All About Crochet Sheath

$40 rental
$575 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this Alice by Temperley red lace sheath. A simple yet stunning style that is first-date attire worthy! Shown here with the Whiting & Davis Black Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red lace over nude lining (100% Cotton). Cap sleeves. Scoop neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye-closure. Lined (100% polyester). 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large27
True to Size46
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2014
Dress is so comfortable!
I rented this dress with my free dress birthday credit (thanks RTR Pro!) and wore it on a date with my boyfriend. It is SO comfortable - no worries about over eating and not being able to breathe! I also love the color - it's bright and unique without being flashy or loud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2014
Pretty dress, exactly as it looks
I wore this dress to a fairly casual outdoor wedding. I think I would have worn the 0 if it was available, but the 2 fit OK. The dress was very sweet and appropriate for the occasion. Not a showstopper, but it's nice and there were no surprises. It looks and fit pretty much exactly how it does in the picture
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 22, 2014
Beautiful color & comfortable dress!
This dress fits much as other reviewers have described. The fabric has a nice stretch and it's such a comfortable dress. I am usually between a 6 and an 8, but the 6 fit me very well. I was swimming in the 8. The color is a beautiful corally-red. I wore nude shoes and a simple necklace. The only downside was that the crocheted/lace top layer would catch on my bracelet, so I had to take that off for part of the evening. I didn't want to snag the fabric or create a tear. It's a lovely dress, highly recommended, and I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
The red lace was beautiful on
I rented this dress as a back up for a wedding I attended. I got it a size up from what I normally wear since I wanted to be comfortable and I'm typically somewhere in-between an 8 and a 10. While I didn't wear it to the wedding, I got the chance to wear it the following night, when my husband surprised me with dinner reservations at a nice restaurant. The dress was perfect for a night out, and when paired with a jean jacket and some wedges it didn't feel overly dressy, but I could see how it could be dressed up for a more formal occasion. I loved the fact I could wear a real bra, and that there was no need for spanx underneath. It was great for a spontaneous date night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2014
A perfect RED dress!
I loooved this dress. Red is my favorite color, and I was determined to wear this dress. I normally rent a 14 with a 12 for back up, so I was nervous even though all the reviews said that this dress ran big. I am so glad I listened, because it was true. I got the 12 with the 10 just to see...and I fit in the 10 perfectly! However, I ended up wearing the 12 even though it was big on top, because the nude slip hung too far down in the back of the dress on the size 10. But I was very comfortable all night and would highly recommend this dress and definitely would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
I loved everything about this dress!! It's comfortable and fits like a glove.
It was perfect for my curvy shape and just made me feel like a million bucks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 3, 2014
Felt amazing
I was worried the 8 would be too small for my 34E bust. It was perfect. This dress made me feel awesome and it was comfy. I'm a true inverted triangle shape the fit was great. I'm usually a 10 but the 8 was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
I wore this to my aunt's day wedding. It was very comfortable. I received lots of compliments.
This dress fits well. I could have worn the 4, but I liked the looseness of the six because it was a long day. I loved the length, a couple inches above the knee. I would definitely rent this again for a not-too-dressy event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 14, 2014
If it was smaller
I'm sure that if I had ordered the 0, it would've fit like a glove, but even with that the cut was unflattering for my figure. My petite frame was swamped in the fabric and it didn't really do much for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2014
A random lady on the street told me how much she loved the dress!!!
Color was coral not pink. Beautiful! Fit was great and it's so comfortable! Love Rent the Runway and can't wait for my next event!!! So fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 31, 2014
Comfortable and flattering!
Redder than imagined in the photo. The nude liner worked well for my complexion and blonde hair. The fitness perfect, though the liner ran longer than the dresses hem in the back .... Nothing fashion tape can't fix.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 24, 2014
The compliments were never ending and I felt amazing in red!
