Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
916 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(548)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 7, 2014
I loved this dress. It was classy , and over all gorgeous.
I wore it to a black tie affair dinner party. Paired with a leopard print mink coat. The amount of compliments were unbelievable. Fit- technically it was true to size except for the back which scrunched up a bit. I ordered a 10 for the back up but it was TOO big, So the 8 did fine, the issue was also the busom area it slid down a bit but nothing too bad Money well spent.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 8, 2014
Amazing! Felt wonderful, comfortable, and beautiful!
The fit is meant to be a bit tight, but it very slimming. I am 5'6 and the regular length was a little too short for me. I wore 2 inch heels. It did help for dancing though. I felt like a million bucks and received compliments all night! Perfect for a winter wedding and a classic and classy look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 8, 2014
This dress runs large.
This dress runs large in the top.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful dress, I felt like a celebrity! Boyfriend loved it, tons of compliments all night.
You will need help getting it zipped because of the ruching, but it is not at all uncomfortable. Only thing was that part of the boning at the neckline was stabbing me all night, but it was well worth it. Glamorous and perfect for a formal wedding or any black tie event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
January 23, 2014
I wore this dress to a military ball and felt amazing in it! I looked very classy!
It fit perfectly and the fabric felt really nice. Even though I had it packed in my suitcase it did not wrinkle and still looked amazing on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 23, 2014
Gorgeous---got tons of compliments on it!
Fit true to size. great for busty or hippy girls. had some trouble lifting my arms up, but nothing serious.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 26, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress. It's a real showstopper.
It's very form fitting. I loved the way it accentuated my hips. I wore 2 1/2 inch heels and the length was perfect. Ladies over 5'7", get it in a long.
RTR CustomerFebruary 23, 2014
You look fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Pear
January 27, 2014
Great Dress!
I rented this for a charity gala and was nervous about the length. With a pair of 4 inch heels, it was great! I do not own many dresses and hate to dress up so, instead of buying dresses that I will only wear once, I am going to use RTR for future events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 2, 2014
.
Beautiful dress and fit true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2014
I did not end up wearing the dress. It was too short
If you are tall say over 5'6" you should go for the long
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2014
Great dress, great service!
I am between a 2 and 4 normally. The 2 was snug so I opted for the 4. I am 5'2" and wore 3 inch heels and thought I would need the petite, but the 2P turned out to be way too short. The 4R was long and it was a little annoying having to hold up the dress all night but the 2P dress looks weird as it cuts just below the ankle. If you are 5'2" and planning on heels over 1.5" I would recommend the regular length. Service was impeccable!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
February 10, 2014
My husband could not stop complementing on how beautiful I looked.
Loved this dress! Yes, it did run a bit larger than I was expecting. I am generally a size 2 and I should have done the get two dresses in both sizes to ensure a better fit. I am busty but I have smaller shoulders and girth around my bust. However, everyone complemented me on the dress and it was unique. The customer service was outstanding and understanding when I forgot to return the bracelets on time. I definitely will again be using Rent the Runway in the future.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 12, 2014
Loved this dress. It had a ton of support and was not only elegant but comfortable!!!
Very flatter style dress and didnt even have to wear a bra!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
Classic Elegance
Wanted something classic and elegant. Was a little unsure about mobility with the style of the sleeves but I had no problem. Chose 6R as I am 5'5". The dress is slightly shorter in the front with a slight tail in the back, with my 3 inch heels I was able to walk without falling or having to hold my dress up. I know some prefer to floor length so I would suggest shorter heels since I ordered a back up 8R but there was just too much material all around. The dress has great boning for structure so if you are a snug 6 :) you can zip up and the material is very flattering in it's drape. Got great compliments. Would call this a go to standard.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
Great style for a Mardi Gras Ball
The dress fit great. And was very forgiving for those of use that do not sport a flat stomach. I did not need to wear a bra with it, however the boning was poking me rather badly by the night's end. I did end up with a big scratch. :( The train is beautiful -- however, keep in mind if a busy affair you'll need to hold it basically the entire time. I'm 5'8" and opted for the regular length as I always wear flats to these events. It was still a smudge too long. I know some reviewers said it ran short, I disagree. I tried it on with my friend's heels and it was still just skimming the floor. All in all I was more than pleased with the rental. I felt confident in the dress and ADORED having sleeves for once.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
February 19, 2014
Love! Love! Love!
Was a fun simple dress that looked amazing on. The length was a little long but nothing a little higher heel couldn't fix. It was a simple dress that looked amazing. It was easy to move it and very comfortable for dancing. It was a fun dress to add great/dramatic jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 20, 2014
Comfortable & elegant!
