Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
920 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(550)
Small
(132)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Too big!
I rented this dress for a work party and it was too big all around. I am a 32D and the top was still too big! It was too big in the overall fit and too long. Not a dress I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Love, Love, Loved this gown!!
Formals can be stuffy, but this gown was the complete opposite. I wore this to a Debutante Cotillion, and even after the long presentations, crowning, and dinner, I was still ready to dance the night away in this dress. It hides what you dont want seen, and accentuates all the positives. Highly recommend!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 28, 2012
"The Lover and The Lunatic" Fund Raiser for Southwest Shakespeare Company, 2012. We three ladies read with the man, himself. What and experience and what a grade way to dress it up. The RTR dress, RTR earrings and I are on the right. Thanks RTR!
Adored the dress. Ended up not wearing the necklace for I felt it was too much. Earrings and bracelet were perfect. Really great that RTR threw in some dress adhesive, for I would NOT have remembered. I was able to wear the sleeve more "slightly off the shoulder" than "off the shoulder", which was more comfortable to me. Overall, rented dress and jewelry, AND purchased undergarments and it all was at my door, one stop shopping. Can't wait to play again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 7, 2012
Impressed
I must say first that I wasn't able to attend the event for which I had rented this dress due to a badly sprained knee, but it did arrive and I tried it on. I fell in love with the dress!! The fit was perfect and it was very flattering!! I'm so thankful that they allowed me to return the dress the next day for a full credit (minus the shipping cost) for me to use on a future rental! And I definitely will be doing just that and this will be the dress I rent!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2013
Very figure flattering dress!
I ordered this dress as my back up dress and ended up wearing it. It was super flattering to my curvy figure and I loved the off the shoulder detail and the back of the dress is really flattering as well. I tried on the 10L and the length was to the middle of my calf which really scared me as I didn't see how the 12L would be much longer but thankfully it was perfect! Huge difference in length between the two of them. I'm 5'7 and I was wearing a 3 inch heel. I love the little train on the gown, it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 25, 2013
such a great dress! easy to wear and comfortable. i received compliments all night long!
this was a fabulous choice for my event. i felt incerdible all night long. thanks RTR for your guidance.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 26, 2013
Elegent, Classy dress!
This dress was perfect for the Black Tie affair that I attended. It was long and fit just right everywhere. A dress I would definitely rent again if the opportunity arises.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
Fun for formal
Great dress, received lots of compliments. A bit long for my 5 '8 frame without heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2013
Very satisfied
I wore this dress for my prom and stacked it up with lots of fun accessories and a nice side low bun. A very classic look, I ordered an extra size just incase but did not need the detailed description was very accurate it's stretchy jersey material...very long dress make sure to buy very high heels... But all in all this mischka dress was Beautiful timeless peice and very comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 14, 2013
So many compliments on this dress.
This dress was great, it looked amazing and elegant without being too young or prom looking. It was perfect for a formal military ball. There are a few things you should be aware of if you're going to order it. Before I ordered I read many other reviews which said the dress ran a bit large and long, so I placed my original order for a 12r and 10r. I took the 12 out, tried it on and it was very very very tight. And it was really short. Ankle length. I remember reading that the dress had a bit of a train, there was no train on my dress. I also could barely lift my arms. It simply wasn't good. So, I called RTR on friday and they immediately were able to overnight a 14R to me which arrived at 9am on Saturday morning. I couldn't have been happier with the service! The only trouble was that when I put on the 14 it basically fell off, it was so large. It was also a good 4 or 5 inches longer than the 12 and the missing train that people spoke about was now there. I compared the two dresses and realized that they were completely different materials and construction. The 14 was a lighter fabric, the 12 a bit more substantial and more elegant. The 14 had boning in the front which the 12 didn't. The 14 had a different hem with a train. So on a lark I grabbed the 10 from my original order, which up until that point I hadn't even checked since the 12 was too small, and wouldn't you know, it was the same fabric and construction as the new 14. So, I tried it on. And it fit. It was roomier and longer than the 12R. It just grazed the floor and the train was just enough to make the hem elegant. I wore good 3-4" heels as well and this was the perfect length. So, you really don't know what you're going to get with this dress . There definitely seem to be two different versions of this same dress - one running shorter and smaller and one running longer and larger. In the end I would say that It runs somewhere between true to size and large.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2013
My backup dress was a lifesaver!
