Rent the Runway

Alice by Temperley

Cowl Neck Sleeved Dress

$52 to buy
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sexy stunner from Alice by Temperley in a simple and sultry style that’s a perfect party piece.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Cowl neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. About 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

97 reviews

Fit
Small 49
True to Size 43
Large 5
Photos 23
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is really easy to wear - quite comfortable and very flattering. I wore it on New Year's Eve with embellished heels. The silhouette is simple, but the ruching amps up the design a bit. I loved the longer sleeves - no shivering in a drafty ballroom! I'm 5 ft. 2 and oscillate between 105 and 110 pounds. I tried both the size 2 and 4. The 2 was wearable for an evening, but a little loose.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Body type: Apple
Nov 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful fit, gave me an hour glass figure. Conservative enough and sexy enough at the same time. Comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

Great dress to hide flaws!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress, very tasteful and elegant. It was really comfortable and all the pleats made it super flattering. My only complaint is it ran a bit big. Even on the loose side, It still looked good.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2011

great dress, a little small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
this is a great dress, for day or night. i am usually a true size 8, but i have boobs, and the size 8 was just too small; luckily i got a backup size 10, which fit perfectly. the dress hit mid thigh, closer to the knee, so it was an appropriate length for a work party. i would definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2011

Ruching is perfect!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress overall the other that I rented but it was too tight at the waist and could not zip it, but otherwise I would have wore this one as it hides all the imperfections with the ruching, I was amazed at how well it really helps!! There was only the XS available on the date needed but if I would have had a small this is the dress I would have wore!! Cleavage is not too low at all it is perfect, lenght was perfect, but my body type is small but straight leaving me with a very large waist to really no waist at all!! Other than that I could have worn it and been very pleased on how i looked, Highly recommend this little black dress as well as any other than has the ruching, it really forgives all the imperfections that we all have!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

Fits like a glove

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This felt like a nice winter alternative LBD. It wasn't particularly special, but I'll bet it could be "grown up" with good jewelry. I ended up not wearing it to my corporate black tie event since it was a bit too plain/young feeling, but I think it would be great for a date!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Based on the other reviews I ordered a size up-- DEFINITELY the right call. I am 5'2'' 34DD (usually a 4) and the 6 fit like a glove. Dress looked amazing but I wouldn't recommend it for taller girls; I imagine it would be veryy short on someone taller than 5'5'' Overall, it's a really flattering LBD that I would absolutely rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

New Years Eve

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I have to admit, when I took the dress out of the box I was afraid I had received the wrong dress, however I was pleased once I put it on. I think my man liked the neckline best, alluring but not to flashy. I was surprised by how high up on my thigh the dress ended, especially since I'm only 5'3", but I think my hips were the reason for the rising hemline. And while I wasn't so keen on the dress clinging to my hips, the dress also accentuated my waistline so I think it all worked out. Also, I don't think this is a dancing dress, more of a stand around conversating sort of dress. Overall, the dress served me well this New Years, a fun time was had by all.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 7, 2012

Flattering no matter what size

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
No matter what size someone is this dress will flatter your best assets and hide the flaws. This dress looks amazing on don't be discouraged when you see it on the hanger. I promise you will love it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

Super Flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was so pretty. Sexy, but subtle. The ruching throughout was flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
May 7, 2012

Renting this one again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually in between sizes (8-10) I ordered up because of the previous reviews I read.. Thank god I did. Seems that there was a big jump of size between the 10 and 12. The size 10 fit like an 8 and the 12 fit like a 12. I was able to squeeze into the size 10, because the 12 was just too big. Besides that this dress looked awesome! Gave me curves that i don't even have because of the ruching all along the sides. Definetly renting this one again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Perfect for Date Night

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Love love loved this dress! I wore it on Valentine's Day with 5" black pumps. The snug fit is sexy, and the longer sleeves and conservative neckline make it sexy but not obnoxious. I'm 5'7" and the dress was shorter than in the picture by a few inches - if you have any butt this will be short!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Sexy but still tasteful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my bachelorette party last summer because we did a LBD theme. It was super comfy and looked great! I ended up wearing the smaller size and it hugged my curves in all the right places!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Perfect dress for a night out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a backup for New Year's Eve. I didn't wear it that night (not enough bling) but I did wear it out the next night. It's very flattering, particularly in the stomach area and very comfortable to wear. I would rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Simple but elegant

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was a very comfortable dress to wear. The material is on the thicker side its not thin. This dress can be worn to dinner or a formal affair.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Extremely flattering dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect for curvy girls- it shows off your waist, but the ruching/folds in the dress cover up any other body conscious areas. I did feel like it ran small and there was a small rip at the top of the zipper under my arm. It was completely wearable though and I got several compliments throughout the night! It was a bit shorter on me than on the model pictured.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Really perfect!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
So in size 12 I am pushing the limits of the size range RTR offers, but in this dress I'm not sorry about that at all! What an incredibly flattering and elegant dress! (Sorry no pictures!!) It has become a cliche but this dress really does flatter curves. I would worry about it being good for those at the smaller end of the spectrum. The ruching was just perfect, the décolletage and back cowl were dramatic. Can't recommend enough for those in the 10 - 12 range.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Sexy and so flattering

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
What a great dress!!! Covers up all the problem spots and gives you a sexy silhouette. Renting this dress again for next week's wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Simple LBD, but still managed to stick out in a crowd!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Everything I was looking for! I was a little nervous it would be too short, but the length was great. The material is slightly forgiving, but kept a great shape all night. My only problem was that the sleeves were a little snug/short in the underarm area.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

