Badgley Mischka

American Beauty Gown

$76 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Walk gracefully into the gala wearing this stunning Badgley Mischka navy ruched gown. A simple yet elegant choice for a night of bliss. Go with accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, and Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Also available in black and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Navy jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
86 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
I felt like royalty!
This dress was a stunner. It was very long, not just with a train and heels either. The dress I received had some wear & tear, but because of the rusching it was not noticeable. Gorgeous and very comfy. Danced the night through.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
Highlights the good places and hides the rest
The dress fit beautifully. The roushing in the mid section hid what I wanted to hide. The dress accentuates the shoulders and bust line. The fabric stretches and is very comfortable. I got tons of complements and the dress was very easy to wear. The long worked well with 3 inch heels. There were no cons to the dress. Would definitely wear again.
JessicaJanuary 28, 2014
Go Pam!!! Beautiful!
AnneApril 29, 2014
Stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2014
I looked and felt beautiful!!!
I love my breast but I'm self conscious about my "pear figure". But this dress complemented everything!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 24, 2014
My dress was delayed by UPS and the girls at RTR made sure I was taken care of ASAP! Love them!
The fit is true to size and it hugs and hides all of those places you don't want noticed. I enjoyed my dress, and I will definitely be using RTR again! #legacyball #bestcustomerserviceever
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 26, 2014
Not for me
I rented this dress along with another because I couldn't decide. I didn't end up choosing to wear this one. The fabric was really heavy but not form fitting at all. I felt like the fabric looked and felt cheap. I was definitely happy that I had another dress to choose from for the event.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 16, 2014
Beautiful dress but heavy fabric stretches as it warms, my waist was lost in hanging sides.
I was at the Emmy Awards in LA and it was VERY hot. This heavy drapey fabric seemed to expand and stretch in the heat. I was swimming in the dress after a few hours, the sides stopped hugging my waist and just went straight up and down, if I pulled the fabric from the back, it looked like a great fitting gown on a good waist... but sadly I looked like a tube since I didn't go around all night with a giant claw hair-clip at the back of my dress to make it fitted at the waist (just kidding but this is a stylists' trick in photo shoots when you can't see the back). Go down a size and it is then probably perfect. I would wear this again, in a 12 short to an event in the fall or just not LA summer and it would be perfect. The dress is awesome, just get two sizes shipped for the extra few bucks. Being heavy right now I erred on the side of bigger sizing which was a mistake on my part. The dress is gorgeous though, I would wear it again in a smaller size for an equally formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 14, 2014
awesome dress! not as "hiding" as you think it would be, but great in pictures
would definitely recommend this to anyone
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
July 25, 2014
black tie Awards dinner
very dark blue color is nice. can't tell on website, but the entire body is layered with ruching, flattering. great fabric. the top runs very large and sit a little low on the chest so not a good dress for the small breasted (or size way down). the sleeves sit very low on the arm as well. mixed bag
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
I wore this dress to a formal charity event in the winter and loved it!
This dress runs true to size and the regular was a good length for 3" heels. the navy color is great for a winter event and the sleeves add a interesting touch to an otherwise simple dress. Would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2013
Absolutley amazing dress!
I wore this dress for my prom (surprise surprise) and everything about this dress was stunning; the color, the fit, and the style. I've never felt so confidant in any dress before, it's easliy the most flattering dress I've ever worn. The compliment i got the most was, "You look like a princess!". I would definitely reccomend this for an hourglass shape; the roucheing (probably not spelled right) and the fit were perfect for bringing out the best parts of my body.
Silly SwimmerSeptember 19, 2014
I'm shopping for my prom. What jewelry did you wear?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 6, 2013
"OMG YOU LOOK GORGEOUS!!!!" - I kept hearing all night
I rented the dark blue one for a wedding. The color of the actual dress was darker than in the picture. It was closer to black, but it's still a gorgeous dress. Fits well, flows nicely. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. It's very elegant and sophisticated. Highly recommend it. I had ladies ask me where I got it- so I referred them right to RTR!
