Alice by Temperley

Cowl Neck Sleeved Dress

$52 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sexy stunner from Alice by Temperley in a simple and sultry style that’s a perfect party piece.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Cowl neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. About 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(43)
Small
(49)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2011
My husband loved the dress on me, too! And it was still respectable enough to show me off to his co-workers :D
I loved wearing this dress. The only reason I said it "runs large" is because the arms were a little wide. Otherwise, it fit me to a T. It couldn't have been easier with Rent the Runway, either.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2012
Great fit.
Dress fits great, not too short. The 3 quarter sleeves make it great for a fall/winter wedding or cocktail party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 25, 2012
Perfict Fit
This was my second choice dress just in case the first choice did not fit. I did choose to wear the other dress but, it was hard to choose because I loved them both! I usually wear a size 2 but, after reading reviews of others who wore this dress, 4 was perfect for me. This dress is a nice form fitting dress and I will rent this if I have another engagment to attend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2013
Adorable dress, but it RUNS SMALL.
Dress runs super small, partially because it has an inner lining that sucks everything in, but you'll need to size up a size or two so you can breathe.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2014
Lovely form fitting dress.
I rented this dress as a backup and ultimately wore my first choice. It was a very pretty dress, form fitting in all the right places. Ruching at the waist was great to hide any imperfections. Overall I just felt it wasn't quite formal enough for a wedding. I would rent this again for a less formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 9, 2014
Sexy!
Yes, this dress started out pretty snug, but even just a few minutes after putting it on, I could zip it up unassisted and move around freely. It wound up being very comfortable and so sexy! It hugged my curves in a very flattering away and it was pretty forgiving with problem areas. I didn't need a bra nor did I need spanx. A tip though: while it was comfortable, it was warm and I was at an outdoor wedding on a beautiful day. I cooled off eventually, but I'd say this dress might be better suited for a Fall or early Spring event. A great choice though; you won't be disappointed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 24, 2014
I felt confident and sexy
I have actually rented this dress twice, the first time for a boston bar heavy bachelorette and the second for a formal wedding. It was perfect for both which is rare. It is easy to dress up or down and I felt very sexy in it and still looked classy. The material has some give but it is a little short so if you are self conscious about your legs, it's not for you. I might actually buy this dress because I liked it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2010
Im a curvaceous and tall woman(5'8). This dress is very flattering. The ruching hides all of your flaws. However, I was unimpressed with this dress. It was just ok. I really didnt care for the fabric. After dressing it up with great accesories, it turned out nice. But, I wouldnt rent it again
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2011
This dress is really easy to wear - quite comfortable and very flattering. I wore it on New Year's Eve with embellished heels. The silhouette is simple, but the ruching amps up the design a bit. I loved the longer sleeves - no shivering in a drafty ballroom! I'm 5 ft. 2 and oscillate between 105 and 110 pounds. I tried both the size 2 and 4. The 2 was wearable for an evening, but a little loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2011
Fits like a glove
This felt like a nice winter alternative LBD. It wasn't particularly special, but I'll bet it could be "grown up" with good jewelry. I ended up not wearing it to my corporate black tie event since it was a bit too plain/young feeling, but I think it would be great for a date!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
The Dress fit perfectly
True to size dress was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 27, 2013
Nice ruching, great fit.
The ruching in this dress is not as obvious on the RTR model, but is really makes the dress flattering. It fits great and is really comfortable. I've also rented the Halston Heritage Eclipse off the shoulder black dress, and I prefer that one over this dress, but would still recommend this to someone looking for a basic black dress. It is sexy, but still classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 30, 2013
Great little black dress
This was a great little black dress, but I felt the ruching was loose on my dress. It felt stretched out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2013
A wee bit wee
I was really excited to wear this body con number however, I just couldn't do it. I'm a petite girl but since god blessed me with hips, a booty, and thighs, this dress was a leeeeetle too much for me, especially since I was hoping to dress it down a bit. Oh, that reminds me, I also thought for some reason that the fabric of this dress was going to be more like jersey--it was slinkier than I expected and I did not care for it. All in all, on a inverted triangle body, this would be an amazing dress--it just wasn't for yours truly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
May 1, 2014
love the dress- run small
this didn't fit very well as I got one that was too small but was so cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 10, 2014
Classic with a hint of sexy. Runs a Size Big!
I'm usually a 2 or a 4 and I JUST fit into the 6. Definitely runs big. Got tons of complements, though! My little sister said I looked like a movie star :-)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2015
This is a great LBD. It was perfect for my cousin's winter wedding!
The dress hugs your curves in all the right ways. It runs a little small, but it does stretch out as you wear it. I am still working on losing some baby weight, and this camouflaged my midsection well with the way the rucking across the middle. It also feels almost like there are built-in Spanx because of the lining of the dress. I would definitely rent this again.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×