ADAM

Black and Gold Foil Sheath

$85 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a big New Year's extravaganza? Or throwing a huge birthday bash? Rent this insanely fun Adam metallic foil sheath dress. Simple add the Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch and you're set for the night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; women with fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold foiled sequins(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(54)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2012
They went above and beyond to make sure I got what I ordered
It fit well. True to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
Looked hot but was a little ichy, only worn for pictures
Did not wear this for the actual dance, but still wanted to wear it so I wore it for pictures. It was flattering and flashy..but was a little itchy and didn't give much room in terms of being able to move around.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
I got compliments all night, and loved explaining RTR to everyone that asked!
I rented this in a 10 and 12, reading that the dress ran large. I didn't think I'd actually fit in a 10, and I was right. The 12 was perfect, and I'm 5'7 so the dress wasn't too long as others have reviewed. The earrings matched perfectly as well. I got compliment after compliment about how amazing the dress was, even from people I didn't know at the reception. I drove myself to the reception and I could sit in it just fine, and it was fine to sit in (and dance in) the whole night. I didn't get overly hot like some people mentioned, but toward the end of the night, the sequins around the neck were poking me, and I found myself trying to move the dress away from my neck just a little, but it wasn't like that the whole night, so don't let it deter you. I also wore Spanx underneath. Seriously, if you want to sparkle and stand out, rent this dress! There was less gold than in the pictures, but just enough so the dress didn't look all black. I would rent this again for the right occasion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Eye catching and fun!
I wore this dress for my engagement photos in San Francisco. I only had to wear it for about an hour luckily. The sequins make the dress a bit uncomfortable and I would have hated it if I were stuck in it all night. The dress ran a bit big and it made for nice pictures but wasn't as figure flattering as I hoped it would be. Still, it was fun prancing around town in such an eye catching number!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT for this black and gold charity benefit!!!
Dress fit great and was perfect for this Black and Gold benefit. Got a ton of compliments!!! I would have sized up to a 10 but after reading the reviews decided to size down and was so glad that I did.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore it out for a girls martini night and loved it!
The dress is a little snug in the sleeves but not tight enough where is bothered me much. I usually wear a size 8 which felt good in the sleeves but was baggy around the waist so I opted to wear the 6 . There is no stretch to the dress so would get two sizes to be safe. Love that it's classy but fun.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
This dress was gorgeous! I am just under 5 '8 and the length was perfect. Tons of compliments!
Length was perfect for me, this would be too long on anyone under 5"6. Absolutely perfect for an evening wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 24, 2012
Loved the dress, love the RTR process, super easy!
Great fit, comfy and cute!! And warm for holiday party event!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2012
This was a great party dress (worn in Vegas).
This was a super fun, eye-catching dress that was surprisingly comfortable considering it's head to toe sequence. I wore this to a nightclub if Vegas for my birthday and it was amazing -- so many compliments. The only 'con' would be that you do get a little steamy...I went outside a few times during the night to get some fresh air, but that was probably because I was moving/dancing a lot. If worn at a house party I don't think that would be a problem. Definitely size DOWN. The runs contrary to all my other sequence tops/dresses/shorts which are usually a little more snug. However, I would order your normal size and a size down to compare. I wore a 6 but definitely could have done a 4 because it was a tad big and isn't a super short dress by any means. Overall, great dress, photographs great, and you will have a great time rockin it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2012
As soon as I took this dress out of the box I was in love! It fit like a glove!
I rented this dress to wear at a RTR event in NYC. It was my first time renting a dress and I promise it wont be my last. What better way to show off an amazing dress from Rent The Runway then wear it to one of their own events. I had the most amazing time and the staff was incredible. So welcoming and kind, I wish I could be apart of such an amazing family. The party was nothing but perfection, what else could you expect from the two most amazing women in business. This dress made me feel sexy, classy & unstoppable all at the same time. I highly recommend this dress for any occasion. I received such wondereful compliments from everyone, its a show stopper. So don't think twice about renting this dress. Go ahead...do it! You wont be disappointed!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 4, 2012
LOVED this dress, I got so many compliments!
