Alice by Temperley

All About Crochet Sheath

$87 to buy
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this Alice by Temperley red lace sheath. A simple yet stunning style that is first-date attire worthy! Shown here with the Whiting & Davis Black Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace over nude lining (100% Cotton). Cap sleeves. Scoop neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye-closure. Lined (100% polyester). 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
87 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Lovely! Work appropriate and pretty. Color is a deeper, richer red than it appears in photos.
Comfortable and easy to wear. Only gripe is that the liner tends to bunch in places like the buttcrack. Dress also looked a bit worn in places--it's not in totally new condition. I'm usually a 4/6, and the 4 was slightly roomy. Overall happy with it though! Was complimented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2013
This dress was prefect for an outdoor evening wedding. I received many compliments & was comfortable
This dress fit perfectly, the color was beautiful and I was comfortable all night. The dress was a little heavy for warmer weather but not unbearable. The dress did fit a little large and I had to wear the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2015
Wore both dresses!! haha!
I don't fit well in dresses with waists. My waist is 2" higher than dresses allow for generally. My boobs tend to be also, so I generally go for dresses that I can easily cinch the straps up 2" on. I risked it this time, but it worked out. I started in the size 8, because it was a touch longer and not as snug. I wore that to the ceremony, and then between the ceremony and the party, my friend told me to try on the 6... which ended up making me feel much more confident, even if it was shorter. It wasn't easy to 'get down' at the wedding with such a short dress, but I'm fairly modest, and I survived! Note that I'm probably pretty pear shaped. I'd recommend this dress for more "straight and narrow" or even 'athletic" builds. It didn't hinder my hips, but I would have loved a belt with it. I was traveling, so.... no belt added on for me :) The high neckline made it so I didn't need a necklace - i went with long earrings instead, and the lace felt fancy enough. In fact, for this particular wedding, I was a little extra-dressed-up in my opinion!! (I could have gone with a nice maxi, lol)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2015
Beautiful dress for a summer wedding!
I wasn't sure if I should go dressy or casual for my event, but this dress works well for either! I had a lot of fun wearing this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
July 17, 2015
Pretty dress but size up for large chests
This dress is really pretty-- it looks just like the picture! However, I found my normal size to be pretty tight around my bust, so larger chested ladies may want to size up. RTR didn't have a larger size available for my dates, so I made it work, but it's something to keep in mind if you're thinking of ordering this very cute & classy dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
July 30, 2015
Summer Blaze!
The color of this dress is to die for! My mother had picked this dress out for my little sister to wear to a wedding reception, but ended up wearing another dress since this one was a little too wide. In my opinion, it was a little too old for her age (18), but others could probably pull it off better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2015
The dress was perfect. Hope it goes on sale.
Beautiful. Numerous compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2015
Perfect length for tall girls!
I wore this to a graduation and wanted a dress with modest length but not way down to my knees. It fit really well and the color is bright in person. It was perfect for the occasion but I wouldn't rent it for an occasion where I was going for a hotter look
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2015
Amazing dress - received so many compliments!
I have nothing bad to say about this dress. I love it. It runs a little large - I'm usually an 8 and the 6 fit perfectly. It is form fitting yet forgiving at the same time. I would buy it if I could.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
August 14, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
I had read that this dress ran big, so I sized down. I should have stayed with a 6, but I only had a size 4. The 4 fit but was tight. It was a beautiful dress though! Perfect for the rehearsal dinner I attended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 26, 2015
dancing!
Fit very well, overall. It was a little bit longer than I wanted, but appropriate for the event. I am usually either a size 2 or 4.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2015
The process was so easy. It was my first order. I loved having a new dress to wear for my occassion
Fit perfectly in the bust. Was a bit tight in waist, but if I had worn spanx or something to suck in my gut it would have helped, but I feeling lazy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2015
RTR sent this as a backup dress - great service!
I chose my original dress but this looked great too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
November 23, 2015
Comfortable and super cute.
Comfortable and super cute. Fit a little bigger then I would of liked, but overall a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 15, 2016
Great dress for day time work event
As other reviewers noted the lining tends to slip below the lace but this wasn't too terrible to fix as the day went on. I wore this for a day time awards event for work and paired it with nude heels. It photographed well. Not sure I'd rent again, it worked but I wasn't ecstatic about it. True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
March 3, 2016
Gorgeous!
This is a gorgeous and comfortable dress--perfect for our Valentine's Day dinner date.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2016
The dress was very comfortable and perfect for an afternoon wedding!
I had read that this dress ran small, but the size 4 (my usual size) fit perfectly, although bustier ladies would probably want to size up. The dress was very comfortable and perfect for an afternoon wedding. I wore it with nude pumps and a statement necklace. The lining looked a little wrinkled due to curves when I tried it on in front of the mirror, but you couldn't tell at all when I was out and about. The color is very flattering! Great first experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2013
Gorgeous, flattering dress!
This dress is so pretty and flattering. It's an excellent choice for a taller woman, since most dresses that are "knee-length" end up being minis :) I received tons of compliments and felt comfortable and happy all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 22, 2014
Beautiful color & comfortable dress!
This dress fits much as other reviewers have described. The fabric has a nice stretch and it's such a comfortable dress. I am usually between a 6 and an 8, but the 6 fit me very well. I was swimming in the 8. The color is a beautiful corally-red. I wore nude shoes and a simple necklace. The only downside was that the crocheted/lace top layer would catch on my bracelet, so I had to take that off for part of the evening. I didn't want to snag the fabric or create a tear. It's a lovely dress, highly recommended, and I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
November 9, 2014
This was my first time using RTR and I loved the convenience and variety!