The fit was perfect and I felt beautiful and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
Unique, cute and comfortable
Dress was well lined. The color was great and looked very nice in photos. Perfect for an outdoor summer wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 3, 2014
Beautiful Dress
This dress is beautiful. The top layer was very soft and light weight. The nude layer had a little stretch to it and was very soft on your skin. I paired it with a nude belt, nude pumps, and a little cardigan. Perfect for the March bridal shower. I did wish I had ordered the size 8 though. I had plenty of room in the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 68
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 7, 2014
Great fit, great quality
Loved the fit of the dress, the seaming slimmed the look and feel of the dress. Wore to dinner during the holidays and received several compliments. The color is a soft red, very flattering and festive
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
Perfect dress for summer day wedding!
Overall great experience with RTR. This dress was made well and a great classy, yet stylish dress for a daytime summer wedding. Hit right at the knee for me as I'm 5'1" and was comfortable and light weight for the summer heat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2013
Lots of compliments
I wore with a cardigan over it for a rehearsal dinner. The color is pretty and the fit is relatively flattering, but not one of my favorite dresses -- the lining was a little clingy (probably should be worn with a slip underneath), and the shape/material/waist wasn't ideal for my curvy/pear shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2013
RTR staff was so helpful! I appreciated all their help.
Absolutely loved the dress, I wish I could have kept it! It fit perfectly and was both classy and sexy at the same time. Was a nice fabric and wonderful fit. The length was great too, not too short, but not long. Best dress I've ever worn by far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2013
Gorgeous, flattering dress!
This dress is so pretty and flattering. It's an excellent choice for a taller woman, since most dresses that are "knee-length" end up being minis :) I received tons of compliments and felt comfortable and happy all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2013
Colorful, comfortable and perfect for a party
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the dress. I was surprised at first how there was a nude underlay with coral crochet on top. I wasn't expecting the nude underlay to be so noticeable, but it didn't matter. I received a lot of compliments and found the dress to be very comfortable. It was nice to wear a regular bra with it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2013
That dress was made for you!
Perfect fit, perfect color. Nude shoes were, well, perfect with it! People could not get over this dress and when they found out it was a RTR, they asked if I could buy it because it was seemingly made for me. I got this dress for $25 as a bonus rental since I was renting a formal for the same weekend, and it sole the show.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
August 10, 2013
Beautiful dress
Definitely size down... I usually a 12 but this was loose around the waist and runs big on top-- in the shoulder and bust area... I didn't even realize it had a zipper because it was large enough to just slip on... Lots of compliments on this dress...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 6, 2013
Perfect for daytime bridal shower.
Ran long on short frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
July 30, 2013
pretty and comfortable
I wore this for a rehursal dinner. I actually wore it all day at work, prior to the event. It is classy, pretty, and extremely comfortable. The compliments never stopped. I loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 22, 2013
Lovely, classy dress for a party
I got compliments all night on this dress--the color, the lace, the shape--everyone loved it. I wore a 10 in order to accommodate my hips and bust (34DDD) and the dress had enough stretch to fit snugly in those areas. However, it then didn't hug as closely to my waist which made the dress a little less flattering than I would have hoped. I thought to try a belt but because the fabric only has a little stretch and an otherwise well defined shape, the belt made the material fold and buckle which was more unflattering than the illusion of a wider than actual waist. I would not recommend this dress if you have a true hour glass figure where your waist is dramatically smaller than your bust and hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 4, 2013
If only I could keep it
This dress is amazing. It is so beautiful and oh my goodness is it comfortable! I received many many compliments. The color is so pretty, not too bright, not too dark. The lining under was full coverage and the dress allowed a bit of stretch. It hit right above the knee which was perfect for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 29, 2013
Liked it so much, I bought it!
This is one of my all time favorite rentals, and I can't remember ever getting so many compliments! Wore it to a college reunion, and I will say this is the perfect "reunion" dress. As soon as I get into the elevator of my hotel to go to my event, the other woman in the elevator complimented my dress and the compliments continued all night. It is a beautiful, flattering dress that is comfortable and easy, and the red color makes it a standout dress without being over the top. I was so sad to send it back, and looked for it everywhere, but couldn't find it anywhere in the US. Ended up ordering it online from Temperley London and I can think of a dozen other occasions to wear this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2013
A pretty dress you can move in!