This dress, looked great! It was a little long on me (I'm 5'3"), but I just rocked some incredible high heels and it worked out fine. This dress did stretch, so I actuallyu wore a size down from normal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
December 4, 2012
didn't wear it
much longer than it looks on this very tall model. i am 5'3" and it came to right above my knees. not really the look i was going for. it made me look old and frumpy. so i'd suggest you be taller than me to wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Unremarkable
I ordered this as an alternative to my first choice for the night. I was disappointed in the dress. It's unremarkable and teh fabric is far less shiny than what is shown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Great for tall girls!
I rented this one as a backup and ended up not wearing it because the 12 was too big on me and made me look like a sack of potatoes. My 5'11" friend, however, tried it on and looked absolutely AMAZING! If you are a real glamazon, I'd say give this dress a try. I'm 5'9" and it just looked frumpy on me! Also be sure to check the user photos for the real color & look of the material of the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2012
This dress was perfect for my companies holiday party! Just enough sparkle to stand out!
The dress was very comfortable to wear, but was a little hard to drop it low in! The fit was a little big and sometimes bunched in photos. I would recommend this dress if you're looking for a glam dress for a party or new years! Less black than gold which I liked.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
December 5, 2012
GORG.
More black than gold but amazing! and WARM (I'm in DC!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 21, 2011
runs big
Runs large. I'm 5'7, 115 pounds and it was not fitted and almost to my knees. But it is still a pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
January 1, 2013
My husband loved this dress!
My husband loved this dress! He said it was his favorite dress that I have ever worn! I found this dress to be very straight. It fit my hips perfectly, but was a little big in the tummy. I actually didn't mind because we had a large New Years dinner. I loved the sparkle! It actually was more black than gold so it was perfect for the resturant, I was worried that it would be too much! Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2013
Strangers complimented me and my boyfriend couldn't stop saying how et beautiful I looked!
I ordered this in both a 4 and a 6. I ordered a larger size and a smaller one because I was afraid that it might fit my hip area strangely since it looks form fitting, but it definitely runs large so order a size down for your extra. Also, if you are short you will definitely need to get some hemming tape because the dress is MUCH longer than it seems on the model (granted she probably is close to a foot taller than me...). As many people have said, the dress is more black than gold, but I kind of liked that. Also, I didn't have any issues with the gold foil coming off. I was nervous to wear it at first because I was afraid it was too fancy, however it was definitely the best choice for a NYE at Mohegan. My boyfriend and friend's loved it and I felt amazing while wearing it. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 3, 2013
I received a lot of compliments on my dress!
Fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Celebrating my hubby's birthday wearing such a beautiful dress.
I love this dress it was very elegant and fit very well, I loved the fact that it was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2013
Ok dress, definitely not my favorite.
I ordered a zero, assuming it would be tight, but it was rather loose. There was a lot of extra fabric in the midsection and it does not photograph that well. Additionally, the dress is mostly black with gold accents, unlike the RTR picture.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Too Short of Sleeves
Really cute dress, but the sleeve were way too short. The dress was also awkwardly long on me and wasn't flattering. I am usually a size 4 dress, but I could've probably fit into the 2 if the sleeves weren't so short. I rented this dress for a high school dance, but I did not end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2013
Scratched my skin!
This dress was just OK, I actually scraped my hands putting it on. Looked like I got into a fight with a cat! I did receive compliments, this does run small, especially in the arm area. So if your like me with any sort of muscle steer clear. This dress works best on straighter figures.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2013
Birthday Night ! went very well ! Dress fit perfectly on me ! Felt like a brand new dress ! Love it!
material of the dress has to be very well protected
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 1, 2013
fit great with lots of compliments
I really liked the length of the sleves, being tall and thin... it would have immediately looked too small if the proportions were off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
February 4, 2013
Perfect cool-cold weather party dress
Love this sequin sheath dress for a December cocktail party. Wasn't too short, didn't catch on my tights, wasn't itchy, form-fitting cut gave my otherwise shapeless body some sass - definitely recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
February 9, 2013
Perfect for rolling the dice in Vegas!
Awesome night on the town dress. Sparkly and awesome print to the dress. Looks even better in person. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 10, 2013
Both dresses were too small.
I ordered two sizes in this dress, because all the reviews I read stated that it ran big. That is not the case. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and both were too small. I could have worn the 6, but because of my bust size it was a tight fit-not very comfortable. So, I had to return the dresses the day after receiving them. I was very disappointed in that I could not wear this dress to a formal affair. I would still rent from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2013
I looked fantastic. And the dress actually arrived on time.
