Badgley Mischka

Beauty in a Bottle Gown

$130 rental
$725 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Unleash your inner glam goddess in this gown by Badgley Mischka. Stunning crimson in an hourglass perfecting shape is a must for your night at the gala! Simply pair with Lee Angel’s Tie Up in Crystal Necklace and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Stretch Crepe (79% Polyester, 17% Rayon, 4% Spandex). Strapless. Straight neckline with boned bodice. Ruched trumpet skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

217 reviews

Fit
Small 22
True to Size 156
Large 15
Photos 169
JC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Gorgeous.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress runs true to size. Beautiful in pictures and in person. Make sure you wear very high heels so dress doesn't drag on the floor.
VF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 29, 2014

Loved it, great fit!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! I can bounce btwn size 8/10 but I am a perfect size 8 in Badgley so I knew it would fit. This dress hugs the body, and was super flattering and comfortable. It was a BIT short, I am 5'10 and had on 3inch heels, you could see my feet a little but nothing bad/tacky. I always end up in flats once I hit the dancefloor anyway :) I did some old Hollywood h/m and got SO many compliments all night. Kept the jewelry simple with just a pair of diamond studs and diamond bracelets. Loved this dress... Would rent again in a diff color if they had it.
Youchin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Jul 12, 2014

The dress is flattering.

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's actually a replacement because they did not have the dress I reserved originally. They informed me two days prior to my event while I made the reservation few months earlier. Which made me felt disappointed but at least they tried to fulfill my need by sending me a different dress with next day shipping. This dress turned out great for my reception.
Morgan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 204 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

I wore this dress for the ESPY's, it was perfect. I loved the fit and you can't go wrong with red!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit true to size, and was very comfortable. I didn't have to worry about pulling it up all night. I loved this dress and I didn't want to take it off when the night was over!
Cy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

Fabulous night at the Santa Fe Opera!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I ordered the 6 as a back up dress and it turned out to be the dress that I wanted to wear but it was a little loose and too long. I called RTR and they over-nighted the size 4 which was perfect! It was a really comfortable dress with a fabulous swish when I walked. I didn't have to keep pulling it up like I sometimes do with a strapless dress. After sitting for several hours the waist on the dress did feel tight but it was a pretty amazing dress.
Diem
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Beautiful dress. Hugs in all the right places

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looked beautiful but one of the wires on the bodice was coming out and was poking me a little.
JR
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

This dress was a marvelous color, fit super snugly and hugged all my curves! I loved it.

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly. I am usually a 4P, and this dress fit true to size. I am 5'2 and wore 4.5 inch heels, and the dress barely brushed my toes in the front. The color was unmistakable, and I was the only one wearing red at the wedding, which made this an unforgettable dress! It was very comfortable to dance in. This dress fit snugly in the bust, waist, and hips. As I get a tad bloated after eating/drinking, this dress did show this by the end of the night. So I would not recommend to someone trying to hide the belly. I did not wear a bra nor spanx with the dress, as the material is very sensitive in the rear, and would have shown the spanx outline, so I decided to take them off. There is built in wiring/lining in the waist and bust. Customer service was extremely helpful. My first choice dress was damaged, so I could choose another dress, and when that one did not fit, they overnighted me this dress.
VLHamilton
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

Three words for this gorgeous red Badgley Mischka gown: Vintage. Hollywood. Glamour.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
What to wear for a theatrical play opening including a red carpet? This dress answered all my questions. FIT: Normally, I wear a size 8L and opt for a 10L back-up for my curves. I tried the 10L inside Henri Bendel and that dress had side zipper issues. So I chose up to a 12L for comfortable & hassle-free evening. ( I also wore a strapless bra and Spanx Higher Power underneath for a smooth foundation.) FABRIC: Luxurious fabric in a vibrant red. The draping accentuates the positive and the hem is made for walking. The Beauty in a Bottle gown creates a perfect vintage Hollywood glamor image. I'm still receiving compliments.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 28, 2014

Beautiful dress for a black tie wedding

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was beautiful. Material was stretchy and forgiving. I fluctuate between an 8 and 10 and the 10 fit perfectly. I am 5'7" and wore the long, but it was too long. Wish I had gotten the regular. The dress was a hit and I got compliments all night. Color was a stand out and I felt beautiful and confident all night.
Brianna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