I just had a baby and am breastfeeding. This dress was very comfortable and hid any evidence of my just-had-a-baby figure.. The only complaint I have is that the dress was too short. I should've worn flats.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2014
Great Dress But Worn Down
The dress was everything everyone else has said it is-- forgiving, comfortable, and elegant. I was afraid it might be a little matronly, but it looked great, and I felt great in it. A quick word of warning, if you're going to have pictures taken you will absolutely want to wear a slip as the dress is a bit sheer. The reason I'm not giving this dress the 5 stars it really deserves is that the particular dress I received from RTR was INCREDIBLY beat up. The ribbing was sticking out so the wires poked me all night, so while the dress itself was comfortable, it was actually somewhat painful to wear (though obviously it has nothing to do with the design of the dress). The plastic along the bust that's meant to help hold the dress up a bit was mostly worn away so that I had to sneak to the bathroom a few times to pull it up. Overall the dress was wonderful, but RTR really just needs to replace the particular garment I received.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 23, 2014
This dress is so perfect. One woman came up to me multiple times to tell me how beautiful I looked.
Everything was perfect! It does slide down a little but nothing that made me annoyed or uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2014
You look stunning! I love your dress! These words were uttered over and over again all evening long.
I am 5'8" tall and weigh between 135-140 on any given day. The 4 long was a perfect fit for overall fit and length (I was wearing 5" heels and it allowed my toes to peek out which is what I wanted). The dress is very fitted but with great stretch. If you carry any weight in your upper arms or have sizeable upper arm muscles you might want to go up a size as the 4 was pretty snug on my somewhat thin arms). Great dress. Felt fabulous in it and received tons of compliments. So glad I rented it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 23, 2014
Had a wonderful evening feeling very beautiful!
The fit of the dress was amazing. I received a lot of compliments and would definitely wear the dress again to another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 25, 2014
Sexy and Classy
I have very broad shoulders so the sleeves were very tight across the top but it wasn't uncomfortable! I am 6' and wore flats and the dress just barely touched the floor. I usually am between a 2 and a 4 but the 4 was a perfect fit for me! beautiful heavy and expensive feeling. I felt gorgeous in this dress and received compliments on it all night long ! Thanks RTR
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2014
The event was in the winter and the dress was elegant and warm.
This dress is very comfortable and easy to wear. The fabric was light and the fit fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
March 2, 2014
I had the perfect dress for the perfect night.
I love this dress. I am normally a size 12 but I gained a little weight and size 14 was unavailable. I chose to go with the 12 in hopes that it would fit. It was a little snug but it fit. I like to long tail in the back, and the low neck line but not so low that too much cleavage is showing. It fit in all the right places. I will definitely order a dress from Rent the Runway again. The process is so easy. Thank you for wonderful service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 3, 2014
Too short
This would have been a great dress, but it was way too short. I am 5'10 and always wear heels, but there was no way I could wear it. Luckily I had a backup RTR dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2014
Oscar Party 2014
Make sure you have a friend to zip up the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress was very impressive and the jewelry was an absolute match!
The dress was awesome....it fit so well and was true to size..I thought I would need a size 14 because of my hips, but it was perfect. I received so many compliments on my dress as well as my daughters dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 5, 2014
Loved wearing the dress once and returning it.
Fits well. I am a breast cancer survivor. Boning in bodice was noticeable but with strapless bra, it fit well and I received so many compliments! Told all my friends about RTR
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 8, 2014
Easy shipping!
Loved the dress. I ordered a 2Long because a 2 is my normal size. And I had ordered the 4Long as my back up size! The 4 barely fit!!!! I am 5'6 and I wore 4 inch heels and the dress barely hit the floor. It kept gathering above my butt and that made it look like it didn't fit...the dress is very tight, so if you have big arms, I don't recommend getting this dress. You can't lift your arms up in the air because of the way the arms are designed. The dress was exactly what I needed, I just wish I could have figured out the size a little better before I ordered it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 9, 2014
This was a great fit for me. I researched many styles before deciding.
It was nice to have a petite option. The dress was snug in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 9, 2014
I rented this dress for a Battalion Ball, in winter.
