Rent the Runway

Alice by Temperley

All About Crochet Sheath

$40 rental
$575 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this Alice by Temperley red lace sheath. A simple yet stunning style that is first-date attire worthy! Shown here with the Whiting & Davis Black Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red lace over nude lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Scoop neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye-closure. Lined (100% polyester). 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

66 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 35
Large 24
Photos 34
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 31, 2013

Stylist Review!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super easy! I loved the red crochet over the nude lining. The way the seaming detail contours your waist is incredibly flattering. This dress did run slightly big so I would size down for backup and it may be a more difficult dress for petite women. It hit just above my knee. Overall, a great dress for a spring event!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Amazing dress for the Go Red for Women events!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress! I had multiple events for the American Heart Association, and I needed to wear a red dress to all of them. So, rather than buying multiple red dresses, I tried RTR dresses. AMAZING! This dress was absolutely stunning on! I got a ton of compliments! I paired with patent nude heels to complete the look.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Easy, flattering and fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
i wore this to a friends wedding in April and was very impressed with the dress. The fit was great and I honestly felt so comfortable all night long. I'm typically between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer and I easily fit into the 4. I'm tall and wore about 3 inch heals and the length was perfect. You won't regret getting this dress. It will look great with minimal effort.
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2013

This dress was prefect for an outdoor evening wedding. I received many compliments & was comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly, the color was beautiful and I was comfortable all night. The dress was a little heavy for warmer weather but not unbearable. The dress did fit a little large and I had to wear the smaller size.
Shanti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 23, 2013

Beautiful dress, perfect for my graduation

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my graduation from my master's program and I was very happy with my choice. It was my back-up dress, so I had to take my chances with one size (2), and luckily, it fit absolutely perfectly. It is the perfect dress for a formal event, very appropriate length, and a nice neckline that allows you to wear a regular bra. It was also totally comfortable, and didn't show a single wrinkle after sitting for hours. I only wish it hadn't been covered up by my graduation gown all morning...
RCH19
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 27, 2013

This dress is beautiful, but it wasn't flattering on me.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved it. Really. I'm not sure what it was -- the red is very red, but it was just loose. Perhaps if I had ordered down a size I'd feel differently. I wore it and felt okay. I think this is a dress that's more appropriate for a work event or church event rather than an evening wedding. The best part about it is the ability to wear a regular bra.
JB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

A pretty dress you can move in!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for a wedding--it was elegant but not overly fancy, fitted but built for dancing, and a great, fun color. I loved it! The only suggestion I have is to size down... I would have liked it SLIGHTLY more fitted than the 6, which is already on the low end of what I usually wear. Overall tho, great dress.
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Lovely, classy dress for a party

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got compliments all night on this dress--the color, the lace, the shape--everyone loved it. I wore a 10 in order to accommodate my hips and bust (34DDD) and the dress had enough stretch to fit snugly in those areas. However, it then didn't hug as closely to my waist which made the dress a little less flattering than I would have hoped. I thought to try a belt but because the fabric only has a little stretch and an otherwise well defined shape, the belt made the material fold and buckle which was more unflattering than the illusion of a wider than actual waist. I would not recommend this dress if you have a true hour glass figure where your waist is dramatically smaller than your bust and hips.
Jayme
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

That dress was made for you!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect fit, perfect color. Nude shoes were, well, perfect with it! People could not get over this dress and when they found out it was a RTR, they asked if I could buy it because it was seemingly made for me. I got this dress for $25 as a bonus rental since I was renting a formal for the same weekend, and it sole the show.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

Gorgeous, flattering dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so pretty and flattering. It's an excellent choice for a taller woman, since most dresses that are "knee-length" end up being minis :) I received tons of compliments and felt comfortable and happy all night!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2013

Perfect dress for summer day wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall great experience with RTR. This dress was made well and a great classy, yet stylish dress for a daytime summer wedding. Hit right at the knee for me as I'm 5'1" and was comfortable and light weight for the summer heat.
Amanda
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

The compliments were never ending and I felt amazing in red!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect and I felt beautiful and comfortable!
Caren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

A random lady on the street told me how much she loved the dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Color was coral not pink. Beautiful! Fit was great and it's so comfortable! Love Rent the Runway and can't wait for my next event!!! So fun!
Carole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

