ADAM

Black and Gold Foil Sheath

$85 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a big New Year's extravaganza? Or throwing a huge birthday bash? Rent this insanely fun Adam metallic foil sheath dress. Simple add the Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch and you're set for the night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; women with fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold foiled sequins(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(54)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2011
Steelers dress!

I rented this for my birthday party and a holiday party. I am usually a size 8 and sometimes 10. I ordered a 6 and 8. Both were too big. I wore the 6 but it was much longer than I would have liked (and I'm 5'7"). I didn't find it "sexy" which is what I was going for, but it was pretty. And I live in Pittsburgh so this could be considered a Steelers dress. The lining is nice and there wasn't any irritation. It's pretty much a black sequin dress with gold sprayed on it. The gold flaked off continuously. Kind of cool, I guess, but I could see the dress not lasting too many wears or being kind of embarrassed when everything you rub has gold flakes on it. I'd rent it again, very unique, just long.

CDecember 18, 2011
Yeah, Pittsburgh! Looks good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2011
Very disappointed!

I'll start out by saying, EVERY other time I have rented I have LOVED the dress... I am a very true size 6 and this dress did not fit me at ALL. It was way too baggy, but then pinched a bit in certain spots. It should NOT be labeled as a mini because at a curvy 5'4" it hit the midpoint of me knee. This was not at all what I wanted for my birthday party so I ended up not wearing it. Also, the sleeves were a bit too long and I could tell the fabric would be pretty uncomfortable. I LOVED this dress on the website so this was a disappointment but I just wasn't a fan!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
Fun dress..

I wore this dress for NYE/my bday and it was so fun to wear! I'm not sure when I will ever get to wear a $$$ dress for such an affordable price. Thank you RTR! So here goes! Like some of the other commenter’s mentioned, it’s not mini if you are short - I'm 5'2'' and it came right above my knees. I have an hour glass figure (wider hips/booty, slimmer in the mid section, and 40 C cup) and normally wear size 10 or 12. The sleeves fit pretty well but are on the long side - they slightly bunched around my wrists since I have shorter arms. It fit well around my hips/booty and chest though I would have liked it to be a bit more fitted. Unfortunately it was a little baggy around my midsection and it poked out from the top of my back - kind of like a hump back. I didn’t have a size 10 to compare it with since it wasn’t available at the time I rented the dress.t I had such a good time that I eventually didn't care about these things! You definitely don’t need a lot of accessories - the dress speaks for itself! Lots of compliments! I would have liked it to fit a bit differently (or tried a 10) but it was such a cool dress that it was worth it : )

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 17, 2012
This dress is pretty and perfect for a nice dinner in Vegas.

I liked this dress. It was pretty and sparkly. It wasn't my favorite rental. I've rented a lot of dresses and I'd rank this one near the bottom. For me the fit wasn't the best. I ended up wearing the 4 and it was pretty loose around the middle. Also, as other reviewers noted it was longer than I would have wanted. And, all night long I was shedding gold foil. It got all over my husband's black jacket and all over the velvet couch I sat on at dinner. On the bright side, I wore this to a nice dinner in Vegas and it was comfortable because it wasn't too tight.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 23, 2012
So comfortable and glam!

At first I was a little intimidated by the snake print, but in person, it's so fun! It's fairly long (I'm 5'9 and it hit an inch or two above my knee), so that takes the raciness down a bit. As other posters have said, the fabric is pretty stretchy, and as I don't really have hips, the dress was a little baggy on me (even in the smaller size). I would recommend renting your true size and then a size down. Overall, the dress was awesome, and I got more than a few "best dressed" votes for the night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2012
Beautiful for a Formal Event

I ordered a 2 and a 4 in this dress I am 5'8" and 123 lbs. The 2 was too small in the bust wouldn't zip up in the back (I am a full D cup) and the 4 was too baggy in the stomach area. If I had a little bit smaller bust like a C cup the 2 would of fit perfect. This dress is also very fancy and BOLD so you have to be brave to wear it. I was unable to wear it to the wedding I rented it for. Better luck next time!!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
Black Tie

I rented this dress for a black tie event last wekk. I found the dress ran a bit large and went with the 2 over the 4. Overall the dress was great and I received many compliments on it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 28, 2012
Not a winner :-(

I fell in love with this dress and rented it for a party and it did not fit. I ordered the 12 and the 10 and both of them were too big. The 12 was huge and the 10 would have worked except it was puckering up everywhere. If you are going to order this dress, I would suggest going down at least 1 if not 2 dress sizes for it to fit. Good Luck!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 11, 2012
Getting so many compliments and feeling like a million bucks!

I normally wear a size 2- based on other reviews I ordered the extra size in a 0 which is the one I actually ended up wearing! Looked amazing and got soooo many compliments!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Eye catching and fun!

