Belle of the Ball Gown

$80 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
648 reviews
Fit
Large68
True to Size433
Small86
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
December 10, 2014
Beautiful dress....Lots of compliments!
Beautiful dress....Lots of compliments! I am 5'5 and the length was right on if you wear less than a 3" heel.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2014
I felt like a million dollars in this dress. So elegant and beautiful!
Perfect length for my height. If you are my size I recommend getting the 2r and 4r as back up. I had ordered the 0 and 2r but 0 was too small. I didn't think the 2r was going to fit at first. Had issues with zipping it up but once my husband got it past a certain point it fit perfect. I think the 4r would have been way too big. Dress was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
December 7, 2014
Everyone loved it! Great quality, classic look.
This was my first rental and it was a great experience! I wore it to a formal evening wedding. The 8 was a little tight across the shoulders and the 10 was loose in the waist. I just went with the 10 for overall comfort. The dress has a built-in bra shell but if you are bigger than a B, wear a strapless bra also. The dress has a little train which looks great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2014
Did not wear
The sleeves were not comfortable and restricted movement too much. I found the straight neckline very unflattering. The top was a little loose. The fit through the bodice and hips was snug and flattering but the overall look didn't work for me.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 4, 2014
Had so many compliments on how sexy the dress was. Definitely hugs the curves!
Was a little difficult to move with the way the sleeves are. I was expecting some stretch all over, and while the dress had stretch, the band along the bust/arms does not. It made it a little difficult to dance and hug people, but overall completely worth it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
December 4, 2014
Very Pretty
This dress was my first choice but the fit was all wrong on me. The sleeves were so tight there was no way I could've danced in it. I tried the larger size but had the same issue plus the zipper puckered out in the back. I did see it on another woman at my event and she looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Couture gown, no sticker shock
Great fit! Train in the back was an issue trying to walk around and hope no one stepped on it. Loved the gown though!
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2014
Timeless style!
Beautiful dress for a black tie event! The petite length was perfect for my 5ft frame---wore my comfortable 3 in. heels all night and didn't need to worry about the dress dragging on the ground at all. You will need someone to help you zip it up because of the fabric. It was formfitting, but in all the right places. Overall very happy with this rental, will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 2, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Ordered this in 10R and 12R (usually wear a 10R but wanted to be sure) and the 12R was a bit baggy and long on my 5'4" frame. Wore this for a Masquerade ball and it turned out perfect. Simple, stylish and easy to wear, I would wear this again. It did show a little wear and tear but I expected that.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 28, 2014
It was perfect for a wonderful evening!
I had two other dresses that did not fit my "girls'. I ordered this one on the phone with the stylist and she was great about getting out to us. The top is like a corset so there is no need for a bra and being a small person, it actually fit as it was supposed to just touching the floor. When I say it runs small, I mean that normally I'm not a size 12 in my chest but I sized up so I would feel comfortable. It looked good, I felt good, and it was perfect for the formal affair I was attending. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 23, 2014
It was a great wedding!
I wore this dress to a wedding. I love this dress I wished I owned it. I ordered the dress in 2P and 4P. The were not able to send me the 4P so they sent me the 4R. The 2P fit perfectly. If you are 5 feet or under go with the petite size it was the perfect length. I tried on the 4R and it was too big and very long even with heels on.I got so many compliments on this dress. Everyone loved this dress. The dress is also very comfortable. Easy to dance in and great for cold weather. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 23, 2014
EXCELLENT FOR A FORMAL EVENT!!!!
Being this was my first time with RTR didn't know how sizing would be for me.....I usually wear 12/14. I ordered both 12R/14R trying on the 14R first. It was very snug on top but a nice fit on the hips. The dress hit right at the top of my feet....wish it was longer. The plastic tabs along the bust allowed me to not to wear a bra. Which is usual for me but I was good. But at the same time these plastic tabs are also in the back which stuck me when I was sitting. Other than that I loved the way the dress looked on me and its a Very nice dress for the occasion. I plan to order another dress from RTR for another event next month
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2014
Didn't wear it
Really ill fitting and not particularly flattering
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 19, 2014
The dress for like a glove, which made me feel elegant and sexy!
