Cowl Neck Sleeved Dress

$52 to buy
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy stunner from Alice by Temperley in a simple and sultry style that’s a perfect party piece.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Cowl neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. About 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(43)
Small
(49)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
Dress was very HEAVY was not flattering
May be good for people trying to look thinner cuz It fit like a spanx but not flattering on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2013
Simple LBD!
I bought this dress as a back-up for the weekend. I ended up wearing it to a nice dinner with the hubby and I was pleased with it. The arms ran a little small but the ruching on the dress was a nice little detail. The dress was nice but didn't have as much "pop" as I was envisioning. Still a great LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
Very small...order up a size or 2
I wore this event for an awards show for my job last week, I wanted something dressy without being over the top and figured this dress would be it. I ordered a 6 and a 4 and I wish I had done an 8 and a 6 because the 6 was tight! It was one of those dresses that every time you went from sitting to standing the dress kepy creeping up your backside, which was annoying as I had to get up 10 times to recieve our awards. I feel if I had the dress in a larger size I would have been happier, because the material is very nice and it looked cute on...just wish I was able to feel more comfortable in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2013
Got the dress on time, as promised! But it didn't fit, so I had to return it.
I'm usually a size 2, so I ordered the 2 and the 4 and neither one would zip! I'm 5' 4", 110 lbs., and a 32A - I'm pretty petite. So when the others say to order two sizes up - believe them! I was very disappointed that the dress didn't fit, because it is a beautiful lbd. The thing is, the 4 wouldn't zip all the way up, but the shoulders were falling off of me. I think the dimensions of this dress are made to accommodate women with a larger chest (to hold up the top) and an itty bitty waist (ti zip the side zipper!). I will say though, RTR Customer Service was amazing! Even though the dress didn't fit, I felt like they really cared, and were willing to help me out (even though it was my fault for not reading through the Fit Notes). I got a credit on my account and will definitely continue to use RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2013
Loved this dress, it fit perfect and was really flattering.
I'm 5'9" so it was a little short on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 30, 2013
Great little black dress
This was a great little black dress, but I felt the ruching was loose on my dress. It felt stretched out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 27, 2013
Nice ruching, great fit.
The ruching in this dress is not as obvious on the RTR model, but is really makes the dress flattering. It fits great and is really comfortable. I've also rented the Halston Heritage Eclipse off the shoulder black dress, and I prefer that one over this dress, but would still recommend this to someone looking for a basic black dress. It is sexy, but still classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 28, 2012
So-So Dress
Not the most flattering dress. Rented for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Runs small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved it.
I loved this dress! It clinged to my curves and made me feel fantastic. The fabric was also a bit thicker so I didn't feel as if I was exposing any lumps or bumps. I got a LOT of compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
The Dress fit perfectly
True to size dress was perfect
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2012
Great choice for my holiday party!
I ordered this for my holiday work party as it wasn't too revealing. I ordered a size up for backup but ended up wearing the smaller size. It fit perfectly and I felt great throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2012
Too small for me to wear.
I rented this dress for a date night in Chicago. The dress was really tight and I wasn't able to get it zipped. It was my first time renting the runway, so maybe I just didn't know my real size. It would have been perfect if it would have been 1 size bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2012
Sexy
I usually wear a 6, but after reading the reviews ordered an 8 and boy am I glad I did. I wore it to the Met for an opera and it was perfect for that. It was a little short for what I usually wear and a little tight,but my date did not complain!!! I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 7, 2012
Really flattering fit. Really hides any flaws that someone might have.
I ordered the 12 because the 10 was unavailable. It was big on me, but I am sure if someone was really a 12 then it would be true to size. It's a great little black dress that you could wear for any occasion depending on how you accessorize. I recommend to all.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 27, 2012
Great fashionable party dress!
THis black dress was very flattering. The ruching accentuated my already defined hourglass shape. However, it is very fitted through the hips. Do not hesitate to order one size up!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 25, 2012
Perfict Fit
This was my second choice dress just in case the first choice did not fit. I did choose to wear the other dress but, it was hard to choose because I loved them both! I usually wear a size 2 but, after reading reviews of others who wore this dress, 4 was perfect for me. This dress is a nice form fitting dress and I will rent this if I have another engagment to attend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 23, 2012
Perfect fit!
I rented this dress for a lunch date in NYC and absolutely loved it! Fit true to size and flattered every inch (even the dreaded belly pooch)! Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2012
Simple LBD, but still managed to stick out in a crowd!
Everything I was looking for! I was a little nervous it would be too short, but the length was great. The material is slightly forgiving, but kept a great shape all night. My only problem was that the sleeves were a little snug/short in the underarm area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
October 15, 2012
Sexy and so flattering
What a great dress!!! Covers up all the problem spots and gives you a sexy silhouette. Renting this dress again for next week's wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Really perfect!
So in size 12 I am pushing the limits of the size range RTR offers, but in this dress I'm not sorry about that at all! What an incredibly flattering and elegant dress! (Sorry no pictures!!) It has become a cliche but this dress really does flatter curves. I would worry about it being good for those at the smaller end of the spectrum. The ruching was just perfect, the décolletage and back cowl were dramatic. Can't recommend enough for those in the 10 - 12 range.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2012
Great fit.
Dress fits great, not too short. The 3 quarter sleeves make it great for a fall/winter wedding or cocktail party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 12, 2012
Extremely flattering dress
This dress is perfect for curvy girls- it shows off your waist, but the ruching/folds in the dress cover up any other body conscious areas. I did feel like it ran small and there was a small rip at the top of the zipper under my arm. It was completely wearable though and I got several compliments throughout the night! It was a bit shorter on me than on the model pictured.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
August 18, 2012
Simple but elegant
This was a very comfortable dress to wear. The material is on the thicker side its not thin. This dress can be worn to dinner or a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Perfect dress for a night out!
