ADAM

Black and Gold Foil Sheath

$85 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a big New Year's extravaganza? Or throwing a huge birthday bash? Rent this insanely fun Adam metallic foil sheath dress. Simple add the Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch and you're set for the night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; women with fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold foiled sequins(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(54)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2012
Lovely prom dress.

I loved this dress! I rented it for my senior prom, and it was exactly what I wanted. I tend to go for non-floofy poofy stereotypical dresses, and dresses of this silhouette in particular tend to flatter my hourglass frame. Definitely gorgeous and so worth it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 17, 2012
Fabulous!

Wore to a fashion party/magazine launch, so many compliments! Very flattering, and a hit with my man! loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
ALL THE GREAT COMPLIMENTS I GOT ON THE RED CARPET!! :)

THE DRESS WAS JUST LIKE YOU SEE IT.. I LOVE THIS WEB SITE THANK GOD FOR THIS... GOOOOOOOD RENT THE RUNWAY!!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Great dress

I loved this dress - The fit was perfect, but the sleeves were a bit short for me. The fabric is quite thick, so not the best choice for a summer wedding, but I got a ton of complements!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2012
They went above and beyond to make sure I got what I ordered

It fit well. True to size

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
Looked hot but was a little ichy, only worn for pictures

Did not wear this for the actual dance, but still wanted to wear it so I wore it for pictures. It was flattering and flashy..but was a little itchy and didn't give much room in terms of being able to move around.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
I got compliments all night, and loved explaining RTR to everyone that asked!

I rented this in a 10 and 12, reading that the dress ran large. I didn't think I'd actually fit in a 10, and I was right. The 12 was perfect, and I'm 5'7 so the dress wasn't too long as others have reviewed. The earrings matched perfectly as well. I got compliment after compliment about how amazing the dress was, even from people I didn't know at the reception. I drove myself to the reception and I could sit in it just fine, and it was fine to sit in (and dance in) the whole night. I didn't get overly hot like some people mentioned, but toward the end of the night, the sequins around the neck were poking me, and I found myself trying to move the dress away from my neck just a little, but it wasn't like that the whole night, so don't let it deter you. I also wore Spanx underneath. Seriously, if you want to sparkle and stand out, rent this dress! There was less gold than in the pictures, but just enough so the dress didn't look all black. I would rent this again for the right occasion.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 24, 2012
Loved the dress, love the RTR process, super easy!

Great fit, comfy and cute!! And warm for holiday party event!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2012
As soon as I took this dress out of the box I was in love! It fit like a glove!

I rented this dress to wear at a RTR event in NYC. It was my first time renting a dress and I promise it wont be my last. What better way to show off an amazing dress from Rent The Runway then wear it to one of their own events. I had the most amazing time and the staff was incredible. So welcoming and kind, I wish I could be apart of such an amazing family. The party was nothing but perfection, what else could you expect from the two most amazing women in business. This dress made me feel sexy, classy & unstoppable all at the same time. I highly recommend this dress for any occasion. I received such wondereful compliments from everyone, its a show stopper. So don't think twice about renting this dress. Go ahead...do it! You wont be disappointed!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 4, 2012
LOVED this dress, I got so many compliments!

This dress, looked great! It was a little long on me (I'm 5'3"), but I just rocked some incredible high heels and it worked out fine. This dress did stretch, so I actuallyu wore a size down from normal.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Unremarkable

I ordered this as an alternative to my first choice for the night. I was disappointed in the dress. It's unremarkable and teh fabric is far less shiny than what is shown.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
December 5, 2012
GORG.

More black than gold but amazing! and WARM (I'm in DC!)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
January 1, 2013
My husband loved this dress!

My husband loved this dress! He said it was his favorite dress that I have ever worn! I found this dress to be very straight. It fit my hips perfectly, but was a little big in the tummy. I actually didn't mind because we had a large New Years dinner. I loved the sparkle! It actually was more black than gold so it was perfect for the resturant, I was worried that it would be too much! Loved this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 3, 2013
I received a lot of compliments on my dress!

Fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Celebrating my hubby's birthday wearing such a beautiful dress.

I love this dress it was very elegant and fit very well, I loved the fact that it was very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Too Short of Sleeves

Really cute dress, but the sleeve were way too short. The dress was also awkwardly long on me and wasn't flattering. I am usually a size 4 dress, but I could've probably fit into the 2 if the sleeves weren't so short. I rented this dress for a high school dance, but I did not end up wearing it.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2013
Birthday Night ! went very well ! Dress fit perfectly on me ! Felt like a brand new dress ! Love it!

material of the dress has to be very well protected

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 1, 2013
fit great with lots of compliments

I really liked the length of the sleves, being tall and thin... it would have immediately looked too small if the proportions were off.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
February 4, 2013
Perfect cool-cold weather party dress

Love this sequin sheath dress for a December cocktail party. Wasn't too short, didn't catch on my tights, wasn't itchy, form-fitting cut gave my otherwise shapeless body some sass - definitely recommend!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
February 9, 2013
Perfect for rolling the dice in Vegas!

Awesome night on the town dress. Sparkly and awesome print to the dress. Looks even better in person. Will rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2013
I looked fantastic. And the dress actually arrived on time.

