Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
788 reviews
Fit
Large
(75)
True to Size
(495)
Small
(121)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 1, 2015
Comfortable and Classy Dress
The dress was beautiful. It might run slightly small. I can usually wear a 2 or 4 and I wore a 6 in this dress (but I just had a baby so that could be why!). It was a gorgeous dress!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 183lbs
May 31, 2015
This dress is one of those timeless, classic dresses sure to play up your natural beauty.
I am 5'11" and the long was still not quite long enough. ... The bust was tight. The 12 wouldn't even zip up. I wear a 36D and had to wear a minimizing bra to zip up the 14. ... The boning in the bodice keeps it from looking too casual and their is "sticky" lining around the top to keep the dress from slipping down. .... The arms fit fine and the rest of the dress was very comfortable!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
May 27, 2015
I needed a dress for a wedding last minute because I hated what I had. This dressed was amazing!
This dress fit like a glove! I wore the size 0R. It was everything I thought it would be. The length was a little too long in the back but wasn't a big deal. Everyone said it looked great on me, I will definitely use rent the runway for another event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
May 27, 2015
Received many compliments on the dress. Felt like a movie star in it.
The overall fit was wonderful. Keeps everything in place. I ordered the 16 L and I thought it was a little short in the front. However, I put on a pair of black strappy heeled sandals that my daughter thought really glammed up the dress. Don't usually do off the shoulder dresses but this dress has changed my mind. It stays in place and I only wore a simple strapless bra with it. Did not need to wear spanx to hold in the curves. Dress does all the work. My first Rent the Runway experience was truly wonderful. I will be using it again.
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
May 25, 2015
Thank you RTR- I found a gown that is plus size, professional (business event) and glam!
Fit perfectly if you are an average height (5'6") with regular curves.. I rented three for the evening and this one def fit the best. Quality was exceptional, and figure flattering..
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
May 18, 2015
I did not end up wearing this dress.
Unfortunately, I did not end up wearing this dress. I ordered two sizes, and the larger of the two fit. However, I was surprised that the bottom half of this dress was actually pretty clingy, and didn't just hang. Maybe it's me.. Not sure. Also, I'm 5'7" but this dress was just about a half inch too short on me, which was kind of just.. annoying(?) more than anything. (That weird kind of just a little too short that just looks awkward.) Gorgeous dress, though. I was sad it didn't work out. Maybe next time, RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2015
Very elegant!
Fits very snug and great for us smaller chested women who don't always get to wear strapless. Received tons of compliments. Boning adds structure to the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2015
Beautiful fit.
I'm 5'3 and the length was perfect with heels. The only thing that bothered me were the the sleeves would need to be adjusted frequently. Not a big deal though
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2015
I attended a formal charity event and received so many compliments on this dress! Thank you.
Fit wonderful!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 221lbs
May 9, 2015
I got this gown for a Mardi Gras ball in New Orleans.
I ordered this dress in two sizes, 16 & 18. I usually wear a 16, but it was a little too snug for my taste. The 18 fit me well, but it was a little too long for my height. Other than that, I really liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 2, 2015
Was a back-up dress; just loved the other one more.
It fit nicely on top and through the stomach - fitted, but stretchy and comfortable. It also stays in place well. The lower part of the dress was quite flowy - (too much for my taste) - felt like I was wearing a nightgown. Which some people may love - I just need something a bit more formal and fitted. But had I not loved my first choice dress, this would have done fine.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2015
Very fancy wedding and the dress was a perfect fit!
Dress was true to size and height. Perfect fit.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2015
I felt comfortable in the gown all night. Received several compliments:)! Excited to rent again.
Very fitted, especially around the arms.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2015
so many compliments and so comfortable
glad I didn't get the short. I like my heels high and this was perfect.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2015
The dress fit perfectly. So comfortable and very flattering. :)
Fits snuggly to your body, shows your curves and is a very comfortable stretchy fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
April 26, 2015
This dress is truly stunning. It shows off figure without emphasizing problem areas. Stunning!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 4 showed my curves a little more so I went with that. It feels amazing on and the neckline is am truly stunning. I absolutely loved this dress. I'm 5'10 and wore 5" heels and he dress was just shy of floor length so don't get a Long unless you are tall and planning on wearing heels. Wore a standard strapless bra which was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 25, 2015
So beautiful! And easy to do!
Wore to a military Ball and jaws were dropping! Beautiful dress the 6L back up size I got fit perfectly! I'm 5'8'' 141lbs and small chest. this dress was amazing! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2015
The process from start to finish was so easy and the dress I rented was so perfect!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I ordered the 2R and 4R as my backup. The 2R for perfect! When I took the dress out of the bag it was heavy to hold but once I had it on it was so light and super easy to walk in. The back bottom of the dress has a very small train but it wasn't in the way at all. I just picked it up to carry when I was outside so it wouldn't get dirty. The only thing that was a little uncomfortable was the top. Because I have a small bust the top of the dress had a vertical wire to help fill the top out. But for me when you were up close (at least I could tell) you could see the wire because it went below were it should normally be because I have a small bust. But the wire was flexible so I was able to bend it so it fit comfortably. Over all this was my favorite dress I have ever worn to a weeding and I got tons of compliments and I was so comfortable!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2015
This dress fit well and was very comfortable for the evening!