RTR CustomerNovember 2, 2014
beautiful!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 9, 2012
GREAT BEAUTIFUL CLASSY DRESS
I originally rented this as a back-up but didn't wear it. At that time I had an 8L but it gathered a bit in the back. I later rented/wore it as a 6L and loved it. It is beautiful. The only negative could be the sleeves (you can't really raise your arms to high)...but realistically who does that too much at a black tie event! This dress comes in other colors - which I am sure are beautiful...but the navy blue great! I got so many compliments. It's fit makes it sexy - but the design keeps it conservative so perfect for my white tie event.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2014
This dress was amazing ! I received do many compliments.
The fit is snug, but not so snug that it can't hide flaws.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 2, 2014
Heavy fabric, runs large, but love the neck line!
Wore this for a black tie wedding. Unfortunately the next size down wasn't available. I'd lost a little weight recently, but not a whole dress size. The fabric is heavy, which unfortunately caused the dress to hang baggy and sack-like instead of hugging my waist like it might have in a size smaller. I was pulling it up a bit all night. The neck line, however, is to die for - very dramatic and works well with those big pieces of costume jewelry you never get to wear otherwise.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 15, 2014
I absolutely loved this gown! It felt incredible and was really comfortable!!
If I could have changed anything, I would have went with a size smaller. The top of the back part of the dress puckered a bit, I believe because it was a bit too big. It definitely runs larger than my normal size. Other than that, I have ZERO complaints!! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2014
Beautiful and very comfortable.
I received many compliments and felt beautiful wearing the dress. It just hit the floor with 3 1/2" heels (perfect). I am 5'6' and weigh about 130 pounds with 32A chest.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2015
I received a lot of compliments on this dress: it was truly simple elegance.
Definitely a deep deep navy as other reviewers noted. The regular size was slightly too short for me (I'm 5'5" and wore 3 1/2" heels)- I thought given the other reviews it would be too long, but that was not the case. The size 6 would have fit better, but because I could only order the petite, it was way too short so I had to wear the back-up, 8R. The style allows for you to wear a slightly larger or smaller fit though: it's definitely figure flattering.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
February 13, 2014
Did not end up wearing this one - wore the smaller size one. Beautiful dress though
Too long - not good for someone my height.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2015
Easy prays!
Dress fit perfect. Loved the color loved the necklace and bag as well. The compliments just kept coming.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2012
I definitely felt like a princess in this dress.
This dress is pretty and flattering, but be warned it is almost black not blue. It's a very very dark midnight navy. Also, it is incredible long. I am 5'10 so I ordered the 2L as recommended and even with 5 inch heels it was dragging on the floor. Stick with the Regular unless you are INSANELY tall or feel like wearing very high heels. And one last thing, this dress created a bunch in the back, I think if I had a huge butt it would have been fine but you can see in the second picture the bunching in my back, it almost made it look like I was wearing a microphone.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
July 5, 2012
It was the best wedding reception ever.
This dress was amazing! I normally wear a 14W or 16 regular clothes. I ordered the 16 & 14, and ended up wearing the 14. The ruching makes the fit very flattering. It has built in stays for the bust area which were a little uncomfortable at times, but overall this was a 5 star dress. The L is long. I am 5'8" and had on 2.5 inch heels in the photo. But it wasn't so long that I had any trouble dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2012
Simple and beautiful
I had TONS of compliments on this gown, everyone loved it! It did run a little large and because it ran large it bunched up in the back a little bit. If you are thinking about renting this I suggest you order a size smaller than you usually wear!
AnnieDecember 7, 2012
WOW stunning! You should consider modeling!
MichelleApril 2, 2013
Love the jewelry you paired with this dress! Where is it from if you don't mind me asking?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2013
I wanted to feel elegant and sexy and this delivered!
I am broad-shouldered and busty for a 5'2 woman, so ordered the 6 with the 4 as my back-up. The 4 was perfect, with a generous amount of hem tape! Perfect for an inaugural ball. Return wa super easy. Already looking for my high school reunion dress here!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2013
Fit like a glove
This dress is very flattering. The side ruching gave it a close fit which accentuated my shape. The length allowed my toes to peep out in the front, and is a bit longer in back. I did have someone step in it once. A very dark blue. The strapless neckline held up perfectly and without the benefit of tape! Love love love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2013
After receiving the dress in the mail, I couldn't wait to wear it at the wedding. I felt beautiful!
