Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
765 reviews
Fit
Large74
True to Size482
Small119
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2015
Simple & Classy...
The fit was perfect. I'm 5'4 and wore 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The fabric falls nicely and I love the fact that I didn't have to bother with wearing a bra with this gown. My friends said that I didn't look like I just had my 3rd baby so I will say that the fit is very flattering. If you want to arrive to an event with a classic look - I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
The dress was nice and tight, so it was slimming. Definitely warm, though! It's thick.
I'm 5"7 and had less than 2inch heels and I definitely needed the long.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 16, 2015
Awesome dress! You can dress it up or dress it down....
I had to wear the 4 because the 6 was too large at the top, the 4 ended up being longer though so it was better for me. I wore 4" heels and it was perfect. The boning was a bit uncomfortable but it all worked out and looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 14, 2015
Great wedding
The fit was good, and I got lots of compliments. However, the dress had clearly been worn a number of times, and the clasp on top of the zipper had clearly fallen off at some point.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 174lbs
April 13, 2015
Tight, short, but pretty
I normally wear a 12, and so I ordered a 12, and a 14 as my backup size. The sizing description says to order a Regular length if you're under 5'6" so I did. (I'm 5'4") Big mistake. When I tried on the dress, it was mid calf., and both sizes would not zip all the way. Of course I panicked being that my event was in two days, and called customer service. The size up was booked, and most of the formal dresses only go up to a 12. Although it took over two hours of calling back, speaking to a different agents and having to explain my situation, I was able to pick another three dresses to ship overnight. All three fit! Both size 12 dresses zipped, so I guess the Belle of the Ball ran really small. Overall, although it was a little stressful, I will be renting again in hopes that it was just that one dress that the sizing was really off. I gave two stars because the dress would have been really pretty if it fit.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2015
This dress was beautiful and the material has enough stretch so you can dance.
Overall I loved the dress but I did have some problems. I initially ordered both the 12 and the 14 and when I tried on the 14 I thought I had the wrong dress. It hit my ankles and wasn't close to zipping. I hesitantly decided to try the 12 and it fit perfectly. So I got lucky because there's something wrong with the 14. The dress is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. I wish I could keep it because it's perfect for a black tie event. The length was great too. I'm 5'4" and could walk barefoot and it just skimmed the ground so I could have worn flats or heels. I definitely recommend this for hourglass figures and if you have a larger bust or wider shoulders definitely order two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2015
This dress was perfect for a wedding in mid March.
This dress fit very true to size and was very complimenting. You could wear this to a very formal event or even dress it down a bit. The material was very comfortable as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2015
Absolutely stunning!
I loved the sleeves and the fit - it was perfect for a charity auction I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Loved!!
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Ended up not wearing it
Very boring dress
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2015
LOVE THE DRESS! Order a size bigger!
I wish so bad I would have ordered the bigger size! I loved loved loved the look of this dress but it would not zip up! Unfortunately I did not get to wear it but I will for sure be ordering it again in a different size to be able to wear this dress!!! length was good, confidence would have been OVER THE MOON, but just the wrong size. :(
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
April 2, 2015
Beautiful dress, great fit. Short
I ordered the 8L, I am 5'8 and was actually borderline too short. Otherwise fit well and was very comfortable
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2015
Looked great at my fiance's company Christmas party!
Fit perfectly, fabric was heavy which was great for the cool weather, stayed in place all night long
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 208lbs
March 28, 2015
Incredibly flattering dress. Great stretch, great fit... would rent again.
Spanx + jewelry + makeup = Perfect night. Pictures loooked better from the front, since I have a belly, but was a great dress and I receievd many complimennts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
March 26, 2015
It's very classy and show just the right amount of skin.
One gripe would be the sleeves. It's been stretched out a bit. Nevertheless, the dress is gorgeous. I'll guarantee you'll like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Read all the reviews. Very pretty dress, but runs small.
I ordered this dress in 4R and the back-up in 6R and both were too short and ran small. I could have worn the 6R, but was too short. I am 5'6" and 125 lb, which is right between the Regular and Long sizes. The 6L would have been perfect. A very pretty dress, I will rent again in the right size.
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
March 25, 2015
I looked fabulous!
The dress does run small and if you're 5'7 I would suggest getting the 16 Long dress. Also if your chesty this dress does not need a bra. Overall enjoyed it
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2015
I wore this dress to a black-tie charity gala, and it was perfect.
This dress was not my typical style but was perfect for me, a few months post-partum when I'm self-conscious about those last few pounds. The off-shoulder sleeves showed off the collarbone but covered my upper arms and the ruching on the bodice was extremely forgiving. It was a curvy silhouette in the best way possible. My only complaint is that the wires in the bodice literally cut into my ribcage, which was uncomfortable and left a nasty mark.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
Wore this dress as a bridesmaid in my friend's black tie wedding.
Very flattering, very comfortable, received numerous compliments. Biggest drawback is that it's a hard to lift your arms above your head. The 4 came with a built in bra, the 6 did not.
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 240lbs
March 21, 2015
Elegant dress!