The fit was true to size. It fits well around the bust; not loose or falling. No need to worry about fighting your dress all evening! I am 5'6" and ordered a regular length. It was a bit short for my liking in the front. Other than that, great dress for a formal affair!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2015
Beautiful dress with amazing fit. I am 5'8" and this dress with 4 inch heels was perfect.
Pay attention to the length and adjust accordingly. Great for tummy coverage as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2015
Fit well in general, the sleeves were a bit droopy on the sides though
Im 5'7" and the length was perfect but I was actually in flats because of a foot injury. Any taller and I would have definitely needed the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 20, 2015
Classy dress. Made me feel very beautiful. Got lots of compliments.
Curve hugging dress, floor length
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 18, 2015
Zero stress! Excellent service, quality of garment!
Zero stress! Beautiful dress and fit. Options provided should 1st size not fit. Effortless. Ease of app and return. Expectations completely and thoroughly managed. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2015
Simple & Classy...
The fit was perfect. I'm 5'4 and wore 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The fabric falls nicely and I love the fact that I didn't have to bother with wearing a bra with this gown. My friends said that I didn't look like I just had my 3rd baby so I will say that the fit is very flattering. If you want to arrive to an event with a classic look - I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
The dress was nice and tight, so it was slimming. Definitely warm, though! It's thick.
I'm 5"7 and had less than 2inch heels and I definitely needed the long.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 16, 2015
Awesome dress! You can dress it up or dress it down....
I had to wear the 4 because the 6 was too large at the top, the 4 ended up being longer though so it was better for me. I wore 4" heels and it was perfect. The boning was a bit uncomfortable but it all worked out and looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 14, 2015
Great wedding
The fit was good, and I got lots of compliments. However, the dress had clearly been worn a number of times, and the clasp on top of the zipper had clearly fallen off at some point.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 174lbs
April 13, 2015
Tight, short, but pretty
I normally wear a 12, and so I ordered a 12, and a 14 as my backup size. The sizing description says to order a Regular length if you're under 5'6" so I did. (I'm 5'4") Big mistake. When I tried on the dress, it was mid calf., and both sizes would not zip all the way. Of course I panicked being that my event was in two days, and called customer service. The size up was booked, and most of the formal dresses only go up to a 12. Although it took over two hours of calling back, speaking to a different agents and having to explain my situation, I was able to pick another three dresses to ship overnight. All three fit! Both size 12 dresses zipped, so I guess the Belle of the Ball ran really small. Overall, although it was a little stressful, I will be renting again in hopes that it was just that one dress that the sizing was really off. I gave two stars because the dress would have been really pretty if it fit.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2015
This dress was beautiful and the material has enough stretch so you can dance.
Overall I loved the dress but I did have some problems. I initially ordered both the 12 and the 14 and when I tried on the 14 I thought I had the wrong dress. It hit my ankles and wasn't close to zipping. I hesitantly decided to try the 12 and it fit perfectly. So I got lucky because there's something wrong with the 14. The dress is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. I wish I could keep it because it's perfect for a black tie event. The length was great too. I'm 5'4" and could walk barefoot and it just skimmed the ground so I could have worn flats or heels. I definitely recommend this for hourglass figures and if you have a larger bust or wider shoulders definitely order two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2015
This dress was perfect for a wedding in mid March.
This dress fit very true to size and was very complimenting. You could wear this to a very formal event or even dress it down a bit. The material was very comfortable as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2015
Absolutely stunning!
I loved the sleeves and the fit - it was perfect for a charity auction I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Loved!!
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Ended up not wearing it
Very boring dress
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2015
LOVE THE DRESS! Order a size bigger!
I wish so bad I would have ordered the bigger size! I loved loved loved the look of this dress but it would not zip up! Unfortunately I did not get to wear it but I will for sure be ordering it again in a different size to be able to wear this dress!!! length was good, confidence would have been OVER THE MOON, but just the wrong size. :(
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
April 2, 2015
Beautiful dress, great fit. Short
I ordered the 8L, I am 5'8 and was actually borderline too short. Otherwise fit well and was very comfortable
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2015
Looked great at my fiance's company Christmas party!
Fit perfectly, fabric was heavy which was great for the cool weather, stayed in place all night long
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 208lbs
March 28, 2015
Incredibly flattering dress. Great stretch, great fit... would rent again.
Spanx + jewelry + makeup = Perfect night. Pictures loooked better from the front, since I have a belly, but was a great dress and I receievd many complimennts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
March 26, 2015
It's very classy and show just the right amount of skin.
One gripe would be the sleeves. It's been stretched out a bit. Nevertheless, the dress is gorgeous. I'll guarantee you'll like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Read all the reviews. Very pretty dress, but runs small.
I ordered this dress in 4R and the back-up in 6R and both were too short and ran small. I could have worn the 6R, but was too short. I am 5'6" and 125 lb, which is right between the Regular and Long sizes. The 6L would have been perfect. A very pretty dress, I will rent again in the right size.
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
March 25, 2015
I looked fabulous!
The dress does run small and if you're 5'7 I would suggest getting the 16 Long dress. Also if your chesty this dress does not need a bra. Overall enjoyed it
See more reviews:
6 / 20
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×