I wasn't sure what my dress size was, as I don't wear many dresses, so I ordered a 8R and a 6R. I tried the 6R right away, and felt like it wasn't tight enough for this type of dress (felt like it would slip down)- so if you have any doubts about what you'll fit in, try for the smaller range. It has enough stretch, I think, too, if I HAD ordered too small that it would still fit. You can go bra-less in this dress, but having a strapless seems to be better for the silhouette (or so my husband says). I ended up going with -less, because my strapless wasn't that great and I didn't think the dress was tight enough to help support it. The fabric is heavy enough to keep your body/legs super comfortably warm, but your shoulders will be cold without some coverage in fall/winter. The dress is LONG, even the regular, and the back is definitely a bit longer than the front so that there's a train. I'm 5'5", and wore around 3" heels and I still had to pick up my dress to comfortably walk around without tripping. Taking a step back without doing this would also be dangerous! XD Oh, and by the end of the night, the sleeves slip down a lot and don't hold up well. It's a very elegant dress, and it worked very well for the event... I just kind of expected more of a wow (but I suppose that fault is my own and not the dress's). I liked it, but didn't -love- it. Oh! And something strange that I never saw in any of the other reviews for this dress, so it could possibly be just with me, but the... lining? (inside, thin material) skirt part of the dress would bunch up after using the restroom if you aren't careful to pull it down properly. I wasn't wearing pantyhose, so this could be why, but usually with bare skin things don't cling.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
This dress worked out really well! Flattering fit, photographed nicely. Recommend for formal events.
At first I panicked when I tried the dress as I quickly realized I was going about putting it on incorrectly. I recommend zipping it up entirely first and clasping the hook & eye and then puling your arms through the sleeves. Sounds simple and almost silly but my initial thought was I had a dress that wasn't going to fit. The gathered details along the sides of the dress were great as they allowed you to adjust it to lay just like you wanted. The length on the 2L was JUST long enough. I am 5'6 1/2 so if you are ANY taller I would consider a different dress- I wore 3" inch heels and it hit right to the floor with shoes on. Received tons of compliments- this is a really sophisticated dress. I was one of the younger attendees to the formal event i wore this too- it was a perfect blend of sexy but on the conservative side which was perfect and on point for the evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
March 14, 2014
Dress was a good fit
Runs true to size
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
March 22, 2014
Wearing the dress with a longer, flashier earring really got a lot of compliments
Very, very flattering dress but you can't live your arms up!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2014
The dress was PERFECT. I had strangers come up to us all night full of compliments. RTR Rocks!!!
I usually have trouble with dresses being too tight in the ribcage area. While I had to go up a size because of my large ribcage, the rest of the dress fit like a glove. WHEW, that's a first. Also, with heels, I'm almost 6ft. Finding a dress long enough is near impossible. Added full length photo to show the length was perfect. (Another WHEW) Being these are designer, select the dress based on your measurements, not your size. I usually wear a size 8 - maybe a 10 if it's small, this time I used the size 12.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 30, 2014
Wore this to a Debutante Ball and everyone absolutely loved it!
I purchased the 6R and the 4R and ended up wearing the 6....I expected it to be long on me since I am only 5'4 but it definitely wasn't with my 4 inch heels.. the dress is super flattering and everyone gave me so many compliments on it and asked where it was from.. It is form fitting but it looks great especially in pictures which I loved! If you are taller than 5'4 and wearing heels you should get the long size.. Loved the dress, so glad I purchased it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
Stunning AND comfortable!
I frantically had RTR overnight me this dress after my 1st choice didn't fit. I was reluctant to have them send me this one because it just doesn't look that spectacular online to be honest. But I loved it!! It doesn't look like much on the hanger, but completely transforms when you put it on. The fit was perfect and the dress has just the right about of stretch and ruching to be flattering yet forgiving. It's very fitted, but in such a way that it holds you in while still letting you breathe. It's a very classic dress that is different enough to stand out, but understated enough to let you go all out with jewelry and/or makeup. I wore the 4L and with almost 4 inch heels it barely grazed the ground. Stats for reference: 5'9" 133 lbs, Pants: 6, Dresses: 4, Chest: 34", Ribcage: 28 1/2", Waist: 25.5", Hips: 37"
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
March 31, 2014
This dress was beautiful !! It hugged all the right places... Will rent again and again from RTR!!!
My first pick would not zip up on the side , I did not panic I called RTR and the consultant help me pick out two new dresses different styles and had them sent overnight !!! Everything about this dress was beautiful and surprisingly comfortable... I danced all night!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
April 2, 2014
A Great Gatsby theme.
I LOVE this dress. It was comfortable and flattering. It did tend to "grow' a little as the night wore on, so next time I'm trying the 10R. Beware the train in the back - it wasn't bad but you do have to left it a bit as you walk.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
April 2, 2014
Rent the Runway made it super easy and fun to find a dress! Exceptional customer service!
Dress fit like a glove! Beautifully tailored, yet fabric was stretchy enough to be forgiving and flattering. I have a larger chest and this dress was both supportive and sexy, yet I didn't feel inappropriate at our kids' school fundraiser.
See more reviews:
6 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×