ADAM

Black and Gold Foil Sheath

$85 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a big New Year's extravaganza? Or throwing a huge birthday bash? Rent this insanely fun Adam metallic foil sheath dress. Simple add the Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch and you're set for the night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; women with fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold foiled sequins(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(28)
True to Size
(54)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
Fun dress..
I wore this dress for NYE/my bday and it was so fun to wear! I'm not sure when I will ever get to wear a $$$ dress for such an affordable price. Thank you RTR! So here goes! Like some of the other commenter’s mentioned, it’s not mini if you are short - I'm 5'2'' and it came right above my knees. I have an hour glass figure (wider hips/booty, slimmer in the mid section, and 40 C cup) and normally wear size 10 or 12. The sleeves fit pretty well but are on the long side - they slightly bunched around my wrists since I have shorter arms. It fit well around my hips/booty and chest though I would have liked it to be a bit more fitted. Unfortunately it was a little baggy around my midsection and it poked out from the top of my back - kind of like a hump back. I didn’t have a size 10 to compare it with since it wasn’t available at the time I rented the dress.t I had such a good time that I eventually didn't care about these things! You definitely don’t need a lot of accessories - the dress speaks for itself! Lots of compliments! I would have liked it to fit a bit differently (or tried a 10) but it was such a cool dress that it was worth it : )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 17, 2012
This dress is pretty and perfect for a nice dinner in Vegas.
I liked this dress. It was pretty and sparkly. It wasn't my favorite rental. I've rented a lot of dresses and I'd rank this one near the bottom. For me the fit wasn't the best. I ended up wearing the 4 and it was pretty loose around the middle. Also, as other reviewers noted it was longer than I would have wanted. And, all night long I was shedding gold foil. It got all over my husband's black jacket and all over the velvet couch I sat on at dinner. On the bright side, I wore this to a nice dinner in Vegas and it was comfortable because it wasn't too tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 23, 2012
So comfortable and glam!
At first I was a little intimidated by the snake print, but in person, it's so fun! It's fairly long (I'm 5'9 and it hit an inch or two above my knee), so that takes the raciness down a bit. As other posters have said, the fabric is pretty stretchy, and as I don't really have hips, the dress was a little baggy on me (even in the smaller size). I would recommend renting your true size and then a size down. Overall, the dress was awesome, and I got more than a few "best dressed" votes for the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2012
Receiving compliments all night long on my dress!
Loved this dress! Wore it in Vegas and got tons of compliments! It is not too tight fitting, but it is still a sexy number! The only complaint I have was that it got hot throughout the night because of the long sleeves and high neckline. Would not recommend anywhere where you know you will be hot or dancing alot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2012
Beautiful for a Formal Event
I ordered a 2 and a 4 in this dress I am 5'8" and 123 lbs. The 2 was too small in the bust wouldn't zip up in the back (I am a full D cup) and the 4 was too baggy in the stomach area. If I had a little bit smaller bust like a C cup the 2 would of fit perfect. This dress is also very fancy and BOLD so you have to be brave to wear it. I was unable to wear it to the wedding I rented it for. Better luck next time!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 11, 2012
Great dress for a hot date!
This dress fit will and my boyfriend loved it! It did shed a little with the sparkles so be prepared.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
Black Tie
I rented this dress for a black tie event last wekk. I found the dress ran a bit large and went with the 2 over the 4. Overall the dress was great and I received many compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 16, 2012
I loved this dress so much, because it was so different from everyone else's!
I wore this dress to my Freshman Winter Formal, and it was so amazing! When I first got this dress, it was too long (it went to my knees), so I got some temporary hemming tape and hemmed it to about the length on the model (5 inches). After the hem, the dress was absolutely perfect! It is extremely flattering, and it is so sparkly and I got compliments al night! I would definitely recommend this dress, just be sure to hem it if you want a younger look. In the picture, I am on the far right.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 28, 2012
Not a winner :-(
I fell in love with this dress and rented it for a party and it did not fit. I ordered the 12 and the 10 and both of them were too big. The 12 was huge and the 10 would have worked except it was puckering up everywhere. If you are going to order this dress, I would suggest going down at least 1 if not 2 dress sizes for it to fit. Good Luck!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2012
Lovely prom dress.
