Belle of the Ball Gown

$80 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
648 reviews
Fit
Large68
True to Size433
Small86
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2015
This dress was perfect for a wedding in mid March.
This dress fit very true to size and was very complimenting. You could wear this to a very formal event or even dress it down a bit. The material was very comfortable as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2015
Absolutely stunning!
I loved the sleeves and the fit - it was perfect for a charity auction I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Loved!!
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Ended up not wearing it
Very boring dress
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
April 2, 2015
Beautiful dress, great fit. Short
I ordered the 8L, I am 5'8 and was actually borderline too short. Otherwise fit well and was very comfortable
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2015
Looked great at my fiance's company Christmas party!
Fit perfectly, fabric was heavy which was great for the cool weather, stayed in place all night long
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
March 26, 2015
It's very classy and show just the right amount of skin.
One gripe would be the sleeves. It's been stretched out a bit. Nevertheless, the dress is gorgeous. I'll guarantee you'll like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Read all the reviews. Very pretty dress, but runs small.
I ordered this dress in 4R and the back-up in 6R and both were too short and ran small. I could have worn the 6R, but was too short. I am 5'6" and 125 lb, which is right between the Regular and Long sizes. The 6L would have been perfect. A very pretty dress, I will rent again in the right size.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2015
I wore this dress to a black-tie charity gala, and it was perfect.
This dress was not my typical style but was perfect for me, a few months post-partum when I'm self-conscious about those last few pounds. The off-shoulder sleeves showed off the collarbone but covered my upper arms and the ruching on the bodice was extremely forgiving. It was a curvy silhouette in the best way possible. My only complaint is that the wires in the bodice literally cut into my ribcage, which was uncomfortable and left a nasty mark.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
Wore this dress as a bridesmaid in my friend's black tie wedding.
Very flattering, very comfortable, received numerous compliments. Biggest drawback is that it's a hard to lift your arms above your head. The 4 came with a built in bra, the 6 did not.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 20, 2015
The dress went well with my jewelry.
It fit true to size, was just an inch or so too long with my heels. Would have been perfect if I wore higher heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This was a selection made for me by RTR after a situation with a dress I ordered became unavailable. Was not thrilled with this, so they overnighted me a beautiful option that worked perfectly! See my other reviews!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2015
People complimented me on the dress all night AND it was comfortable
The length was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2015
easy to wear! comfortable to dance in!
I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress. It had a lot of support from the boning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 14, 2015
So. Many. Compliments.
I got compliments ALL NIGHT LONG! Loved this dress. Loved the way I felt in it! After losing weight, I thought the description "true to size" would mean I would fit the 10p. But, I have a large bust, even after having a breast reduction, so I needed a little more room for the girls. I'm 5'2" and the petite length was perfect! Loved loved loved this gown, and so did everyone else!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2015
Simply stunning!
I wrote this to a Black & Gold Gala. I absolutely loved how the dress fit. I was worried about my biceps not fitting, because of lifting weights, but it fit perfectly. The only minor issue I had was that the dress was shorter then expected. I almost had to wear flats it was barely touching the ground. I wore heels anyway and just pulled my dress down (at the hips) for photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2015
Super sexy
The fit is very firm fitting so you have to be comfortable with that. I also rented the necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 3, 2015
Runs extremely small and very short
Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful gown, and the pictures from others really shows what a statement it can make...just make sure you plan accordingly if you rent this dress. It runs about two sizes too small and is very short. I'm 5'6 and ordered the long and it was still quite a bit off the floor. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event due to the fit and length. I will say that the customer service from Rent The Runway has been outstanding and now that I have a return credit, I will certainly try another rental for an event I have next month,
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
March 2, 2015
Elegant, fit great in all the right places, perfect dress.
Pros - I'm really petite and I had no issues with this dress fitting. I did use hem tape to hold up the bottom. Cons - the metal wiring in the chest is definitely made for people with a bigger cup size. Being an A, it dug into my chest a bit, but i was able to adjust it a bit so it didn't bother me too much. Overall, I got a bunch of compliments and am definitely renting again as this was my first time using RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2015
I didn't wear the dress.
I rented this for an event and unfortunately couldn't wear it - it was SO tight! I always rent a backup size one size up - but I couldn't even get into this dress. Fortunately RTR customer service is amazing. I ended up wearing something else, sent this one back, and got a refund.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
Very Hollywood, red carpet-esque!
This dress felt great, wore well and received many compliments. I am a 36D and it was a tiny bit tight across the bust, but I needed the 4 to fit the rest of my frame. It was overall a great dress! I'm 5'8" and the 4L was exact. It wasn't too long nor too short with 4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2015
The dress was fabulous! The material was amazing and perfect for a formal event.
It runs a size smaller than what I usually wear, but it was an all around perfect dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2015
Great customer service! Dress runs small and short.
Dress arrived WAY too short. I felt the size ran small as well. Size up for your back up. RTR sent me another dress that worked for me.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 19, 2015
This dress runs short. I am 5'5" and originally ordered the 10R and had to swap for the longer one
Loved it! I looked and felt great. the dress is very comfortable and slimming.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2015
Wore this to a black tie wedding - it was the best dress there!