This is a beautiful dress; however, I didn't end up wearing it because it was too big & the train was too long for my comfort. I went with my backup dress. I didn't even try on the 10L because the 8L was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2013
I wore this dress to officiate a friend's wedding, and the dress made my night!
The fit was amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
April 21, 2013
I felt stunning
The fit was amazing! I wore this dress for a wedding and I received so many compliments. I didn't feel like I had to hold anything in because it bunches up in all the right places. The length of the 10L was perfect since I love skyscraper heels, I also requested a 12L but that was just extremely long. I was not expecting a tail on the dress but I was able to move around fine once I put on my heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
April 22, 2013
Beautiful .................
Very easy rental process, I am sure I will rent again. I wish you would sell some of your styles at a discount.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2013
Very Flattering!
This was not one of my two "first picks". However, when my first two dresses arrived, neither was a good fit. I chatted on-line with a stylist the next morning who recommended this one. She had it shipped out and it arrived by 10AM the day of my event. I loved the fit and the cut of this dress. It was very easy to wear and was very comfortable both sitting and standing. I received so many compliments. The cut of the top was very flattering. I wore a fairly low heel, so the dress just swept the floor. The regular length was fine, but if I had worn a greater heel, then I would have wanted to long. Overall, I was very pleased with the dress and the service from Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
April 24, 2013
Wonderful, I will be renting this again! So comfy and flattering.
This was my first time renting, and I was nervous! The dress arrived on time, and they even send some complimentary sample size gift baggie inside the box, which was a great detail. The dress fit great, and It was a concern since Im a 36D+. I guess it was just a bit long, so I had to switch shoes. Im 5'11 and with a 3 inch heel, it was still just a tad long, so be sure you want the long. Otherwise, it is a beautiful dress, great fabric, easy to move in, and all eyes will be upon you as you enter the room!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it
Not crazy about it, I didn't feel like it was as elegant looking in person. I didn't end up wearing it because of that reason.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 30, 2013
I got so many compliments from the time I left my home and even now on Facebook! I will rent again!
The dresses are too big in the waist and bust (waist is 27 and bust is 36dd). The matte version runs a little short but I will rent it for another affair in a 10 long. The sequined version runs a little big all over. I would recommend a true size even though the website recommends a size up!! Overall, the dresses were still stunning and I can not wait for another fundraiser to utilize this service again and again. Thank you!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
May 1, 2013
This dress was a great find and it fit perfectly for the occasion...
Both dresses, arrived on time. The original and the backup dress were both gorgeous, but the original fit great. I wore the dress to a military Christmas Ball and it was perfect for the occasion. I received a lot of compliments. The pre-payed return envelopes made returning the dresses super easy. I will definitely be using RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2013
Looked beautiful
A little big at the top but only because I'm lacking boobs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 22, 2013
loved it!
super comortable. fit true to size othr than length. tall girls - do not get a long. it was ridiculously long, like 8 inches too long. go for the regular length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 116
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2013
This dress was so comfortable!
True the size 4R - Military Ball FB flooded with compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
May 24, 2013
The 2nd size choice was a lifesaver!!
Dress fit beautifully, I felt sexy and elegant. Good thing that I was able to select a back up size - I'm currently in the process of losing weight and don't really know what "real" size I wear. Thought I might fit into the 14, but not quite there yet - the 16 was slightly big, but still looked good thanks to the stretch of the fabric. I will absolutely use RTR for every formal need I have in the future - so easy and fast - and what a great price!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2013
Classy look on a budget
I wore this dress to a Black Tie charity event. Ordered the 2L and 4L but ended up wearing the 2L with 3.5 inch heels. Love the slight train, and was able to move/dance in - glad I didn't order the regular length. The dress fit like a body glove so No bra/No Spanx. Overall, comfortable, very sexy and elegant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2013
Super Simple and Classy.
Fit was on point. I am 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels. The dress has a slight train/tail it was a little bit too long, but was able to deal with it. Just so you know.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
June 3, 2013
Simple, elegant
After receiving a dress with a stain on it, they sent me this dress next day and it worked great. It's really comfortable. The customer service experience was above and beyond my expectations!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
June 10, 2013
Amazing dress! Elegant and extremely flattering.