I wore this dress for my engagement photos in San Francisco. I only had to wear it for about an hour luckily. The sequins make the dress a bit uncomfortable and I would have hated it if I were stuck in it all night. The dress ran a bit big and it made for nice pictures but wasn't as figure flattering as I hoped it would be. Still, it was fun prancing around town in such an eye catching number!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT for this black and gold charity benefit!!!

Dress fit great and was perfect for this Black and Gold benefit. Got a ton of compliments!!! I would have sized up to a 10 but after reading the reviews decided to size down and was so glad that I did.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore it out for a girls martini night and loved it!

The dress is a little snug in the sleeves but not tight enough where is bothered me much. I usually wear a size 8 which felt good in the sleeves but was baggy around the waist so I opted to wear the 6 . There is no stretch to the dress so would get two sizes to be safe. Love that it's classy but fun.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
This dress was gorgeous! I am just under 5 '8 and the length was perfect. Tons of compliments!

Length was perfect for me, this would be too long on anyone under 5"6. Absolutely perfect for an evening wedding.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2012
This was a great party dress (worn in Vegas).

This was a super fun, eye-catching dress that was surprisingly comfortable considering it's head to toe sequence. I wore this to a nightclub if Vegas for my birthday and it was amazing -- so many compliments. The only 'con' would be that you do get a little steamy...I went outside a few times during the night to get some fresh air, but that was probably because I was moving/dancing a lot. If worn at a house party I don't think that would be a problem. Definitely size DOWN. The runs contrary to all my other sequence tops/dresses/shorts which are usually a little more snug. However, I would order your normal size and a size down to compare. I wore a 6 but definitely could have done a 4 because it was a tad big and isn't a super short dress by any means. Overall, great dress, photographs great, and you will have a great time rockin it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
December 4, 2012
didn't wear it

much longer than it looks on this very tall model. i am 5'3" and it came to right above my knees. not really the look i was going for. it made me look old and frumpy. so i'd suggest you be taller than me to wear this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Great for tall girls!

I rented this one as a backup and ended up not wearing it because the 12 was too big on me and made me look like a sack of potatoes. My 5'11" friend, however, tried it on and looked absolutely AMAZING! If you are a real glamazon, I'd say give this dress a try. I'm 5'9" and it just looked frumpy on me! Also be sure to check the user photos for the real color & look of the material of the dress.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2012
This dress was perfect for my companies holiday party! Just enough sparkle to stand out!

The dress was very comfortable to wear, but was a little hard to drop it low in! The fit was a little big and sometimes bunched in photos. I would recommend this dress if you're looking for a glam dress for a party or new years! Less black than gold which I liked.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 21, 2011
runs big

Runs large. I'm 5'7, 115 pounds and it was not fitted and almost to my knees. But it is still a pretty dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2013
Strangers complimented me and my boyfriend couldn't stop saying how et beautiful I looked!

I ordered this in both a 4 and a 6. I ordered a larger size and a smaller one because I was afraid that it might fit my hip area strangely since it looks form fitting, but it definitely runs large so order a size down for your extra. Also, if you are short you will definitely need to get some hemming tape because the dress is MUCH longer than it seems on the model (granted she probably is close to a foot taller than me...). As many people have said, the dress is more black than gold, but I kind of liked that. Also, I didn't have any issues with the gold foil coming off. I was nervous to wear it at first because I was afraid it was too fancy, however it was definitely the best choice for a NYE at Mohegan. My boyfriend and friend's loved it and I felt amazing while wearing it. I would definitely recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2013
Ok dress, definitely not my favorite.

I ordered a zero, assuming it would be tight, but it was rather loose. There was a lot of extra fabric in the midsection and it does not photograph that well. Additionally, the dress is mostly black with gold accents, unlike the RTR picture.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 19, 2013
Fun, beautiful party dress!

Like a previous reviewer wrote, it's actually less gold in person. I'm 5'2" so the dress hit just right above my knees. I got the 2, and 4, and the 2 fit much better. I was actually curious to see if the 0 would have fit since the dress was still very slightly big in some areas. I received a lot of compliments on the dress and I'm happy I rented it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
March 27, 2013
...

This dress ran large and I was unable to wear it. The material is very heavy.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 27, 2012
Very cute and stylish

This dress fit very well and I was able to go a size down from my normal size. It definitely was not as gold as it appears on the model, however. I was also very hot and was not able to dance as much as I would like to. Overall, this is a decent dress that would be suitable for going out in the winter months. I would recommend an updo with this dress because otherwise you might get extra hot while dancing.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2012
Great Vegas dress

I rented this dress for a night out in Las Vegas. I ordered a size 4 after reading other reviews and it worked out great. It does fit a little loose around the midsection...wish it had more shape and structure. Overall, I was very happy with this rental and it came to me in perfect condition!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 6, 2012
NYE

i wore this dress for NYE and had only ordered a size 2. it runs so large that i feel as if even the 0 would be too big on me. definitely order one to two sizes down. i would love if RTR would carry a 00, because then i would rent again! unfortunately, i looked like i was wearing a sequin bag. my only complaint is that it is too large and the length is longer than expected!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
November 17, 2012
It didn't fit but I'd totally rent again!

