Alice by Temperley

Cowl Neck Sleeved Dress

$52 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sexy stunner from Alice by Temperley in a simple and sultry style that’s a perfect party piece.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Cowl neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. About 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(49)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
Classy with a hint of sexy!

This dress was amazing. It was almost TOO fancy for a bachelorette, but the hint of cleavage kind of balanced it out. The 12 was HUGE on me, and at first I felt like the 10 was just a little tight, but I felt more comfortable as the night went on. It fit really well and hugged in all the right places. I have 2 kids and am always a little worried about my mid-section, but this was hid everything really nicely. The ruched hem at the bottom rode up just a little bit, but it was fine. I would absolutely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2014
Perfect dress- comfortable and figure flattering.

This dress was the perfect choice for the NY wedding I wore it for. I definitely had to wear the six, as the lining is quite snug, but it smoothed everything out and made for a very flattering figure. It was very comfortable and I didn't have to make any adjustments throughout the night. Got several compliments as soon as I walked though the door. Would definitely rent this again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
Fits like a glove!

My boyfriend and I were unable to make it to prom, so instead I used the credit I got from cancelling the gown to get this one. We ended up just going out for dinner. I felt so confident and sexy, the dress really worked for me in the right places. I loved the rouching because it covered up my tummy, but that was also a con for me in that I have a pretty large butt. It was all pretty everywhere else, but the fabric went totally smooth over my behind. It wasn't really a huge issue though. I just wish I could have kept it! I would totally rent this again

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
September 16, 2014
I LOVED this dress, but should have read the reviews more carefully — it runs SO SMALL.

Reviewers suggested going one size up; I'd suggest two. I sized up to a 2 from my usual 0, and should have gotten a 4 at least. I could zip it up, but I looked like a sausage!! Wound up going for my backup dress for the event in question, but I loved this dress much more.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 27, 2014
Super small order 2 sizes up

This is super small for its size. I am an average size 8 in dresses. This size 8 wouldn't even zip. Next time I am going to order a size up and an even bigger size for back up. The dress was very pretty, and fabric was nice. Not too heavy. Sad it didn't work.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 30, 2014
I ordered this dress but ended up returning it unworn.

I ordered this dress for my 10 year high school reunion and thought it would make the perfect dress. When I pulled the dress out of the box, I noticed the sides were totally ruched (which I did not see in the picture) and it ran so small that even the larger size wouldn't zip. I would have had to order at least a 10 (I'm normally a 4) to make my legs not look like sausages. The dress was very elastic but did not have a lot of give. I was extremely disappointed in this dress and ended up sending it back for credit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2015
So slimming, and love the sleeves!

This definitely runs small, so I would get a size up from what you normally wear. I wore one bigger size, and even that felt a little tight. But the rouching over the stomach is very flattering, and it wasn't so tight that I felt constricted. The sleeves were fantastic - I am always cold, so the sleeves kept me from having to wear a sweater and hiding the dress. It was a little short for my taste - I'm 5'8, and the dress only came to my mid-thigh, not just above the knee like in the model photo. I would absolutely rent this again.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2015
Fabulous LBD for any occasion!

What a fabulous LBD! I loved this dress so much I bought it when it went on clearance. My only complaint is that it does run a little small, I'm usually a 4 or 6 and the 6 was super tight. I wish I had considered going up to an 8. Pro: the inner lining and rushing details are slimming! No shapewear needed

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2015
too small!

I was unable to zip this up! i normally wear a 0 and got this in a 2. It didn't even cover my rear and I was unable to zip it. It's a lovely dress but size up!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 25, 2012
Perfict Fit

This was my second choice dress just in case the first choice did not fit. I did choose to wear the other dress but, it was hard to choose because I loved them both! I usually wear a size 2 but, after reading reviews of others who wore this dress, 4 was perfect for me. This dress is a nice form fitting dress and I will rent this if I have another engagment to attend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2013
Adorable dress, but it RUNS SMALL.

Dress runs super small, partially because it has an inner lining that sucks everything in, but you'll need to size up a size or two so you can breathe.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2013
A wee bit wee

I was really excited to wear this body con number however, I just couldn't do it. I'm a petite girl but since god blessed me with hips, a booty, and thighs, this dress was a leeeeetle too much for me, especially since I was hoping to dress it down a bit. Oh, that reminds me, I also thought for some reason that the fabric of this dress was going to be more like jersey--it was slinkier than I expected and I did not care for it. All in all, on a inverted triangle body, this would be an amazing dress--it just wasn't for yours truly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
May 1, 2014
love the dress- run small

this didn't fit very well as I got one that was too small but was so cute

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2015
This is a great LBD. It was perfect for my cousin's winter wedding!

The dress hugs your curves in all the right ways. It runs a little small, but it does stretch out as you wear it. I am still working on losing some baby weight, and this camouflaged my midsection well with the way the rucking across the middle. It also feels almost like there are built-in Spanx because of the lining of the dress. I would definitely rent this again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011

LOVE this dress! It is perfectly sophisticated & sexy at the same time! Great fabric-- the rouching hides any flaws :) I paired with the Kenneth Jay Lane Jet Drop Earrings for a sophisticated NYE look!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 14, 2011

Perfect dress for my cocktail party! Sexy but not too revealing, I wore it with fishnets and boots. I danced all night and the dress was very comfortable. I got the size I thought I'd be and the size up and the smaller of the two fit like a glove.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
February 22, 2011

Loved the dress. Very comfortable,sexy and easy to dress up with accessories and shoes. True to size. Would recommend!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 5, 2011

