Alice by Temperley

All About Crochet Sheath

$87 to buy
$575 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this Alice by Temperley red lace sheath. A simple yet stunning style that is first-date attire worthy! Shown here with the Whiting & Davis Black Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace over nude lining (100% Cotton). Cap sleeves. Scoop neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye-closure. Lined (100% polyester). 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
87 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
The red lace was beautiful on
I rented this dress as a back up for a wedding I attended. I got it a size up from what I normally wear since I wanted to be comfortable and I'm typically somewhere in-between an 8 and a 10. While I didn't wear it to the wedding, I got the chance to wear it the following night, when my husband surprised me with dinner reservations at a nice restaurant. The dress was perfect for a night out, and when paired with a jean jacket and some wedges it didn't feel overly dressy, but I could see how it could be dressed up for a more formal occasion. I loved the fact I could wear a real bra, and that there was no need for spanx underneath. It was great for a spontaneous date night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2014
Pretty dress, exactly as it looks
I wore this dress to a fairly casual outdoor wedding. I think I would have worn the 0 if it was available, but the 2 fit OK. The dress was very sweet and appropriate for the occasion. Not a showstopper, but it's nice and there were no surprises. It looks and fit pretty much exactly how it does in the picture
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2014
Dress is so comfortable!
I rented this dress with my free dress birthday credit (thanks RTR Pro!) and wore it on a date with my boyfriend. It is SO comfortable - no worries about over eating and not being able to breathe! I also love the color - it's bright and unique without being flashy or loud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2014
Loved this dress. Was worn to a fundraising event. Got a lot of compliments on it.
Fits well. Needed help zipping it up. wore with black heels and used a black handbag. Not too short, I was able to sit it in and still feel comfortable. Showed off my figure, which is hard because I am pretty straight up and down. Would recommend this dress! I liked it because it had color and was not plain, as my usual dresses are.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 1, 2014
So many compliments!
I wore this to a September wedding and received many compliments. I usually wear a size 8 or 10, but based on the reviews I was confident I should order a size 8. It fits pretty true to size, although I would have liked it a *tiny* bit tighter, but it was still great. The dress has enough give so it could probably fit several body types. I also brought a black blazer with me to the wedding in case it got cold and you can totally dress it down for a work event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2014
Comfy and elegance!
The fit was perfect, not tooo tight and not too big. It was such a wonderful color that you dont normally see. I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2013
Stylist Review!
This dress was super easy! I loved the red crochet over the nude lining. The way the seaming detail contours your waist is incredibly flattering. This dress did run slightly big so I would size down for backup and it may be a more difficult dress for petite women. It hit just above my knee. Overall, a great dress for a spring event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
March 17, 2013
Amazing dress for the Go Red for Women events!
Perfect dress! I had multiple events for the American Heart Association, and I needed to wear a red dress to all of them. So, rather than buying multiple red dresses, I tried RTR dresses. AMAZING! This dress was absolutely stunning on! I got a ton of compliments! I paired with patent nude heels to complete the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2013
Beautiful dress, perfect for my graduation
I rented this for my graduation from my master's program and I was very happy with my choice. It was my back-up dress, so I had to take my chances with one size (2), and luckily, it fit absolutely perfectly. It is the perfect dress for a formal event, very appropriate length, and a nice neckline that allows you to wear a regular bra. It was also totally comfortable, and didn't show a single wrinkle after sitting for hours. I only wish it hadn't been covered up by my graduation gown all morning...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 22, 2013
Lovely, classy dress for a party
I got compliments all night on this dress--the color, the lace, the shape--everyone loved it. I wore a 10 in order to accommodate my hips and bust (34DDD) and the dress had enough stretch to fit snugly in those areas. However, it then didn't hug as closely to my waist which made the dress a little less flattering than I would have hoped. I thought to try a belt but because the fabric only has a little stretch and an otherwise well defined shape, the belt made the material fold and buckle which was more unflattering than the illusion of a wider than actual waist. I would not recommend this dress if you have a true hour glass figure where your waist is dramatically smaller than your bust and hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
July 30, 2013
pretty and comfortable
I wore this for a rehursal dinner. I actually wore it all day at work, prior to the event. It is classy, pretty, and extremely comfortable. The compliments never stopped. I loved this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2013
That dress was made for you!
Perfect fit, perfect color. Nude shoes were, well, perfect with it! People could not get over this dress and when they found out it was a RTR, they asked if I could buy it because it was seemingly made for me. I got this dress for $25 as a bonus rental since I was renting a formal for the same weekend, and it sole the show.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2013
RTR staff was so helpful! I appreciated all their help.
Absolutely loved the dress, I wish I could have kept it! It fit perfectly and was both classy and sexy at the same time. Was a nice fabric and wonderful fit. The length was great too, not too short, but not long. Best dress I've ever worn by far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 69
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 7, 2014
Great fit, great quality
Loved the fit of the dress, the seaming slimmed the look and feel of the dress. Wore to dinner during the holidays and received several compliments. The color is a soft red, very flattering and festive
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 3, 2014
Beautiful Dress
This dress is beautiful. The top layer was very soft and light weight. The nude layer had a little stretch to it and was very soft on your skin. I paired it with a nude belt, nude pumps, and a little cardigan. Perfect for the March bridal shower. I did wish I had ordered the size 8 though. I had plenty of room in the 10.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
Unique, cute and comfortable
Dress was well lined. The color was great and looked very nice in photos. Perfect for an outdoor summer wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 24, 2014
The compliments were never ending and I felt amazing in red!