I'm short so for me it was super long and it looked better on line but I'm not giving up on RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 30, 2013
Not good for small chested women!

I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas, and unfortunately had to return it immediately for credit. I ordered the 6 and the 8 (I am normally somewhere in between these 2 sizes). When the dresses arrived I tried on the 6 and it was way too big. I thought it would be tight, like on the model in the picture, but it was loose in the chest and gapped in the back. I recommend only ordering if you are above a C cup!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 20, 2013
Loved my Dress

Cute little dress for a spcial night out. the dress fit a little big on me but not bad, and it gave me some breathing room.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2013
Scratched my skin!

This dress was just OK, I actually scraped my hands putting it on. Looked like I got into a fight with a cat! I did receive compliments, this does run small, especially in the arm area. So if your like me with any sort of muscle steer clear. This dress works best on straighter figures.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 10, 2013
Both dresses were too small.

I ordered two sizes in this dress, because all the reviews I read stated that it ran big. That is not the case. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and both were too small. I could have worn the 6, but because of my bust size it was a tight fit-not very comfortable. So, I had to return the dresses the day after receiving them. I was very disappointed in that I could not wear this dress to a formal affair. I would still rent from RTR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
Great NYE Dress!!

Rented this dress for NYE party, it was a great dress, runs a little small I usually wear a 4 and ended up wearing the 6, the dress is not very forgiving, so there is little room for stretch and the length is longer than I thought it would be, but I am 5'7 and the model is probably 5'10, but still a good length. I would rent this one again...would be a great dress for Vegas.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 18, 2011
Excellent

I wore this to a b'nai mitzvah. When my fiancee saw it, his jaw literally dropped. Got lots of compliments. Was a little big around the middle and got hot while dancing, but looked amazing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 4, 2011
I was able to wear a stylish designer dress at an attainable prices!

I wore this dress for company Holiday Party and it was perfection. The dress was festive, comfortable and stylish! Its lined on the inside so the sequins were not itchy at all. I'm 5'2" and the length was perfect on me. And I love that the long sleeves kept me warm! Dress is true to size and it was too form fitting as well. I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2011
This dress made holiday photos that much more memorable!

This dress is gorgeous but the length is pretty long. I'm 5'6" and I could have easily worn this to an office party because it was that conservative...so if you're looking for a party mini but aren't 5'10", just know that it isn't as short as it looks on the model. It did get hot throughout the night because it's not a dress you can roll up the sleeves on, but that's a small price to pay for how cute and comfy the dress is (the sequins don't scratch at all). The marbling of the dress also is very flattering and does a good job of hiding love handles, food babies, and beer bellies. Love it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 19, 2011
Fantastic dress

I wore this to a holiday party also. I received SO many compliments on the dress. I am 5'8" and a size 6. I wore this with black open toed heels and a black leather jacket. I was worried about the length, but on me the dress was about 2 inches longer than on the model in the picture. It did "shed" gold flakes on my husbands suit whenever I was too close, but overall it was fantastic.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2011
Loved the Dress

I loved this dress....I got tons of compliments. It does shed a little so if you are not a glitter person do not get this dress. But for the holidays it was perfect. I have a large chest (32DDD) so I sized up. It fit perfect. I highly recommend it.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
amazing dress

beautiful dress! great sparkle and design..comfortable yet sexy! Sequins did scratch my legs on the hem, but not the whole time.My boyfriend proposed to me! I said yes! Dress was perfect in the pictures taken!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2012
Receiving compliments all night long on my dress!

Loved this dress! Wore it in Vegas and got tons of compliments! It is not too tight fitting, but it is still a sexy number! The only complaint I have was that it got hot throughout the night because of the long sleeves and high neckline. Would not recommend anywhere where you know you will be hot or dancing alot!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 11, 2012
Great dress for a hot date!

This dress fit will and my boyfriend loved it! It did shed a little with the sparkles so be prepared.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 16, 2012
I loved this dress so much, because it was so different from everyone else's!

I wore this dress to my Freshman Winter Formal, and it was so amazing! When I first got this dress, it was too long (it went to my knees), so I got some temporary hemming tape and hemmed it to about the length on the model (5 inches). After the hem, the dress was absolutely perfect! It is extremely flattering, and it is so sparkly and I got compliments al night! I would definitely recommend this dress, just be sure to hem it if you want a younger look. In the picture, I am on the far right.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×