The fit was perfect and so was the length. I wore proper undergarments to flatten me all around. This helped make the look sleek and flawless. I wore a tiny tear drop necklace and a large silvery purple bangle, and grey peep toe shoes to top it all off. I am short so length was a big thing for me - but this totally hit the mark. I am also broad in the shoulders so I was concerned about the neckline and this hugged and showed off all the right places. I got many great compliments throughout my night!!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 17, 2014
Our annual fundraiser is a stressful affair BUT this dress helped me feel graceful under pressure.
The dress was PERFECT! I was working our large-scale annual fundraiser which required lots of movement and schmoozing. This dress did not require any adjustment during the evening. The length was just right but I was wearing flats. It was comfortable, flattering, and elegant as I was running up and down stairs. It slimmed down my big arms and best part -- because of the fabric and fit, I didn't have to wear Spanx! That's always a plus :) One con which thankfully ended up not being an issue, the backup dress (size 14R) was in really poor condition. The wires were sticking out of the bust and the zipper was somewhat damaged.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
November 16, 2014
As advertised "We recommend selecting a delivery date one day before your event" GUARANTEED!!
#BlackTieEvent In my opinion this is a simple and elegant dress that doesn't need much! With the Right hairdo, Few accessories, and subtle makeup you can rock this dress! I ordered a 2R : 0L the 2R felt great but was entirely too short, once I tried the 0L it was perfect but a tad bit tight in the arms. Had the 2L been available, GLORY!! I am normally a size 3/4 standing 5'4 :) I loved this dressed, and received nothing but compliments!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 16, 2014
Dancing around the house in my dress with my husband AFTER he refused to dance at the party :)
Fantastic dress! Tight in the bosom which is saying a lot as I already am not well-endowed in that area. I think it really flattered my pear shape well. Two thumbs up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2014
Dress was sexy without exposing too much
Dress fits like a glove...perfect length with 3 inch heels...very comfortable and stylish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2014
Elegant, flattering and unique!
This was a back up sent by a RTR stylist and it was perfect! True to size and very flattering. I loved the offer shoulder sleeves for a late Fall wedding and it looked great with bold earing and an up do.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2014
This was for a charitable organization's annual Gala...
The dress fit perfectly - was a bit short, had to wear kitten heels. The dress has very nice structure and support, didn't have to even wear a bra! I got lots and lots of compliments on it. Very high quality dress. It didn't arrive the day before however - and I was stressing about it arriving in time. It came around noon the day of the event, but turns out it was a UPS issue, not RTR. Will definitely do this again. The fact that you receive 2 sizes makes it doable!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2014
The dress made me feel elegant
The dress was exactly what I was looking for. I'm 5 feet exact and with 4 inch heels the dress was the perfect height. The fabric was just stretchy enough to feel comfortable but not so much that it was lose after all the moving around. I have wide hips and it really made me look smaller. Overall this is a very pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
This was sent to me as a courtesy dress in lieu of one I ordered.
This dress was very long. It has a bodice that has some boning in it which helps it stay up. Unfortunately it was not what I was looking for, I wanted more of a 'wow' factor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2014
I received many compliments on my dress. I felt great and was very happy with my RTR experience.
The Long length was very long for me (5'7"). Some reviews said the regular would be short but I had shoes tall enough for the dress to hang nicely. It's very forgiving and very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2014
Very flattering cut, a bit on the small side!
I didn't end up wearing this one because I could not get it zipped! I ordered the 2P. I'm 4'11, 115lbs. & 34D. The length was fine on me and I did not need a platform heel, just a simple low heel worked. The material was very thick and heavy so I was glad I didn't end up with this option being that I was attending an event in Miami and it was a bit warm out.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
October 30, 2014
Didn't wind up wearing.
Thankfully this was my second option. The sleeves were awkward. I tried it on first as i was hoping the first option worked, which it did and I was very happy about.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157lbs
October 30, 2014
PERFECT LENGTH, PERFECT FIT
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I am only 5'3", so I was worried about the dress being too long, but I wore 2 1/2" heels and it was perfect! The dress also hid all my flaws and I felt beautiful in it. I love to dance (I didn't say I was good at it :)) so I loved the flowy nature of the dress. Arms did fit a little snug, but that isn't even a con, just an observation. Would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
October 28, 2014
How well this dress fit
I absolutely loved this dress. It is very flattering even after having cocktail hour and an entree. Has a small train which cAn be bothersome if in a crowded room. I rented the 6r and 8r I'm usually a size 6, but the 6 did not even zipper. The 8r was perfect. Love rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 27, 2014
Elegant. Chic. Comfortable. A trio you can't beat.