Great fashionable party dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
THis black dress was very flattering. The ruching accentuated my already defined hourglass shape. However, it is very fitted through the hips. Do not hesitate to order one size up!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Really flattering fit. Really hides any flaws that someone might have.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 12 because the 10 was unavailable. It was big on me, but I am sure if someone was really a 12 then it would be true to size. It's a great little black dress that you could wear for any occasion depending on how you accessorize. I recommend to all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6, but after reading the reviews ordered an 8 and boy am I glad I did. I wore it to the Met for an opera and it was perfect for that. It was a little short for what I usually wear and a little tight,but my date did not complain!!! I would rent this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Too small for me to wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a date night in Chicago. The dress was really tight and I wasn't able to get it zipped. It was my first time renting the runway, so maybe I just didn't know my real size. It would have been perfect if it would have been 1 size bigger.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

The Dress fit perfectly

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size dress was perfect
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Loved it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! It clinged to my curves and made me feel fantastic. The fabric was also a bit thicker so I didn't feel as if I was exposing any lumps or bumps. I got a LOT of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

So-So Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not the most flattering dress. Rented for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Runs small.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Nice ruching, great fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The ruching in this dress is not as obvious on the RTR model, but is really makes the dress flattering. It fits great and is really comfortable. I've also rented the Halston Heritage Eclipse off the shoulder black dress, and I prefer that one over this dress, but would still recommend this to someone looking for a basic black dress. It is sexy, but still classy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Great little black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This was a great little black dress, but I felt the ruching was loose on my dress. It felt stretched out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Loved this dress, it fit perfect and was really flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'9" so it was a little short on me!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Got the dress on time, as promised! But it didn't fit, so I had to return it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm usually a size 2, so I ordered the 2 and the 4 and neither one would zip! I'm 5' 4", 110 lbs., and a 32A - I'm pretty petite. So when the others say to order two sizes up - believe them! I was very disappointed that the dress didn't fit, because it is a beautiful lbd. The thing is, the 4 wouldn't zip all the way up, but the shoulders were falling off of me. I think the dimensions of this dress are made to accommodate women with a larger chest (to hold up the top) and an itty bitty waist (ti zip the side zipper!). I will say though, RTR Customer Service was amazing! Even though the dress didn't fit, I felt like they really cared, and were willing to help me out (even though it was my fault for not reading through the Fit Notes). I got a credit on my account and will definitely continue to use RTR!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 3, 2013

Simple LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I bought this dress as a back-up for the weekend. I ended up wearing it to a nice dinner with the hubby and I was pleased with it. The arms ran a little small but the ruching on the dress was a nice little detail. The dress was nice but didn't have as much "pop" as I was envisioning. Still a great LBD
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Dress was very HEAVY was not flattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
May be good for people trying to look thinner cuz It fit like a spanx but not flattering on me
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

A wee bit wee

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really excited to wear this body con number however, I just couldn't do it. I'm a petite girl but since god blessed me with hips, a booty, and thighs, this dress was a leeeeetle too much for me, especially since I was hoping to dress it down a bit. Oh, that reminds me, I also thought for some reason that the fabric of this dress was going to be more like jersey--it was slinkier than I expected and I did not care for it. All in all, on a inverted triangle body, this would be an amazing dress--it just wasn't for yours truly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! It was perfect for a rehearsal dinner and would work perfectly for a lot of other functions as well! It's pretty simple but the tightness around the middle and the scoop neck give the dress the little something extra it needs to really stand out. The only thing to watch out for is the sizing. I'm so happy I read the reviews and ordered a size up. I'm usually a 2 but ordered the 4 and am so happy I did because getting into the 4 wasn't easy. However, once I was in the dress (with help from my boyfriend) I was very happy with the way it looked. It's one of those dressed that looks small and is difficult to get into but once you're wearing it you don't feel like its tight at all. Out of all the dresses I've rented from RTR this has been the simplest and my favorite.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

The right amount of sexy and understated

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress hugs all the curves while providing the coverage of selves. This dress is a snug material so walking up the stairs will cause the dress to ride up. Very comfy in general.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Sexy without showing too much...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion, which I was very nervous for. Just like most every woman, I was feeling self conscious about my weight and wanted a dress that would flatter me without showing too much skin. Well, this dress did just that and I felt great! The one downside was that it got very hot when I was dancing. That is really the only bad thing I can say about it though. I was thrilled with the dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Nice dress but a little short (and fabric was torn!)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear this dress because the one a received had a huge tear down the seam. That said, RTR staff were very helpful and did everything possible to fix the situtation. I did try the dress on anyway, and it was very flattering and sexy. I think it would have been just a tad too short for what I needed it for (a more formal cocktail dinner), but had it been a slightly more casual and non work-related event, I would have loved to wear this dress. It is a tight fit, though, and seriously takes an extra person to get out of it - the inside layer isn't stretchy at all, but more of a shell, so it's hard to to maneuver in.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Great customer service!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress a lot, but I rented it for my industry's awards banquet and it was just too short/tight to wear to a work event. I'm usually a 0 without fail, but the smallest size for this dress is a 2. I saw that everyone ordered a size up so I got the 2 and the 4 thinking I'd be golden, but even the 4 was just too small. A 6 probably would have been ok, so I recommend going 2 sizes up! I told RTR that it didn't fit and they overnighted me a different dress that worked out great - so take advantage of the great customer service!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Understated sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit amazing - rented for dinner party. Perfect LBD, easy to dress up with accessories.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 7, 2013

Perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress definitely runs small (I usually wear a 6 but the 8 fit perfectly). Super comfortable and, while short, the bottom doesn't ride up. Loved it! The fit advice for the dress was spot on.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×