Rent the Runway

Alice by Temperley

Cowl Neck Sleeved Dress

$52 to buy
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy stunner from Alice by Temperley in a simple and sultry style that’s a perfect party piece.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Cowl neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. About 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

97 reviews

Fit
Small 49
True to Size 43
Large 5
Photos 23
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Sep 7, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Much prettier and sexier than it looks on the website. A super easy fit - ruching disguises all flaws. Wore with a flashy necklace.
Nikki
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 9, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I loved this dress!! I am straight and narrow and this made me look like I had curves! The picture really does it no justice, it's much nicer than it looks. Super sexy on! I ususally wear a 6, but got an 8 due to availability, and glad I did. I think it runs small.
Nee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Im a curvaceous and tall woman(5'8). This dress is very flattering. The ruching hides all of your flaws. However, I was unimpressed with this dress. It was just ok. I really didnt care for the fabric. After dressing it up with great accesories, it turned out nice. But, I wouldnt rent it again
chsdawg
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I simply loved this dress. Much prettier and sexier in person. A beautiful find. I normally wear a 4 but needed the 6.
LEWK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 27, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Much cuter in person! Hides flaws and gives a sexy silhouette.
SS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 22, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I wore this to a holiday party with a chunky necklace and bangles and it was stunning! The fit was great and sexy, but not over the top. Do order up a size. Pictures do not do the dress justice.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 30, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This dress seemed very promising, and I was excited by the reviews I read. However, the zipper is very flimsy and the fabric does not lend itself to easily being zipped, also the dress hugged to tight in the chest (I wear a 34C) and felt it was to revealing for work. I did not end up getting to wear the dress.
coco
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! It is perfectly sophisticated & sexy at the same time! Great fabric-- the rouching hides any flaws :) I paired with the Kenneth Jay Lane Jet Drop Earrings for a sophisticated NYE look!
Great for Curvy Girls
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 30, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is gorgeous and hugs all your curves. It does tend to run small – particularly on the skirt – and that’s why I rated it three stars. I am in between a 10-12 right now (but closer to 10). The size 10 dress was too tight on the bottom half, so I ended up wearing the 12. The top of the 12 was big on me – it ended up hanging off me by the end of the evening. I'm an hourglass, and my top and bottom is proportional. I would have expected it to fit just a little better. If you have a bigger bust and narrow hips, this might fit you much better than me. That being said, the dress still looked great and was comfortable.
Erika
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Feb 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is A LOT shorter than the picture but a cute dress.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect dress for my cocktail party! Sexy but not too revealing, I wore it with fishnets and boots. I danced all night and the dress was very comfortable. I got the size I thought I'd be and the size up and the smaller of the two fit like a glove.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Feb 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved the dress. Very comfortable,sexy and easy to dress up with accessories and shoes. True to size. Would recommend!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Beautiful dress. So glad that I got two sizes though. My normal size, 4, was so small I needed my boyfriend to help me out of it. The 6 fit great. Will definitely be renting my next dress from Rent the Runway!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Jul 26, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I honestly think this dress fits about right, but that wasn't a choice! the only place I felt it was a little small was at the arms. It didn't feel super tight, but it took a little wiggling to adjust them properly. This dress is absolutely gorgeous in person. Much cuter in person and extremely flattering. it's also easy to dress up or down, depending on your accessories. I wore it two days in a row to completely different events and it worked at both!
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was very cute but it runs short. I returned it because the length was not right for the eventiwas going to. The sleeves were slightly tight also.
theverge
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 26, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is crazy sexxay! The fit is tight-size up made no difference. if you have hips (like me) resign yourself to babysteppingstanding still all night> Unfortunately, I needed a normal stride and could not wear dress.
C
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
True to size/runs a tiny bit small. I usually fit into a 2 or 4, but there was no way this dress was getting past my breast in a 2. It's very comfortable and form fitting and is shorter than appears on the model. There's also a thick lining. My only issue was that I'm busty and even in the 4, my breasts were flattened and pushed up in this dress. Yet, all in all, I was very happy with this rental. It's sexier and sleeker in reality than in the picture. Wore with emerald pear shaped droopy earrings, was beautiful.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×