Beauty in a Bottle Gown

$85 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Unleash your inner glam goddess in this gown by Badgley Mischka. Stunning crimson in an hourglass perfecting shape is a must for your night at the gala! Simply pair with Lee Angel’s Tie Up in Crystal Necklace and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Stretch Crepe (79% Polyester, 17% Rayon, 4% Spandex). Strapless. Straight neckline with boned bodice. Ruched trumpet skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
402 reviews
Fit
Large22
True to Size234
Small42
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2016
PERFECT!!!
I LOVED this dress! It fit great and the compliments that I received let me know that I'd made the right choice!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
February 23, 2016
Glamorous and sophisticated, loved this dress! Red stands out in a crowd and very flattering!
Fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 22, 2016
This dress is an absolute head turner. Perf for someone tall w/ curves. Jessica Rabbit silhouette
Very true fit to size & legitimately long (I wore 4.5" heels and it was perfect!). Didn't need to wear undergarments. Dress has thick enough material to hold you in. Very easy to move around and dance. Never felt uncomfortable. Didn't want to take dress off at end of night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
February 22, 2016
Red carpet worthy dress! Perfect for my mom's Valentines Day wedding :)
Great dress. The color is beautiful - true red that is as appears in the website photos. The ruching is very forgiving, but there is not a lot of stretch. If you are in between sizes, I would recommend going up a size. I usually wear a 4/6 and ended up going with the 6R. I am just over 5'6" and wore this with 3.5" heels, which seemed almost a little too high for the front of the dress, but the back is longer and I didn't want to be stepping on it all night. Really enjoyed my first experience with RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2016
Pretty dress
I was torn between this dress and the other one I received. I ended up going with the other one but it was a tough decision. Both were a 6p, but this one was a little more snug on my belly than I was comfortable with. The side is gathered a bit which is a nice camouflage but not enough for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 26
February 19, 2016
So cute!
I rented this dress for a formal night on a cruise vacation. It was a very beautiful dress and fit nicely. The length was perfect with 2" heels on. The bust stayed up without any dress tape. My only complaint is that the metal wiring seemed to extend down into the abdomen and made this slightly uncomfortable while seated. Perhaps a larger size would make this more comfortable. Overall, a great dress!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
February 16, 2016
Fit perfect and very comfortable.
Runs true to size. Was a comfortable fit for my height and body type.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 14, 2016
Great dress!
Fit my body perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 12, 2016
It fit me and made me so skinny in all the right places
I was worried about my bust size, but the fabric had a bit of give, and yet it was extremely supportive. My measurements are 38/30/38, and the 8 was the perfect size for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2016
Stunning, sultry and easy to wear!
Be aware - this dress runs long. I typically need a "L" long length, and in this dress had to wear a regular to avoid stepping on the train. Also, the dress does not give through the rib cage, so if you are deciding between sizes, I would go up in size. Color and quality of the dress are exquisite. It is an excellent choice for athletic and long/ lean body types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
February 8, 2016
Fit like a glove! Stunning & Very Flattering
I wore this dress to the Petroleum Club Ball . I have had trouble with finding the right fit with Rent the Runway in the past. But I decided to try one more time & this dress fit perfectly. It was stunning & I felt so lovely wearing it. The dress fit perfectly. I wore flats and the length on the 12L was perfect. Top was tight enough that the dress did not slip or need adjusting all night. The ruched sides and trumpet skirt are extremely forgiving & flattering. This dress does not disappoint!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2016
Gorgeous! Sexy! Comfortable!
This was my back up dress and it was so hard to choose, but in the end my original pick looked better on my body. This is a showstopper! If you are short wasted, like me, that may be the one thing that holds you back.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
February 8, 2016
A blacktie charity event
Beautiful and flattering dress. The dress ran tight in the chest and was still a bit too long with 3" heels. Otherwise a comfortable and stunning dress. I also wore the necklace in the model's photo and loved the look.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
February 7, 2016
The red was stunning and the hourglass shape was very flattering for my body type.
I can vary from an 8-10. Ordered both, 8R too small and too short, went with the 10R. I am roughly 5'61/2". The 10R was a touch short, went with a 2" heel and it was ok, but could have done the 10L and worn a taller heel, however, the gala was packed and we were dancing, so the length worked out just fine. Wore hair down, seemed to balance the strapless best, Strapless stayed up beautifully and did not need bra (36b-c) or padding. Dress was super comfy and forgiving of my 'pooch' belly. I did wear spanx and felt like I looked great. The red is a beautiful, more of a blue red, not an orange red, was perfect for my fair complexion, dark hair. Highly recommend. This was my first experience with RtheR and it has thus far been seamless. I wore some rhinestone 'diamond' earrings, no neckless and wore a bracelet. Champagne rhinestone strappy shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 7, 2016
Beautiful dress -- Tight on Chest and Regular is long.