I wore this to my aunt's day wedding. It was very comfortable. I received lots of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits well. I could have worn the 4, but I liked the looseness of the six because it was a long day. I loved the length, a couple inches above the knee. I would definitely rent this again for a not-too-dressy event.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
May 3, 2014

Felt amazing

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried the 8 would be too small for my 34E bust. It was perfect. This dress made me feel awesome and it was comfy. I'm a true inverted triangle shape the fit was great. I'm usually a 10 but the 8 was perfect.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 5, 2014

I loved everything about this dress!! It's comfortable and fits like a glove.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was perfect for my curvy shape and just made me feel like a million bucks.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2014

A perfect RED dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loooved this dress. Red is my favorite color, and I was determined to wear this dress. I normally rent a 14 with a 12 for back up, so I was nervous even though all the reviews said that this dress ran big. I am so glad I listened, because it was true. I got the 12 with the 10 just to see...and I fit in the 10 perfectly! However, I ended up wearing the 12 even though it was big on top, because the nude slip hung too far down in the back of the dress on the size 10. But I was very comfortable all night and would highly recommend this dress and definitely would rent it again.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2014

The red lace was beautiful on

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as a back up for a wedding I attended. I got it a size up from what I normally wear since I wanted to be comfortable and I'm typically somewhere in-between an 8 and a 10. While I didn't wear it to the wedding, I got the chance to wear it the following night, when my husband surprised me with dinner reservations at a nice restaurant. The dress was perfect for a night out, and when paired with a jean jacket and some wedges it didn't feel overly dressy, but I could see how it could be dressed up for a more formal occasion. I loved the fact I could wear a real bra, and that there was no need for spanx underneath. It was great for a spontaneous date night.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Beautiful color & comfortable dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress fits much as other reviewers have described. The fabric has a nice stretch and it's such a comfortable dress. I am usually between a 6 and an 8, but the 6 fit me very well. I was swimming in the 8. The color is a beautiful corally-red. I wore nude shoes and a simple necklace. The only downside was that the crocheted/lace top layer would catch on my bracelet, so I had to take that off for part of the evening. I didn't want to snag the fabric or create a tear. It's a lovely dress, highly recommended, and I would rent it again.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Pretty dress, exactly as it looks

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fairly casual outdoor wedding. I think I would have worn the 0 if it was available, but the 2 fit OK. The dress was very sweet and appropriate for the occasion. Not a showstopper, but it's nice and there were no surprises. It looks and fit pretty much exactly how it does in the picture
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2014

Dress is so comfortable!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress with my free dress birthday credit (thanks RTR Pro!) and wore it on a date with my boyfriend. It is SO comfortable - no worries about over eating and not being able to breathe! I also love the color - it's bright and unique without being flashy or loud.
Whitney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Loved this dress. Was worn to a fundraising event. Got a lot of compliments on it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits well. Needed help zipping it up. wore with black heels and used a black handbag. Not too short, I was able to sit it in and still feel comfortable. Showed off my figure, which is hard because I am pretty straight up and down. Would recommend this dress! I liked it because it had color and was not plain, as my usual dresses are.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

So comfortable and chic!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6 and the 4, but I normally wear a 6. I tried the 6 on first and thought it fit OK. The nude liner was peeking out below the coral crochet hem, so I would have had to pin or fashion tape it to match. I then tried on the 4 and the hem was perfect and it fit as well, so I decided to go with the 4. I received so many compliments and felt fantastic all night! I would definitely recommend this dress!
gogomegho
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a September wedding and received many compliments. I usually wear a size 8 or 10, but based on the reviews I was confident I should order a size 8. It fits pretty true to size, although I would have liked it a *tiny* bit tighter, but it was still great. The dress has enough give so it could probably fit several body types. I also brought a black blazer with me to the wedding in case it got cold and you can totally dress it down for a work event.
Shelley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Perfect for a fun wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wear between a size 4 and 2 in dresses. I ended up wearing the 2, although both fit. The dress is extremely comfortable and easy to wear. I love love loved it!
Mika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Comfy and elegance!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect, not tooo tight and not too big. It was such a wonderful color that you dont normally see. I would rent this dress again!
Ruthann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