I wore this for a black tie wedding

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got the 6L and the 8R because all 8L were out of stock. The 6L would have been the perfect length/fit but the bust area was just too tight to work. The 8R fit like a glove but with heels was a tad short. I could get away with it but wished I had the 8L. I have broader shoulders/frame otherwise I think the 6L would have been perfect. But all in all the 8 was great. Thick material so doesn't show sweat form dancing your butt off, and flaunts all your curves. Will be doing Rent the Runway again!
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Glamorous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my husband's military ball and I loved it. The dress was a beautiful deep red and very flattering on. I received compliments on it all night! I ordered a 6R and an 8R. Both fit but I went with the size 8, as it gave me a bit more room in the chest area. My only complaint about the dress is it's length. I have long legs and it was too long, even with 3.5 inch heels. I had to hold it up to walk all evening so I didn't trip. Other than that, everything was great. The dress arrived on time and in great condition. I and felt glamorous all evening and would definitely recommend renting this dress.
Taylor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 15, 2014

Beautiful dress. Many compliments- great look for black tie event.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would normally wear a 0R- but that size wasn't available so I ended up wearing my second option size- 2R. It fit good, could have used the 0 because I have a very small bust. The 0L was an option too but that was swimming on me. Even with 5 inch heels the long would have been way too long. No one would have noticed it was big, except for myself but it ended up looking beautiful anyways. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone with a lean figure and I would definitely wear it again!
diomarie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Felt like a Hollywood Superstar!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was great, loved the length and color!
jenny
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Perfect red dress for a red carpet moment

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted something striking for the Creative Arts Emmys and this dress did the trick. I received a number of complements from strangers about how amazing I looked on stage. The only drawback of this dress is there is a lot of ruching around the waist and it felt a bit bulky.
Emma
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

I wore this to prom! I had a great time, and this dress was PERFECT.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this rental about a week before my event, and I thanked my lucky stars that a 0L was in stock - but not a 2L, so for my alternate size I got a 4L knowing for sure there was no way it'd fit me. The dress came 2 days early, and it fit perfectly. The dress looked exactly like it did on the model, and I was ecstatic with the fit and length (I wore 4 inch heels, and the dress hit the floor perfectly. It looked like it had been tailor made just for me.). The only issue I had was that the bust was the tiniest bit loose so I did have to pull up the dress throughout the night. Like some of the other reviewers said, the clasp at the top of the zipper jabbed me throughout the night as well, causing some discomfort. But alas, beauty is pain, right? The clasp was also bent out of shape when I recieved the dress, so that probably played a factor in the poking as well. This dress made me feel like a moden Oscar statuette, and I got dozens of compliments all night long.
Augusta
Usually wears: 0
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

I love this dress! The bust was very tight ( I'm a C ) so I would advise getting a size larger.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Just the tight bust, length was perfect, color was great and easy to match with lipstick ( perfect match is viva glam from Mac)
C
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

This dress made me and baby bump feel so feminine and beautiful. I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was hard to say if it was true to size because I was pregnant. The dress had enough space in the right places for me to wear this during my pregnancy. It's flattering and really helps show your curves :)
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

This dress is beautiful! Made me feel like I was on the red carpet

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is gorgeous.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Glamorous dress for a black tie wedding

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress after trying it on in the Soho showroom. I never wear red but really liked this dress. It's also a muted red - not incredibly bright so perfectly appropriate to wear to a wedding. I am 5'4" and the showroom attendant told me to rent the regular length - I would've been interested to see if the petite length would've been a bit better since it did drag on the ground a bit. Overall, I was very happy with the dress. It was exactly what I was looking for for a friend's black tie wedding!
C
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

It was so easy to rent. It came right on time.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was nice. It was very comfortable to walk and dance in.
Samantha
Age: 20
Oct 3, 2014

I was called a princess all night long!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits amazingly. I received compliments all night long!! People I didn't even know asked if they can take a photograph of me, I felt like I was swarmed by paparazzi! It's truly a simple yet elegant dress. Recommend wearing a glitzy necklace and matching earring, and your hair up. I felt like royalty in this dress. #beautiful #formalaffair #alfalitgala #promoteliteracy Thank you RTR!!!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2014

Classy and curvy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my boyfriend's sister's black tie NYC wedding. I wanted to look fantastic, but still on the conservative side. The red was perfect for an evening wedding and the shape and ruching really show off curves. I was in between sizes and ended up wearing the smaller size to hold everything in and emphasize curves. The material has a bit of give and was still great for moving around. Overall, absolutely loved it.
Marla
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Eye catching color and flattering style make this dress a fun option for dressing up

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Ended up going with the long, and with 3" heels the tiny bit of the dress that still hit the floor gave a nice subtle train effect.
Gloria
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

It was a beautiful dress!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is true to size in some areas like the hips area it ran small on me. The zipper was hard to zip up. Overall, it was a great dress and I received many compliments.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

