Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
748 reviews
Fit
Large73
True to Size474
Small118
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 9, 2015
Amazing fit! Very deceiving as it looks somewhat plain but is a show stopper on! Tons of compliments
Fits like a glove! Accentuated all the right areas. I felt so elegant and received a ton of compliments all evening long. Wish I could have kept it!! But tons of ladies will be on RTR now because they loved the simplicity and elegance of the dress and the concept behind RTR as well as the affordability!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
October 9, 2015
THIS DRESS
Wore this to my law school's barrister's ball. I couldn't have picked a better dress! Though a little tight around the bust, I absolutely loved it. This dress hugs your curves but I was comfortable the whole night. I would definitely recommend this dress for any formal event!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 8, 2015
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! Understated, yet eye catching at the same time.
I rented this dress for a fundraising gala for a non -profit organization I started. I got a ton of compliments and was able to dress it up with oversized earrings. This dress fit true to size and was comfortable all night long. I am on the shorter side (5' 1") and this dress was a bit long (even with heels). Overall, I was very pleased with this rental and am already looking forward to my next RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 7, 2015
Classic glamour
Wore the backup size- my bust made it difficult to zip the smaller one because it is very structured. I was able to zip it myself into it but it took some maneuvering. Would have been the perfect length for heels, but I had to wear flats due to the state of my feet after a long week of walking. Had to pick up my train but that wasn't a big deal. I got complements all night long and it was effortless to wear. There wasn't another gown like it at the event and I felt very confident, even without shape wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 72
October 5, 2015
L.A. Philharmonic gala with Gustav Dudamel conducting
Beautiful dress. The 6 fit except for my ample bust so I wore the 8. Everyone kept saying 'wow'
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 4, 2015
Always fast and incredible service with RTR!
The fit was a little bit snug in the chest area. I tried it with and without a strapless bra. Boning in the top of the dress makes it possible to not wear a bar. Material is very stretchy and comfortable. Easy to dance and move around in. I am 5'4 and I order a regular length and without shoes the front of the dress hit right at the top of my feet. The back was long enough so that with a 3 inch heel it did not touch the ground. Overall would highly recommend this dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
September 30, 2015
Wore this for a sorority formal
Gorgeous fabric, flattering fit
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 57
September 28, 2015
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
It fit beautifully. It had a small train in the back. The material had just enough stretch to it. It hugs in all the right places. I thought it was sexy but not too much, very classy. loved that it was off the shoulder. I have another event in February which is also black tie and I will ABSOLUTELY be ordering from Rent the Runway again. I probably could have worn the 6 because there was enough stretch in it to fit but I didn't want to take a chance so I ordered the 8 & 10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
September 27, 2015
All the compliments I received.
Was a great experience all around. Love, love, love the dress & received loads of compliments. Would have liked if I had some double sided tape for sleeves to keep them in place, they were a little droopy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2015
Great black dress!
Wore this dress to a formal wedding. The dress fits true to size - I wore the 10 at 4 months pregnant. The dress really hugs your curves but is very comfortable. There's ruching in the body and the back is a bit longer than the front and comes to a point which looks very elegant. Got lots of compliments, I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2015
Fits great but very long!
I wore the 4R with 4 inch heels and it was still a bit long for me. I had trouble walking without snagging it on my shoes or having others step onto the dress. I also felt like the sleeves were a bit long on my frame and ended up tucking the under a bit to make the ensemble look me proportioned. Fit was amazing though. Fabric is heavy so be prepared to be warm in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2015
Everything worked and coordinated well.
Great fit. The quality of the material was good. The dress had structure to it. You can't go wrong.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 20, 2015
Perfect fit and worry free
I rented this for a military ball and I was nervous since it's hard to find anything that fits the way I like. It fit perfectly and I didn't have to worry about the top falling down or the arms riding up, it all stayed in place. I wore the backup size 10R because I was more comfortable. The 8 fit fine but was a little tighter across the chest. Perfect dress for any formal affair and I will definitely be renting from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
September 20, 2015
I wore this dress to a military ball. It was a perfect choice. I received many complements!