I loved this dress! I rented it for my senior prom, and it was exactly what I wanted. I tend to go for non-floofy poofy stereotypical dresses, and dresses of this silhouette in particular tend to flatter my hourglass frame. Definitely gorgeous and so worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2012
Fabulous!
Wore to a fashion party/magazine launch, so many compliments! Very flattering, and a hit with my man! loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
ALL THE GREAT COMPLIMENTS I GOT ON THE RED CARPET!! :)
THE DRESS WAS JUST LIKE YOU SEE IT.. I LOVE THIS WEB SITE THANK GOD FOR THIS... GOOOOOOOD RENT THE RUNWAY!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Great dress
I loved this dress - The fit was perfect, but the sleeves were a bit short for me. The fabric is quite thick, so not the best choice for a summer wedding, but I got a ton of complements!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 11, 2012
Getting so many compliments and feeling like a million bucks!
I normally wear a size 2- based on other reviews I ordered the extra size in a 0 which is the one I actually ended up wearing! Looked amazing and got soooo many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
March 27, 2013
...
This dress ran large and I was unable to wear it. The material is very heavy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful dress, fit like a charm.
Perfect for a cocktail party
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 16, 2013
It was a fabulous party and I received an insane amount of compliments.
The dress was not skin tight on me, but I prefer that with this type of dress. It fit me perfectly around my hips and butt, and was not too short. I would definitely recommend this dress for an evening event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 25, 2013
This dress gave off a wonderful impression.
The dress was comfortable and it left enough space in my midsection, making it "bump friendly". I'm currently four months pregnant & I wore this dress to a semi-formal work related dinner. I found the sleeves to be a bit snug but the sequins were very comfortable & light weight. I received tons of compliments on the dress. My only con is the dress isn't as light as photographed. If you plan on taking pictures use flash or take them in a well lit area to get the full effect of the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2013
Perfect fit
Less gold than photo suggests.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 21, 2013
This dress was prettier in person!
This was one of my backups, it was beautiful but fit a little loose in the back and was longer than I'd like, hit right above the knee. Was hoping that it would be mid thigh.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 4, 2013
gotta love wearing a new dress for any and every party... gold makes ya feel like a rockstar :)
fit comfortably and i loved it! a really fun party dress for dinner and drinks with friends for my birthday!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2013
Loved it!
It's just perfect.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
Fun sexy dress for Sundance Film Festival
Fits to size, comfortable & easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
Loved this dress. So comfortable and sexy, made me feel like a million bucks.
Pros: It fit so well and really worked for a News Year party. There is something nice about getting to wear a long sleeved dress and still feel sexy. Cons: It can be a little scratchy but it was worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2012
It photographed so well and I felt so comfortable in it, very important! :)
I am 5'8, 125 lbs and rented this dress for a premiere party downtown chicago. I really liked this dress and got tons of compliments on it. There's so much going on with the dress you don't really need any accessories just a clutch. I prefer to wear dresses that are really fitted and fingertip length. This dress was about mid thigh, like 2/3 inches longer than I usually like to wear. But it still looked so cute and classy it worked, but definitely keep that in mind if you're 5'8 or shorter it looked just a tid bit longer on me than photo. Thanks again rtr!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 27, 2012
Very cute and stylish
This dress fit very well and I was able to go a size down from my normal size. It definitely was not as gold as it appears on the model, however. I was also very hot and was not able to dance as much as I would like to. Overall, this is a decent dress that would be suitable for going out in the winter months. I would recommend an updo with this dress because otherwise you might get extra hot while dancing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2012
Great Vegas dress
I rented this dress for a night out in Las Vegas. I ordered a size 4 after reading other reviews and it worked out great. It does fit a little loose around the midsection...wish it had more shape and structure. Overall, I was very happy with this rental and it came to me in perfect condition!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2013
Perfect for New Year's Eve or any special party
