Black and Gold Foil Sheath

$85 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a big New Year's extravaganza? Or throwing a huge birthday bash? Rent this insanely fun Adam metallic foil sheath dress. Simple add the Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch and you're set for the night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; women with fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; women with fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold foiled sequins(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(54)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
December 4, 2012
didn't wear it
much longer than it looks on this very tall model. i am 5'3" and it came to right above my knees. not really the look i was going for. it made me look old and frumpy. so i'd suggest you be taller than me to wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 4, 2012
LOVED this dress, I got so many compliments!
This dress, looked great! It was a little long on me (I'm 5'3"), but I just rocked some incredible high heels and it worked out fine. This dress did stretch, so I actuallyu wore a size down from normal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2012
As soon as I took this dress out of the box I was in love! It fit like a glove!
I rented this dress to wear at a RTR event in NYC. It was my first time renting a dress and I promise it wont be my last. What better way to show off an amazing dress from Rent The Runway then wear it to one of their own events. I had the most amazing time and the staff was incredible. So welcoming and kind, I wish I could be apart of such an amazing family. The party was nothing but perfection, what else could you expect from the two most amazing women in business. This dress made me feel sexy, classy & unstoppable all at the same time. I highly recommend this dress for any occasion. I received such wondereful compliments from everyone, its a show stopper. So don't think twice about renting this dress. Go ahead...do it! You wont be disappointed!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 27, 2012
Very cute and stylish
This dress fit very well and I was able to go a size down from my normal size. It definitely was not as gold as it appears on the model, however. I was also very hot and was not able to dance as much as I would like to. Overall, this is a decent dress that would be suitable for going out in the winter months. I would recommend an updo with this dress because otherwise you might get extra hot while dancing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
Stunning dress that was perfect for the club opening I attended.
Fitted dress with just a bit of give. Curvy girls may want to size up one like I did to make sure it fits properly through the hips. Very fun to wear the the sequins had just enough shimmer to make this dress stand out. Would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2012
This was a great party dress (worn in Vegas).
This was a super fun, eye-catching dress that was surprisingly comfortable considering it's head to toe sequence. I wore this to a nightclub if Vegas for my birthday and it was amazing -- so many compliments. The only 'con' would be that you do get a little steamy...I went outside a few times during the night to get some fresh air, but that was probably because I was moving/dancing a lot. If worn at a house party I don't think that would be a problem. Definitely size DOWN. The runs contrary to all my other sequence tops/dresses/shorts which are usually a little more snug. However, I would order your normal size and a size down to compare. I wore a 6 but definitely could have done a 4 because it was a tad big and isn't a super short dress by any means. Overall, great dress, photographs great, and you will have a great time rockin it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 24, 2012
Loved the dress, love the RTR process, super easy!
Great fit, comfy and cute!! And warm for holiday party event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2012
Great dress!
Loved it with a contrasting shoe color. Try it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
November 17, 2012
It didn't fit but I'd totally rent again!
I'm short so for me it was super long and it looked better on line but I'm not giving up on RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
Great NYE Dress!!
Rented this dress for NYE party, it was a great dress, runs a little small I usually wear a 4 and ended up wearing the 6, the dress is not very forgiving, so there is little room for stretch and the length is longer than I thought it would be, but I am 5'7 and the model is probably 5'10, but still a good length. I would rent this one again...would be a great dress for Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
This dress was gorgeous! I am just under 5 '8 and the length was perfect. Tons of compliments!
Length was perfect for me, this would be too long on anyone under 5"6. Absolutely perfect for an evening wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore it out for a girls martini night and loved it!
The dress is a little snug in the sleeves but not tight enough where is bothered me much. I usually wear a size 8 which felt good in the sleeves but was baggy around the waist so I opted to wear the 6 . There is no stretch to the dress so would get two sizes to be safe. Love that it's classy but fun.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT for this black and gold charity benefit!!!
Dress fit great and was perfect for this Black and Gold benefit. Got a ton of compliments!!! I would have sized up to a 10 but after reading the reviews decided to size down and was so glad that I did.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
September 29, 2012
Love it! Wish I owned it.
It fit great. True to the reviews. Had some stretch and movement. I wish I had some hem tape to shorten it a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Eye catching and fun!