When I ordered, I based my first size on my waist size and went with the 6L. However, I have broad shoulders and always have to go up one size to accommodate my upper body size. Therefore, I picked the 8L as my back up. Upon trying everything on, the 6L fit perfectly in the waist but I could not zip all the way up due to my upper body size and ended up with the 8L as I figured I would. Based upon this, the dress is rather true to size in my opinion. Just be sure to select the size based upon your largest measurement or it won't work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
September 14, 2015
I felt like a million dollars. THANK YOU RENT THE RUNWAY!
This dress was PERFECTION for a plus size woman. Fantastic fit, flattering, hides the upper arms but still provides skin at shoulders. Can't say enough about this dress. It was PERFECT. I feel awful about my weight but this dress made me feel AMAZING! I got so many compliments--ALL NIGHT LONG. I felt like a million dollars. Don't hesitate. If you are plus sized, GET THIS DRESS!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
September 12, 2015
What a great dress!
Trying to find a dress 36 weeks pregnant that I liked was a challenge. I felt great and comfy in this dress. Thank you again Rent the Runway!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2015
Be prepared for tons of compliments.
The waist fit a little loose but with the ruching, it was not noticeable (and very comfortable).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
September 8, 2015
The dress was perfect! i am 5'4 with tummy issues and this dress hid all those flaws My man loved it
I ordered the 12L and the length was perfect! No issues with it whatsoever. Just make sure you hold the bottom of the dress when you dance so that you don't trip!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
September 1, 2015
Very beautiful and elegant dress to wear to a masquerade event.
This dress was amazingly ELEGANT!. Very form fitting and comfortable to wear. The length was perfect.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 20, 2015
Beautiful dress for a beautiful wedding.
The dress was amazing! Its super hard to find a long dress when your tall and this dress was just perfect! It felt like the dress was made for me. Loved Loved Loved! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2015
The perfect black gown - comfortable and glamorous
This dress is a hit if you want to go "low key" and beautiful in black. The fit is to die for yet comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 11, 2015
The dress was a great fit and everyone loved it!!
Im 5"8 and higher heels on so i would of gotten the long even if i didn't have the higher heels on. But the only thing that i didn't like was the dress wasn't very clean left white residue marks if anything touched it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 10, 2015
This dress made me feel like a super star!
This dress was one of the most fabulous dress I have ever worn. I had read the reviews about getting the regular length versus the long length and I decided to go with the long because I was wearing 4 inch heels. The length was great. It was a little long so I had to lift it just a bit when I was walking but I attended a Black Tie Event wedding so the length made the dress look even more formal. The fit of the dress around my body was wonderful. I am a 32A so I did feel that I did not fill out the bust area of the dress and it made me look flatter than I already am so I purchased water pad inserts for my bra and it absolutely completed the look. I received so many compliments on the dress and I am so glad I went with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148lbs
August 9, 2015
Effortless elegance and sophistication!
This gown is a winner. I can see why it's so popular. It fits true to side and is very slimming. The gown is not lightweight, but it felt comfortable and was substantial. It's one of those gowns that make others do a double take when you pass by! I was told I looked like one of those movie stars on the red carpet! A truly timeless and elegant gown and one of my best rentals so far!
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 78
July 23, 2015
President's Gala at National Auctioneer's Association
Now I realize this dress seems to be for up to 38 bust + I am a 40. This explains tight fit there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 10, 2015
Rented gown for client's contemporary glamour portrait session.
I'm a contemporary glamour portrait photographer and I rented this gown for my client to wear for one of her looks. She's 40, about 5'8", and loved the off-the-shoulder look of the dress. The 4L fit her perfectly--plenty of stretch with this fabric. http://shannonhemauerphotography.com/
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2015
This dress fit like a glove! So many compliments!
I've been doing Rent the Runway for years, and this was my favorite rental yet! This dress is flattering in all the right places, and as a busty girl...not having to wear a bra for once was pretty liberating! It's a simple style, but it's gorgeous! I'd definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 1, 2015
The dress is made to adjust to your figure. Very comfortable.