This was a great dress for a wedding--it was elegant but not overly fancy, fitted but built for dancing, and a great, fun color. I loved it! The only suggestion I have is to size down... I would have liked it SLIGHTLY more fitted than the 6, which is already on the low end of what I usually wear. Overall tho, great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2013
Classy and simple.
I rented this for my sister who is typically a size 8, 5'2", petite pear shape and 155 lbs. My sister actually fit a size 6 perfectly. This dress was flattering for her figure. I would not rent this dress if your olive or darker due to the nude liner would look kinda weird against your skin tone. I only say this because I'm olive tan person and the nude liner was not flattering color for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 27, 2013
This dress is beautiful, but it wasn't flattering on me.
I loved it. Really. I'm not sure what it was -- the red is very red, but it was just loose. Perhaps if I had ordered down a size I'd feel differently. I wore it and felt okay. I think this is a dress that's more appropriate for a work event or church event rather than an evening wedding. The best part about it is the ability to wear a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2013
Beautiful dress, perfect for my graduation
I rented this for my graduation from my master's program and I was very happy with my choice. It was my back-up dress, so I had to take my chances with one size (2), and luckily, it fit absolutely perfectly. It is the perfect dress for a formal event, very appropriate length, and a nice neckline that allows you to wear a regular bra. It was also totally comfortable, and didn't show a single wrinkle after sitting for hours. I only wish it hadn't been covered up by my graduation gown all morning...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 20, 2013
This dress was prefect for an outdoor evening wedding. I received many compliments & was comfortable
This dress fit perfectly, the color was beautiful and I was comfortable all night. The dress was a little heavy for warmer weather but not unbearable. The dress did fit a little large and I had to wear the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2013
Fit well but was see through
I rented this as my backup dress and did not wear it. I usually wear a 6 but rented a 4 which fit really well. The reason I didn't wear it is my husband informed me it was see-through. I was wearing white underwear and you could see them. It's a really pretty, fun, flirty dress...Just be careful of your choice in undergarments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 3, 2013
Nice dress, not amazing
I rented this as my back up for my daughter's confirmation but I loved my original and didn't love this one. My sister ended up wearing it and she's normally an 8-10 and fit the 6 easy. It's a nice dress but I'm 5'9" and it felt longer than I would like it to be when I tried it on. I think it hit me at my knee and I wish it had been a few inches shorter - so a warning for those who aren't as tall as me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
Very pretty dress, runs a bit large
Great color, very classy and versatile style, totally comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2013
Such a perfect fit!
I adored this dress. I'm usually betwee a 4 and 6, and the 4 fit perfectly with a padded bra (I think the bra bumped me up to a 34B). The seams in the front of the dress accentuate the curve of your waist, and the A-line of the dress is very flattering on the hip area. The fabric is so interesting and fun, too, with the skin tone (for me_ underlayer and bright red crochet layer on top. I wore this to work with a sweater and then to a campaign watch party sans sweater that evening, and it fit right in both places. Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
Easy, flattering and fun!
i wore this to a friends wedding in April and was very impressed with the dress. The fit was great and I honestly felt so comfortable all night long. I'm typically between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer and I easily fit into the 4. I'm tall and wore about 3 inch heals and the length was perfect. You won't regret getting this dress. It will look great with minimal effort.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
March 17, 2013
Amazing dress for the Go Red for Women events!
Perfect dress! I had multiple events for the American Heart Association, and I needed to wear a red dress to all of them. So, rather than buying multiple red dresses, I tried RTR dresses. AMAZING! This dress was absolutely stunning on! I got a ton of compliments! I paired with patent nude heels to complete the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
March 16, 2013
The details of this dress are amazing!
I wore this dress to a friends bridal shower and it was perfect. The crochet details are very pretty and unique. I thought it did run a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2013
Great engagement party dress
I got so many compliments on this dress. The color is really flattering, even though it is winter and I am super pale with blonde hair. I would definitely rent this again. It does run large - I am usually a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×