The fit was flattering and comfortable. The navy is a deep blue almost black. I wore black leather heels (3 inches). I considered navy shoes, but because the blue was so deep, the black shoes were perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 28, 2014
The dress was beautiful for my prom! but was too big on top (I should have used fashion tape).
The dress looked great and I felt great in it. Only problem was it was too big on top and I should have used fashion tape to keep my cleavage from falling out. Also I needed someone to zip it up for me. But it really was beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
A great dress for the Military Ball!
I wore this dress to my husband's Saint Barbara's Military Ball and I could not have been happier with my choice! The dress is simple and elegant. I paired it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Bursting Baubles necklace. It is very comfortable to wear too. I ended up in the 6R, which is my normal size, and it fit perfectly. There is a nice stretch to the material so that it hugs your curves, yet the ruching is very forgiving for any lumps and bumps you might want to hide. After reading several reviews I went with the regular length (I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels) and it was perfect - the dress skimmed the top of my toes. My only caution would be that if you are between sizes to size down. My backup size was a 4R, however it was a looser fit than the 6R. My guess is that the smaller size had been worn more and was stretched out a bit, especially in the sleeves and shoulder area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
March 22, 2014
Elegant, Classic and Comfortable.
Needed a dress for a formal work function that was more conservative than what I had in my closet. This fit the bill perfectly. Dresses are a little worn, the zipper was a little pokey, but no biggie. I wore 5.5" heels so I went with the OL. Fabric didn't look overly high-end but ruching allowed me to eat seconds and not blink an eye!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 16, 2014
Made my body look amazing!
I rented this dress as my backup, and although I didn't end up wearing it, it was stunning. I'm smaller in the chest area, so that part was a little baggy, but otherwise it fit perfectly. I almost always have to rent a long, but after reading the reviews for this dress I rented a regular. A long would have been way too long even in 5 inch heels. I will definitely rent this dress for my next black tie affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
June 9, 2014
runs big. strange boning
will try again with a smaller size one day
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2011
Gorgeous, Elegant!
Rented this as back-up dress and was VERY happy I did. Got TONS of complements from "You look hot!" to "Look like a movie star!" Runs a tad large, would have gone with 4, if it was available. The ribbing in the bust really dug into my lower chest, but that may be because I'm so short. LOTS of stretch -- very forgiving. Runs long, for petite women!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
April 22, 2012
Definitely a Winner!
I wore this dress for a charity event honoring my boss and had to find something that was elegant, classy and chic. This dress was it! I felt stunning. Very comfortable - the only observation, the material was thick (form fits you very comfortably), however since it was just a slight bit long I had to keep lifting it. Wasn't ideal for dancing but I give it a 10 for any formal evening gown affair.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2012
Fantastic
I rented this dress for a party as I knew all my friends always dress nice. When I got there all eyes were on me I felt on top of the world, My husband kept complementing me saying I was the best dressed there . I love this dress and you will too. Shipping was fast and on time and return was effortless.I will definitely order again for my next event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved this dress
This was an incredible choice and I keep looking for an opportunity to rent it in another color! Gorgeous dress! I shared a picture of a sweet moment with my darling granddaughter...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 21, 2012
So classy!
I received so many compliments on this dress at our annual holiday party.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 3, 2012
Being able to walk into the room and feel incredibly beautiful
This was my second choice, and although I was skeptical at first, it completely won me over. The dress hugs your curves but in all the right ways. I'm an hourglass shape, so I tend to be wary of dresses that accentuate that, but this dress is a classic beauty. The quality of the material is well-made and the dress was in impeccable shape. I wore it all night, and although it was a bit too long for me, it was never a burden. It is truly a beautiful, classic dress.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 21, 2013
beautiful dress
beautiful dress
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2013
Beautiful dress, but show signs of wear.
My only discomfort was the dress insert was fitted for a bigger brested women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 21, 2013
Super
Fit pretty in the body but I didn't care for the top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2013
Dress was absolutely stunning. Many compliments.
You will need a higher heel than usual. A tad biy long , but lovely .
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×