The fit was like it was made for me. The pros, hides any flaws, cons, the little train in the back. I loved it but I did get caught up a few times. Didn't dance but can imagine it might have been difficult with the small train. Received compliments from people I didn't even know at the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 14, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress is simple, comfortable, and easy to wear. There is built in structure so you really don't need to wear a bra. I bought Spanx to wear with this dress but was very comfortable without them. The fabric is slightly heavy so I wouldn't recommend this for a day time event in the middle of the summer. But it is a wonderful dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2013
Perfect fit!
The dress was beautiful! Very form fitting and the thick well-made fabric almost worked as a control top smoothing out any imperfections. I would definitely recommend this gown for any black-tie or formal evening. Hard to tell from the picture, but this dress does have a bit of a train so make sure no one steps on your fabulous dress ;)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 19, 2013
Reliable and the fact you can order two dress at once in case any fitting issues arise is crucial.
I wore this dress to an engagement dinner, it's absolutely fabulous!! My only complain was around the bust area and the sleeves. The bust seems to run a bit bigger, like not completely fitted. I did notice the sleeves are very tight, making it a bit hard to raise your arms up and or down, so if you trying to dance on the dress you may feel a tad bit uncomfortable. The dress did fit well overall and is extremely flattering on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
June 21, 2013
Great dress, comfortable, and tons of compliments
This dress was better than I thought. It was my backup dress and I thought that it ould squeeze my arms. But it was great overall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 24, 2013
Didn't wear it
I ordered this dress as my back-up dress but I didn't like the fit so I didn't wear it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 68
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 22, 2013
Dress arrived when they said it would. Easy return. I would definitely recommend to others.
This is a beautiful dress. It did run large, and I wish I had ordered a size 8L.
CantriceAugust 27, 2013
ok
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 29, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
I got tons of compliments when I wore this dress. Even though the dress was snug, it was totally comfortable. I got the 8R, but could have easily worn the 10L given my height and bust size. Would totally wear this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2013
Had so many compliments!
Three of the four dresses are RTR. All of us are 6'0 and have on 3" heels. Had my oldest try dresses on at the fitting room in NY and picked the best fits. There are actually quite a few to choose from for 6'0 gals. This dress is worn by my very fit and athletic daughter. Very flattering fit thru the hips and waist. For those girls who are a little fuller thru the hips, this dress looks great coming or going!
KendraAugust 27, 2013
Kay, you all look so lovely! I was wondering if the white dress one of your daughters is wearing is from this site, or if you recall the designer? It reminds me of Keira Knightley's dress in Atonement!
kaySeptember 9, 2013
Thank you Kendra. The pale silver dress is not RTR. It is a local boutique in Houston under their own label.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2013
beautiful and flattering
5'8 and the long was perfect with 4 inch heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
August 23, 2013
SO many compliments
I wore this for a black tie wedding. I got so many compliment. The draping around the waist is super flattering. The top stayed up all night too. Loved this. Wear your hair back and show off your shoulders!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 26, 2013
Order a size down!
I love this dress but was shocked to find it fit large on me. I always wear a 10 but I should have ordered an 8 as my backup size (I ordered a 12 backup). The dress has a lot of ruched fabric so it's a heavy dress. So, if it doesn't fit your shape, the weight of the fabric will further detract from the look and make the dress hang unflatteringly. I am tickled pink with the RTR process; the reliability; the pricing and the service and the ease of returning; I even love the email reminders. But, this particular dress did not show off my curves, made me look matronly because it runs larger than size, and it was also extremely hot due to the weight and amount of fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
August 29, 2013
Beautiful dress, but much to0 much dress for my frame.
This is a beautiful dress. However, I ordered a 2 and a 0. Only the 2 came. I needed the 0 and the 2 was too big for my frame. It's very elegant, classic and lovely. However, I feel it would fit a larger busted woman or a more curvy woman better. It was simply too much dress for me.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2013
When the staff at the front desk of the hotel lobby all smiled as they saw me walk out in my dress.
The dress looked beautiful. It stayed put all night. I danced like a maniac and it never moved. I did wear the spanx because I wanted to be bump free. However the dress is very slimmimg and you may not need this.I wore a bra but you may not need this depending on your shape.Loved it!
See more reviews:
4 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×