Pros: perfect petite length that can also be adjusted due to the scrunchy side seams, can be worn with or without bra. Cons: had a little bit of trouble keeping the top over the strapless bra though it may have been due to the material of both the dress and the bra.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 27, 2015
Benefit Dinner at the Plaza Hotel (black tie event)
Fabric is stretchable. No wrinkles. Very comfortable. Little jewelry, still fine. I am short, 5'1. But the length was okay with a high heel (3 inches?). I took a cab to get to the Plaza and walked a bit on the street. So easy to move around. I lifted the skirt a bit. Nice neck line to be seated at the table for a long time. Dress had some stain in front, only visible to me. Also a metal support was sticking out on the waist. I reported these problems when I returned the dress. Excellent design to attend any black tie event. I considered buying one like this.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 23, 2015
Wore it at the Swan Ball in Nashville and we all looked great!
The bust shape is a little bit weird and there is a metal part inside it that is very annoying. Everything else is perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2015
Great basic dress to dress up with over the top accessories!
Was fitted, but comfortable & true to size. Able to wear a strapless bra with it. A little restrictive in the arms if you needed to raise your arms. I wore a long but it was still too short, 8l was not any longer. Overall good classic option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Wedding
June 16, 2015
So many compliments
My only problem with the dress is that it was too tight for comfort. I should have ordered two sizes up. Could be because I have very wide shoulders, but I was barely able to zip it up. I didn't exchange because I was only going to wear it for a few hours and I figured I'd suck it up (literally!). The ruching was wonderful for hiding imperfections. Length was perfect for my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 14, 2015
New Year's Eve.
Love this gown. I ordered both the 4R and the 2R. Because the 2R in the identical Badgley dress in dark blue fit perfectly but for a weird bulge at the waist in the back, I assumed the 2R in this gown would fit perfectly. But it was extremely tight. Too tight to breathe. The 4R fit exactly as the 2R in the blue, only, thankfully, without the bulge in the back. I'm 5'4" and with a 3 1/2 to 4" heel, the 4R was a perfect length for me, and I was able to dance comfortably. Really really gorgeous. My husband was wowed, and I received admiring glances and compliments all night. Will rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 13, 2015
Perfect for a conservative military ball
Fits true to size, very forgiving, perfect for the ball!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
June 12, 2015
This dress was stunning. Amazing fit, received many compliments.
The size 6R fit great, so comfortable. The back dragged just the right amount. The back up size 4 was fine as well, just a little snug in the arms, so I went with the 6. I wore this to a black tie and it was absolutely perfect. Love RTR, they make it so easy to look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 9, 2015
not what I expected
I was hoping for a nice slinky black dress to my dismay I saw that there was a seam down the middle of the back of the dress.....with rouching on both sides.....not at all my style
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 9, 2015
The service was impeccable
When I first ordered this dress I got what I thought was my size which is usually an 8R but it was way too big so no need to try the 10R. I'm only 5'4, curvy athletic build but a 34 DD. I called and they overnighted the dress expeditiously. It arrived the next morning . The 6R fit perfect on the body but a bit snug around the boobs. All in all a great dress for a formal event. Received many compliments. Danced all night in it while holding the train but I didn't mind.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful classic dress
I really enjoyed how classic this dress was. I wore it to an affair abroad where I didn't know what other women would be wearing so I felt very comfortable with the style of it when heading out for the night. I wore it with VERY high heels (~6 inches) and it was still a little long for me, I was nervous on stairs. Definitely still necessary to wear spanx with. The scrunching around the bodice and chest was a little strange and I fixed it a few times in the bathroom. But overall, I felt super pretty and confident! Wore it with simple dangly earrings and classic black pumps.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
June 7, 2015
Good choice for elegant, classic evening wear.
Runs about one size small (at least). Not a particularly lightweight dress, so keep in mind for summer events. Looks great, overall a good experience.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 4, 2015
Thi was a black tie event and the dress was fun and perfect fit.
I liked the rushing on the sides and the small train was fun.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×