This dress is more beautiful on and in person than in the photos! I was nervous about the material because I typically stay away from thin, clingy materials but I took a chance on this dress after reading the reviews and was delighted. There is a layer of boning almost like a corset in the top of the dress that really helps it lay beautifully. I hate wearing my dresses too tight so I ordered larger sizes. I typically wear a 16-18 in jeans, dresses and skirts. I am about 5'4" and wanted to wear 4 inch heels. I ordered a size 20R and 22R. I could have worn either, but I went with the 22R for extra breathing room (for singing) and length over my shoes. If you are any taller, you'll probably want the taller length! I wore a strapless long line bra and I also wore a mermaid shape slip with tulle under it from David's Bridal for extra volume in the skirt. I was wearing the dress while singing in a concert so I wanted a fuller, more formal look. The combination of the slip and the longline bra made me feel extra comfortable, smoothing out any extra curves I didn't want to appear. The ruching in this dress is really great and complements curves. I felt like I could customize it by pulling the waist up or down for more or less ruching. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 20, 2015
The dress went well with my jewelry.
It fit true to size, was just an inch or so too long with my heels. Would have been perfect if I wore higher heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This was a selection made for me by RTR after a situation with a dress I ordered became unavailable. Was not thrilled with this, so they overnighted me a beautiful option that worked perfectly! See my other reviews!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2015
People complimented me on the dress all night AND it was comfortable
The length was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2015
easy to wear! comfortable to dance in!
I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress. It had a lot of support from the boning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 14, 2015
So. Many. Compliments.
I got compliments ALL NIGHT LONG! Loved this dress. Loved the way I felt in it! After losing weight, I thought the description "true to size" would mean I would fit the 10p. But, I have a large bust, even after having a breast reduction, so I needed a little more room for the girls. I'm 5'2" and the petite length was perfect! Loved loved loved this gown, and so did everyone else!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2015
Simply stunning!
I wrote this to a Black & Gold Gala. I absolutely loved how the dress fit. I was worried about my biceps not fitting, because of lifting weights, but it fit perfectly. The only minor issue I had was that the dress was shorter then expected. I almost had to wear flats it was barely touching the ground. I wore heels anyway and just pulled my dress down (at the hips) for photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2015
Super sexy
The fit is very firm fitting so you have to be comfortable with that. I also rented the necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 3, 2015
Runs extremely small and very short
Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful gown, and the pictures from others really shows what a statement it can make...just make sure you plan accordingly if you rent this dress. It runs about two sizes too small and is very short. I'm 5'6 and ordered the long and it was still quite a bit off the floor. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event due to the fit and length. I will say that the customer service from Rent The Runway has been outstanding and now that I have a return credit, I will certainly try another rental for an event I have next month,
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
March 2, 2015
Elegant, fit great in all the right places, perfect dress.
Pros - I'm really petite and I had no issues with this dress fitting. I did use hem tape to hold up the bottom. Cons - the metal wiring in the chest is definitely made for people with a bigger cup size. Being an A, it dug into my chest a bit, but i was able to adjust it a bit so it didn't bother me too much. Overall, I got a bunch of compliments and am definitely renting again as this was my first time using RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2015
I didn't wear the dress.
I rented this for an event and unfortunately couldn't wear it - it was SO tight! I always rent a backup size one size up - but I couldn't even get into this dress. Fortunately RTR customer service is amazing. I ended up wearing something else, sent this one back, and got a refund.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
Very Hollywood, red carpet-esque!
This dress felt great, wore well and received many compliments. I am a 36D and it was a tiny bit tight across the bust, but I needed the 4 to fit the rest of my frame. It was overall a great dress! I'm 5'8" and the 4L was exact. It wasn't too long nor too short with 4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 23, 2015
I felt beautiful. My bat wings fit in the sleeves! Had compliments all night!!!!
The reviews are correct do prefer the next size up but this dress was so comfortable. It is long so if you like your heels do order the long instead of the regular. The train adds a bit of Hollywood!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2015
dress fit wonderful and perfect for the occassion
I thought the dress ran small becauseI had to wear a size larger than usual, although the larger size fit wonderful
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2015
The dress was fabulous! The material was amazing and perfect for a formal event.
It runs a size smaller than what I usually wear, but it was an all around perfect dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2015
Great customer service! Dress runs small and short.
Dress arrived WAY too short. I felt the size ran small as well. Size up for your back up. RTR sent me another dress that worked for me.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 19, 2015
This dress runs short. I am 5'5" and originally ordered the 10R and had to swap for the longer one
Loved it! I looked and felt great. the dress is very comfortable and slimming.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2015
Wore this to a black tie wedding - it was the best dress there!
I loved this dress! I wore it in Feb in Indiana to a very cold and snowy wedding. I found the dress to be very comfortable and it did a great job of hiding and accenting all the right areas. I hope I have another event like this in the future so I can rent it again! RENT IT!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding.
It fit like a glove! The boning created a beautiful, solid waistline and the ruching basically eliminated the need for spanx. I'm normally a size 2 but after reading the rest of the reviews, I decided to order the 4L. Definitely the way to go. I'm not sure I could've moved much in the 2L. Definitely order your normal size and possibly a size up from that. It needed a little pop of color, so I paired it with a statement necklace/earrings to keep it from looking a little too plain. I got compliments all night :) Go for it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
February 18, 2015
Amazing evening for a good cause!
Great dress. Very comfortable!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2015
This was my boyfriend's first movie premiere! It was a night I'll never forget.
Depending on the dress, I either wear a 0, 2, or 4. After chatting with one of style consultants, I was advised to get sizes 0L and 2L in this dress. If I could go back, I would have got a 2L and a 4L. Though the 2L fit, the boning of the dress pressed into my skin on my chest. It wasn't too noticeable, but it was a bit uncomfortable. Also, even though I went with the longer size, the dress still didn't reach the floor in the front. Overall, however, I think the dress was beautiful and made me feel like a movie star.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×