The fit was true to size, and this dress was so very comfy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
March 30, 2015
Didn't wear - too large & lining too long
I rented this to wear to a baptism where I was the god mother. I read reviews and knew it ran large. I typically would wear a 12 (on a good day), wanted to rent a 10 & 12, but the 10 was not available. The 12 came and was large. I contemplated making it work, but then I noticed the lining rand longer than the dress. Too big and the extra lining made me look sloppy in this, so I opted for something else I had in my closet.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 17, 2015
Comfy for dancing!
I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses. The 4 was huge, and the 2 was great. Comfortable and left room for dancing comfortably! It was a very light dress, which was perfect since it was 95 and humid at the wedding! I didn't think it was the most flattering on me, but I got lots of compliments :) I would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
June 21, 2015
The color was great. Fit was modest, yet sexy.
Fit was good. Was going to wear the 4, but it made the lining look too bunchy. In fact, I thought the lining would have appeared bunchy in pics. ( even with the 2), but it didn't at all. Photographed how I hoped it would. Also, the lining was about an inch shorter than the hem of the outer part of the dress. I saw a review where someone said the lining was longer than the outer part. Which was definitely not the case!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
Perfect dress for summer day wedding!
Overall great experience with RTR. This dress was made well and a great classy, yet stylish dress for a daytime summer wedding. Hit right at the knee for me as I'm 5'1" and was comfortable and light weight for the summer heat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 31, 2014
Comfortable and flattering!
Redder than imagined in the photo. The nude liner worked well for my complexion and blonde hair. The fitness perfect, though the liner ran longer than the dresses hem in the back .... Nothing fashion tape can't fix.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
I loved everything about this dress!! It's comfortable and fits like a glove.
It was perfect for my curvy shape and just made me feel like a million bucks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 7, 2013
gorgeous and elegant
I wore this dress to dinner in NYC to celebrate my 5th wedding anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful and fit perfectly. I liked that I didn't need a special bra as the 'cap sleeves' covered nicely and that it was knee length. I felt like an elegant lady and have no complaints about this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
February 17, 2013
The entire experience from ordering to opening the package was fantastic!
Absolutely love this dress. I am petite on top and have wider hips -- this dress did a great job of accentuating the positives and minimizing the negatives. I felt like a million bucks in it especially paired with the Nicole Miller earrings recommended by the RTR stylist! Both were beautiful on and so incredibly comfortable too. I was so impressed with the packaging- all the samples included made me feel like it was Christmas. Both dresses were in impeccable shape! Can't wait to rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2013
Great engagement party dress
I got so many compliments on this dress. The color is really flattering, even though it is winter and I am super pale with blonde hair. I would definitely rent this again. It does run large - I am usually a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
Very pretty dress, runs a bit large
Great color, very classy and versatile style, totally comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 4, 2013
If only I could keep it
This dress is amazing. It is so beautiful and oh my goodness is it comfortable! I received many many compliments. The color is so pretty, not too bright, not too dark. The lining under was full coverage and the dress allowed a bit of stretch. It hit right above the knee which was perfect for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 6, 2013
Perfect for daytime bridal shower.
Ran long on short frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
August 10, 2013
Beautiful dress
Definitely size down... I usually a 12 but this was loose around the waist and runs big on top-- in the shoulder and bust area... I didn't even realize it had a zipper because it was large enough to just slip on... Lots of compliments on this dress...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2013
Colorful, comfortable and perfect for a party
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the dress. I was surprised at first how there was a nude underlay with coral crochet on top. I wasn't expecting the nude underlay to be so noticeable, but it didn't matter. I received a lot of compliments and found the dress to be very comfortable. It was nice to wear a regular bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2013
Lots of compliments
I wore with a cardigan over it for a rehearsal dinner. The color is pretty and the fit is relatively flattering, but not one of my favorite dresses -- the lining was a little clingy (probably should be worn with a slip underneath), and the shape/material/waist wasn't ideal for my curvy/pear shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
October 20, 2014
The dress was lovely and appropriate for the business party I wore it to.
I could have worn either the 6 or the 4 but went with the 6 because it gave me a bit more room across the bust. The dress was very pretty and in excellent condition. Festive but appropriate for the business party I wore it to.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2015
Just "meh".
Maybe it's just my skin tone, but I was not in love with this dress. I think it looks great on some of the other girls in the photos, so I'm pretty sure it's just me. I tried on two different sizes and both left me feeling "blah". Also, the lining seemed to be peeking out from under the bottom of the dress, which I wasn't very fond of. Didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2015
Gorgeous dress and a lot of compliments!
While some people said the dress ran big, I thought it ran true to size! I got a ton of compliments throughout the day. I wore it to a brunch first, and then a nighttime wedding. I would rent it again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
July 17, 2015
Lovely
Did not wear this (didn't have my backup size ready to ship in time) but loved it! Tried on the 4 and could have worn it but I have a feeling the 2 would have looked better. Without trying on the smaller size it's hard to definitively say but felt like it ran large. Great color. I'm planning on renting this for another wedding later this summer.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 29, 2015
great night!
I got a 6 and an 8 not sure which i'd use. The 6 fit but was not too tight. it fit great
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×