I rented this dress for a Gala. I had both the 6R and 8R and ended up wearing the 8R b/c of my 34DD chest. The dress is a gorgeous color and great quality of material. The boning was sticking out a bit in the 6 (which happened to me on another RTR dress) but the 8 was better and I didn't feel it throughout the night. The zipper was a little sticky and I need to be zipped in & out. The cut of this gown is is flattering and you will feel gorgeous and confident wearing it. The regular is VERY long. I wore 4 inch heels that also had a platform and I tripped on the dress twice (I'm 5'4").
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2016
This gown was gorgeous! If only it fit...
This dress did not fit and I was unable to wear it. Luckily I had a back up dress. This was a size 4 but definitely fit like a small size 2. My back up dress (a blue one-sleeved dress) was a size 2 and fit better, so I guess it was just the cut? The boning on top was nice, if I had worn this dress I probably wouldn't have needed a bra. It looked gorgeous on, but if I wanted to breathe that night I needed to wear my backup. If I had a size 6 I definitely would have worn this dress.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 5, 2016
Incredibly flattering on curvy figures!
I had a slightly different experience than many of the women here--I have full hips (43") and a full bust, but a very small rib cage (32"), so the top was actually slightly large, while the fit through the hips was true to size. I am also 5'10"; the long was barely long enough in 2.5" heels. However, I think it is worth noting that the dress has stretch-- if you are in between sizes, I'd go down. Received so many compliments throughout the evening--so comfortable, and such an unforgettable night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2016
Beautiful, memorable, and classic dress!
This dress was beautiful and I got it before it had ever been worn, tags still on, which is always fun! Strangely it did have a white line of chalk on the hem when it arrived but thankfully I managed to brush most of it off so it was barely noticeable. After reading the reviews I made a gamble and got the regular size instead of long, but I ended up wishing I'd gotten long so that I could wear taller heels--the dress is significantly shorter in the front than the back. I could still wear 2in heels but if you're 5'8" or taller I'd definitely recommend getting a long. The 4 fit perfectly and the bodice is great, with enough structure through the waist and torso to keep everything in place, so no bra needed and very flattering through the hips. The fabric layering over the torso is very figure flattering and forgiving, I was comfortable wearing the dress with or without shapewear. Overall, I would absolutely wear this dress again. I was working a Gala for the evening and received tons of compliments and it truly photographed beautifully as well. Definitely a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 3, 2016
Classic, sexy, comfortable!
I can't say enough about this dress--it really was perfect. I wasn't sure how fancy a gala I was about to attend would be, so I figured, go long and simple but add some fun earrings (I went with the Nicole Miller "Silver Southern Plantation" earrings and a simple bracelet. Perfection! The length of this dress was perfect and it was so comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 1, 2016
I received so many compliments on the color of this dress and the quality. It was gorgeous.
The fit was perfect. A little long but I just held it up when I walked. It was perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2016
Stunning dress lots of compliments and more than a few new phone numbers
Was a little self conscious of my tummy since the dress was so tight but after receiving dozens of compliments I realized how well the side rousching disguised it. Great evening great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2016
Great Classic Red Gown!
This was a great classic rec dress for a formal affair. My original size was not available, so I wore the size up. It was slightly big, but do-able. I would say this is definitely a true to size fit. If I would have received the 6, this may be a perfect review. The only issue I had was that I wish the bottom of the dress wouldn't be in 2 pieces. The seam near the knees, is a little strange.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2016
Eye-catching color and elegant gown
This dress was beautiful. The color is stunning, the perfect red (not too orange and not too blue.) It was surprisingly comfortable to wear. Although it seemed like this particular dress was worn A LOT. The top part of the dress looked like it wasn't even. You can kind of see it in the photo that the right side is a little pointy where the left side is more straight. I typically wear a size 6 top and size 8 pant and the size 8 dress fit perfect. It was comfortable and easy to move in. I am 5'6" and wore a 2.5" heel and you could see my toes. The back of the dress is a little longer. All in all I think its a great dress for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
January 26, 2016
a beautiful true red.
just had a baby, so wasnt sure what was going to fit. rented the 6R and 8R... the 6 was a bit snug at 5'6" 142lbs.... 8 was good, wish i had ordered the long so that i couldve worn taller heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 25, 2016
Didn't end up wearing the dress....
I actually did not end up wearing this dress to the event I rented it for. It was not a good fit and was very heavy on the bottom. Would have been uncomfortable wearing it to the event.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
Great dress, overall!