I wore this dress for my engagement photos in San Francisco. I only had to wear it for about an hour luckily. The sequins make the dress a bit uncomfortable and I would have hated it if I were stuck in it all night. The dress ran a bit big and it made for nice pictures but wasn't as figure flattering as I hoped it would be. Still, it was fun prancing around town in such an eye catching number!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
I got compliments all night, and loved explaining RTR to everyone that asked!
I rented this in a 10 and 12, reading that the dress ran large. I didn't think I'd actually fit in a 10, and I was right. The 12 was perfect, and I'm 5'7 so the dress wasn't too long as others have reviewed. The earrings matched perfectly as well. I got compliment after compliment about how amazing the dress was, even from people I didn't know at the reception. I drove myself to the reception and I could sit in it just fine, and it was fine to sit in (and dance in) the whole night. I didn't get overly hot like some people mentioned, but toward the end of the night, the sequins around the neck were poking me, and I found myself trying to move the dress away from my neck just a little, but it wasn't like that the whole night, so don't let it deter you. I also wore Spanx underneath. Seriously, if you want to sparkle and stand out, rent this dress! There was less gold than in the pictures, but just enough so the dress didn't look all black. I would rent this again for the right occasion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
Looked hot but was a little ichy, only worn for pictures
Did not wear this for the actual dance, but still wanted to wear it so I wore it for pictures. It was flattering and flashy..but was a little itchy and didn't give much room in terms of being able to move around.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
September 20, 2012
Show Stopper
Great dress. It definitely makes a statement which is exactly what I wanted for my Vegas Trip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2012
They went above and beyond to make sure I got what I ordered
It fit well. True to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 11, 2012
Getting so many compliments and feeling like a million bucks!
I normally wear a size 2- based on other reviews I ordered the extra size in a 0 which is the one I actually ended up wearing! Looked amazing and got soooo many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Great dress
I loved this dress - The fit was perfect, but the sleeves were a bit short for me. The fabric is quite thick, so not the best choice for a summer wedding, but I got a ton of complements!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Great Vegas Dress, little long
Wore this to Vegas. It was a little long, I would have liked it at least 2 inches shorter considering it's high neck and long sleeves. Overall very cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
ALL THE GREAT COMPLIMENTS I GOT ON THE RED CARPET!! :)
THE DRESS WAS JUST LIKE YOU SEE IT.. I LOVE THIS WEB SITE THANK GOD FOR THIS... GOOOOOOOD RENT THE RUNWAY!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2012
Fabulous!
Wore to a fashion party/magazine launch, so many compliments! Very flattering, and a hit with my man! loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2012
Lovely prom dress.
I loved this dress! I rented it for my senior prom, and it was exactly what I wanted. I tend to go for non-floofy poofy stereotypical dresses, and dresses of this silhouette in particular tend to flatter my hourglass frame. Definitely gorgeous and so worth it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2012
It photographed so well and I felt so comfortable in it, very important! :)
I am 5'8, 125 lbs and rented this dress for a premiere party downtown chicago. I really liked this dress and got tons of compliments on it. There's so much going on with the dress you don't really need any accessories just a clutch. I prefer to wear dresses that are really fitted and fingertip length. This dress was about mid thigh, like 2/3 inches longer than I usually like to wear. But it still looked so cute and classy it worked, but definitely keep that in mind if you're 5'8 or shorter it looked just a tid bit longer on me than photo. Thanks again rtr!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 28, 2012
Not a winner :-(
I fell in love with this dress and rented it for a party and it did not fit. I ordered the 12 and the 10 and both of them were too big. The 12 was huge and the 10 would have worked except it was puckering up everywhere. If you are going to order this dress, I would suggest going down at least 1 if not 2 dress sizes for it to fit. Good Luck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 16, 2012
I loved this dress so much, because it was so different from everyone else's!
I wore this dress to my Freshman Winter Formal, and it was so amazing! When I first got this dress, it was too long (it went to my knees), so I got some temporary hemming tape and hemmed it to about the length on the model (5 inches). After the hem, the dress was absolutely perfect! It is extremely flattering, and it is so sparkly and I got compliments al night! I would definitely recommend this dress, just be sure to hem it if you want a younger look. In the picture, I am on the far right.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
Black Tie
I rented this dress for a black tie event last wekk. I found the dress ran a bit large and went with the 2 over the 4. Overall the dress was great and I received many compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 11, 2012
Great dress for a hot date!