Great fit (I took it a bit large so it didn't cling to my body) - very elegant silhouette. Lovely.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 4, 2013
Fantastic Dress! Wore this to my husband's military dining out function.

This dress fits like a glove. It is not as gold looking as it is on the model. It was the perfect blend of muted gold on black. A stunning dress...I received numerous compliments on it all night long. It was also comfortable. I noticed some reviewers mentioned it being warm to wear, but I didn't have that experience. This is a great dress and I would highly recommend it! PS I would never have worn that pendant with the dress. That was an award I received later in the night :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful dress, fit like a charm.

Perfect for a cocktail party

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 16, 2013
It was a fabulous party and I received an insane amount of compliments.

The dress was not skin tight on me, but I prefer that with this type of dress. It fit me perfectly around my hips and butt, and was not too short. I would definitely recommend this dress for an evening event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 25, 2013
This dress gave off a wonderful impression.

The dress was comfortable and it left enough space in my midsection, making it "bump friendly". I'm currently four months pregnant & I wore this dress to a semi-formal work related dinner. I found the sleeves to be a bit snug but the sequins were very comfortable & light weight. I received tons of compliments on the dress. My only con is the dress isn't as light as photographed. If you plan on taking pictures use flash or take them in a well lit area to get the full effect of the dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2013
Perfect fit

Less gold than photo suggests.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 21, 2013
This dress was prettier in person!

This was one of my backups, it was beautiful but fit a little loose in the back and was longer than I'd like, hit right above the knee. Was hoping that it would be mid thigh.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 4, 2013
gotta love wearing a new dress for any and every party... gold makes ya feel like a rockstar :)

fit comfortably and i loved it! a really fun party dress for dinner and drinks with friends for my birthday!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2013
Loved it!

It's just perfect.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
Fun sexy dress for Sundance Film Festival

Fits to size, comfortable & easy to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
Loved this dress. So comfortable and sexy, made me feel like a million bucks.

Pros: It fit so well and really worked for a News Year party. There is something nice about getting to wear a long sleeved dress and still feel sexy. Cons: It can be a little scratchy but it was worth it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2012
It photographed so well and I felt so comfortable in it, very important! :)

I am 5'8, 125 lbs and rented this dress for a premiere party downtown chicago. I really liked this dress and got tons of compliments on it. There's so much going on with the dress you don't really need any accessories just a clutch. I prefer to wear dresses that are really fitted and fingertip length. This dress was about mid thigh, like 2/3 inches longer than I usually like to wear. But it still looked so cute and classy it worked, but definitely keep that in mind if you're 5'8 or shorter it looked just a tid bit longer on me than photo. Thanks again rtr!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2013
Perfect for New Year's Eve or any special party

This dress was a real surprise. I ordered it as my second dress, more as an experiment to test out something out of my normal sphere of dresses - I didn't expect to wear it. BUT when I put it on, I loved everything about it! It is elegant and glamorous and was the perfect New Year's Eve dress - I got many compliments. A few notes: the dress I had was mostly black with hints of gold shimmer. It was NOT like the photos on the website that have quite a bit of gold in them - I was initially bothered by that as I had really liked the equal blend of gold and black in the photos. But the dress was fantastic as it was. Maybe all these dresses have different swaths of this fabric as other reviews specifically mention (and you can see) the gold - this dress didn't have much, so don't necessarily expect it. Also, it is a heavier, thicker material because of the lining - it is fairly warm. So it was terrific for a chilly winter night and a cool ballroom. But, if you're renting in warmer weather, or a warmer indoor setting (insofar as you can predict that), or you're a wild dancer, you might get too warm. I was very comfortable, but if I had done more active dancing, I might have gotten too warm. Lastly, I ordered the 12 only because it was all that was available at the time. I am normally a true 10. So this 12 was definitely a little big - I think the 10 would have fit more accurately, and been a little more of a form fitting and sexy fit. But the 12 hung so nicely, and it was such a great dress, I wore it anyway!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2013
flashy & fun

This was a fun dress but it was definitely thick, heavy and a little hot depending on what you're wearing it for. I wore this in Vegas so it was a great look, but I was a little disappointed in the thickness/heaviness because it was a little hard to move in.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Great Vegas Dress, little long

Wore this to Vegas. It was a little long, I would have liked it at least 2 inches shorter considering it's high neck and long sleeves. Overall very cute.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
September 20, 2012
Show Stopper

Great dress. It definitely makes a statement which is exactly what I wanted for my Vegas Trip!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
September 29, 2012
Love it! Wish I owned it.

It fit great. True to the reviews. Had some stretch and movement. I wish I had some hem tape to shorten it a bit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2012
Great dress!

Loved it with a contrasting shoe color. Try it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
Stunning dress that was perfect for the club opening I attended.

Fitted dress with just a bit of give. Curvy girls may want to size up one like I did to make sure it fits properly through the hips. Very fun to wear the the sequins had just enough shimmer to make this dress stand out. Would definitely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2012
I wore this to the Jay-Z concert in New York for the opening of the Barkley Center. It was awesome a

The dress did get a little warm from all the dancing but overall I don't have any complaints.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×