I rented this as a backup for New Year's Eve. I didn't wear it that night (not enough bling) but I did wear it out the next night. It's very flattering, particularly in the stomach area and very comfortable to wear. I would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Sexy but still tasteful!
I wore this to my bachelorette party last summer because we did a LBD theme. It was super comfy and looked great! I ended up wearing the smaller size and it hugged my curves in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect for Date Night
Love love loved this dress! I wore it on Valentine's Day with 5" black pumps. The snug fit is sexy, and the longer sleeves and conservative neckline make it sexy but not obnoxious. I'm 5'7" and the dress was shorter than in the picture by a few inches - if you have any butt this will be short!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2012
Renting this one again!
I'm usually in between sizes (8-10) I ordered up because of the previous reviews I read.. Thank god I did. Seems that there was a big jump of size between the 10 and 12. The size 10 fit like an 8 and the 12 fit like a 12. I was able to squeeze into the size 10, because the 12 was just too big. Besides that this dress looked awesome! Gave me curves that i don't even have because of the ruching all along the sides. Definetly renting this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2012
Super Flattering!
This dress was so pretty. Sexy, but subtle. The ruching throughout was flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2012
Flattering no matter what size
No matter what size someone is this dress will flatter your best assets and hide the flaws. This dress looks amazing on don't be discouraged when you see it on the hanger. I promise you will love it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
New Years Eve
I have to admit, when I took the dress out of the box I was afraid I had received the wrong dress, however I was pleased once I put it on. I think my man liked the neckline best, alluring but not to flashy. I was surprised by how high up on my thigh the dress ended, especially since I'm only 5'3", but I think my hips were the reason for the rising hemline. And while I wasn't so keen on the dress clinging to my hips, the dress also accentuated my waistline so I think it all worked out. Also, I don't think this is a dancing dress, more of a stand around conversating sort of dress. Overall, the dress served me well this New Years, a fun time was had by all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
I wasn't expecting to wear this dress, since it was my backup, but I just had to after trying it on!
This dress was my backup, but it looked so good that I wore it out the next night to a comedy club! I normally wear a size 2 with enough room to move, but this dress was so tight that I barely squeezed into the 4. It was worth it, though, because this sassy dress made my straight figure appear to be hourglass! The back was especially flattering ;) Definitely wear Spanx underneath if you want to be able to breathe while zipping it up. However, that's entirely optional because the ruching on this dress covered up any imperfections. The length was nice for being a mini dress, too. I expected it to barely cover my butt (knowing how dresses fit my long legs), but it hit comfortably mid-thigh. I loved this dress, and I definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
Amazing Dress!
Based on the other reviews I ordered a size up-- DEFINITELY the right call. I am 5'2'' 34DD (usually a 4) and the 6 fit like a glove. Dress looked amazing but I wouldn't recommend it for taller girls; I imagine it would be veryy short on someone taller than 5'5'' Overall, it's a really flattering LBD that I would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2011
Fits like a glove
This felt like a nice winter alternative LBD. It wasn't particularly special, but I'll bet it could be "grown up" with good jewelry. I ended up not wearing it to my corporate black tie event since it was a bit too plain/young feeling, but I think it would be great for a date!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2011
Ruching is perfect!!
I loved this dress overall the other that I rented but it was too tight at the waist and could not zip it, but otherwise I would have wore this one as it hides all the imperfections with the ruching, I was amazed at how well it really helps!! There was only the XS available on the date needed but if I would have had a small this is the dress I would have wore!! Cleavage is not too low at all it is perfect, lenght was perfect, but my body type is small but straight leaving me with a very large waist to really no waist at all!! Other than that I could have worn it and been very pleased on how i looked, Highly recommend this little black dress as well as any other than has the ruching, it really forgives all the imperfections that we all have!!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2011
My husband loved the dress on me, too! And it was still respectable enough to show me off to his co-workers :D
I loved wearing this dress. The only reason I said it "runs large" is because the arms were a little wide. Otherwise, it fit me to a T. It couldn't have been easier with Rent the Runway, either.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
great dress, a little small
this is a great dress, for day or night. i am usually a true size 8, but i have boobs, and the size 8 was just too small; luckily i got a backup size 10, which fit perfectly. the dress hit mid thigh, closer to the knee, so it was an appropriate length for a work party. i would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2011
Great dress to hide flaws!
This was a great dress, very tasteful and elegant. It was really comfortable and all the pleats made it super flattering. My only complaint is it ran a bit big. Even on the loose side, It still looked good.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Body type: Apple
November 6, 2011
Beautiful fit, gave me an hour glass figure. Conservative enough and sexy enough at the same time. Comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2011
This dress is really easy to wear - quite comfortable and very flattering. I wore it on New Year's Eve with embellished heels. The silhouette is simple, but the ruching amps up the design a bit. I loved the longer sleeves - no shivering in a drafty ballroom! I'm 5 ft. 2 and oscillate between 105 and 110 pounds. I tried both the size 2 and 4. The 2 was wearable for an evening, but a little loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2011
Renting this dress from RTR made me feel sexy and beautiful for my engagement shoot, and my fiance couldn't take his eyes off me!
I couldn't have been happier with this dress! I wore it for my engagement shoot in downtown LA and it was classy, elegant, and sexy. The ruching and silhouette was very flattering, and it fit true to size. The neckline looked great with an updo and flashy earrings. I'm 5'2" and it hit me right where it shows on the model.
DDecember 3, 2011
Lindsey- You look great in this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×