The fit was perfect and I felt beautiful and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2014
A random lady on the street told me how much she loved the dress!!!
Color was coral not pink. Beautiful! Fit was great and it's so comfortable! Love Rent the Runway and can't wait for my next event!!! So fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 14, 2014
If it was smaller
I'm sure that if I had ordered the 0, it would've fit like a glove, but even with that the cut was unflattering for my figure. My petite frame was swamped in the fabric and it didn't really do much for me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
I wore this to my aunt's day wedding. It was very comfortable. I received lots of compliments.
This dress fits well. I could have worn the 4, but I liked the looseness of the six because it was a long day. I loved the length, a couple inches above the knee. I would definitely rent this again for a not-too-dressy event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2015
Wore both dresses!! haha!
I don't fit well in dresses with waists. My waist is 2" higher than dresses allow for generally. My boobs tend to be also, so I generally go for dresses that I can easily cinch the straps up 2" on. I risked it this time, but it worked out. I started in the size 8, because it was a touch longer and not as snug. I wore that to the ceremony, and then between the ceremony and the party, my friend told me to try on the 6... which ended up making me feel much more confident, even if it was shorter. It wasn't easy to 'get down' at the wedding with such a short dress, but I'm fairly modest, and I survived! Note that I'm probably pretty pear shaped. I'd recommend this dress for more "straight and narrow" or even 'athletic" builds. It didn't hinder my hips, but I would have loved a belt with it. I was traveling, so.... no belt added on for me :) The high neckline made it so I didn't need a necklace - i went with long earrings instead, and the lace felt fancy enough. In fact, for this particular wedding, I was a little extra-dressed-up in my opinion!! (I could have gone with a nice maxi, lol)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2015
Beautiful dress for a summer wedding!
I wasn't sure if I should go dressy or casual for my event, but this dress works well for either! I had a lot of fun wearing this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
July 17, 2015
Pretty dress but size up for large chests
This dress is really pretty-- it looks just like the picture! However, I found my normal size to be pretty tight around my bust, so larger chested ladies may want to size up. RTR didn't have a larger size available for my dates, so I made it work, but it's something to keep in mind if you're thinking of ordering this very cute & classy dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2015
The dress was perfect. Hope it goes on sale.
Beautiful. Numerous compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
August 14, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
I had read that this dress ran big, so I sized down. I should have stayed with a 6, but I only had a size 4. The 4 fit but was tight. It was a beautiful dress though! Perfect for the rehearsal dinner I attended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 26, 2015
dancing!
Fit very well, overall. It was a little bit longer than I wanted, but appropriate for the event. I am usually either a size 2 or 4.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2015
The process was so easy. It was my first order. I loved having a new dress to wear for my occassion
Fit perfectly in the bust. Was a bit tight in waist, but if I had worn spanx or something to suck in my gut it would have helped, but I feeling lazy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2015
RTR sent this as a backup dress - great service!
I chose my original dress but this looked great too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
March 3, 2016
Gorgeous!
This is a gorgeous and comfortable dress--perfect for our Valentine's Day dinner date.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2016
The dress was very comfortable and perfect for an afternoon wedding!
I had read that this dress ran small, but the size 4 (my usual size) fit perfectly, although bustier ladies would probably want to size up. The dress was very comfortable and perfect for an afternoon wedding. I wore it with nude pumps and a statement necklace. The lining looked a little wrinkled due to curves when I tried it on in front of the mirror, but you couldn't tell at all when I was out and about. The color is very flattering! Great first experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2013
Gorgeous, flattering dress!
This dress is so pretty and flattering. It's an excellent choice for a taller woman, since most dresses that are "knee-length" end up being minis :) I received tons of compliments and felt comfortable and happy all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
November 9, 2014
This was my first time using RTR and I loved the convenience and variety!
The fit was true to size, and this dress was so very comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
Perfect dress for summer day wedding!
Overall great experience with RTR. This dress was made well and a great classy, yet stylish dress for a daytime summer wedding. Hit right at the knee for me as I'm 5'1" and was comfortable and light weight for the summer heat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 31, 2014
Comfortable and flattering!
Redder than imagined in the photo. The nude liner worked well for my complexion and blonde hair. The fitness perfect, though the liner ran longer than the dresses hem in the back .... Nothing fashion tape can't fix.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
I loved everything about this dress!! It's comfortable and fits like a glove.
It was perfect for my curvy shape and just made me feel like a million bucks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 7, 2013
gorgeous and elegant
I wore this dress to dinner in NYC to celebrate my 5th wedding anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful and fit perfectly. I liked that I didn't need a special bra as the 'cap sleeves' covered nicely and that it was knee length. I felt like an elegant lady and have no complaints about this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 4, 2013
If only I could keep it
This dress is amazing. It is so beautiful and oh my goodness is it comfortable! I received many many compliments. The color is so pretty, not too bright, not too dark. The lining under was full coverage and the dress allowed a bit of stretch. It hit right above the knee which was perfect for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 6, 2013
Perfect for daytime bridal shower.
Ran long on short frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2013
Colorful, comfortable and perfect for a party
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the dress. I was surprised at first how there was a nude underlay with coral crochet on top. I wasn't expecting the nude underlay to be so noticeable, but it didn't matter. I received a lot of compliments and found the dress to be very comfortable. It was nice to wear a regular bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2013
Lots of compliments
I wore with a cardigan over it for a rehearsal dinner. The color is pretty and the fit is relatively flattering, but not one of my favorite dresses -- the lining was a little clingy (probably should be worn with a slip underneath), and the shape/material/waist wasn't ideal for my curvy/pear shape.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×