Great fit (I took it a bit large so it didn't cling to my body) - very elegant silhouette. Lovely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 4, 2013
Fantastic Dress! Wore this to my husband's military dining out function.
This dress fits like a glove. It is not as gold looking as it is on the model. It was the perfect blend of muted gold on black. A stunning dress...I received numerous compliments on it all night long. It was also comfortable. I noticed some reviewers mentioned it being warm to wear, but I didn't have that experience. This is a great dress and I would highly recommend it! PS I would never have worn that pendant with the dress. That was an award I received later in the night :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 19, 2013
Fun, beautiful party dress!
Like a previous reviewer wrote, it's actually less gold in person. I'm 5'2" so the dress hit just right above my knees. I got the 2, and 4, and the 2 fit much better. I was actually curious to see if the 0 would have fit since the dress was still very slightly big in some areas. I received a lot of compliments on the dress and I'm happy I rented it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 18, 2011
Excellent
I wore this to a b'nai mitzvah. When my fiancee saw it, his jaw literally dropped. Got lots of compliments. Was a little big around the middle and got hot while dancing, but looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 4, 2011
I was able to wear a stylish designer dress at an attainable prices!
I wore this dress for company Holiday Party and it was perfection. The dress was festive, comfortable and stylish! Its lined on the inside so the sequins were not itchy at all. I'm 5'2" and the length was perfect on me. And I love that the long sleeves kept me warm! Dress is true to size and it was too form fitting as well. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2011
Steelers dress!
I rented this for my birthday party and a holiday party. I am usually a size 8 and sometimes 10. I ordered a 6 and 8. Both were too big. I wore the 6 but it was much longer than I would have liked (and I'm 5'7"). I didn't find it "sexy" which is what I was going for, but it was pretty. And I live in Pittsburgh so this could be considered a Steelers dress. The lining is nice and there wasn't any irritation. It's pretty much a black sequin dress with gold sprayed on it. The gold flaked off continuously. Kind of cool, I guess, but I could see the dress not lasting too many wears or being kind of embarrassed when everything you rub has gold flakes on it. I'd rent it again, very unique, just long.
COctober 29, 2012
Yeah, Pittsburgh! Looks good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2011
This dress made holiday photos that much more memorable!
This dress is gorgeous but the length is pretty long. I'm 5'6" and I could have easily worn this to an office party because it was that conservative...so if you're looking for a party mini but aren't 5'10", just know that it isn't as short as it looks on the model. It did get hot throughout the night because it's not a dress you can roll up the sleeves on, but that's a small price to pay for how cute and comfy the dress is (the sequins don't scratch at all). The marbling of the dress also is very flattering and does a good job of hiding love handles, food babies, and beer bellies. Love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 19, 2011
Fantastic dress
I wore this to a holiday party also. I received SO many compliments on the dress. I am 5'8" and a size 6. I wore this with black open toed heels and a black leather jacket. I was worried about the length, but on me the dress was about 2 inches longer than on the model in the picture. It did "shed" gold flakes on my husbands suit whenever I was too close, but overall it was fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2011
Very disappointed!
I'll start out by saying, EVERY other time I have rented I have LOVED the dress... I am a very true size 6 and this dress did not fit me at ALL. It was way too baggy, but then pinched a bit in certain spots. It should NOT be labeled as a mini because at a curvy 5'4" it hit the midpoint of me knee. This was not at all what I wanted for my birthday party so I ended up not wearing it. Also, the sleeves were a bit too long and I could tell the fabric would be pretty uncomfortable. I LOVED this dress on the website so this was a disappointment but I just wasn't a fan!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2011
Loved the Dress
I loved this dress....I got tons of compliments. It does shed a little so if you are not a glitter person do not get this dress. But for the holidays it was perfect. I have a large chest (32DDD) so I sized up. It fit perfect. I highly recommend it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
amazing dress
beautiful dress! great sparkle and design..comfortable yet sexy! Sequins did scratch my legs on the hem, but not the whole time.My boyfriend proposed to me! I said yes! Dress was perfect in the pictures taken!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×