This was very cute but it runs short. I returned it because the length was not right for the eventiwas going to. The sleeves were slightly tight also.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
September 28, 2011

True to size/runs a tiny bit small. I usually fit into a 2 or 4, but there was no way this dress was getting past my breast in a 2. It's very comfortable and form fitting and is shorter than appears on the model. There's also a thick lining. My only issue was that I'm busty and even in the 4, my breasts were flattened and pushed up in this dress. Yet, all in all, I was very happy with this rental. It's sexier and sleeker in reality than in the picture. Wore with emerald pear shaped droopy earrings, was beautiful.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Body type: Apple
November 6, 2011

Beautiful fit, gave me an hour glass figure. Conservative enough and sexy enough at the same time. Comfortable.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
New Years Eve

I have to admit, when I took the dress out of the box I was afraid I had received the wrong dress, however I was pleased once I put it on. I think my man liked the neckline best, alluring but not to flashy. I was surprised by how high up on my thigh the dress ended, especially since I'm only 5'3", but I think my hips were the reason for the rising hemline. And while I wasn't so keen on the dress clinging to my hips, the dress also accentuated my waistline so I think it all worked out. Also, I don't think this is a dancing dress, more of a stand around conversating sort of dress. Overall, the dress served me well this New Years, a fun time was had by all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2012
Super Flattering!

This dress was so pretty. Sexy, but subtle. The ruching throughout was flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect for Date Night

Love love loved this dress! I wore it on Valentine's Day with 5" black pumps. The snug fit is sexy, and the longer sleeves and conservative neckline make it sexy but not obnoxious. I'm 5'7" and the dress was shorter than in the picture by a few inches - if you have any butt this will be short!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Sexy but still tasteful!

I wore this to my bachelorette party last summer because we did a LBD theme. It was super comfy and looked great! I ended up wearing the smaller size and it hugged my curves in all the right places!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Perfect dress for a night out!

I rented this as a backup for New Year's Eve. I didn't wear it that night (not enough bling) but I did wear it out the next night. It's very flattering, particularly in the stomach area and very comfortable to wear. I would rent it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Really perfect!

So in size 12 I am pushing the limits of the size range RTR offers, but in this dress I'm not sorry about that at all! What an incredibly flattering and elegant dress! (Sorry no pictures!!) It has become a cliche but this dress really does flatter curves. I would worry about it being good for those at the smaller end of the spectrum. The ruching was just perfect, the décolletage and back cowl were dramatic. Can't recommend enough for those in the 10 - 12 range.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
October 15, 2012
Sexy and so flattering

What a great dress!!! Covers up all the problem spots and gives you a sexy silhouette. Renting this dress again for next week's wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 23, 2012
Perfect fit!

I rented this dress for a lunch date in NYC and absolutely loved it! Fit true to size and flattered every inch (even the dreaded belly pooch)! Would definitely recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 7, 2012
Really flattering fit. Really hides any flaws that someone might have.

I ordered the 12 because the 10 was unavailable. It was big on me, but I am sure if someone was really a 12 then it would be true to size. It's a great little black dress that you could wear for any occasion depending on how you accessorize. I recommend to all.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2012
Great choice for my holiday party!

I ordered this for my holiday work party as it wasn't too revealing. I ordered a size up for backup but ended up wearing the smaller size. It fit perfectly and I felt great throughout the night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved it.

I loved this dress! It clinged to my curves and made me feel fantastic. The fabric was also a bit thicker so I didn't feel as if I was exposing any lumps or bumps. I got a LOT of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2013
Loved this dress, it fit perfect and was really flattering.

I'm 5'9" so it was a little short on me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 22, 2013
The right amount of sexy and understated

This dress hugs all the curves while providing the coverage of selves. This dress is a snug material so walking up the stairs will cause the dress to ride up. Very comfy in general.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2013
Sexy without showing too much...

I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion, which I was very nervous for. Just like most every woman, I was feeling self conscious about my weight and wanted a dress that would flatter me without showing too much skin. Well, this dress did just that and I felt great! The one downside was that it got very hot when I was dancing. That is really the only bad thing I can say about it though. I was thrilled with the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Understated sexy

Fit amazing - rented for dinner party. Perfect LBD, easy to dress up with accessories.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2013
It fit beautifully! This dress is timeless, I would love love love to own it!

Fit comfortably, no itchy spots. The 8 was a tad too tight, so I went with the 10. The double sided tape RTR sent came in handy, though not for the dress - my heel separated from my shoe, and that saved the day! And I loved the little perfume sample included.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2014
This dress was just the right mix of smart and sexy!

I wore this dress for a very Catholic wedding with long time friends and family. I wanted to look appropriate to be in a church, as well as feel great. The fabric was perfect for a late fall wedding, it was a snug fit without being too tight and I got compliments all night. I'd rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 16, 2014
Night out on the town!

I loved this dress! I wore it for a night out with some friends and I felt very sexy. Gives you fantastic cuves while hiding my problem area (stomach). I hope to rent this again!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 12, 2014
Classy, with a sexy twist! The fit was great!

There was room in the chest area which I really appreciated, but it came in at the waist and still showed off my figure! It was a fun dress to dance in and it did not ride up too high throughout the evening. I'd definitely recommend this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 23, 2014
Simple enough 4 a b-day dinner. Sexy enough 4 a date

The 10 wasn't available, so I had to size up. However, because of the material and ruching it was not noticeable. Overall it was a great black dress! Simple with just enough sass!

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×