It's a great dress, lots of compliments, good color and comfortable. The ruched part in the dress makes it so you should make sure to have good posture / suck in / stand up straight when taking photos. Sometimes I wasn't so mindful of that, and so while I don't have much of a belly at all, some photos made it look that way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 18, 2016
LOVED this dress!!!
I absolutely loved the look of this dress. Unfortunately they didn't have my size in stock, but when I saw reviews I thought I'd be ok with the 2P. It was a little large up top (I'm a little smaller in the bust) and I think the mermaid look is probably better suited for someone with a bit more curves. I would have loved to have worn this had it fit, so hopefully I get the chance to rent the smaller size on the future!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 17, 2016
Fit like a glove
Thick material, I used a 2R which ran a bit long for me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 13, 2016
Great quality and color!
I love the boning in the top part of this dress because you don't have to keep tugging at it. This was my second choice and although I didn't wear to the actual event, I thought this dress was a great choice! It did run a little short and slightly small, so if you are bordering two sizes, I would suggest the larger size. I also should have gotten the long. I am 5'9" and this was just slightly too short to wear with heels. But the color was rich and gorgeous and the quality was phenomenal. It's a great choice if you want to stand out in a sea of dark dresses :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2016
Beautiful dress
RTR sent this dress to me overnight when the zipper on my original dress broke. I was very pleased with their choice, though a bit sad I couldn't wear my original black number. This dress definitely fit the theme for the formal NYE party I was attending, Hollywood Glamour, and I received many compliments. The dress is a tad stretchy and fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 11, 2016
Elegant, classic, quality
I got this dress for a New Years Ball. They didn't have my size (4R) so I opted for a 2L and a 4P. I went with the 4P because it fit better. It could have been longer but given it was a Petite size, I actually think it was pretty long. My shoes weren't too high so it worked. The 2L was able to zip but it was incredibly long. I wouldn't have been able to walk. All in all, great dress. Lots of compliments. It was very, very comfortable. If anything, it runs long like many of the reviews say (which is why I was able to make the petite size work).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 11, 2016
This dress was incredibly flattering! Felt very beautiful in it. Wore it to a Navy Formal event.
Quite form fighting, hugging every curve. Tight in the bottom, petite was perfect length, need to make sure the ruffles are properly lined up in the front to not look distorted. The bodice is high quality and makes wearing a bra very unnecesesary, even for me (30E!). Heavy material. Was an incredible dress! Highly recommend for a black tie type event. I wore 2" pumps and didn't have to worry at all. The Regular was way too long for me (5' 0")
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
January 11, 2016
Curves for days!! I felt like a trillion dollars in this gown and the compliments never stopped :)
I have a good booty and hips, and this gown accentuated that in all the right ways. It is slightly heavy, but on the freezing cold night of NYE, it was perfect. I wore it with black gloves and the necklace that the model wears. I am typically a size 8, but even that is recent, since I used to be a 10. So I think with not truly knowing my size, I do wish I had the size 6 to try on versus the 10, but thankfully the 8 did just fine. I wore 2 inch heels which were perfect with the long gown!! My experience with Rent the Runway was sooooo fun!! My girlfriends are all looking to do this for a Gala we have in February :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
January 9, 2016
Beautiful gown for Mardi Gras black tie event! Tons of compliments!
This dress is very flattering. Beautiful color. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 6, 2016
Lady in red, this dress was a great pop of color.
This dress was comfortable but a bit too long and very tight in the boobs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
January 4, 2016
A great backup--almost wish I'd worn it!
This red dress is a real stunner--you'll definitely be the belle of the ball! Due to a mix-up with the rental, I received both the 10R and 12L, but found neither fit exactly right. The boning on the bodice of the 12L fit perfectly, whereas I usually have difficulty with strapless dresses... but alas it was too long (even at 5'7" with 3" heels!) so I wore my original choice. The material is very heavy and drapes dramatically where you need it to. Love the trumpet flare at the base! Wish I'd received the correct size so I could have worn it. Next time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2016
Hopefully try again
Ordered two sizes neither fit was disappointed ...
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 50
December 28, 2015
Went to a formal affair(pictured here with my friend)and received endless compliments.
Dress fits like a glove. no room for flaws. Long,perfect with high heels, and stayed put around the chest. Loved it, and got so many compliments, it was almost embarrassing. Thick material so it held you in, although, I did wear spanks with it.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
December 27, 2015
I wore this beautiful red dress for my junior prom, and received SO many compliments!
Everyone loved this dress. It fit great, and I never felt like I had to constantly be pulling up the bust (which can be a common problem w/ strapless dresses.) I also got the necklace to go with the dress, and they complimented one another so well. I would highly recommend! Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
December 22, 2015
This was an incredible dress! The fit was great and the dress was in great shape.
I'm 5'3" and I wore 2 inch heels. I'm very glad I got the petite instead of the regular.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×