It was a dress I wouldn't have ever been able to buy, yet I was able to rent and enjoy it!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
#nocomplaints #awesomeexperience #gorgeousgown #illdoitagain
HT
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Wore this for a celebration of my wedding, and felt like a star all night!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a celebration of my wedding - my husband and I had done a small destination wedding and then had a larger party to celebrate two weeks later. I wanted to wear something special that would make me stand out, and boy, this did the trick! This dress was incredibly flattering and made me feel like I was on my own red carpet all night. Most full-length dresses are far too long on me (I'm 5'3") but this one was only a hair long with 3" heels. Loved every minute of wearing this. And the Badgley Mishka necklace I wore with it was stunning too!
olie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Dress fit like a glove!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, perfect length (I was about 5'9" with heels) and fit my body shape well (smaller chest with curvier hips and butt, more like a spoon than pear). Gave me a great overall shape and line. Didn't feel like it would fall off so I didn't have that self-conscious feeling about wearing a strapless dress. The scrunching in the front is nice to hide the stomach area if that's not your best quality. The material was very smooth and felt elegant. I received a lot of compliments and was very pleased with my order. Hard to zip up myself, but I was able to manage it.
Alaina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Getting so many compliments on how gorgeous I looked that night

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size. I didn't have to wear a bra bc of the boning threw the top of the dress. I loved the little train off the back. It was perfect for the wedding and it was an amazing color. The material is a little heavier bc of the lining and the folds hide any imperfections u may have. It hugs ur body like it was made for u. I loved it and made me feel great that night.
RTR Customer
Oct 26, 2014

The customer service was amazing. Very helpful.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful. Just note that this dress is LONG. I'm 5'8" and I wore 4 inch heels and the dress was still on the floor. I had to be careful not to step on it. Also, be careful with the train - if you wear this to a crowded event, people will step on you all night! Loved the dress though! Will definitely rent again!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Oct 28, 2014

Very classy. I am 5'10'' and it fit perfectly.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect length and fit.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Stunning look

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a stunning, classy dress with a flattering and sexy cut. The picture does not do it justice because I was just trying it on when I took the shot. The fabric is very good quality and it is lined. The mermaid bottom is just beautiful. My 32DDD breasts were safely tucked away, and because it is lined, a bra is not necessary. However, I did not wind up wearing this dress for one reason only: the 6L was REALLY long and I was afraid I would trip and fall on the dance floor. (even at 5'9" plus 4 inch heels the long was too long) If I could have cut an inch off or possibly ordered the Regular, it would have been a hit. I had to choose between this dress and the Nicole Miller Exotic Spice gown and, while I was delighted with the Nicole Miller, I would have chosen this one if it weren't so long. I would have worn the Kate Spade Garden Estate Bracelet, Adrienne Landau Follies Bolero, and Nicole Miller Maple Leaf Bracelet. It was really lovely.
jaymiewithawhy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

I seriously think this is the prettiest I've ever felt! I felt like Pretty Woman at the Opera!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little big, but it was comfortable. I run between a 6 and an 8, and the 6 fit perfectly. The 8 would have been huge. It is figure flattering, and you don't have to be stick thin. Favorite dress ever! Everyone said I looked like a movie star!
Jordan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Red looks perfect next to his uniform!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really pretty dress but the zipper was a bit challenging. The fit is a smaller 4, perhaps more generous in the waist (my measurements are 34-27-33 and it was a little loose in the waist. The length was perfect for 3 inch heels.
RTR Customer
Nov 10, 2014

Dress was perfect

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

Simple and classy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding and it worked perfectly! It fit great, a bit loose in the bust, which for me is to be expected. It's a bit of an unforgiving fabric but the gathered middle goes a long way. I felt glamorous and confident and received lots of compliments!
SH
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Made me feel great, got compliments all night!

Size worn: 2P
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit!
brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Not just a simple dress.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfect. It came the day before my event and tracking was easy and transparent. The dress was a deep red, made of a nice, heavy material. The dress was much more complex then the simple looking dress in the website pictures. It looks very expensive and special in real life. The scrunching was beautiful and very flattering. The strapless top felt secure and I really only pulled it up out of habit. Would recommend for any formal event.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Loved wearing this dress! So many compliments.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little long and loose even though I'm a size six and 5'9. Consider getting a six down as a backup just incase.
SB
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect for a black tie wedding. Was big on me; wished I had the 2P. Wore with the suggested necklace from RTR and it was awesome. It was a little long, so when I wasn't wearing my 4-5" heels, I was holding it up, but it was okay. Wanted to give 5 stars, but small disappointment and HUGE stresser at the time: I was in Jackson for the event, and wanted RTR to send me the 2P because the one I had was too big, but because of my location they were NOT able to send me another one. Note for next time!
Makenzie
Usually wears: 4
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

The lady in red

Size worn: 4P
Rented for: Formal Affair
The boning really made the dress come together and show off my better features. Material was soft and didn't fall down at all.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×