This dress fit will and my boyfriend loved it! It did shed a little with the sparkles so be prepared.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2012
Beautiful for a Formal Event
I ordered a 2 and a 4 in this dress I am 5'8" and 123 lbs. The 2 was too small in the bust wouldn't zip up in the back (I am a full D cup) and the 4 was too baggy in the stomach area. If I had a little bit smaller bust like a C cup the 2 would of fit perfect. This dress is also very fancy and BOLD so you have to be brave to wear it. I was unable to wear it to the wedding I rented it for. Better luck next time!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2012
Receiving compliments all night long on my dress!
Loved this dress! Wore it in Vegas and got tons of compliments! It is not too tight fitting, but it is still a sexy number! The only complaint I have was that it got hot throughout the night because of the long sleeves and high neckline. Would not recommend anywhere where you know you will be hot or dancing alot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2012
So comfortable and glam!
At first I was a little intimidated by the snake print, but in person, it's so fun! It's fairly long (I'm 5'9 and it hit an inch or two above my knee), so that takes the raciness down a bit. As other posters have said, the fabric is pretty stretchy, and as I don't really have hips, the dress was a little baggy on me (even in the smaller size). I would recommend renting your true size and then a size down. Overall, the dress was awesome, and I got more than a few "best dressed" votes for the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 17, 2012
This dress is pretty and perfect for a nice dinner in Vegas.
I liked this dress. It was pretty and sparkly. It wasn't my favorite rental. I've rented a lot of dresses and I'd rank this one near the bottom. For me the fit wasn't the best. I ended up wearing the 4 and it was pretty loose around the middle. Also, as other reviewers noted it was longer than I would have wanted. And, all night long I was shedding gold foil. It got all over my husband's black jacket and all over the velvet couch I sat on at dinner. On the bright side, I wore this to a nice dinner in Vegas and it was comfortable because it wasn't too tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
NYE
i wore this dress for NYE and had only ordered a size 2. it runs so large that i feel as if even the 0 would be too big on me. definitely order one to two sizes down. i would love if RTR would carry a 00, because then i would rent again! unfortunately, i looked like i was wearing a sequin bag. my only complaint is that it is too large and the length is longer than expected!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
Fun dress..
I wore this dress for NYE/my bday and it was so fun to wear! I'm not sure when I will ever get to wear a $$$ dress for such an affordable price. Thank you RTR! So here goes! Like some of the other commenter’s mentioned, it’s not mini if you are short - I'm 5'2'' and it came right above my knees. I have an hour glass figure (wider hips/booty, slimmer in the mid section, and 40 C cup) and normally wear size 10 or 12. The sleeves fit pretty well but are on the long side - they slightly bunched around my wrists since I have shorter arms. It fit well around my hips/booty and chest though I would have liked it to be a bit more fitted. Unfortunately it was a little baggy around my midsection and it poked out from the top of my back - kind of like a hump back. I didn’t have a size 10 to compare it with since it wasn’t available at the time I rented the dress.t I had such a good time that I eventually didn't care about these things! You definitely don’t need a lot of accessories - the dress speaks for itself! Lots of compliments! I would have liked it to fit a bit differently (or tried a 10) but it was such a cool dress that it was worth it : )
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
amazing dress
beautiful dress! great sparkle and design..comfortable yet sexy! Sequins did scratch my legs on the hem, but not the whole time.My boyfriend proposed to me! I said yes! Dress was perfect in the pictures taken!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2011
Loved the Dress
I loved this dress....I got tons of compliments. It does shed a little so if you are not a glitter person do not get this dress. But for the holidays it was perfect. I have a large chest (32DDD) so I sized up. It fit perfect. I highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2011
Very disappointed!
I'll start out by saying, EVERY other time I have rented I have LOVED the dress... I am a very true size 6 and this dress did not fit me at ALL. It was way too baggy, but then pinched a bit in certain spots. It should NOT be labeled as a mini because at a curvy 5'4" it hit the midpoint of me knee. This was not at all what I wanted for my birthday party so I ended up not wearing it. Also, the sleeves were a bit too long and I could tell the fabric would be pretty uncomfortable. I LOVED this dress on the website so this was a disappointment but I just wasn't a fan!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 21, 2011
runs big
Runs large. I'm 5'7, 115 pounds and it was not fitted and almost to my knees. But it is still a pretty dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×