The dress was lovely and appropriate for the business party I wore it to.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I could have worn either the 6 or the 4 but went with the 6 because it gave me a bit more room across the bust. The dress was very pretty and in excellent condition. Festive but appropriate for the business party I wore it to.
Allison
Age: 54
Nov 9, 2014

This was my first time using RTR and I loved the convenience and variety!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size, and this dress was so very comfy.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Color pops and photographs great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6/8, but got a 4 as a backup size after reading other reviews. I fit into the 4, but went with the 6 because the 4 rubbed a bit under the arms. Pretty and comfortable - plus the red stands out great!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

Didn't wear - too large & lining too long

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this to wear to a baptism where I was the god mother. I read reviews and knew it ran large. I typically would wear a 12 (on a good day), wanted to rent a 10 & 12, but the 10 was not available. The 12 came and was large. I contemplated making it work, but then I noticed the lining rand longer than the dress. Too big and the extra lining made me look sloppy in this, so I opted for something else I had in my closet.
Alice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 31, 2015

Ordered a backup dress, ended up wearing it for church!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Dress runs large, I loved the color and the quality was top notch. I just felt it didn't flatter me that much. I am curvy and I don't think where the dress cut, along with it being a little big, worked very well on me.
Ally
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

I really like the crochet overlay. It is pretty and elegant.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Classy, attractive, and looks like an expensive dress. Cons: The color is red (I thought it would be peach), and the dress is clingy. It needs Spanx to even out bumps!
B
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Just "meh".

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Maybe it's just my skin tone, but I was not in love with this dress. I think it looks great on some of the other girls in the photos, so I'm pretty sure it's just me. I tried on two different sizes and both left me feeling "blah". Also, the lining seemed to be peeking out from under the bottom of the dress, which I wasn't very fond of. Didn't end up wearing it.
Pamela
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
May 9, 2015

Great color, photographs well. Can wear with a normal bra.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs large, I'm glad I read the other reviews and went with a smaller size. Doesn't look like much on the hanger, but looks great on and in photos. I had read a previous review of the size 12 which mentioned that the liner hung lower than the top layer and was bummed that RTR hadn't fixed that before sending it to me. My Mom had to hem the liner in the front, but it looked great after that.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2015

Gorgeous dress and a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While some people said the dress ran big, I thought it ran true to size! I got a ton of compliments throughout the day. I wore it to a brunch first, and then a nighttime wedding. I would rent it again!
Holly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2015

Comfortable but flattering and lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress for a conservative after-graduation event. I could move easily with no fear of bra straps showing, etc. but it was still eye-catching and slimming. I have a pear shape, and it wasn't tight on my hips. It fell just about an inch or so above my knee. I'm a mom, and it was just easy to wear. I highly recommend this dress!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

Wore this for my med school graduation. I wish it hadn't been covered by my gown the whole time.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I normally wear 6-8, though I may have lost a little weight recently. The 6 was too large and the 4 fit perfectly, so I'm glad I sized down for my back up. It was beautiful and relatively comfortable. I didn't have any real problems with the lining, and the color was true to the photos. It may not have been THE most flattering for my body type (I have a pretty square torso), but I thought it worked really well. Normally I gauge a dress based on how many compliments I get, but I wore this under my graduation gown almost the whole time so I couldn't say this time.
Hillery
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 3, 2015

Lovely! Work appropriate and pretty. Color is a deeper, richer red than it appears in photos.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Comfortable and easy to wear. Only gripe is that the liner tends to bunch in places like the buttcrack. Dress also looked a bit worn in places--it's not in totally new condition. I'm usually a 4/6, and the 4 was slightly roomy. Overall happy with it though! Was complimented.
Janet
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

Comfy for dancing!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses. The 4 was huge, and the 2 was great. Comfortable and left room for dancing comfortably! It was a very light dress, which was perfect since it was 95 and humid at the wedding! I didn't think it was the most flattering on me, but I got lots of compliments :) I would definitely recommend.
Lizzie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Jun 21, 2015

The color was great. Fit was modest, yet sexy.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good. Was going to wear the 4, but it made the lining look too bunchy. In fact, I thought the lining would have appeared bunchy in pics. ( even with the 2), but it didn't at all. Photographed how I hoped it would. Also, the lining was about an inch shorter than the hem of the outer part of the dress. I saw a review where someone said the lining was longer than the outer part. Which was definitely not the case!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×