I got tons of compliments all night. Felt very chic. Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 27, 2014
I felt great in this dress!!
I loved the effortlessness and classic look that this dress has. I would definitely recommend going up a size though! My usual size 4, fit kind of snug but wasn't uncomfortable. The arms sleeves are a little tight too but other than that, the dress was perfect!! I got several compliments on it throughout the night and everyone loved how classic and old-hollywood it looked
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2014
Fantastic, classy dress, Felt like a million bucks in it :)
I wish i could buy this dress! Forgiving and flattering fit. Classy, sophisticated perfection.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 19, 2014
Formal wedding with tours and a lot of walking and standing.
Loved the fit of the dress, very comfortable for a long evening. I did, however, have to wear much lower heels because the dress was WAY too short. It was the proper length wearing flats. Definitely order your size in long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2014
Effortlessly chic!
This dress was truly perfect. I wish I owned it! I got this for a formal charity gala and it was perfect for this type of occasion. It really stands out, and even though it's just a black dress it is so elegant. I got a ton of compliments and I felt great in this! I ordered the 2L and 4R, and I'm usually a 0/2 but in this dress the 4 was perfect. The 2 that I got was too big because it seemed like it was stretched out and has some busted seams, so just beware of that. I highly recommend this to any body type, it's super figure flattering and with some statement jewelry it's just amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 32D
October 16, 2014
Best rental yet!
Gorgeous, slimming and so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 9, 2014
The dress made me look and feel beautiful!
The fit was perfect. I just had a baby and the dress hid my stomach and accentuated my better parts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 8, 2014
I loved this dress, it was an amazing event with an amazing dress. I am glad I went with this dress!
Fortunately for me this dress fit me well. I ordered a size 10 and my back up was a size 12. I say true to size because I am between a 10 and 12 but I ended up going in with the 12. It fit me like a glove (just the way I love it) I accented the dress with gold jewelry I had at home (I had ordered a beautiful pearl necklace on this website but it was way too gaudy for this dress) This dress needed something simple to keep the beauty to the dress. I wore simple black wedge shoes (Steve Madden, I would have gone with a simple open toe shoe but this dress order was last minute and I did not have a shoe that went well with the dress. My hair was left down, but with this dress you can wear the hair down or up in a nice neat bun to complete the look. I loved the mini train of the dress it was beautiful, I am typically a petite but I ordered the Regular length (per the comments left on the dress) and I think that was the best decision I made because the dress length fit just right. If I had order the petite it would have not been a long gown. So, depending on your preference go with the regular to get the full length of the dress. I love love loved this dress. (BODY TYPE-- I placed my body type as hour glass, but I am curvy with an hour glass shape)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 7, 2014
Order one size down
The gown was exquisite. I was VERY sad that I could not wear it as I ordered my size based on these reviews. Is was VERY large in the waist. I am not a tiny woman. I shold have ordered a size 6, which I never fit in.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
September 30, 2014
dress was beautiful, little big. wish i would've gone petite.
in the other reviews, I read that girls of similar height said the petite sizes were too short so I opted for the regular 0. It was just a little big and still a bit long with 5 inch heels. hard to walk in but worth it b/c it was really a gorgeous dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 29, 2014
"One is never undressed or overdressed in a little black dress."
This dress is true to size and is perfect for all body types! The dress is very starchy i order a backup size 6R and wore it instead of the size 8 R. I unusually never wear a size six but since this dress is so starchy the size 8 was a little loose. What I loved about this dress is the built in bra I wear 36DDD in VS and had no problems with this dress. I would not ordered long in this dress unless you are taller then 5.7. You really can't go wrong with this dress! It's perfect for all shapes and ages!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
September 28, 2014
This dress was stunning and I had compliments all through out the night
This dress is true to size, the only thing I wasn't thrilled about was the plastic parts that shape the breast area. They were a little misshapen. But very comfortable and easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
September 28, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
Fit true to size--I am size 10, 36D. I am 5 feet 2 and found it a tiny bit too long (got the 10R)--if I rent it again, i will use a bit of tape to shorten it by an inch. Definitely needed help with the zipper in the back. Overall, I felt gorgeous in this dress. Absolutely stunning
See more reviews:
6 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×