This dress was a real surprise. I ordered it as my second dress, more as an experiment to test out something out of my normal sphere of dresses - I didn't expect to wear it. BUT when I put it on, I loved everything about it! It is elegant and glamorous and was the perfect New Year's Eve dress - I got many compliments. A few notes: the dress I had was mostly black with hints of gold shimmer. It was NOT like the photos on the website that have quite a bit of gold in them - I was initially bothered by that as I had really liked the equal blend of gold and black in the photos. But the dress was fantastic as it was. Maybe all these dresses have different swaths of this fabric as other reviews specifically mention (and you can see) the gold - this dress didn't have much, so don't necessarily expect it. Also, it is a heavier, thicker material because of the lining - it is fairly warm. So it was terrific for a chilly winter night and a cool ballroom. But, if you're renting in warmer weather, or a warmer indoor setting (insofar as you can predict that), or you're a wild dancer, you might get too warm. I was very comfortable, but if I had done more active dancing, I might have gotten too warm. Lastly, I ordered the 12 only because it was all that was available at the time. I am normally a true 10. So this 12 was definitely a little big - I think the 10 would have fit more accurately, and been a little more of a form fitting and sexy fit. But the 12 hung so nicely, and it was such a great dress, I wore it anyway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
flashy & fun
This was a fun dress but it was definitely thick, heavy and a little hot depending on what you're wearing it for. I wore this in Vegas so it was a great look, but I was a little disappointed in the thickness/heaviness because it was a little hard to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
NYE
i wore this dress for NYE and had only ordered a size 2. it runs so large that i feel as if even the 0 would be too big on me. definitely order one to two sizes down. i would love if RTR would carry a 00, because then i would rent again! unfortunately, i looked like i was wearing a sequin bag. my only complaint is that it is too large and the length is longer than expected!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Great Vegas Dress, little long
Wore this to Vegas. It was a little long, I would have liked it at least 2 inches shorter considering it's high neck and long sleeves. Overall very cute.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
September 20, 2012
Show Stopper
Great dress. It definitely makes a statement which is exactly what I wanted for my Vegas Trip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
September 29, 2012
Love it! Wish I owned it.
It fit great. True to the reviews. Had some stretch and movement. I wish I had some hem tape to shorten it a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
Great NYE Dress!!
Rented this dress for NYE party, it was a great dress, runs a little small I usually wear a 4 and ended up wearing the 6, the dress is not very forgiving, so there is little room for stretch and the length is longer than I thought it would be, but I am 5'7 and the model is probably 5'10, but still a good length. I would rent this one again...would be a great dress for Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
November 17, 2012
It didn't fit but I'd totally rent again!
I'm short so for me it was super long and it looked better on line but I'm not giving up on RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2012
Great dress!
Loved it with a contrasting shoe color. Try it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
Stunning dress that was perfect for the club opening I attended.
Fitted dress with just a bit of give. Curvy girls may want to size up one like I did to make sure it fits properly through the hips. Very fun to wear the the sequins had just enough shimmer to make this dress stand out. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2012
I wore this to the Jay-Z concert in New York for the opening of the Barkley Center. It was awesome a
The dress did get a little warm from all the dancing but overall I don't have any complaints.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2013
Loved it! Would rent again!
This dress was great! The dress is more of a black color in person with gold accents. It doesn't look exactly like the picture, but it is still beautiful. It fit great (and I usually have a harder time finding a fit in the bust). It was not itchy, but was warm (however, I wore it in the winter so that was perfect). I loved it. I would definately rent it again as a go to that I know fits great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 30, 2013
Not good for small chested women!
I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas, and unfortunately had to return it immediately for credit. I ordered the 6 and the 8 (I am normally somewhere in between these 2 sizes). When the dresses arrived I tried on the 6 and it was way too big. I thought it would be tight, like on the model in the picture, but it was loose in the chest and gapped in the back. I recommend only ordering if you are above a C cup!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×