would not zip up! Unfortunately I did not get to wear it but I will for sure be ordering it again in a different size to be able to wear this dress!!! length was good, confidence would have been OVER THE MOON, but just the wrong size. :(
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
April 2, 2015
Beautiful dress, great fit. Short
I ordered the 8L, I am 5'8 and was actually borderline too short. Otherwise fit well and was very comfortable
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2015
Looked great at my fiance's company Christmas party!
Fit perfectly, fabric was heavy which was great for the cool weather, stayed in place all night long
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 208lbs
March 28, 2015
Incredibly flattering dress. Great stretch, great fit... would rent again.
Spanx + jewelry + makeup = Perfect night. Pictures loooked better from the front, since I have a belly, but was a great dress and I receievd many complimennts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
March 26, 2015
It's very classy and show just the right amount of skin.
One gripe would be the sleeves. It's been stretched out a bit. Nevertheless, the dress is gorgeous. I'll guarantee you'll like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Read all the reviews. Very pretty dress, but runs small.
I ordered this dress in 4R and the back-up in 6R and both were too short and ran small. I could have worn the 6R, but was too short. I am 5'6" and 125 lb, which is right between the Regular and Long sizes. The 6L would have been perfect. A very pretty dress, I will rent again in the right size.
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
March 25, 2015
I looked fabulous!
The dress does run small and if you're 5'7 I would suggest getting the 16 Long dress. Also if your chesty this dress does not need a bra. Overall enjoyed it
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2015
I wore this dress to a black-tie charity gala, and it was perfect.
This dress was not my typical style but was perfect for me, a few months post-partum when I'm self-conscious about those last few pounds. The off-shoulder sleeves showed off the collarbone but covered my upper arms and the ruching on the bodice was extremely forgiving. It was a curvy silhouette in the best way possible. My only complaint is that the wires in the bodice literally cut into my ribcage, which was uncomfortable and left a nasty mark.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
Wore this dress as a bridesmaid in my friend's black tie wedding.
Very flattering, very comfortable, received numerous compliments. Biggest drawback is that it's a hard to lift your arms above your head. The 4 came with a built in bra, the 6 did not.
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 240lbs
March 21, 2015
Elegant dress!
This dress is more beautiful on and in person than in the photos! I was nervous about the material because I typically stay away from thin, clingy materials but I took a chance on this dress after reading the reviews and was delighted. There is a layer of boning almost like a corset in the top of the dress that really helps it lay beautifully. I hate wearing my dresses too tight so I ordered larger sizes. I typically wear a 16-18 in jeans, dresses and skirts. I am about 5'4" and wanted to wear 4 inch heels. I ordered a size 20R and 22R. I could have worn either, but I went with the 22R for extra breathing room (for singing) and length over my shoes. If you are any taller, you'll probably want the taller length! I wore a strapless long line bra and I also wore a mermaid shape slip with tulle under it from David's Bridal for extra volume in the skirt. I was wearing the dress while singing in a concert so I wanted a fuller, more formal look. The combination of the slip and the longline bra made me feel extra comfortable, smoothing out any extra curves I didn't want to appear. The ruching in this dress is really great and complements curves. I felt like I could customize it by pulling the waist up or down for more or less ruching. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 20, 2015
The dress went well with my jewelry.
It fit true to size, was just an inch or so too long with my heels. Would have been perfect if I wore higher heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This was a selection made for me by RTR after a situation with a dress I ordered became unavailable. Was not thrilled with this, so they overnighted me a beautiful option that worked perfectly! See my other reviews!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2015
People complimented me on the dress all night AND it was comfortable
The length was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2015
easy to wear! comfortable to dance in!
I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress. It had a lot of support from the boning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 14, 2015
So. Many. Compliments.
I got compliments ALL NIGHT LONG! Loved this dress. Loved the way I felt in it! After losing weight, I thought the description "true to size" would mean I would fit the 10p. But, I have a large bust, even after having a breast reduction, so I needed a little more room for the girls. I'm 5'2" and the petite length was perfect! Loved loved loved this gown, and so did everyone else!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2015
Simply stunning!
I wrote this to a Black & Gold Gala. I absolutely loved how the dress fit. I was worried about my biceps not fitting, because of lifting weights, but it fit perfectly. The only minor issue I had was that the dress was shorter then expected. I almost had to wear flats it was barely touching the ground. I wore heels anyway and just pulled my dress down (at the hips) for photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2015
Super sexy
The fit is very firm fitting so you have to be comfortable with that. I also rented the necklace.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×