I loved this dress! I wore it in Feb in Indiana to a very cold and snowy wedding. I found the dress to be very comfortable and it did a great job of hiding and accenting all the right areas. I hope I have another event like this in the future so I can rent it again! RENT IT!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding.
It fit like a glove! The boning created a beautiful, solid waistline and the ruching basically eliminated the need for spanx. I'm normally a size 2 but after reading the rest of the reviews, I decided to order the 4L. Definitely the way to go. I'm not sure I could've moved much in the 2L. Definitely order your normal size and possibly a size up from that. It needed a little pop of color, so I paired it with a statement necklace/earrings to keep it from looking a little too plain. I got compliments all night :) Go for it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
February 18, 2015
Amazing evening for a good cause!
Great dress. Very comfortable!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2015
This was my boyfriend's first movie premiere! It was a night I'll never forget.
Depending on the dress, I either wear a 0, 2, or 4. After chatting with one of style consultants, I was advised to get sizes 0L and 2L in this dress. If I could go back, I would have got a 2L and a 4L. Though the 2L fit, the boning of the dress pressed into my skin on my chest. It wasn't too noticeable, but it was a bit uncomfortable. Also, even though I went with the longer size, the dress still didn't reach the floor in the front. Overall, however, I think the dress was beautiful and made me feel like a movie star.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2015
I loved this dress
This dress truly is glamorous. I wore to my husbands Marine Corp Ball. It was the only one of its kind unlike the other ladies who shopped department stores wearing the same dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2015
Dress rented for formal engagement photos
Dress rented for formal engagement photos. Dress fit well except for the fact that I believe I was shipped an 8R instead of an 8L. I am 5'5 and dress was ankle length without shoes on. Based on past renters comments, I rented the long because I wanted the dress to sweep the ground for a more formal look. I will have to have my photographer edit photos.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
February 15, 2015
Loved the mystery bling they chose for me
Loved this dress and it was very comfortable to wear. I probably would have preferred the long because my shoes showed a little too much. It fit great, but due to my large breast size 34dd they felt a little squished and I had to wear a strapless bra. But I'm sure I was the only one who noticed that. Dress was beautiful and classy and showed off my curves!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
February 14, 2015
This dress fit perfectly and was very lovely. Simple yet classy.
I saw great reviews on this dress and decided to order it for my first prom. I was worried it wouldn't fit, but i was truly happy with this dress. I highly recommend this for petite girls!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2015
Classic and elegant.
This dress is absolutely beautiful on. The classic look of this dress make it elegant and timeless. This dress is comfortable enough to dance in while hiding any body flaws that you may have. At 5'0" the 0P was almost too short with 4" heels on. I could have worn a 0R. So, if you are taller go with the regular length.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
February 10, 2015
This dress is called the "Belle of the Ball" and that's truly how it made me feel! Great fit!!!!
So many people said that I looked absolutely AMAZING! I'm a zero and this dress fit great. It was snug in the breast area, but it worked out even with a strapless bra under. I wear a 32 C so it's not for a busty girl. It was very flattering and comfortable. I ordered a 0L and a 2R. The length was the same on both. I wore 4 inch (or 5) heels and the dress touched the floor but didn't drag or prevent me from walking. I'm 5'2 and a quarter... basically 5"3, but my legs are long in proportion to the rest of my body.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 9, 2015
The dress was the perfect fit!
It fit tight but a good tight, where it was very comfortable to walk around in. The length was perfect for me, I wore 3in heels and the gown just graced the ground. I would rent this dress again, it was very elegant!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2015
beautiful gown
classy, simple!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 8, 2015
Classy and elegant dress!
My first time using RTR, won't be my last! I love the free second size and the included fashion tape - also, returning the dresses was very easy and convenient. I ordered my usual size 4L but chose to wear the back-up 6L for comfort, there isn't any give from the waist up so if you are between sizes I would recommend sizing up. This dress was so easy to style and wear, it is incredibly flattering - I received compliments all night, wish I owned it! A great choice for a classic, glamorous and timeless gown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
February 7, 2015
Sophisticated with a touch of sexy
The dress was super comfortable, and was a fun one to wear. Thanks to the wire support, I never had to pull it up! Sleeves were a little big (and I have bigger arms) and I had problems keeping the zipper flat on the back. Very minor, but worth mentioning. It was a tad long with 3.5" heels, so I probably could have gone with a 6R.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
February 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal affair. I received lots of compliments all night.
I wore this dress to a formal affair in Charleston. The dress is very elegant and comfortable. Perfect dress for a perfect night. I wore 3.5" heels and the length was great for dancing the night away. If you want a little bit of a longer train in the back I would order the longer length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2015
An amazing, classic gown. I wore this to a Black Tie gala and got lots of complements!
Forgiving fit, nice material. One thing-Would have liked it they put a hook at the hem to accommodate for the train.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×